Back to the Database Finder
How to Use the Database Finder
This site provides searchable access to the indexes, databases and other electronic materials purchased by the University at Albany Libraries.
Off Campus Access
Most Web-based resources listed here are available to affiliated University at Albany
users from off campus. This is achieved through the use of a proxy server,
which authenticates users to allow access to these resources. See the
Off-Campus Access Instructions for more information.
The Search Interface
The search interface offers three options for retrieving these resources:
- Title search: You can type part or all of a database title to retrieve what you want, e.g., EBSCO. Searches are not case sensitive.
Two search types are available:
- Title Keywords: This option is the default and will retrieve all database titles containing the the words you have typed. For example, if you enter
"music" you will retrieve "International Index to Music Periodicals" and other titles that contain the word "music." The more specific your search, the better your chance of locating the title you are looking for.
- Exact Title (from start of title): This option will retrieve all database titles that begin with the words you type. For example, if you type "art," you will retrieve "Art Index," and other titles beginning with the word "art" such as "ArticleFirst."
- Alphabetical browse: When you click on a letter of the alphabet,
all the resources with titles starting with that letter will be retrieved.
- Subject and Type search: You may select
a subject in combination with a document type to
retrieve a results list. There are five items in
the drop-down menu representing document types:
- Key Resources: These are titles considered to be primary resources
in their subject as assigned by University Library bibliographers.
- Dissertations: Any resource that provides indexing of dissertations or
access to the full text. Examples include Digital Dissertations and
America: History and Life.
- Fulltext Resources: Indicates if a database consists of full text documents or text. This may include full text journal articles, a reference work, directory, dictionary, encyclopedia, statistical or financial database, etc.
- Indexes/Databases: An index or other database will be retrieved. An index is a resource
that contains citations, and sometimes abstracts, to materials that must be retrieved elsewhere. Exampless are ERIC, PsycInfo, and Sociological Abstracts. Aggregator sources that include some indexing will also be retrieved. For example, EBSCO Academic Search Premier contains a combination of indexing and full text.
- Newspapers: Resources containing citations to newspaper articles or
the full text of newspaper articles. Examples include National Newspaper Index and LexisNexis.
- Numeric: Resources containing statistical and numerical
data will be retrieved. This might be census or trade data, company financial
reports, poll results, etc.
- Online Journal Collections: Resources containing links to sites that provide access to multiple online journals. Examples include JSTOR and ScienceDirect.
- All resources: Every resource assigned to the selected subject will
be retrieved.
Search Results
Results are in tabular format. This is an example of a results row:
Each column is explained below, from left to right:
Resource title: Most resources are located on the Web. When you click on the
hyperlinked title, you will be taken to its Web location. Titles that
are not hyperlinked are on CD-ROM. These are indicated with the notation
"[CD-ROM]" at the end of the title. CD-ROMs are available in the individual
library indicated by the colored icon.
About: All indexes and databases are accompanied by an About file.
Each contains such information as a resource description, dates
of coverage, the frequency of updates, and whether the resource is full text.
Other information may include restrictions on the number of simultaneous users,
password instructions, location notes, etc.
Help: A number of vendors offer Help files on the Web for their
products. These Help files contain instructions on how to search the resource
and retrieve results.
Icons: Icons represent access information. The table below explains
each one.
|
Resource is restricted to affiliated University at Albany users.
Off campus access is available via proxy authentication. The icon links to the
proxy instructions. |
 |
Password is required. Click "About" link for more information. |
 |
Resource is available only at the University Library |
 |
Resource is available only at the Science Library |
 |
Resource is available only at the Dewey Library |
 |
Resource is available from any campus location. Off-campus
access is not available. |
Prohibited Activities
Attempts to
download an entire database are prohibited by the license agreement
between the publishers of these journals and the State University of New
York at Albany.
It is prohibited to make print or electronic copies for redistribution to
non-subscribers or non-subscribing institutions. Web activity is
monitored by individual publishers and violation of the licensing
agreement could result in cancellation of this service.
Send comments to the Webmaster
Back to the Database Finder