Skip to main content

Alumni Services - Database List

Databases Subscribed to for Alumni

The SUNY Office of Library and Information Services provides access to two databases for alumni. These databases can be accessed remotely. However, in order to access these databases, Alumni must be members of the Alumni Association. Membership is free.

First time users:

To register for a username and password, please view the University at Albany Alumni Online Community  page.Once registered, an alumnus may browse these two databases:

Academic Search - Alumni Edition Designed for the research needs
     of the post-college professional, this database includes the
     full text for 3,350 journals and indexing and abstracting for 8,200 journals.
     It is multidisciplinary.

Business Source - Alumni Edition   Designed for the research needs
     of the post-college business professional, this database includes
     the full text of 1,450 full text business magazines and journals.
     All areas of business are covered.

Alumni who visit the Libraries may access nearly all of our hundreds of online databases on public computers in any of our three libraries. Vendor licenses restrict off–campus access to these databases to current faculty, staff, and students.


Other Databases and Sources Available for Alumni

The Libraries are also pleased to provide you with links to many free Databases that have information and research resources on a wide variety of topics. (For more free resources, check the online Reference Collection.)  

AATA Online  "A comprehensive database of over 100,000 abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage"

Africana Conference Paper Index and Africana Vertical File Index  Index to the individual papers (west European languages) of the Africana conference proceedings held by Northwestern University Library and most of the materials in their verticle files.

AgeLine AArp's resource for abstracts of gerontology and aging-related articles, books, and reports.

AIDSinfo Clinical Trials  This is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services designed to help locate clinical trials.

AIDSinfo Drug Database  A search engine for finding drug information related to AIDS from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts Collection of full texts with a concentration on English language literature and philosophy maintained by Eric Lease Morgan of North California State University.

American Memory Project  Primary source materials from The Library of Congress, includes digital items such as George Washington's letters, Civil War photographs, women sufferage materials, early maps, etc.

Biography.com/ Thousands of short biographies excerpted from the Cambridge Biographical Encyclopedia .

Biographies Polysearch Engine A substantial biographical source searchable by various genres linked to specific sites (Women Hall of Fame, Nobel Laureates etc.) or titles (Congressional Directory, Information Please etc).

CIA World Factbook Current Web version of the publication with facts and figures about the countries of the world from the CIA.

Directory of Open Access Journals  Provides access to free, full text, quality controlled scholarly journals in all subjects and languages.

Electronic Text Center Texts of all kinds from University of Virginia.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)  U.S. Department of Education offers free access to the ERIC database.

Encyclopedia.com 17,000+ articles from the Concise Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia , Third Edition with links to other sources

Film Literature Index  Contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between 1973-2004. The print version of FLI is available in the University Library oversize * PN 1993 Z999 F55 “. The online version is no longer being updated.

GPO Access  U.S. federal goverment publications from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches including laws, regulations, Presidential papers, budget documents, Supreme Court decisions, Congressional reports, and more.

Handbook of Latin American Studies   A multidisciplinary Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Idealist Searchable directory of 16,000+ nonprofit and volunteer organizations worldwide, plus news, events and more.

Index Translationum  Indexes books translated and published in about a hundred of UNESCO's Member States since 1979. Topics include literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history, etc.

Information Please Factual look-ups from the Information Please family of almanacs, the Random House College Dictionary , and the Columbia Encyclopedia .

International Organizations Browsable directory including a calendar of meetings based on information stored in the database used to create the Yearbook of International Organizations from the Union of International Associations.

Internet Public Library Reference Center well-organized collection of resources in a wide range of subject areas maintained by the Internet Public Library.

iTools Collection of quick look-up tools including dictionaries, encyclopedias, biographies, and text translators.

Making of America (Cornell)  A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Making of America--Books (U.M.)  A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Making of America--Journals (U.M.)  A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.

Martindale's The Reference Desk Wide variety of resources with an emphasis on the sciences; offers weekly updates.

The Master Works of Western Civilization Chronological outline with links to full texts representing a compilation of recommendations from many experts.

Medline (NLM Gateway)  Allows searches of U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, MEDLINEplus, ClinicalTrials.gov, DIRLINE, Meeting Abstracts, and HSRProj.

Medline (PubMed-NCBI/NLM)  A service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.

NASA Astrophysics Data System  Digital library and bibliographic databases for researches in astronomy and astrophysics.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)  Full text of 1,500+ criminal justice publications and summaries of 160,000 more.

National Science Digital Library  The NSDL is a digital library of exemplary resource collections and services, organized in support of science education at all levels. You may ask a science, math, or technology question through the AskNSDL question and answer service.

The New York Review of Books Excerpts from the current print issue and searchable archives back to 1963.

New York Times Books Full text of the NYT Book Review since 1996.

O*NET (Occupational Information Network)  O*NET takes the place of the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) as the nation's primary source of occupational information.

Oxford Text Archive  Archive contains electronic versions of more than 2,500 literary works by many major authors in over 25 languages.

Portals to the World Authoritative information about the nations and other areas of the world selected by Library of Congress subject experts.

Project Gutenberg Texts of hundreds of public domain books.

PROQOLID and Quality of Life Instruments Database   "Free Access" only. This health-related database provides information on Quality of Life and health outcome instruments.

PubMed  PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.

PubMed Central  Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences.

Refdesk.com Large, searchable collection of Internet reference sources including Facts-at-a-Glance, Current News & Facts, and Refdesk's Categories for topical information.

Reference - Bartleby.com Collection of major reference works including encyclopedias, style and usage guides, Quotations, books on religion and mythology, etiquette, parliamentary procedure and more.

Research-It! Collection of quick look-up tools.

San Francisco Chronicle Book Review From the Sunday book edition.

Science.gov  Science.gov provides a gateway to information resources at the U.S. government science agencies. Includes selected web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials. List of Participating Agencies

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet  U.S. Congress web site for disseminating legislative information including, bills, votes, public laws, debates, hearings, summary of congressional activity, historical documents, and more.

Travel Warnings & Consular Information Sheets Compilation from the U.S. Department of State.

USGS Publications and Products  US Geological Survey links to online catalogs, online data, product locators and specific collections.

University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY.

1400 Washington Avenue, Albany NY 12222 USA. (518) 442-3600.

Copyright © 2008-2014 University at Albany. All rights reserved.

University Libraries' Mobile Website.
University Libraries YouTube Page.
The University Libraries' Pintrest site!
University Libraries' Twitter Feed.
University Libraries' Facebook Page.