General and Judaic Indexes
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Journals
Bibliographies
Introductions
Major Texts
Websites
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for those seeking information on Rabbinic and Jewish Legal (Halakhic) materials. It is not meant to be comprehensive. This guide includes items in either print or digital format
Resources owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through Minerva, the Libraries' online catalog. You may search Minerva by author, title, subject, keywords, etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS or with keywords. Minerva lists books and journals for all three libraries: the University Library, the Dewey Library and the Science Library, as well as several sublocations such as REF or IMC. The location "ULIB" is for University Library, the location "DEWEY" is for Dewey Library, and the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Most books on Rabbinic Judaism are housed in the University Library. Minerva also indicates if a book is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If a book you need is on loan, you may request that it be returned for you (select Request Forms on the University Libraries homepage).
Books on Rabbinic or Halakhic Judaism are generally, but not exclusively, found in the
following areas:
B759 Philosophy (e.g. Judah Ha-Levi, Sa’adia, Maimonides)
BM198 Hasidism
BM497 Mishnah
BM498 Yerushalmi (Jerusalem Talmud)
BM499 Bavli (Babylonian Talmud)
BM504 Talmud commentary sets
BM506 Talmud commentary per tractate
BM508 Tosefta
BM517 Midrash
BM520.84 Mishneh Torah
BM520.88 Shulhan Arukh
BM522 Responsa
BM525 Kabbalah
BM675 Liturgy
BM700 Custom, minhag
BM750 Biography
Note: Books or articles not owned by the University Libraries can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. ILLiad is an integrated interlibrary loan service through which you can request materials from remote libraries. Many requests can be handled electronically, with articles delivered directly to your email account. Accounts can be set up easily online through the Library's homepage listed under "Library Services" or go directly to ILLiad.
Index to Jewish Periodicals. Cleveland, OH: Index to Jewish
Periodicals, 1963-.
(ULIB REF DS 101 I55X)
Reshimat Ha-Ma'amarim Be-Mada'e Yahadut =
Index of Articles on Jewish Studies. Reshimat ha-ma'amarim be-mada'yahadut.
Jerusalem: Hotsa'at sefarim al shem Y.L. Magnes-ha-Universitah ha-'Ivrit, 729- [1968 or 1969-].
(ULIB REF DS 101 Z999 R58)
Indeḳs tsu der Yidisher Periodiḳ = Index to Yiddish Periodicals
Bar-Ilan, Meir and Zevin, Shelomoh Yosef, eds. Entsiḳlopedyah Talmudit:
Le-‘Inyene Halakhah. Yerushalayim: Hotsa’at Entsiḳlopedyah Talmudit
be-siyu’a Mosad ha-Rav Ḳuḳ,1947-.
(ULIB BM 500.5 E6)
Hyman, Aaron. Otsar Divre Ḥakhamim U-Pitgamehem. Tel-Aviv:
Dvir, 1947.
(ULIB BM 495 H9 1947)
Larinman, Zevi. Otsar Imre Avot: Entsiḳlopedyah Le-Talmudim Ulé-Midrashim
Ule-sifre Rishonim. Jerusalem: R. Mas, 1959-1969.
(BM 495 L35)
Rabinowitz, Tzvi. The Encyclopedia of Hasidism. Northvale, N.J.:
Jason Aronson, 1996.
(ULIB BM 198 E53 1996)
Rapoport, Solomon Judah Leib. ʻErekh Milin ʻAl Seder Alef-Bet: Kolel
Beʾur Kol Shemot ʻAtsmiyim Shel Anashim Me-ʻAmim, Aratsot U-Meḳomot, Yamim
U-Neharot. Warsaw: ha-Tsefirah, 674 [1914].
(ULIB BM 500.5 R3 1914)
Roth, Cecil, ed. Encyclopaedia Judaica. Jerusalem: EJ, 1971-1972 +
yearbooks.
(ULIB REF DS 102.8 E496). CD-ROM version at: (ULIB IMC CMEDIA DS 102.8 E4963X 1997)
Sever, Mosheh. Mikhlol Ha-Maʾamarim Ṿeha-Pitgamim: Yalḳuṭ Kolel
U-Madrikh Li-Meḳorot Ha-Talmudim, Ha-Midrashim, Ha-Ḳabalah, Ha-Shirah ṿehe-Hagut:
ʻIm Heʾarot, Beʾurim U-Mafteḥot. Jerusalem: Mosad ha-Rav
Ḳuḳ, 1961-62.
(ULIB 495 S45)
Zevin, Shelomoh Yosef, ed. Entsiḳlopedyah Talmudit. English. Encyclopedia
Talmudica: A Digest of Halachic Literature and Jewish Law From the Tannaitic Period to the
Present Time, Alphabetically Arr.; English translation edited by Isidore Epstein and
Harry Freedman. Jerusalem: Talmudic Encyclopedia Institute, 1969-.
(ULIB BM 500.5 E613)
CCAR Journal. New York: Central Conference of American Rabbis, 1991-.
(ULIB PER BM 197 A1 C2) Supersedes Journal of Reform Judaism.
Conservative Judaism. New York: Rabbinical Assembly of America 1945-.
(ULIB PER BM 197.5 C66X) Some issues missing.
Dine Yisrael: An Annual of Jewish Law and Israeli Family Law.
Jerusalem: Issued by Seminary of Jewish Law, Tel Aviv University, 1969-.
(ULIB K 4 I69)
Jewish Law Annual. Leiden: Brill, 1978-.
(DEWEY PER K 10 E74)
(Published under the auspices of the International Association of Jewish Lawyers and Jurists and the
Oxford Centre for Postgraduate Hebrew Studies)
Reconstructionist.
Wyncote, PA, etc.: Federation of Reconstructionist Congregations and Havurot, etc., 1935-.
(ULIB PER DS 133 R4) Some issues missing.
Review of Rabbinic Judaism: Ancient, Medieval and Modern. Leiden: Boston, Brill, 2001-.
(ULIB PER BM 1 A6X)
Tradition: A Journal of Orthodox Jewish Thought. New York: Rabbinical Council of America,
1958-.
(ULIB PER BM 1 T7) Some issues missing.
Barth, Lewis. Midrash Bibliography.
Bass, Shabbetai ben Joseph. Sefer Śifte Yeshenim: Li-Fene NeʻArim U-Ḳeṭanim.
Zolḳṿi: Bi-Defus Mordekhai Rabin Shṭeyn ʻeṭ ḳomp., 566 [1806].
(GRENANDER SPE Kos / PJ 5008 Z999 B27X 1805)
Benjacob, Isaac. Otsar Ha-Sefarim: Sefer ʻArukh Li-Tekhunat Sifre Yiśraʾel Nidpasim
U-Khitve Yad. Ṿilna: ha-Almanah ṿeha-aḥim Rom, 1880.
(GRENANDER SPE Kos PJ 5008 Z999 B33 1880)
Rabbinovicz, Raphael Nathan Nata. Sefer Diḳduḳe Sofrim: ʻIm Hagahot Niḳraʾot
Divre Sofrim. Nyu Yorḳ: be-defus Hotsaʾat M.P. Pres, [1976].
(ULIB OVER** BM 503.9 S43X) See also Strack, below.
Albeck, Ḥanokh. Mavoʾ La-Talmudim. Tel-Aviv: Devir, ;1969-.
(ULIB BM 503.5 A4)
Lauterbach, Jacob Zallel. An Introduction to the Talmud: (General Survey).
Cincinnati: Hebrew Union College, 1925.
(ULIB BM 503.8 L3X 1925A)
Maimonides, Moses. Maimonides’ Introduction to the Talmud: A Translation of the Rambam’s
Introduction to His Commentary on the Mishna. Translated and annotated by Zvi L. Lampel. New York:
Judaica Press, 1975.
(ULIB BM 529 M672 1975)
Neusner, Jacob. How to Study the Bavli: The Languages, Literatures, and Lessons of the Talmud of
Babylonia. Atlanta, GA: Scholars Press, 1992.
(ULIB BM 503.5 N47 1992)
Neusner, Jacob. The Talmud: Introduction and Reader. Atlanta, GA: Scholars Press, c1995.
(ULIB BM 503.5 N4949 1995)
Panken, Aaron D. The Rhetoric of Innovation: Self-conscious Legal Change in Rabbinic Literature. Lanham, MD: Univesity Press of America, 2005. (ULIB KBM 524.32 P36X 2005)
Steinsaltz, Adin. The Essential Talmud. New York: Basic Books, 1976.
(ULIB BM 503.5 S8) Translated from the Hebrew
Strack, Hermann Leberecht and Günter Stemberger. Introduction to the Talmud and Midrash.
Edinburgh, Scotland: T&T Clark, 1991. Translated from the German.
(ULIB BM 504 S7313 1991) Library also has German and Hebrew editions.
Mishnah. English. The Mishnah: A New Translation. Jacob Neusner. New Haven: Yale University
Press, 1988.
(ULIB BM 497.5 E5 N48 1988)
Talmud. The Talmud = Talmud Bavli: The Steinsaltz Edition. New York: Random House, 1989-.
(ULIB OVER* BM 499.5 E4 1989)
Aramaic, Hebrew and English. Talmud. Talmud Bavli. Nyu-York, N.Y.: Otsar ha-sefarim: Y.D.
Goldman, c[197-].
(ULIB OVER** BM 499 1973)
Talmud. English. The Babylonian Talmud. Translated into English with notes by I.
Epstein. London: Soncino Press, 1961.
(ULIB REF BM 500 E57 1961)
Talmud Yerushalmi. English. Edited and translated by Jacob Neusner et al. Chicago:
University of Chicago Press, 1982-.
(BM 498.5 E5 1982) Each tractate (volume) cataloged separately.
Tosefta. Tosefta: ʻA.p. Ketav Yad Ṿinah: Ṿe-Shinuye Nusḥaʾot
Mi-Ketav Yad ʻErporṭ, Ḳeṭaʻim Min Ha-Genizah U-Defus Ṿinitsiʾah 281: Be-Tseruf
Masoret Ha-Tosefta U-Ferush ḳatsar. me-et Shaʾul b. ha-r. R. Mosheh Liberman.
Nuyorḳ: Bet ha-midrash le-rabanim sheba-AmeriḲah, 715- [1955-].
(ULIB BM 508 T7 1955)
Tosefta. English. The Tosefta. Translated from the Hebrew by Jacob Neusner. New York:
Ktav, 1977-1986.
(ULIB BM 508.13 E5 1977)
Mekhilta of Rabbi Ishmael. 1933. Mekhilta De-Rabi Yishmaʻel ...ʻIm
Shinuye Nusḥaʾot U-Marʾeh Meḳomot Ṿe-tirgum Ṿe-Heʻarot Bi-Śefat Anglit.
meʾet Yaʻaḳov Betsalʾel ha-Kohen Loyṭerbakh Philadelphia: ha-Ḥevrah ha-Yehudit
le-hotsaʾat sefarim asher ba-ʾAmeriḳa, 694-695 [1933-1935].
(ULIB BM 517 M4 1933)
Sifra. Sifra, or, Torat Kohanim: According to Codex Assemani Levi with a Hebrew
introduction by Louis Finkelstein. New York: Jewish Theological Seminary of America, 1956.
(ULIB OVER* BM 517 S6 1956)
Sifrei. Sifre De-Ve Rav: ʻIm Ḥilufe Girsaʾot Ve-Heʻarot, me'et
Ḥayim Shaʾul Horoṿiṭs. Yerushalayim: Sifre Ṿarman, 726-29 [1966-69].
(ULIB BM 517 S7 1966)
Sifrei. Deuteronomy. English. Sifre: A Tannaitic Commentary on the Book of Deuteronomy.
Translated from the Hebrew with introduction and notes by Reuven Hammer. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1986.
(ULIB BM 517 S75 A3 1986)
Midrash Rabbah. Soncino Midrash Rabbah [electronic resource]. Chicago, IL: Institute
for Computers in Jewish Life; Brooklyn, N. Y.: Davka Corporation: Judaica Press, 2001.
(ULIB IMC CMEDIA BM 517 M6 S66X 2001)
Midrash Rabbah. English. Midrash Rabbah. Translated into English with notes, glossary
and indices under the editorship of H. Freedman and Maurice Simon; with a foreword by I. Epstein. London; New York:
Soncino Press, 1983.
(ULIB BM 517 M65 A3 1983)
Pesikta Rabbati. English. Pesikta Rabbati; Discourses For Feasts, Fasts, and Special Sabbaths.
Translated from the Hebrew by William G. Braude. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1968.
(ULIB BM 517 P4 E5)
Pesikta de-Rav Kahana. Pesiḳta De-Rav Kahana ʻAl Pi Ketav Yad Oḳsford: Ṿe-Shinuye
Nusḥaʾot Mi-Khol Kitve Ha-Yad U-Sheride Ha-Genizah, ʻIm Perush U-Mavo Me-Et Dov Mendelboim.
Nuyorḳ: Bet ha-midrash le-Rabanim sheba-Ameriḳah, 722 [1962].
(ULIB BM 517 P38 M3)
Pirkei de-Rabbi Eliezer. Pirke De Rabbi Eliezer; (The Chapters of Rabbi Eliezer the Great) According
to the Text of the Manuscript Belonging to Abraham Epstein of Vienna. Translated and annotated with introd.
and indices by Gerald Friedlander. New York: B. Blom, 1971.
(ULIB BM 517 P7 E5 1971)
Tanna de-vei Eliyahu. Seder Eliyahu Raba Ṿe-Seder Eliyahu Zuṭa ; Tana De-Ve Eliyahu:
Nispaḥim Le-Seder Eliyahu Zuta, ʻAl Pi Ketav Yad ʻIm. Hosafot beʾurim u-mevoʾot
meʾet Meʾir Ish Shalom. Jerusalem: Bamberger at Wharman [1960].
(ULIB BM 517 T4 1902A) Includes Pirkei de-Rabbi Eliezer
Tanna de-vei Eliyahu. English. Tanna Děḇe Eliyyahu = The Lore of the School of Elijah.
Translated from the Hebrew by William G. (Gershon Zev) Braude and Israel J. Kapstein. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication
Society of America, 1981.
(ULIB BM 517 T4 E5 1981)
Midrash Tehillim. English. The Midrash on Psalms. Translated from the Hebrew and Aramaic
by William G. Braude. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1959.
(ULIB BM 517 T52 E5)
Midrash Proverbs. English. The Midrash on Proverbs. Translated from the Hebrew with an
introduction and annotations by Burton L. Visotzky. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1992.
(ULIB BM 517 M77 E5 1992)
Talmud. Minor tractates. Avot de-Rabbi Nathan. English. The Fathers According to Rabbi Nathan.
Translated from the Hebrew by Judah Goldin. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1955.
(ULIB BM 506.4 A2 E5)
Talmud. Minor tractates. Derekh ereẓ. Derekh ereẓ Zuṭa. A Commentary on Derech Ereẓ
Zuta. Hebrew text from Michael Higger's Massechtot Derech ereẓ; translation and commentary by
Daniel Sperber. Ramat-Gan, Israel: Bar-Ilan University Press, 1990-.
(ULIB BM 506.4 D6 S64 1990)
Talmud. Minor tractates. Semaḥot. English. 1966. The Tractate "Mourning" (Śĕmaḥoṯ) :
(Regulations Relating to Death, Burial, and Mourning). Translated from the Hebrew, with introduction and
notes, by Dov Zlotnick. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1966.
(ULIB BM 506.4 S4 E5)
Sefer ha-agadah. English. The Book of Legends = Sefer Ha-Aggadah: Legends From the Talmud and Midrash.
Edited by Hayim Nahman Bialik and Yehoshua Hana Ravnitzky; translated by William G. Braude ; introduction by David
Stern. New York: Schocken Books, 1992.
(ULIB OVER* BM 516 B52 E5 1992)
Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. English. Etheridge. 1968. The Targums of Onkelos and Jonathan Ben Uzziel on the
Pentateuch: With the Fragments of the Jerusalem Targum From the Chaldee. By J. W. Etheridge. New York: Ktav Pub. House,
1968.
(ULIB BS 1223 A2 E8)
Bowker, John Westerdale. The Targums and Rabbinic Literature: An Introduction to Jewish Interpretations
of Scripture. London: Cambridge U.P., 1969.
(ULIB BS 709.4 B6)
For Targum on individual sections or books of the Bible, check under the titles below, or
individual books of the Bible.
Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. Aramaic. Targum Onḳelos.
Bible. O.T. Pentateuch. Aramaic. Targum Pseudo-Jonathan.
Bible. O.T. Prophets (Neviʾim). Aramaic. Targum Jonathan.
Ibn Ḥabib, Jacob ben Solomon. ʻEn Yaʻaḳov: ʻIm Ha-Perushim Ha-Neḳuvim
Ba-Shaʻar Ha-Sheni. Ṿilna: [s.n.], 1911.
(ULIB BM 516 I3 1911)
Yalkut Shimoni. Yalḳuṭ Shimʻoni: Le-ʻeśrim Ṿe-arbaʻah Sifre
Torah, Neviʾim Ve-Khetuvim Liḳuṭe Midrashe Ḥazal Mi-Meḳomot Pezurehem
Asher Liḳet Ṿe-tsaraf Ṿe-ḥiber ʻAl Seder Ha-Miḳra Shimʻon, Rosh Ha-Darshanim
Mi-ḳḳFranḳfurt De-Main; ʻIm Zayit Raʻanan, perush le-Avraham Abele
mi-Kalush ; yatsa be-hotsaʾah meduyeḳet u-mughet ʻim marʾe meḳomot...u-veʾur
milim zarot le-fi perushe Rashi ṿeha-ʻorekh. Nyu-York: Ḥorev, 686 [1925/26].
(ULIB BM 517 Y3 1925)
Maimonides, Moses. Sefer Mishneh Torah--Hu Ha-Yad Ha-Ḥazaḳah. Nyu-Yorḳ:
Ḳehilat Bene Yosef, 735- [1975].
(ULIB BM 545 M5 1975)
Maimonides, Moses. Mishneh Torah. English. The Code of Maimonides. New Haven: Yale
University Press, 1949-.
(ULIB BM 545 M62 1949)
Jacob ben Asher. Arbaʻah Ha-Ṭurim: ʻIm Kol Ha-Meforshim Ka-Asher Nidpas
Mi-Ḳedem Ṿe-ʻIm Hosafot Ḥadashot. Yerushalayim: Mekhon Ḥatam Sofer,
1964 or 1965-1965 or 6; New York: M.P. Press, 1974-1975.
(ULIB OVER** BM 520.86 A2 1974)
Karo, Joseph ben Ephraim. Code of Hebrew Law. Shulhan ’Aruk.
Containing original Hebrew text of Joseph Caro and glosses of Moses Isserles. Translated into English with
commentary, glossary, and indices, by Chaim N. Denburg. Montreal, Jurisprudence Press, 1954-.
(ULIB BM 550 C333 D4)
Karo, Joseph ben Ephraim. Shulḥan ʻArukh: Magine Erets ʻIm Ḥamishah Ṿe-ʻEśrim
Mefarshim...ʻIm Rabenu ʻAḳiva Eger Ha-Shalem. Tel Aviv: Ṭal-Man B.M., 1977.
(ULIB OVER* BM 520.88 A2 1977)
See also under subsections
Oraḥ ḥayim, Yoreh Deʻah, Even Ha-ʻezer, Ḥoshen Mishpaṭ.
Responsa literature is entered under the name of the individual Rabbi or group of Rabbis who wrote the responsa.
Scholem, Gershom Gerhard. Major Trends in Jewish Mysticism.
New York: Schocken Books, 1995.
(ULIB BM 723 S35 1995)
Zohar. Sefer Ha-Zohar. Jerusalem: Pardes, [1954/55].
(ULIB BM 525 A5 1954)
Zohar. English. The Zohar. Translation and commentary by Daniel C. Matt.
Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2004.
(ULIB BM 525 A52 M37 2004)
Steinsalz, Adin. The Tanya. Hebrew text edited by Meir Hanegbi; translated by Ya'acov Tauber. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass, 2003-2005. (ULIB BM 198.2 S563 S7413 2003)
Dov Baer ben Samuel, of Linits. In Praise of the Baal Shem Tov [Shivḥei Ha-Besht]: The Earliest
Collection of Legends About the Founder of Hasidism. Translated and edited by Dan Ben-Amos & Jerome
R. Mintz. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, [1970].
(ULIB BM 755 I8 D613)
Dov Baer ben Samuel, of Linits. Shivḥe Ha-Besht. Berlin: s.n., [1922].
(ULIB BM 755 I8 D6 1922)
Dubnow, Simon. Toldot Ha-Ḥasidut Be-Teḳufat Tsemiḥatah Ṿe-gidulah:
ʻAl Yesod Meḳorot Rishonim, Nidpasim Ṿe-Khitve-Yad. Tel-Aviv: Devir, [1956-57].
(ULIB BM 198 D8 1956)
Glitsenshṭain, Avraham Ḥanokh, ed. Rabi Yiśraʾel Baʻal-Shem-Ṭov:
Parashiyot Mi-Toldataṿ, Ḥinukho, Hitgaluto, Shiṭato, Torato Ṿe-Hanhagato.
Brooklyn: Hotsaʾat sefarim Ḳehat, 720 [1960].
(ULIB BM 755 I8 G518)
Lamm, Norman, ed. The Religious Thought of Hasidism: Text and Commentary. Hoboken, NJ:
Yeshiva University Press, 1999.
(ULIB BM 198.2 R45 1999)
Naḥman, of Bratslav. Sipure-maʻaśiyot. English. The Tales of Rabbi Nachman.
Martin Buber. Translated from the German by Maurice Friedman. New York: Horizon Press, 1956.
(ULIB BM 532 N33)
Newman, Louis I., ed. The Hasidic Anthology: Tales and Teachings of the Hasidim; The Parables, Folk-tales,
Fables, Aphorisms, Epigrams, Sayings, Anecdotes, Proverbs, and Exegetical Interpretations of the Hasidic Masters and
Disciples; Their Lore and Wisdom. Translated from the Hebrew, Yiddish, and German, selected, compiled
and arranged by Louis I. Newman in collaboration with Samuel Spitz; with an introduction on "The Hasidim: Their
History, Literature and Doctrines."
(ULIB BM 198 N4 1944)
Rosman, Murray Jay. Founder of Hasidism: A Quest for the Historical Baʾal Shem Tov.
Berkeley: University of California Press, 1996.
(ULIB BM 755 I8 R66 1996)
Schneersohn, Joseph Isaac. Liḳuṭe Diburim. Bruḳlin. NY: Ḳehot,
1957-1958.
(ULIB BM 198 S323)
Schneersohn, Shalom Dov Baer. Ḳunṭres U-Maʻayan Mi-Bet D., ʻim
mavo ṿe-ḳitsurim me-et beno Admo"r shliṭ"a. Brooklyn: Otsar ha-Ḥasidim, 1943.
(ULIB BM 198 S35X)
Shneur Zalman, of Lyady. Igrot Baʻal Ha-Tanya U-Vene Doro. Neʾesfu sudru
ṿe-hughu be-tseruf heʻarot ṿe-tsiyunim ʻal yede Daṿid Tsevi Hilman. Jerusalem: [s.n.],
713- [1953-].
(ULIB BM 198 S53X)
Shneur Zalman, of Lyady. Likute amarim. English. Liqquṭei Amarim (Tanya). Brooklyn:
"Kehot" Publication Society, 1962-.
(ULIB BM 198 S483)
Wineman, Aryeh. The Hasidic Parable. Philadelphia: The Jewish Publication Society, 2001.
(ULIB BM 532 W46 2001)
Online Treasury of Talmudic Manuscripts. אוצר כתבי יד תלמודיים
A joint project of the Jewish National and University Library, David and Fela Shapell Family Digitization Project
and the Hebrew University Department of Talmud. The manuscripts are indexed to enable access by standard citation
(tractate, daf and amud for the Talmud Bavli, and tractate, chapter and mishna for the Mishna). As the manuscripts
are entirely in Hebrew and Aramaic, the navigation tools of this site are in Hebrew. Directions and explanations are
available in Hebrew or English. It is best viewed under Microsoft Windows with Microsoft Explorer version 5 or
higher.
Dinur Center for Research in Jewish History.
Online texts and documents related to Jewish History. Includes copies of, or links to, materials about or from,
Biblical studies, online biblical texts, Second Temple and Talmudic era, mediaeval era, modern era, the Holocaust,
Zionism, maps, as well as some general documents. Some of the listed sources link back to this site.
Sifrut Hakodesh. .
Includes TaNaKH, Mishnah, Tosefta, Talmud Yerushalmi, Talmud Bavli and the Mishneh Torah of the Rambam. Texts and
directions are in Hebrew. Has several relevant links.
Pirque Rabbi Eliezer—Electronic Text Editing Project
.
Edited by Lewis Barth. Run by the Hebrew Union College-Jewish Institute of Religion, but sponsored by
the University of Southern California website.
Babylonian Talmud.
Babylonian Talmud Translated into English by Michael L. Rodkinson (1918)
DAF’s Dafyomi Central Headquarters.
This site links to an electronic version of the Dafyomi (edaf) as well as
different Dafyomi Study groups, support materials, freeware, and relevant items for purchase (audio tapes of different
sessions, siyum clips, CD-Roms, etc.) and help with Hebrew and Hebrew fonts.
WebShas.
Provides a bibliography of the Talmud. Guides people to the places in the Talmud which discuss issues in which they
are interested. This site is in English.
A Page from the Babylonian Talmud.
An interactive page of Talmud that explains what is on the Talmudic page.
Scrolls from the Dead Sea: The Ancient Library of Qumran and Modern Scholarship.
An exhibit at the Library of Congress.
Dead Sea Scrolls and Other Hebrew MSS Project.
The Dead Sea Scrolls Project was established by the Oriental Institute during the months that followed the freeing of
the scrolls (autumn 1991). The project was originally staffed by Dr. Norman Golb, Professor of Jewish History and
Civilization, Dr. Michael Wise, Assistant Professor of Aramaic.
Works of Maimonides: Manuscripts and Early Prints.
Digitized versions displayed the exhibition “The Great Eagle at the JNUL.” part of the David and Fela
Shapell Family Digitization Project at the JNUL.
Halacha Brura and Birur Halacha Institute. A site with links to Kitve Ḳodesh appearing in full text on the internet. Site is in Hebrew. Covers many types of materials, from the Bible onwards, including Shu”T, grammar, Sidurim and Hagadot, Ḥasidut, and Jewish thought.
HebrewBooks.org.
Founded in order to preserve old Hebrew books that are out of print and/or circulation, especially American
rabbinical seforim (Hebrew books) from the early part of the 20th century. Full text, mostly in Adobe PDF files.
Seforim Online.
Site dedicated to making old Seforim of the Rishonim and Acharonim available over the Internet. All items on the site
are free. They are either out of print or without copyright restrictions. Most items are Adobe PDF files. Texts are
unsystematically arranged. Covers some items as early as the 15th century.
Torah.Net.
Intended to be a major site for the Jewish surfer on the Net. Dvrai Torah in three languages on the weekly parsha,
holidays, on education and prayer. It will contain a calendar with all the halachically important times, a discussion
forum, interesting and beneficial Internet sites, and a Bet Hora'ah where you can ask halachic questions and get
responsa from a recognized halachic authority.
Jewish Law.
"Examining Halacha, Jewish issues and secular law." Sponsored by the Orthodox Union. Includes
articles, case summaries, legal briefs, and Halachic forms
Ketubot at the Hebrew University Library (fully digitized texts).
Taylor Shechter Collection at Cambridge University Library Genizah Online Database (GOLD).
This database contains selected Genizah material. The material includes cataloguing, bibliographical details, and
digital images of fragments.
Princeton University Geniza Project.
The largest archive of Geniza texts is the Taylor-Schecter Collection at Cambridge University Library in England. It is
overseen by Taylor-Schechter Research Unit. The Taylor-Schechter Collection of the Cambridge University Library
has embarked on a pilot project to digitize manuscripts in the Documentary Geniza that are contained in the corpus of
texts transcribed into electronic form at Princeton University.
Da’at.
This is a small part of a larger site which covers
a whole array of Jewish topics. Mostly Hebrew but it has an English language
section. Its halachic articles and responsa are “modern Orthodox” some
taken from the Journal
of Halacha and Contemporary Society or Assia: a Journal of Jewish
Medical Ethics and Halacha.
Hebrew Calendar Science and Myths by Remy Landau.
Academic Guide to Jewish History.
An excellent bibliography of Rabbinic and other Jewish sources, including sources for modern materials, hosted by the
University of Toronto Library.
Academic Jewish Studies Internet Directory.
Internet Jewish History Sourcebook.
Leads to many relevant links for the complete study of Judaism
Maintained by Sharona R. Wachs. June 1, 2005
For help and questions contact: