General and Judaic Indexes
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Journals
Directories
Bibliographies
Resource Centers and/or Study Programs
Websites
Organizations
Books
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for those seeking information pertaining to Jewish women, their history, literatures, social and religious practices, and the status of women in Judaism and in the Bible. It is not meant to be comprehensive. This guide includes items in either print or digital format.
Resources owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through Minerva the Libraries' online catalog. You may search Minerva by author, title, subject, keywords, etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS or with keywords. Minerva lists books and journals for all three libraries: the University Library, the Dewey University Library and the Science Library, as well as several sublocations such as REF or IMC. The location "ULIB" for University Library, the location "DEWEY" is for Dewey Library, and the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Most books on women in Judaism are housed in the University Library. Minerva also indicates if a book is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If a book you need is on loan, you may request that it be returned for you (select Request Forms on the University Libraries homepage).
Books on Jewish women, women and Judaism, Jewish feminism and Jewish Women's literature are generally, but not exclusively found in the following areas:
BM (Judaism): BM 509 W7, BM 667, BM 675 T4, BM 726, BM 729 W6
D (World history): D 804.19, D804.47 (Holocaust)
DS (Jewish history, Israel): DS 119.2., DS 135 (generalized Jewish history by location)
E American History): E 184 J5 (American Jews)
HQ (Women) HQ 1172 (Jewish women), HQ 1728.5 (Israeli women)
PJ (Hebrew, Yiddish and Israeli literature): PJ 5001+, PJ 5120+
PS (American literature): PS 153 J4, PS 338 J4, PS 374 J48 (History & Criticism),
PS 508 J4, PS 591 J4, PS 628 J47, PS 648 J4 (Collections), PS 991-PS 3626 (Individual authors)
Note: Books or articles not owned by the University Libraries can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. ILLiad is an integrated interlibrary loan service through which you can request materials from remote libraries. Many requests can be handled electronically, with articles delivered directly to your email account. Accounts can be set up easily online through the Library's homepage listed under "Library Services" or go directly to ILLiad .
. .
Index to Jewish periodicals. Cleveland, OH: Index to Jewish periodicals, 1963-
(ULIB REF DS 101 I55X)
Reshimat ha-ma'amarim be-mada'e yahadut = Index of articles on Jewish studies. Reshimat ha-ma'amarim be-mada' yahadut. Jerusalem: Hotsa'at sefarim al shem Y.L. Magnes-ha-Universitah ha-'Ivrit, 729- [1968 or 1969-
(ULIB REF DS 101 Z999 R58)
Most of these electronic indexes or databases can be accessed through the University Libraries' Database Finder or Minerva
Mafteah le-khitve 'et be-'Ivrit = Index to Hebrew Periodicals. Haifa : University of Haifa.
Studies on women and gender abstracts online
Women's studies international.
American Jewish Historical Society. American Jewish desk reference: the ultimate one-volume reference to the Jewish experience in America. New York: Random House, c1999. (ULIB REF E 184.35 A44 1999)
Comay, Joan. Who's who in Jewish history after the period of the Old Testament. New ed. revised by Lavinia Cohn-Sherbok. New York: Oxford University Press, 1995.(ULIB REF DS 115 C6 1995)
Fischel, Jack and Sanford Pinkster, eds. Jewish-American history and culture: an encyclopedia. New York: Garland, 1992 (ULIB REF E 184 J5 J48 1992)
Hyman, Paula E. and Deborah Dash Moore. Jewish women in America: an historical encyclopedia; sponsored by the American Jewish Historical Society. New York: Routledge, 1998. (ULIB REF DS 115.2 J49 1998)
Marcus, James Rader. Concise dictionary of American Jewish biography. Brooklyn: Carlson, 1994. (ULIB REF E 184 J5 C653 1994)
Shapiro, Ann R, ed. in chief. Jewish American women writers: a bio-bibliographical and critical sourcebook. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994. (ULIB PS 153 J4 J48 1994)
Skolnik, Fred, ed. in chief . Encyclopaedia Judaica. Michael Berenbaum, executive editor. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA in association with the Keter Pub. House,c2007. (ULIB REF DS 102.8 E496 2007)
Spector, Shmuel and Geoffrey Widogers eds. The encyclopedia of Jewish life before and during the Holocaust . Jerusalem : Yad Vashem ; New York : New York University Press, 2001. (ULIB REF DS 135 E8 E45 2001)
Who's who in Israel, and Jewish personalities from all over the world. Tel-Aviv: Bronfman, 1985- (ULIB DS 125.3 A2 W53, Latest issue shelved in REFERENCE)
Davka Corporation. Encyclopedia of Judaism & dictionary of Jewish biography. Chicago: Institute for Computers in Jewish Life; Davka, 1992-1994. (ULIB IMC CMEDIA BM 50 E635X 1994)
Eylon, Dina Ripsman, ed. Women in Judaism: Encyclopedia. Toronto: University of Toronto. An electronic reference tool for general readers, scholars and students. The entries are organized chronologically and thematically, dealing with Jewish Women in biblical, post-biblical, medieval and modern times.
Bridges (Seattle, Wash.). Seattle, WA: New Jewish Agenda, 1990- (ULIB Per HQ 1172 B74X) Literary, social issues, feminism, lesbianism.
Nashim : a journal of Jewish women's studies & gender issues. Jerusalem, Israel: Schechter ; Waltham, MA: International Institute on Jewish Women, 1998- (ULIB Per HQ 1172 N37)
Women in Judaism: an interdisciplinary journal. Editor: Dina Ripsman Eylon Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto, 1997-
Women in Judaism: contemporary writings. Editor: Dina Ripsman Eylon Toronto, Canada: University of Toronto, 1997-
Note: Information on Jewish women, women in Judaism, American Jewish or Israeli women, Jewish women's literature, etc. can be found in general journals as well.
International Jewish feminist directory. New York: Commission for Women's Equality, American Jewish Congress, 1991.
Baskin, Judith Reesa and and Shelley Tenenbaum. Gender & Jewish studies : a curriculum guide. New York: Biblio Press, 1994 (ULIB BM 729 W6 G445 1994)
Cantor, Aviva. The Jewish woman, 1900-1985: a bibliography. With 1983-1986 citations compiled by Ora Hamelsdorf ; editorial coordinator: Doris B. Gold ; Fresh Meadows, N.Y.: Biblio Press, 1987. Earlier ed. 1979. (ULIB HQ 1172 Z999 C36 1987)
Elwell, Ellen Sue Levi. The Jewish women's studies guide. Lanham, MD: University Press of America; Fresh Meadows, N.Y. : Biblio Press, 1987. (ULIB HQ 1172 J49 1987)
Masnik, Ann S. The Jewish woman: an annotated selected bibliography, 1986-1993 : with 1994-1995 recent titles list. introduction by Marcia Cohn Spiegel ; editor, Doris B. Gold. New York: Biblio Press, 1996. (ULIB HQ 1172 Z999 M37 1996)
Bibliography covering the agunah problem, Jewish marriage, Jewish divorce and related issues (1996?)
Forman, Frieda with Cynthia Maier. Jewish women's voices: past and present: a bibliography. University Of Toronto. Women's Educational Resources Centre (1997)
Soc.Culture.Jewish Newsgroups. Reading Lists. Women and Judaism (2000)
Spiegel, Marcia Cohn. Bibliography on sources on sexual & domestic violence in the Jewish community. (2000)
Tallan, Cheryl. Medieval Jewish women in history, literature and art: an annotated bibliography (1998).
Weisbard, Phyllis Holman. Annotated bibliography and guide to archival resources on the history of Jewish women in America. (2002)
Wexler-Pashkoff, Tsiporah. Bibliography of Jewish women's resources (1998)
Bat Kol: a Feminist House of Study.
Eleanor Leff Jewish Women's Resource Center, National Council of Jewish Women, NY Section.
Fanya Gottesfeld Heller Center for the Study of Women in Judaism, Bar-Ilan University
Hadassah International Research Institute on Jewish Women, Brandeis University
Jewish Theological Seminary of America Women's Studies Program
Jewish Women's Archive (collections of oral histories, exhibits and other resources).
Kolot: the Center for Jewish Women's and Gender Studies, Reconstructionist Rabbinical College
Ma'ayan: Machon Iyun le-Nashim, Torah Studies Initiatives for Women (Orthodox)
Machon Chana: Women's Institute for the Study of Judaism (Lubavitch)
Ma'yan: The Jewish Women's Project, JCC of Manhattan
Jewish.Community: Jewish Community Online's Internet Resources: Special interests: women
Jewish Virtual Library: Biographies of Jewish Women. Biographical sketches of numerous Jewish women from the United States and Israel, compiled from a variety of sources by the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise.
Jewishnet: Global Jewish Information Network:Women and feminism
Ritualwell.org A website of innovative lifecycle and holiday rituals being created by Kolot and Ma'yan to enrich contemporary Jewish life.
Unpacking on the prairie: the Jewish women in the Upper Midwest An exhibit of the Jewish Historical Society of the Upper Midwest.
Women and the Holocaust (New Jersey Council for the Humanities) Includes several bibliographies on aspects of the topicAshir (Jewish professional women's organization connected with the Jewish Renaissance Center)
Bat Shalom: a feminist center for peace and social justice
Emunah of America (Orthodox assistance agency for the needy in Israel)
Hadassah (Women's Zionist Organization of America)
Jewish Orthodox Feminist Alliance
Jewish Renaissance Center (Center for Jewish women's learning in New York)
Jewish Women International (B'nai Brith Organization to combat domestic violence)
Jewish Women's Center of Pittsburgh, Inc. (Feminist, alternative liturgy).
Na'amat USA: The Women's Labor Zionist Organization of America
National Council of Jewish Women
National Council of Jewish Women of Canada
Women to Women US-Israel (provides financing and support to Israeli women of all faiths and backgrounds in their struggle for social justice, wellness and economic empowerment)
Women's League for Conservative Judaism
Baskin, Judith Reesa, ed. Jewish women in historical perspective. Detroit: Wayne State University, 1991.
(ULIB BM 729 W6 J49 1991)
Henry, Sondra and Emily Taitz. Written out of history: our Jewish foremothers. New York: Biblio Press, 1990.
(ULIB DS 115.2 H46 1990)
Antonelli, Judith S. In the image of God: a feminist commentary on the Torah. Northvale, N.J.: Jason Aronson, 1995
(ULIB BS 1225.3 A58 1995)
Brenner, Athalya. Feminist companion to the Bible.(Series). Sheffield, England: Sheffield Academic Press, 1993-1996.
(ULIB BS 521.4 F46 1993 V.1-10)
Frymer-Kensky, Tikva Simone. Reading the women of the Bible. New York: Schocken, 2002.
(ULIB BS 575 F78 2002)
Goldstein, Elyse. ReVisions: seeing Torah through a feminist lens. Woodstock, VT: Jewish Lights, 1998.
(ULIB BS 1199 W7 G67 1998)
Goldstein, Elyse, ed. The women's Torah commentary: new insight from women Rabbis on 54 weekly Torah portions. Woodstock, VT: Jewish Lights, 2000. (ULIB BS 1225.3 G578 2000)
Hammer, Jill. Sisters at Sinai: new tales of biblical women. Philadelphia : Jewish Publication Society, 2001.
(ULIB BS 575 H28 2001)
Zlotnick, Helena. Dinah's daughters: gender and Judaism from the Hebrew Bible to late antiquity. Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press, 2002. (ULIB BS 580 D55 Z56 2002)
Abrams, Judith Z. The women of the Talmud. Northvale, N.J. Jason Aronson, 1995 (ULIB BM 509 W7 A25 1995)
Baker, Cynthia M. Rebuilding the house of Israel: architectures of gender in Jewish antiquity. Stanford, CA: Stanford University Press, 2002. (ULIB BM 729 W6 B27 2002)
Baskin, Judith Reesa. Midrashic women: formations of the feminine in rabbinic literature. Hannover: published by University Press of New England for Brandeis University Press,c2002. (ULIB BM 509 W7 B37 2002)
Biale, Rachel. Women & Jewish law: an exploration of women's issues in halakhic sources. New York: Schocken 1984.
(ULIB HQ 1172 B54X 1984)
Goldstein, Bluma. Enforced Marginality: Jewish Narratives on Abandoned Wives. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007. (ULIB KBM 550 G65 2007)
Hasan-Rokem, Galit. Tales of the neighborhood: Jewish narrative dialogues in late antiquity. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2003. (ULIB GR 286 G35 H37 2003)
Hauptman, Judith. Rereading the Rabbis: a woman's voice. Boulder. CO: Westview Press, 1998. (ULIB BM 509 W7 H38 1998)
Henkin, J.H. Responsa on contemporary Jewish women's issues. Hoboken, N.J: KTAV, 2003 (ULIB BM 729 W6 H46 2003)
Hyman, Naomi M., ed. Biblical women in the Midrash: a sourcebook. Northvale, N.J.: Jason Aronson, 1997.
(ULIB BM 509 W7 B53 1997)
Meiselman, Moshe. Jewish woman in Jewish law. New York: KTAV, 1978. (ULIB HQ 525 J4 M44X)
Millen, Rochelle L. Women, birth and death in Jewish law and practice. Hanover, N.H.: Brandeis University Press published by the University Press of New England, c2004. (ULIB BM 729 W6 M53 2004)
Neusner, Jacob. A history of the Mishnaic law of women. Leiden: Brill, 1980. (ULIB BM 177 S78X V.33)
Porter, Jack Nusan, ed. Women in chains: a sourcebook on the agunah. Northvale, N.J.: J. Aronson, c1995. (ULIB BM 523.7 A4 W65X 1995)
Talmud. (Much of Talmudic law on women is in the order Nashim). The library has an Aramaic version (ULIB OVER ** BM 499 1973 ) and English translation [Epstein] (ULIB REF BM 500 E57 1961). The Steinsaltz ed. of the Talmud only covers the tractate Ketubot. (ULIB OVER (*) BM 499.5 E4 1989 BldgOnly v. 7-12))
Valer, Shulamit. Women and womanhood in the Talmud. translated by Betty Sigler Rozen. Providence, RI: Brown University, 1999. (ULIB BM 509 W7 V3513 1999)
Fram, Edward. My dear daughter: Rabbi Benjamin Slonik and the education of Jewish women in sixteenth-century Poland. Cincinnati, OH Hebrew Union College Press, c2007. (ULIB BM 729 W6 F72 2007)
Grossman, Avraham, ed. Pious and rebellious: Jewish women in Medieval Europe. Waltham, MA: Brandeis University Press; Hannover: University Press of New England, 2004. (ULIB BM 729 W6 G7613 2004)
Hyman, Paula, ed. Gender and assimilation in modern Jewish history: the roles and representation of women. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1995. (ULIB DS 148 H93 1995)
Parush, Iris, ed. Reading Jewish women: marginality and modernization in nineteenth-century Eastern European Jewish society. Waltham, Mass.: Brandeis University Press; Hanover: University Press of New England, 2004. (ULIB HQ 1172 P3713 2004)
Bernstein, Deborah S., ed. Pioneers and homemakers : Jewish women in pre-state Israel. Albany: SUNY Press, 1992 (ULIB HQ 1728.5 P56 1992)
Halperin-Kaddari, Ruth. Women in Israel: a State of their Own. Philadelphia University of Pennsylvania Press, 2004 (ULIB HQ 1728.5 H35 2004)
Hazelton, Lesley. Israeli women: the reality behind the myth. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1977. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 H39)
Katz, Sheila H. Women and gender in early Jewish and Palestinian nationalism. Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2003. (ULIB HQ 1236.5 I75 K38 2003)
Meyer, Tamar, ed. Women and the Israeli occupation: the politics of change. London; New York: Routledge, 1994. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 W66 1994)
Misra, Kalpana and and Melanie S. Rich, eds. Jewish feminism in Israel: some contemporary perspectives. Hanover, NH: Brandeis University Press, Published by University Press of New England, 2003. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 J49 2003)
Palgi, Michal ... et al. Sexual equality, the Israeli kibbutz tests the theories. Norwood, PA: Norwood Editions, 1983. (ULIB HX 742.2 A3 S47 1983)
Powers, Janet M. Blossoms on the Olive Tree: Israeli and Palestinian Women Working for Peace. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2006.(ULIB HQ 1728.5 P65 2006)
Raider, Mark A. and Miriam Raider-Roth, eds. The plough woman: records of the pioneer women of Palestine. Hanover, N.H: Brandeis University Press, 2002. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 Z75 A3 2002)
Rein, Natalie. Daughters of Rachel: women in Israel. Harmondsworth; New York: Penguin, 1980. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 R43)
Sered, Susan Starr. What makes women sick: maternity, modesty and militarism in Israeli society. Hanover, NH: Brandeis University Press, 2000. (SCIENCE RA 564.85 S47X 2000)
Sharoni, Simona . Gender and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict: the politics of women's resistance . Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1995. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 Z8 W4773 1995)
Spiro, Melford E. Gender & culture: kibbutz women revisited. New Brunswick N.J:. Transaction, 1996. (ULIB HX 742.2 A3 S64 1996)
Swirski, Barbara and Marilyn P Safir, eds. Calling the equality bluff: women in Israel. New York: Teachers College Press, 1993. (ULIB HQ 1728.5 C35 1993)
Young, Elise G. Keepers of history: women and the Israeli-Palestinian conflict. New York: Teachers College Press, 1992 (ULIB DS 119.7 Y68 1992)
Baer, Elizabeth R. and Myrna Goldenberg, eds. Experience and expression: women, the Nazis, and the Holocaust. Detroit, MI: Wayne State University Press, 2003. (ULIB D 804.47 E86 2003)
Brenner, Rachel Feldhay. Writing as resistance: four women confronting the Holocaust: Edith Stein, Simone Weil, Anne Frank, Etty Hillesum. University Park, PA: Pennsylvania State University Press, 1997 (ULIB D 804.19 B74 1997)
Fuchs, Esther, ed. Women and the Holocaust: narrative and representation. Lanham, MD: University Press of America, 1999. (ULIB D 804.47 W65 1999)
Gurewitsch, Brana, ed. Mothers, sisters, resisters: oral histories of women who survived the Holocaust. Tuscaloosa: University of Alabama Press, 1998 (ULIB D 804.47 M67 1998)
Kremer, S. Lillian. Women's Holocaust writing: memory and imagination. Lincoln: University of Nebraska Press, 1999 (ULIB PN 56 H55 K74 1999)
Lentin, Ronit. Israel and the daughters of the Shoah: reoccupying the territories of silence. New York: Berghahn Books, 2000. (ULIB D 804.195 L46 2000)
Ofer, Dalia and Lenore J. Weitzman, eds. Women in the Holocaust. New Haven, CT: Yale University Press, 1998. (ULIB D 804.47 W66 1998)
Raphael, Melissa . The female face of God in Auschwitz: a Jewish feminist theology of the Holocaust . New York: Routledge, 2003. (ULIB BM 645 H6 R37 2003)
Tec, Nehama. Resilience and courage: women, men, and the Holocaust. New Haven : Yale University Press, 2003. (ULIB D 804.47 T43 2003)
Antler, Joyce. The journey home: Jewish women and the American century. New York: Free Press, 1997. (ULIB DS 115.2 A58 1997)
Antler, Joyce, ed. Talking back: images of Jewish women in American popular culture. Hanover, NH: Brandeis University Press, 1998. (ULIB E 185 J4 T25 1998)
Baum, Charlotte, Paula Hyman and Sonya Michel. The Jewish woman in America. New York: Dial Press, 1976. (ULIB E 185 J4 B37)
Brody, Leslie, ed. Daughters of kings: growing up as a Jewish woman in America. Boston: Faber & Faber, 1997. (ULIB BM 205 D28 1997)
Diner, Hasia R. and Beryl Lieff Benderly. Her works praise her: a history of Jewish women in America from colonial times to the present. New York: Basic Books, 2002. (ULIB E 184.36 D56X 2002)
Fishman, Sylvia Barack. A breath of life: feminism in the American Jewish Community. New York: Free Press, 1993. (ULIB HQ 1172 F57 1993)
Goldman, Karla. Beyond the synagogue gallery: finding a place for women in American Judaism. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2000. (ULIB BM 729 W6 G65 2000)
Glanz, Rudolph. The Jewish woman in America: two female immigrant generations, 1820-1929. New York: KTAV, 1976 (ULIB E 184 J5 G493)
Kafka, Phillipa, ed. Lost on the map of the world: Jewish-American women's quest for home in essays and memoirs, 1890-present. New York : Peter Lang, 2001. (ULIB E 184.36 W64 L67 2001)
Marcus, Jacob Rader. The American Jewish woman, 1654-1980. New York: KTAV; Cincinnati: American Jewish Archives, 1981 (ULIB HQ 1172 M37)
Marcus, Jacob Rader. The American Jewish woman: a documentary history. New York: KTAV; Cincinnati: American Jewish Archives, 1981 (ULIB HQ 1172 M37 SUP.)
Moses, Jennifer Anne. Bagels and grits: a Jew on the Bayou. Madison, Wisc. Terrace Books/University or Wisconsin Press, 2007. (ULIB F 397 B33 M67 2007)
Nadell, Pamela S., ed. American Jewish women's history: a reader. New York: New York University Press, 2003. (ULIB E 184.36 W64 A53 2003)
Nadell, Pamela S. and Jonathan D. Sarna, eds. Women and American Judaism: historical perspectives. Hanover, NH: Brandeis University Press, 2001. (ULIB BM 729 W6 W655 2001)
Prell, Riv-Ellen. Fighting to become Americans: Jews, gender, and the anxiety of assimilation. Boston, MA: Beacon Press, 1999. (ULIB E 184.36 S65 P74 1999)
Reinharz, Shulamit and Mark A. Raider. eds. American Jewish Women and the Zionist Enterprise. Waltham, Mass: Brandeis University Press; Hanover: University Press of New England, c2005. (ULIB E 184.36 W64 A52 2005)
Schultz, Debra L. Going South: Jewish women in the Civil Rights Movement. New York: New York University Press, 2001 (ULIB E 185.61 S364 2001)
Brooks, Andree Aelion. The woman who defied kings: the life and times of Dona Gracia Nasi--a Jewish leader during the Renaissance. St. Paul, Minn.: Paragon House, 2002. (ULIB DS 135 M43 N372 2002)
Lamdan, Ruth. A separate people: Jewish women in Palestine, Syria, and Egypt in the sixteenth century. Boston: Brill, 2000. (ULIB BM 729 W6 L36 2000)
Levy, Isaac Jack and Rosemary Levy Zumwalt. Ritual medical lore of Sephardic women: sweetening the spirits, healing the sick. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 2002. (ULIB GR 98 L48 2002)
Matza, Diane, ed. Sephardic-American voices: two hundred years of literary legacy. Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 1997. (ULIB PS 508 J4 S47 1997)
Melammed, Renee Levine. Heretics or daughters of Israel?: the crypto-Jewish women of Castile. New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. (ULIB DS 135 S75 C336 1999)
Schely-Newman, Esther. Our lives are but stories: narratives of Tunisian-Israeli women. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2002. (ULIB DS 113.8 T83 S34 2002)
Sered, Susan Starr. Women as ritual experts: the religious lives of elderly Jewish women in Jerusalem. New York: Oxford University Press, 1992. (ULIB BM 726 S47 1992)
Silliman, Jael. Jewish portraits, Indian frames: women's narratives from a diaspora of hope. Hanover, N.H : University Press of New England ; Wantage : University Presses Marketing, 2001. (ULIB HQ 1172 S55 2001)
Simon, Rachel. Change within tradition among Jewish women in Libya. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 1992. (ULIB DS 135 L44 S56 1992)
Agosin, Marjorie, ed. Passion, memory, and identity: twentieth-century Latin American Jewish women writers. Albuquerque: University of New Mexico Press, 1999. (ULIB PQ 7081 A1 P37 1999)
Balin, Carol B., ed. To reveal our hearts: Jewish women writers in Tsarist Russia. Cincinnati [Ohio]: Hebrew Union College Press; Detroit, MI: Distributed by Wayne State University Press, 2000. (ULIB PG 2998 J4 B35 2000)
Baskin, Judith Reesa, ed. Women of the word: Jewish women and Jewish writing. Detroit, MI: Distributed by Wayne State University Press, 1994. (ULIB PN 842 W66 1994)
Burstein, Janet . Writing mothers, writing daughters: tracing the maternal in stories by American Jewish women . Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1996. (ULIB PS 153 J4 B87 1996)
Cohen, Sarah Blacher, ed. Making a scene: the contemporary drama of Jewish-American women. Syracuse, N.Y.: Syracuse University Press, 1997. (ULIB PS 628 J47 M35 1997)
Domb, Risa, ed. New women's writing from Israel. Portland, OR: V. Mitchell, 1996 (ULIB PJ 5059 E8 N49 1996)
Escliar, Myriam. Mujeres en la literatura y la vida judeoargentina. Buenos Aires, Argentina: Editorial Mila, 1996. (ULIB F 3021 J5 E73X 1996)
Fishman, Sylvia Barack, ed. Follow my foot prints: changing images of women in American Jewish fiction. Hanover, NH: Brandeis University Press, 1992 (ULIB PS 648 J4 F65 1992)
Glazer, Miriyam, ed. Dreaming the actual: contemporary fiction and poetry by Israeli women writers. Albany: SUNY Press, 2000. (ULIB PJ 5059 E1 D74 2000)
Glazer, Miryam, ed. Burning air and a clear mind: contemporary Israeli woman poets. Athens, OH: Ohio University Press, 1981. (ULIB PJ 5059 E3 B79)
Halio, Jay L. and Ben Siegel . Daughters of valor: contemporary Jewish American women writers . Newark: University of Delaware Press, 1997. (ULIB PS 153 J4 D38 1997)
Kaye, Kantrowitz, Melanie and Irena Klepfisz, eds. The tribe of Dinah: a Jewish women's anthology. Montpelier, VT: Sinister Wisdom, 1986 (ULIB PS 508 J4 T75X 1986)
Lichtenstein, Diane Marilyn . Writing their nations: the tradition of nineteenth-century American Jewish women writers . Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1992. (ULIB PS 153 J4 L5 1992)
Marks, Marlene Adler. Nice Jewish girls: growing up in America. New York: Penguin Books, 1996 (ULIB PS 508 J4 N53 1996)
Rubin, Lois, ed. Connections and collisions: identities in contemporary Jewish American women's writing. Newark, DE: University of Delaware Press, c2005. (ULIB PS153 J4 C675 2005)
Seidman, Naomi. A marriage made in heaven: the sexual politics of Hebrew and Yiddish. Berkeley, CA : University of California Press, 1997. (ULIB PJ 5113 S45 1997)
Sokoloff, Naomi B., Anne Lapidus Lerner and Anita Norich, eds. Gender and text in modern Hebrew and Yiddish literature. New York: Jewish Theological Seminary; 1992. (ULIB PJ 5013 W66 G46 1992)
Uffen, Ellen Serlen . Strands of the cable: the place of the past in Jewish American women's writing . New York: P. Lang, 1992. (ULIB PS 153 J4 U34 1992)
Adelman, Penina V. Miriam's well: rituals for Jewish Women around the year. New York: Biblio Press, 1990. (ULIB BM 726 A27 1990)
Broner, E.M. The telling: the story of a group of Jewish women who journey to spirituality through community and ceremony. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1993. (ULIB BM 729 W6 B75 1993)
Cardin, Nina Beth, comp. Tears of sorrow, seeds of hope: a Jewish spiritual companion for infertility and pregnancy loss. Woodstock, Vt. : Jewish Lights Pub., c1999. (ULIB BM 667 W6 T4 1999)
Grossman, Susan and Rivka Haut, eds. Daughters of the king: women and the synagogue: a survey of history, halakhah, and contemporary realities. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1992. (ULIB BM 726 D37 1992)
Hartman, Tova. Appropriately subversive: modern mothers in traditional religions. by Tova Hartman Halbertal. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2002. (ULIB BL 458 H37 2002)
Levine, Elizabeth R., ed. A ceremonies sampler. San Diego: Woman's Institute for Continuing Jewish Education, 1991. (ULIB BM 667 W6 C47 1991)
Orenstein, Debra, ed. Lifecycles. Woodstock, VT: Jewish Lights, 1994. (V.1. Jewish women on life passages and personal milestones; V.2. Jewish women on Biblical themes in contemporary life) (ULIB BM 726 L5 1994)
Seyder Tkhines. Seyder Tkhines: the forgotten book of common prayer for Jewish women. Edited, and translated with commentary by Devra Kay. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 2004. (ULIB BM 675 T4 Z554)
Slonim, Rivkah, ed. Total immersion: a mikvah anthology. Liz Rosenberg, editor. Northvale, N.J.: J. Aronson, 1996. (ULIB BM 703 T68 1996)
Umansky, Ellen and Ashton, Dianne. Four centuries of Jewish women's spirituality: a sourcebook. Boston: Beacon Press, 1992 (ULIB BM 43 F68 1992)
Weissler, Chava. Voices of the Matriarchs: listening to the prayers of early modern Jewish women. Boston: Beacon Press, 1998 (ULIB BM 675 T4 Z745 1998)
Wolowelsky, Joel B. Women at the Seder: a Passover Haggadah. Jersey City, N.J.: KTAV,c2005. (ULIB BM 674.643 W65 2005)
Adler, Rachel. Engendering Judaism: an inclusive theology and ethics. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1998. (ULIB BM 729 W6 A29 1998)
Cantor, Aviva. Jewish women/Jewish men: the legacy of patriarchy in Jewish life. San Francisco: HaperSanFrancisco, 1995 (ULIB BM 729 W6 C36 1995)
Davidman, Lynn and Shelly Tenenbaum, eds. Feminist perspectives on Jewish studies. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1994. (ULIB BM 729 W6 F45 1994)
Deutsch, Nathaniel . The maiden of Ludmir: a Jewish holy woman and her world . Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, c2003. (ULIB BM 755 W395 D48 2003)
Frankel, Jonathan, ed. Jews and gender: the challenge to hierarchy. New York : Oxford University Press, 2000. (ULIB DS 125 S75 V.16)
Gottlieb, Lynn. She who dwells within: a feminist vision of a renewed Judaism. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1995. (ULIB BM 729 W6 G68 1995)
Haddad, Yvonne Yazbeck and John L. Esposito . Daughters of Abraham: feminist thought in Judaism, Christianity, and Islam . Gainesville: University Press of Florida, 2001. (ULIB BM 729 W6 D38 2001)
Heschel, Susannah. On being a Jewish feminist. New York: Schocken Books, 1983. (ULIB BM 729 W6 O6)
Levitt, Laura. Jews and feminism: the ambivalent search for home. New York: Routledge, 1997. (ULIB BM 729 W6 L49 1997)
Nadell, Pamela Susan. Women who would be rabbis: a history of women's ordination, 1889-1985 . Boston: Beacon Press, 1998. (ULIB BM 652 N33 1998)
New Woman Collective. Jewish women's awareness guide: connections for the 2nd wave of Jewish feminism. New York: Biblio Press, 1992. (ULIB HQ 1172 J486 1992)
Peskowitz, Miriam and Laura Levitt, eds. Judaism since gender. New York: Routledge, 1997 (ULIB BM 729 W6 J83 1997)
Plaskow, Judith. Standing again at Sinai: Judaism from a feminist perspective. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1991. (ULIB BM 729 W6 P55 1991)
Rudavsky, Tamar. Gender and Judaism: the transformation of tradition. New York: New York University Press, 1995 (ULIB BM 729 W6 G45 1995)
Ruttenberg, Danya, ed. Yentl's revenge: the next wave of Jewish feminism. Seattle, WA: Seal Press, 2001. (ULIB BM 729 W6 Y46 2001)
Schneider, Susan, ed. Jewish and female. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1984. (ULIB BM 729 W6 S36 1984)
Sheridan, Sybil, ed . Hear our voice: women in the British rabbinate. Columbia, S.C.: University of South Carolina Press, 1998. (ULIB BM 729 W6 H43 1998)
Aiken, Lisa. To be a Jewish women. Northvale, N.J. Jason Aronson, 1992. (ULIB BM 729 W6 A35 1992)
Berkovic, Sally . Straight talk: my dilemma as an Orthodox Jewish woman . Hoboken, NJ: KTAV Pub. House, 1999. (ULIB BM 726 B49 1999)
Davidman, Lynn. Tradition in a rootless world: women turn to Orthodox Judaism. Berkeley, CA: University of California Press, 1991. (ULIB BM 726 D38 1991)
El-Or, Tamar . Next year I will know more: literacy and identity among young Orthodox women in Israel . Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 2002. (ULIB BM 85 I8 E5313 2002)
Frankiel, Tamar. The voice of Sarah: feminine spirituality and traditional Judaism. San Francisco: HarperSanFrancisco, 1990. (ULIB BM 729 W6 F73 1990)
Greenberg, Blu. On women and Judaism: a view from tradition. Philadelphia: Jewish Publication Society, 1981. (ULIB BM 729 W6 G73)
Hartman, Tova. Feminism encouters traditional Judaism: resistance and accomodation. Waltham: Brandeis University Press; Hanover, NH: University Press of New England, 2007 (ULIB BM 729 W6 H375 2007)
Kaufman, Debra Renee. Rachel's daughters: newly Orthodox Jewish women. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 1991. (ULIB BM 726 K38 1991)
Morris, Bonnie J. Lubavitcher women in America: identity and activism in the post-war era. Albany: State University of New York Press, 1998. (ULIB BM 729 W6 M67 1998)
Ner-David, Haviva. Life on the fringes: a feminist journey toward traditional rabbinic ordination. Needham, MA: JFL Books, 2000. (ULIB BM 755 N44 A3 2000)
Ross, Tamar. Expanding the palace of Torah: Orthodoxy and feminism. Waltham, MA: Brandeis University Press; Hanover, NH: Published by University Press of New England, 2004. (ULIB BM 729 W6 R67 2004)
Alpert, Rebecca T. Like bread on a seder plate. New York: Columbia University Press, 1997 (ULIB BM 729 H65 A47 1997)
Alpert, Rebecca T., Sue Levi Elwell and Shirley Idelson. Lesbian Rabbis: the first generation. New Brunswick, N.J.: Rutgers University Press, 2001 (ULIB BM 753 L42 2001)
Beck, Evelyn Torton. Nice Jewish girls: a lesbian anthology. Boston: Beacon Press, 1989. (ULIB HQ 75.6 U5 N5 1989)
Bulka, Christie and Andy Rose, eds. Twice blessed: on being lesbian, gay and Jewish. Boston: Beacon Press, 1989. (ULIB BM 729 H65 T85 1989)
Moore, Tracy, ed. Lesbiot = Lesbiyot: Israeli lesbians talk about sexuality, feminism, Judaism and their lives. London: Cassell, 1995. (ULIB HQ 76.8 I75 L47X 1995)
Aviad, Michelle, director. The Women next door. New York, NY: Women Make Movies, 1992. (ULIB IMC VidCas HQ 1728.5 W663V 1992)
Rivlin, Lillie, director. Miriam's daughters now. Presented by the New York Center for Visual History. New York, N.Y. : Filmakers Library, 1986. (ULIB IMC VidCas BM 729 W6 M57X 1986)
Zuckerman, Francine and Roushell N. Goldstein, directors. Half the Kingdom. Produced by Kol Ishah Productions, Inc. Los Angeles, CA: Direct Cinema Limited, 1989. (ULIB IMC VidCas HQ 1172 H35X 1989)
Maintained by Sharona R. Wachs. Revised January 16, 2008
For help and questions contact: SWachs@uamail.albany.edu