WorldCat
--Contains records for over 35 million books and other materials held in
libraries worldwide. Available to registered borrowers only.
(Go To Top)
Current Awareness and Overviews
- Annual Review of Anthropology. 1972+. --Each volume consists
of review or state-of-the-art articles on topics of current interest in all
fields of anthropology. Not all fields are represented every year. (GN 1
A623). Continues Biennial Review of Anthropology . 1959-1971.
(GN 1 B54x). Back issues also available to registered borrowers through JSTOR .
Current issues available from Annual Reviews .
- Reviews in Anthropology. 1974+. --Book reviews from all
sub-fields of anthropology.(PER GN 1 R35x)
- Yearbook of Physical Anthropology. 1945+. --Reviews of
research dealing with diverse aspects of physical anthropology. Not all areas
of research are represented every year.(GN 60 Y4x)
(Go To Top)
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Cambridge Encyclopedia of Human Evolution. 1992. --Short
(4-5 pages) signed articles on primate and human evolution and biology. (REF
GN 281 C345 1992).
- Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology. 1994.
--Substantial (20-30 pages) signed articles on various aspects of
anthropology. Divided into three sections: Humanity, Culture, and Social
Life. (REF GN 25 C65 1994).
- Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology . 1991.
--A dictionary of concepts, a compilation of key ideas." Focuses mainly on
the English-speaking world. (REF GN 307 W56 1991).
- Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology . 1991.
--Presents "brief, substantive discussions of the development and use of
significant concepts" in physical anthropology. (REF GN 50.3 S74 1991).
- Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology. 1996. 4 vols. --"A
compendium of knowledge produced by and relevant to cultural anthropology."
Includes selected information on linguistics, biological anthropology, and
archaeology. (REF GN 307 E52 1996).
- Encyclopedia of World Cultures. 1991. 10 vols. --Attempts
to provide "accurate, clear and concise descriptions of the cultures of the
world." Arranged geographically. (REF GN 307 E53 1991).
- HRAF Ethnographic
Atlas --A searchable cultural atlas with information on hundreds of
societies.
(Go To Top)
Directories and Biographical Information
- American Anthropological Association. Guide. Latest year
only. --A guide to academic, museum and research departments of anthropology
in the United States and Canada. Lists current faculty/personnel, degrees
and certificates granted, special resources, facilities and programs, etc.
Also includes the AAA Membership Directory . (REF GN 43 A25x
A5).
- International Dictionary of Anthropologists . 1991.
--Biographical information on 725 anthropologists born before 1920. (REF GN
20 I5 1991).
(Go To Top)
Handbooks and Guides to Research
- Fieldwork in the Library: a Guide to Research in Anthropology and
Related Areas. 1994. --A bibliography of reference works in
anthropology. International in scope. (REF GN 42 Z999 W47x 1994).
Human Relations Area Files
The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) are a collection of primary source
materials (mostly published books and articles, but some unpublished
manuscripts) on selected cultures representing all major areas of the world.
The materials are organized and filed to allow retrieval of specific
information on given cultures and topics. The collection is organized into
separate Culture Files, teach of which contains information on one culture or
a closely related group of cultures. Each culture or group of cultures is
given a unique letter/number combination based on the classification found in
George Murdock's Outline of World Cultures (REF GN 345.3 M87
1983). Within each Culture File there are the complete texts of a number of
sources dealing with that culture. These materials are annotated and arranged
according to a comprehensive subject classification system which is presented
in the Outline of Cultural Materials (REF H 62 B36 v.1 1982).
Thus each culture file contains both a complete, page-order text of every
source listed in that file, plus a series of numbered category divisions in
which all pages dealing with a particular subject or aspect of a culture are
brought together. It is a useful tool both for beginning studies of specific
cultures or areas and for cross-cultural studies of specific topics. It should
be noted that the HRAF files contain many ethnographic documents which are not
otherwise available in the University Library. They are partcularly useful for
their coverage of Africa and the Asian Pacific, which are not as well covered
by our regular collections as are other areas.
The University Libraries have both the microfiche collection and access to
the eHRAF
Collection of Ethnography . Many of the cultures which have been treated
in the microfiche collection have not yet been covered by the eHRAF Collection
of Ethnography, and the eHRAF includes cultures not included in the microfiche
collection (particularly North American immigrant groups), so you should check
both sources for information on a given culture.
For help on using the HRAF, see Nature and Use of the HRAF Files: A
Research and Training Guide (REF GN 33 L27x).
(Go To Top)
Information on Native Americans
- Handbook of South American Indians. 1946-1959.
--Descriptions by American anthropologists of all phases of life of South
American Indian tribes, with special attention given to the time of contact
with Europeans. Extensive bibliographies and index. (F 2229 S75).
- Handbook of Middle American Indians, 16 vols. --Each
volume contains a series of essays by specialists on specific aspects of the
life, customs, environment, arts, etc., of the various groups of Middle
American Indians. Extensive bibliographies and indexes. (REF F 1434 H3).
- Handbook of North American Indians. 1978+ --Planned to be
a 20-volume encyclopedic summary of the prehsitory, history, and cultures of
aboriginal peoples of North American north of Mexico. Articles by
specialists with extensive bibliographies and indexes. (REF F 1434 H3).
- Native
American Sites --This web page provides access to the home pages of
individual Native Americans and Nations and to other sites that provide
solid information about Native Americans.
- Native North American Almanac: A Reference Work on Native North
Americans in the United States and Canada. 1994. --Provides
"historical and contemporary information about the native peoples of North
America, "including entries on contemporary Native culture, art,
communities, life and legal relations. (REF E 76.2 N385x 1994).
- Native America in the Twentieth Century: An Encyclopedia .
1994. --Covers "important aspects of Native American life in the United
States during this century," with articles on such subjects as art, economic
conditions, health, languages, religion, etc. (REF E 76.2 N36 1991).
- Native Time: a Historical Time Line of Native Americans .
1996. --Beginning with 200,000 B.S., this book "concentrates on the history
literature, art, heroes, legends, wisdom and philosophy of the Native People
of what is now known as America." (REF E 98 CC55 F73 1996).
- Native Tribes of North America: A Concise Encyclopedia .
1993. --Tribal entries are grouped into cultural and geographical areas and
by language. Color plates give a visual introduction to some of the basic
material culture traits of Native American peoples.
- Ready Reference: American Indians. 1995. 3 vols.
--Contains 1,129 articles ranging in length from 200 to 3000 words, covering
a wide range of topics related to Native Americans. (REF E 76.2 A45 1995).
- Reference Encyclopedia of the American Indian . 1993.
--This source is divided into four sections: 1: U.S. Source Listings, which
include lists and addresses of reservations, tribal councils, Indian
schools, colleges, etc.; 2) Canadian Source Listings; 3) a bibliography of
approximately 4500 books on Native Americans; and 4) approximately 2500
short biographical sketches of prominent Native Americans. (REF E 76.2 R5
1993).
(Go To Top)
This site was compiled by Eleanor Gossen and is maintained by Christina Connor.
Comments to