Dewey Graduate Library
University at Albany
Updated: March 2008
The purpose of this research guide is to provide some basic guidance on information sources to students studying archives and records administration. The focus is on conducting research related to the archives and records management fields, not on finding archival collections, though that topic is touched upon in the section on Locating Archival Collections.
The majority of print sources for archives and records administration are located at Dewey Library; however, some pertinent materials may also be housed in the reference sections of the University Library and the M.E. Grenander Department of Special Collections and Archives on the third floor the Science library.
If you would like assistance with your research, please do not hesitate to contact a reference librarian for help either in person at the reference desk, by phone (518-442-3691), or by email through our Ask a Librarian service.
University Libraries subscribes to several Information and Library Science databases that are also good sources for articles on archives and records management. All the databases described here can be accessed through the libraries' Database Finder.
LISA and Library, Information, and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)both have content on a wide range of library and information subjects.
Those interested in records/electronic records management may wish to begin by searching INSPEC, which focuses more on computer and information technology and includes a number of information management journals.
While ERIC (Educational Resources Information Clearinghouse) is primarily a resource for educational topics, it indexes a large number of library and information science journals and is a good source for archival and record management topics such as preservation, digital preservation, and the role of new technology.
In addition to the Information and Library Science databases already mentioned, those conducting research in the Archives field may want to search two history databases, Historical Abstracts and America: History & Life, as many archival journals are indexed within them.
Books may be located using Minerva, the library’s online catalog. Most books related to archives and records management are located at Dewey Library. Some related materials will also be found at University Library, which is also indicated in the location. Materials from the uptown campus may be retrieved by using the UA Document Delivery service. Using this service, students and faculty can ask that books be transferred from the Main or Science libraries to be picked up at Dewey, and that journal articles be scanned and made accessible online. There is a limit of three UA Document Delivery requests per day for each individual.
When using the Minerva catalog, you may either search for a known item by title or author search for materials on a given topic. In addition to searching for keywords that may appear in a book’s title, you may wish to consider search by Library of Congress Subject Headings. The list below includes the most common subject headings for archival and records management materials.
Each of the subject headings listed below will also be subdivided into more specific headings. This is both by subtopic and by geographical location (e.g. Archival Materials—Digitization, Electronic Records—Europe, Archives—Access control—United States)
If you can not find the materials you need, you can use the WorldCat catalog to identify books owned by other libraries that you could request through Interlibrary Loan. The first time you use the library’s interlibrary loan service, you will need to register. Please keep in mind that it often takes around two weeks to receive a book through interlibrary loan, and may take even longer for certain items.
There are several major online sources that can be used to find archival collections:
ArchivesUSA includes collections indexed in a number of archival directories. It is available through the library’s Database Finder. It is limited to 1 user at a time, so it is possible that you may get a ‘busy’ message when trying to connect.
NUCMC (The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections)
The Library of Congress provides free access to NUCMC, which allow you to search two major catalogs of archival materials, the RLG Union Catalog and the OCLC catalog.
ARC (Archival Research Catalog)
The National Archives and Records Administration provides this catalog of their holdings, including regional archives and presidential libraries. While not all their extensive collections are described in the catalog, new entries are continually added.
In addition to these online resources, the library also has numerous print resources that index the holdings of various archival repositories. Some are kept at Dewey Library, but many others are at University Library, both in the reference section and in the regular stacks. The library of congress call number range for most of these sources is CD 1043 to CD 4280.
The following is a list of resources held in the reference collection on the first floor of Dewey Library that can used to find basic information and help you get started with a research topic.
Bibliography of Preservation Literature, 1983-1996. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2001. DEWEY REF Z 701.2 S36 2001
This bibliography brings together the large body of works published on preservation topics during a 15 year time period. It includes a detailed subject index to aid in finding sources on particular topics.
Dictionary of Archival Terminology. New York: K.G. Saur, 1988. DEWEY REF CD 945 D53X 1988
This work not only provides short definitions for archival terminology, but also lists the equivalent terms in French, Dutch, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. New York: Marcel Dekker, 1968-2003. DEWEY REF Z 1006 E57
This multi-volume work includes substantial articles on a number of archival and recordkeeping topics and also covers recent technologies. Volume 73 includes a subject index for volumes 48-72.
A Glossary for Archivists, Manuscript Curators, and Records Managers. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, c. 1992. DEWEY REF CD 945 B45X 1992
This glossary provides brief definitions for commonly used archival and records terminology.
A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology. Chicago: Society of American Archivists, c. 2005. DEWEY REF CD945 P43 2005
In this glossary, the definitions of terms are often followed by notes that discuss the term or provide context. Related, narrower, and broader terms are also often indicated.
Glossary of Records Management Terms. Prairie Village, KS: Association of Records Managers and Administrators, c. 1989. DEWEY REF HF 5736 G63 1989
Although dated, this glossary compiled by ARMA International is unique in that it focuses solely on records management terminology.
International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science, 2nd edition. New York: Routledge, 2003. DEWEY REF Z 1006 I57 2003
While this encyclopedia focuses on library and information science topics, it does include articles on archives and records management. Some articles are followed by a list of suggested further readings.
A Library, Media, and Archival Preservation Glossary. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, c. 1992. DEWEY REF Z 701 D447 1992
This glossary focuses on providing short definitions for preservation terminology.
Professional Organizations:
Society of American Archivists
ARMA (Association for Information Management Professionals)
National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators
MARAC (Mid-Atlantic Regional Archives Conference)
Other Resources:
National Archives and Records Administration
In addition to providing basic information about their mission and holdings, NARA’s website provides separate areas with information for professional archivists and records managers, including specialized toolkits and links to many websites.
National Archives of Australia
The website of the National Archives of Australia has a detailed section on recordkeeping, digital records, and preservation of digital records. Many guidelines and policy documents are available for download in PDF format.
CoOL: Conservation Online
The Preservation Department at Stanford University supports this website, which contains full text articles on a wide variety of conservation topics.
Ready, ‘Net, Go! Archival Internet Resources
This site serves as an index to major archival indexes, lists, and databases. It provides links to resources in the following categories: master lists of archives, tools for archivists, archival search engines, professional resources, and searching resources.
UNESCO Archives Portal
In their own words, “The UNESCO Archives Portal gives access to websites of archival institutions around the world. It is also a gateway to resources related to records and archives management and to international co-operation in this area.”
PADI (Preserving Access to Digital Information)
The National Library of Australia provides this website which specializes in digital preservation. The site indexes and describes many types of resources on digital preservation topics, including articles, websites, events, projects and case studies, tools, and bibliographies. Resources can be browsed either by subject or by resource type.