University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Atmospheric Sciences

A Brief Guide to Reference Resources

[Databases, Indexes & Abstracts] [Dictionaries & Encyclopedias]
[Handbooks] [Data Sets] [Current Awareness Service]

updated:  January 19, 2007

Databases, Indexes & Abstracts

Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA).Accessible to University at Albany users only [SCIENCE REF / Index QC 851 A62]
Covers the most important meteorological and geoastrophysical research published in worldwide literature. Subject coverage includes meteorology, astrophysics, physical oceanography, hydrosphere/hydrology, environmental sciences, and glaciology. The Science library has 1950-2000; also available electronically through the Library Web page <http://library.albany.edu> under "Database Finder", for 1974+.

Science Citation Index. [SCIENCE REF / Index Q 1 Z999 S28]
Science Citation Index (SCI) indexes the 38 core journals in meteorology and the atmospheric sciences. Searchable by author, title keyword, author's address, or by cited reference which links current and past publications. The Science Library has 1964+ ; also available in CD-ROM format (1980+). (Stand alone terminal by the Science Information Commons.)


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Global Climate Change. [SCIENCE REF QC 981.8 C5 M38 1994]
Covers scientific terms, as well as the many abbreviations and acronyms used in climate-change research.

Encyclopedia of Hurricanes, Typhoons, and Cyclones. [SCIENCE REF QC 944 L66 1998]
Offers definitions of terms, as well as information on individual hurricanes, typhoons, cyclones and tropical storms. Biographical information is included.

Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather. [SCIENCE REF QC 854 E523 1996]
This two volume set offers long, signed articles on climate and weather, as well as related topics like oceans, new energy systems and biomass.

Meteorological Glossary. [SCIENCE REF QC 854 G7 1991]
Covers meteorology, climatology, hydrology, greenhouse effect and global warming. Provides physical or mathematical theory behind terms, where needed.


Handbooks

Climates of the States. [SCIENCE REF QC 983 C55]
All fifty states are covered by this two-volume set, that offers 30-year climatic normals, means and extremes for basic climate data.

Weather America. [SCIENCE REF QC 983 W385 1996]
This data compilation offers basic climatological data for more than 4,000 places in the United States.


Data Sets

Climatological data is available in many formats throughout the University Libraries, and can be found in either the Main Library or the Science Library - check the Online Catalog for availability of different sets. Also, Official Bodies are increasingly making climatological data sets available through the Web - check appropriate government and association web sites for individual offerings, as well as the Atmospheric Sciences web page.


Current Awareness Service

Ingenta. <http://www.ingenta.com/> Accessible to University at Albany users only
An automated current awareness service that delivers the table of contents of journals or article citations by electronic mail. Search strategies can be created by journal, keyword, or author. Instructions on how to set up a profile are available at <http://library.albany.edu/databases/about/ingentahelp.html>.


For Web-based Atmospheric Sciences resources
see the Atmospheric Sciences subject guide
available at <http://library.albany.edu/subject/atmospheric_main.html>.


This page is maintained by Sue Kaczor
Send comments to