CHEMISTRY
A Brief Guide to Reference Resources
|
updated: July 7, 2009
|
|
This page is maintained by
|
Guides to the Literature
Chemistry Resources in the Electronic Age, by Judith A. Bazler.
[SCIENCE REF QD 9.3 B39 2003]
Chemistry-related Web sites are organized by topic and described. Each
description includes the appropriate grade level of the site's audience, from kindergarten
through graduate school.
How to Find Chemical Information, by Robert E. Maizell.
[SCIENCE REF QD 8.5 M34 1998]
Thorough treatment on the use of chemical information sources.
Includes chapters on Chemical Abstracts,
Beilstein, and Gmelin.
The Literature of Chemistry, by Judith A. Douville.
[SCIENCE REF Z 675 C47 D68 2004]
Each chapter lists and describes the important resources for a sub-discipline
of chemistry. Along with resources for basic and applied chemistry, there are chapters on
analytical, physical, organic, inorganic, environmental, industrial, polymer, and biological
chemistry.
Databases & Indexes
SciFinder Scholar.
This is the online version of
Chemical Abstracts, and includes the CAplus database, the
CAS Registry file, and Medline. Containg information back to 1907, it includes citations and abstracts from journals,
conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may
search it by search by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure. It requires special
client software and an Internet connection.
SciFinder Scholar is available on workstations near the
Science Library reference desk. The client software is also available to University at Albany faculty, students, and
staff. For instructions on downloading the
SciFinder Scholar client software, please contact
Michael Knee. For help with
SciFinder Scholar, see CAS's
SciFinder Scholar Resources or the
guides from Leeds University.
Produced by Elsevier, Scopus indexes the contents of over 16,500 journals
from 4,000 international publishers. It also covers conference proceedings, book series, scientific Web pages, and
patents. In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct a cited author search to determine who has
cited an author's article.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Comprehensive Organic Chemistry. [SCIENCE REF QD 245 C65]
This six volume encyclopedic reference is organized topically rather than alphabetically, but
volume 6 provides a detailed index.
Dictionary of Organic Compounds. [SCIENCE REF QD 246 D5 1996]
Alphabetical listing of organic compounds providing basic physical and chemical properties and
bibliographic references. Nine volumes, of which the first six are content. Volumes seven through nine are indexes
by name, molecular formula, and CAS Registry number, respectively.
Dictionary of Organometallic Compounds. [SCIENCE REF QD 411 D53 1984]
Similar to the Dictionary of Organic Compounds in layout and
organization. Arranged alphabetically by the name of the metallic component of the compound. Two volumes (plus
a third index volume) constitute the original work. Five supplementary volumes and a cumulative index have also been
produced.
Handbook of Inorganic Chemicals. [SCIENCE REF QD 155.5 P37 2003]
Arranged alphabetically by substance name, this resource lists over 2,000 inorganic compounds.
Entries include CAS registry number, synonyms, molecular weight, formula, occurrence, uses, properties,
preparation, reactions, and analysis information
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. [SCIENCE REF TP 9 E685]
Multivolume encyclopedia covering all aspects of applied chemistry. Although older, the articles
are generally very readable and accessible to the non-specialist.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry. [SCIENCE REF QD 4 M33 1997]
Excellent source for introductory information on chemical subjects. Four volume set containing
signed articles with bibliographies.
Merck Index. [SCIENCE REF RS 51 M4 2006]
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, & biologicals; each entry
contains molecular formulas & weights, chemical names, manufacturer & distributors, CAS Registry numbers,
physical & toxicity data, uses, and bibliographic citations to the literature.
Oxford Reference Online provides access to several chemistry resources in its Physical Science &
Mathematics section including A Dictionary of Chemistry (2008), A
Dictionary of Scientists (1999), and A Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units
(2004).
Biography
The Biographical Dictonary of Scientists: Chemists. [SCIENCE REF QD 21 B48 1983B]
Contains biographies of chemists and a short historical introduction.
Dictionary of Scientific Biography. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 D5]
This multi-volume resource includes essays on chemists. Published under the auspices of the A
merican Council of Learned Societies, each essay is signed by the contributor, emphasizes the biographee's
accomplishments, and includes a bibliography. 14 volumes plus indexes and supplements.
From Oxford Reference Online, this resource has 1,300 biographies, spans 2,500 years, and covers
all areas of science.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 N73 1995]
This four-volume set is a comprehensive source of biographical information on over 1,300 scientists
active in the 20th century. Each biographical entry includes a 2 or 3 page essay, a list of selected writings, and a
bibliography. There are field of specialization, gender, nationality/ethnicity, and subject indexes.
Handbooks and Compendiums
Beilsteins Handbuch der organischen Chemie. [SCIENCE REF / Index QD 251 B4 1918]
The essential source for information on organic compounds, including properties and bibliographic
references. Organized into an original series (H) and five supplementary series (E I - E V). Each series has its
own index volumes, both to molecular formulas (Formelregister) and to subjects (Sachsregister). A
cummulative index (Gesamtregister) was produced following the fourth series.
See How to Use Beilstein [SCIENCE REF QD 251 B42x] for
assistance with this complex resource.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [SCIENCE REF QD 65 H3]
The classic ready-reference book of physical and chemical data. It is issued annually with
revised information and new material. Previous editions are available in the Science Library's circulating
collection.
Gmelins Handbuch der anorganischen Chemie. [SCIENCE REF / Index QD 151 G52]
The inorganic chemistry analog to Beilstein, providing chemical information
on inorganic and organometallic compounds. The volumes are organized by "system numbers," with anion-forming
elements having the lower numbers and cation-forming elements having the higher numbers. To aid the researcher, the
element symbols are marked on yellow cards which are placed between the volumes. See Maizell's
How to Find Chemical Information [SCIENCE REF QD 8.5 M34 1998] for help with this
resource.
Current Awareness Services
Alerting Services is made available from the Science & Engineering Library at the University of
California, San Diego. It lists publishers, independent journals, and databases that provide email alerting
services. This includes both those that support complete tables-of-contents listings as well as those that
will maintain subject search profiles.
An automated current awareness service that delivers the table of contents of journals or
article citations by electronic mail. Search strategies can be created by journal, keyword, or author.
Instructions on how to set up a profile are available at
<http://library.albany.edu/databases/about/ingentahelp.html>.
For additional Web-based chemistry resources see the
Chemistry subject guide.