Periodical indexes are useful for finding references to journal articles. The University Libraries provide numerous electronic indexes and databases for locating articles related to Classical Studies. Some indexes provide only citations; some provide citations and abstracts. Others furnish the complete texts of articles.
This guide suggests relevant electronic indexes and databases and provides links to facilitate access to them. See INDEXES AND DATABASES FOR CLASSICAL STUDIES below for a selection of linked indexes and databases.
University at Albany library users may retrieve full text articles directly from their computer workstations (inside or outside the library) to print, save on a disk, or to e-mail to themselves. To find out if the libraries provide access to specific journals in full text online and the years of coverage, start on the Libraries' HOME PAGE. From the center column, RESEARCH TOOLS, click on Journals - Print & Online, then type the title of the journal in the search box.
If references retrieved from a periodical index lead to articles that are not available in full text online, check the journal title in the online catalog. If the libraries own the traditional print or microform version of the journal, look for the journal by call number in the Periodicals Section (in the Main Library it is on the lower level) and make a copy of the article. If the library doesn't own the journal, students and faculty members of the University at Albany may request a copy of the article by connecting to the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan system and completing the request form provided there. Please allow several weeks for interlibrary loan material to arrive.[Return to top]
These indexes and databases can provide relevant citations to journal articles and other kinds of material such as conference papers. Some also provide full text of the articles or other material. Most of these indexes and databases are accessible to University at Albany students and faculty only.
The following services offer the option of obtaining the full text of many of the indexed articles right at your computer workstation. They may be printed, saved on a disk, or e-mailed.
Humanities International Index (1975+)
Provides citation information and selected full text for articles, essays, and reviews from more than 1,000 literary, scholarly, and creative journals published in the United States and Canada.
Biblical Archaeology Society Archive (1975+)
Archives of editorial contents of selected journals and books published by the Biblical Archaeology Society, including all artwork.
EBSCO Academic Search Premier (1990+)
Multidisciplinary database with selected articles available in full text. Choose Basic Search or Advanced Search. Click on Full Text to limit results to full text articles only. Among the other options for limiting are year(s) of publication and peer review. For a list of journals indexed and dates of coverage click on Choose Databases, then on Title List. To retrieve pictures, select "Images." Example: a search of the word "Roman" in the categories "Photos of places," "Historical photos," and "Maps" produced a result of 119 items.
Education Full Text (1983+ Selected full text; 1994+ Abstracts; 1995+ books))
Indexes approximately 400 journals, about half of which offer full text retrieval online for selected years. Stresses articles about teaching classical subjects.
International Index to Black Periodicals (1998+)
Includes citations, abstracts, and some full text articles from scholarly and popular journals, newspapers, and newsletters.
JSTOR [Online journal collection] (Dates vary)
Full text of articles from journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. Includes several journals that are relevant to Classical Studies. JSTOR does not include recent issues of the journals, but through a cooperative agreement with Project Muse, links to recent content of a selected group of journals indexed by both services are available from JSTOR. To display a list of those titles, please click on "About JSTOR" then click on "Links to recent content."
Project Muse [Online journal collection] (Dates vary)
Offers access to full text articles from current and retrospective issues of selected scholarly journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and other disciplines, including several journals related to Classical Studies. Browse the journal list or perform a keyword search (basic or advanced) in all fields or in specific fields.
ScienceDirect [Online journal collection] (Dates vary)
Contains selected full-text articles from journals related to Archaeology and Classical Studies. Perform a keyword search using the Quick Search option, or, to view titles and contents of the journals, select Arts and Humanities or Social Science from the Subject Areas menu. To display a list of journals related to Archaeology or History, select Subject from the Sort By menu.
Social Science Abstracts (1983+ Indexing; 1994+ Abstracting)
Provides international coverage of more than 520 publications in the social sciences, including titles related to Classical Studies.
Anthropological Literature (Late 19th century+)
Indexes periodical articles and essays published in colloquia, festshcriften, symposia, and collections received at the Tozzer Library, Harvard University.
Art Index (1984+)
Covers key international arts publications. Includes periodicals, yearbooks, museum bulletins, reproductions, book reviews, and more.
Bibliography of the History of Art (1990+)
Abstracts, indexes, and bibliographic citations of current publications on the history of art. Includes books, periodical articles, reviews, conference proceedings, Festschriften, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and electronic publications.
Book Review Digest Plus (1983+)
Book summaries, bibliographic data, and full text reviews from more than 8,000 journals. Covers fiction, non-fiction, children's books and reference works.
Digital Dissertations (Citations: 1861+; Citations & Abstracts: 1980+; MA Theses: 1988+)
Perform a keyword search (simple or boolean) or browse broad subject categories for doctoral dissertations and masters theses. For dissertations published since 1997, provides citation, abstract, and the initial 24 pages of text.
Essay and General Literature Index (1985+)
Provides access to essays in collections and anthologies. Covers the entire range of the humanities and social sciences.
Select a database or a topic from one of the FirstSearch menus. Choose basic, advanced, or expert searching. Offers access to numerous databases from which to retrieve references to articles, papers, and books related to Classical Studies, including:
AHSearch [Arts and Humanities Citation Index] (1980+) Includes references to articles on Classical Studies.
ArticleFirst. (1990+) A source of references to articles from journals in various disciplines that are relevant to Classical Studies.
PapersFirst. (Oct. 1993+) Indexes papers of all academic and professional meetings and conferences received at the British Library.
Proceedings. (Oct. 1993+) Provides citations and tables of contents of papers presented at professional meetings. Multidisciplinary and international in scope.
Worldcat. (dates vary) OCLC catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (1951+)
Indexes both core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences. Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English.
and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA (1973+)
Covers international literature on the study of language and linguistics. Offers quick and advanced keyword searching as well as a thesaurus for subject searching.
Useful for finding references to articles on psychological characteristics of people from ancient civilizations.
Abstracts via CSA (1974+)
Provides bibliographic information and abstracts for journal literature and conference papers in Sociology.
Address comments to
Compiled by Marjorie A. Benedict
Maintained by Gerald Burke
Updated August 2010