The scope of this guide is introductory and highlights relevant reference sources for Communication Studies with respect to the University at Albany, Communication departmental programs. Key print and electronic indexes, abstracts, and databases are highlighted and annotated in this guide. This guide includes sources and collections that directly relate to Communication Studies, are multi-disciplinary in nature, or represent particular strengths of the collection. Selected unannotated monographs are included to exemplify broad categories and themes within Communication Studies at the University at Albany. Reference sources ("tertiary sources") assist researchers in locating primary and secondary resources related to their topics of choice. Print reference sources are typically found in the reference section of the library. Due to limitations of space in the reference area, many classic reference sources and important handbooks are shelved in the general stacks. Unless otherwise noted, sources listed in this guide are located at the University Library (uptown).
Research a Subject cover other subject related disciplines, such as political science, business, psychology, history, women's studies, sociology, education, and law. These multiple subjects may be necessary to address the interdisciplinary nature of Communication Studies topics.
Selecting a topic for a research paper or project can be very challenging. Using guides and resources developed by librarians can assist in navigating the research process. It is important to use both print and electronic reference sources. Relevant resources for your topic may be found in a variety of formats, including DVD, microform, monographs, and other media. General reference sources (primarily Internet links) can also be found via the University Libraries' Reference Collection Web page. The User Education department of the library provides many detailed instructional guides to familiarize students with various aspects of research, including website evaluation, citation methods.
Librarians are scheduled to assist you at the Reference Desk with selection and search strategies. Please ask questions at the desk, by phone 442-3553, or by e-mail through our "Ask a Librarian" service.Return to Top
Records for catalogued sources can be found via the Minerva online public access catalog (OPAC). Materials owned by the University Libraries include books, journals, videos, CD's, DVD's, newspapers, and microform. The Minerva online public access catalog now includes Websites and digital sources. When the University Library does not hold a particular resource, you may want to search further. Local and national library catalogs can be found by clicking on Library Catalogs.
The User Education department has created a guide to help students learn how to search Minerva. Minerva search options include field searching (author, title, subject, series, call number). When searching for books, subject search terms may be identified by using either the Library of Congress Subject Headings controlled vocabulary. If you are not sure of the exact title or exact subject heading, search with natural language (keywords). For lists of keywords by topic, see The Contemporary Thesaurus of Social Science Terms and Synonyms: A Guide for Natural Language Computer Searching and others listed in the Dictionaries, Concepts, Thesauri section below. When using "browse", the computer searches only the exact phrase or word order of the term/s or phrase/s you entered.
There are four important ways to search in the Minerva Catalog:
The following are examples of subject headings relevant to Communication Studies when doing an exact subject search or a keyword subject search. Do not limit yourself to this list. Use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (Large Red Books) located at the Reference Desk for more possibilities or browse the online catalog for topic selections.
Broadcasting policy [i.e. government policy]
Communication and culture
Communication and technology
Communication in management
Communication in medicine
Communication in organizations
Communication in science
Communication--Moral and ethical aspects
Electronic Mail Systems
English language--Terms and phrases
Freedom of the press--United States
Language and culture
Journalism Authorship [i.e. news writing]
Language and languages--Sex differences
Mass media criticism
Mass media and public opinion
Portraits--Law and legislation--United States
Privacy, Right of--United States
Sexism in language
Television broadcasting of news
Location of sources should appear next to the call number within the Minerva record.
Call numbers or URL's are provided for each entry in the catalog. For example, Computer Networking and Scholarly Communication in the Twenty-First-Century University has the call number [Science Library T 58.5 C655 1996]. In this case, the book is located in the Science Library. Relevant titles on a particular subject are not necessarily found in the same areas within the library as some books have more than one subject heading. Subdivisions of the broader Library of Congress Classification System are used to catalog books; therefore, book or journal titles with a similar subject may not all be found in the same call number area, despite having one subject in common.
Minerva also notes whether an item is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). Click directly on the call number in the Minerva record to find out the status. Sources listed in this guide are primarily located at the University Library (uptown). Examples from the Science Library (SCIENCE) and the Dewey Library (DEWEY) are noted with location designations. The Interactive Media Center (IMC), Periodicals (PER), Government Documents (GovDocs), Reference (REF), and Microform (MIC) are all locations within the University Library. "CCBE" indicates items are in the library storage facility. These can be requested and picked up at the Science Library Circulation Desk. Requests for materials in storage may also be made on-line through UA Delivery. UA Delivery provides requested electronic copies of articles from journals leased or owned by any of our three libraries. Books from campus locations may also be requested. This service is accessible to students, faculty, and staff of the University. There is a request limit of 3 items per day for all categories of users.
If you need a book that is on loan, you may request that it be returned for your use through the online "recall" process found under "My Minerva Account" on each Minerva page. If a book is not found when the Minerva record indicates the book is on the shelf, please go to the Circulation Desk and initiate a "search request". Recommendations for library purchase may be made online or directly via e-mail to appropropriate subject bibliographers.
If you cannot locate a resource in the the University at Albany Minerva Catalog, requests can be made to borrow a resource from another library. Use the ILLIAD system found on the Interlibrary Loan page to set up your account. The process of ordering from another library may take 2-3 weeks, so please allow for this in planning your research.Return to Top
Building Communication Theories: A Socio-cultural Approach. Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 1994. [P 90 B8174 1994]
Communication Theory: Eastern and Western Perspectives. Ed. D. Lawrence Kincaid. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1987. [P 90 C6335 1987]
A First Look at Communication Theory. Emory A. Griffin. 5th ed. Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill, 2003. [P 90 G725 2003]Interpreting Qualitative Data: Methods for Analysing Talk, Text, and Interaction. David Silverman. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2001.[Dewey HM 571 S53 2001]
Narrative Methods for Organizational and Communication Research. David M. Boje. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2001. [HD 30.3 B65 2001]
Persuasion: Theory & Research. Daniel J. O’Keefe. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2002. [BF 637 P4 O54 2002]
Text Analysis for the Social Sciences: Methods for Drawing Statistical Inferences from Texts and Transcripts. Carl W. Roberts. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 1997. [H 61 T456 1997]
Theories of Human Communication. Stephen W. Littlejohn. 3rd ed. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth, 1989. [P 90 L48 1989]Return to Top
Discourse Analysis. Barbara Johnstone. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2002. [P 302 J64 2002]
Discourse Analysis and Evaluation: Functional Approaches. Eds. Leo Lentz and Henk Pander Maat. Amsterdam; Atlanta, GA: Rodopi, 1997. [P 302 D545X 1997]
The Handbook of Discourse Analysis. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2001. [P 302 H344 2001]
Feminist Perspectives on Language. Margaret Gibbon. London; New York, NY: Longman, 1999. [P 120 S48 G53 1999]
Gender and Conversational Interaction. Ed. Deborah Tannen. New York: Oxford University Press, 1993. [P 120 S48 G46 1993]
Gender and Discourse. Deborah Tannen. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1994. [P 120 S48 T36 1994]
Stories of Change: Narrative and Social Movements. Joseph E. Davis. Albany: State University of New York Press, 2002. [Dewey GR 72.3 S755 2002]
Voice, Text, Hypertext: Emerging Practices in Textual Studies. Seattle, WA: Walter Chapin Simpson Center for the Humanities in Association with University of Washington Press, 2004. [P 302 V59 2004]
Return to Top
Community Over Chaos: An Ecological Perspective on Communication Ethics. James A. Mackin. Tuscaloosa, AL: University of Alabama Press, 1997. [P 94 M23 1997]
E-mail and Ethics: Style and Ethical Relations in Computer-Mediated Communication. Emma Rooksby. London; New York, NY: Routledge, 2002. [HE 7551 R66 2002]
Ethics in Technical Communication: A Critique and Synthesis. Mike Markel. Westport, CT: Ablex Pub, 2001. [SCIENCE T 10.5 M34X 2001]
Image Ethics: The Moral Rights of Subjects in Photographs, Film, and Television. Eds. Larry Gross, John Stuart Katz, and Jay Ruby. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1988. [KF 1263 U5 I45 1988]
The Muted Conscience: Moral Silence and the Practice of Ethics
in Business. Frederick Bruce Bird. Westport, CT: Quorum Books,
1996. [HF 5387 B537 1996]
Discusses reasons for lack of communication on ethical concerns and ways to create good conversations.
Health Communication: A Multicultural Perspective. Eds. Snehendu B. Kar, Rina Alcalay and Shana Alex. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2001. [DEWEY RA 423.2 H 42 2001]
Medical Discourse and Systemic Frames of Comprehension. Ronald J. Chenail. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Pub. Corp., 1991.[P 302 C44 1990]
Multicultural Clients: A Professional Handbook for Healthcare Providers and Social Workers. Sybil M. Lassiter. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. [DEWEY RA 418.5 T73 L37 1995]
Multiple Identities: A Phenomenology of Multicultural Communication. Pradeep Ajit Dhillon. New York, NY: P. Lang, 1994. [HM 258 D44 1994]
Talk, Work, and Institutional Order: Discourse in Medical, Mediation, and Management Settings. Berlin; New York, NY: Mouton de Gruyter, 1999. [P 95 T286 1999]Return to Top
Beyond Cultural Imperialism: Globalization, Communication and the New International Order. London; Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 1997. [P 96 I5 B48X 1997]
Border Women: Writing From La Frontera. Debra A. Castillo and María Socorro Tabuenca Córdoba. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2002. [PS 153 M4 C33 2002]
Communication and Culture: A Guide for Practice. Cynthia Gallois and Victor J. Callan. Chichester, England; New York, NY: Wiley, 1997. [GN 345.6 G37 1997]
Crisis of the European Subject. Julia Kristeva. New York : Other Press, 2000. [D 1055 K75 2000]
Enhancing Internal Communication: Using Negotiation to Resolve Conflict. Urban libraries Council. [IMC MMKit Z 678 E54X 1996] VideorecordingReturn to Top
Reimagining Textuality: Textual Studies in the Late Age of Print. Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 2002. [P 302 R454 2002]
Interface Culture: How New Technology Transforms the Way We Create and Communicate. Steven Johnson. San Francisco, CA: Harper Edge, 1997. [DEWEY T 58.5 J64 1997]Return to Top
Communication in a Virtual Organization. Sandra Dean Collins. Mason, OH: Thomson/South-Western, 2003. [HF 5718 C65 2003]
Key Issues in Organizational Communication. Eds. Dennis Tourish and Owen Hargie. London; New York, NY: Routledge, 2004. [HD 30.3 K485 2004]
Handbook of Organizational Communication. Norwood, NJ: Ablex Pub. Corp., 1988. [HD 30.3 H357 1988]
The Meaning and Role of Organizational Advocacy: Responsibility and Accountability in the Workplace. Jane Galloway Seiling. Westport, CT: Quorum Books, 2001. [HD 30.3 S453 2001]
Reworking Gender: A Feminist Communicology of Organization. Karen Lee Ashcraft. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2004. [HM 786 A84 2004]
Organizations Through Culture and Structure: Relational and Other Lessons From
the African-American Organization. Anne Maydan Nicotera. Mahwah,
NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum, 2003. [HD 30.3 N53 2003]
Table of contents is linked to this resource, but the full-text is not available online.
Journals are also referred to as "serials," "magazines," and "periodicals." Here are two examples of journal titles found in Minerva by searching with the subject heading "discourse analysis" and selecting "Journals" under the Minerva "Search Options" menu . Both of these are available in print as well as on-line. However, citation dates before 2000 are only available in print. "PER" before the call number stands for Periodicals Room located on the lower level of the University Library.
The Minerva Web Catalog will give you access to cataloging records for journal titles, but the articles found within journals are not indexed in the Minerva catalog. To locate articles by topic you will need to familiarize yourself with databases, indexes and abstracts, or bibliographies. These can be searched by topic. In some cases, the online catalog will lead you directly to a journal where the full-text version of an article is accessible through the library. If ONLINE access is listed in the call number, click directly on the call number that is hyper-linked. This should take you directly to a an online journal or to a full-text journal database package where the article can be searched. It is also possible to search by subject within many online journals.
However, for a more comprehensive search, use a subject database or index to locate a broader array of articles from a variety of journals. Online databases can be accessed from one large list under Database Finder. One can search by title for a known database or an on-line journal collection. The Database Finder will not find articles by topics. You must go to a specific subject index, abstract, or full-text journal collection database (such as JSTOR) to search by topic.
For example, at the Database Finder page, click on "Communication Studies " and then click on "Key Resources" to find the list of key resources recommended by a Subject Librarian/Bibliographer. Unless a database is described as accessible "only" in the library, remote access to databases (subscribed to by the library) can be made via any Web accessible computer by U Albany registered users. Use the "About" button to find out more about each of the databases listed. Alternatively, one may go directly to Subject Pages & Guides, click on a broad subject area and select the subject specific "Database Finder" from that page. This will bring you to the page the subject bibliographer has created to help you locate relavent databases. This list of subjects reflects University at Albany departments and programs.
Once you have found citations of interest,
search the title in Minerva to find the call number for the print version of the journal or a
link to the journal where the full text of the article may reside. Journal articles not found
in full-text format via the electronic link may be found in the Periodicals
Room of the University Library, the Dewey Library, or the Science Library. Journals may
also be shelved in the Storage
facility of the Science Library. If you do not find your article,
you may want to consider locating it in another local library
or requesting the article through ILLIAD, the Libraries' online
interlibrary loan request service mentioned above.
Electronic only, full-text journals and articles are sometimes found on the Web. For example, The Electronic Journal of Communication is not reproduced in print format and is only available through Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS), a scholarly communication studies association. Professor's often require examples of this type of resource, particularly for Information Literacy assignments.
Return to Top
Many databases have a keyword option and include the use of boolean logic. If you do not know specific subject headings, keywords can be searched throughout the record or within the full-text of an article within most databases. These options vary depending on the database. It is helpful to create a diary of like or related terms for each of your concepts.
Example of an initial research question:
"I am interested to know whether feminists apply Kenneth Burke's theories on language to their analysis of social roles."
Example of a broad search strategy using keywords and boolean logic:
(Kenneth Burke* or Burkean or Burke*) and language and (theory or theoretical or theories or analysis) and (feminist or gender* or social roles or sex differences)
A shorter version of this search: (Kenneth Burke* or Burkean or Burke*) and femin*
Try this search in ComAbstracts, Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts, or Sociological Abstracts.
In the first strategy above, we have four separate concepts and their synonyms intersected with the "and" boolean operator. The asterisk (*) acts as a wild card (truncation) and looks for any root word limited by the asterisk. So Burke* will also find the words Burkean or Burkean's. Place synonyms of each concept in parentheses separating words with "or." Intersect the concepts represented in each parentheses with the boolean operator "and." This allows you to add like or related terms. Intersecting the sets of related terms with "and" allows you to search for multiple topics, while locating at least one of the "like terms" from each of the sets. Further narrowing of these sets can occur after you evaluate your results.
In the short version of the search, the asterisk added to femin* will retrieve hits with the word femininity or feminist or feminism. Using the asterisk will take more time because the computer is searching every variation of the root word. Judicious use of the asterisk is important. Not all databases have truncation symbols.
Return to Top
Newspapers, The 19th Century.
Journal, 1827-Mar. 1829. Colored American, 1837-Mar. 1840. The
North Star, 1847-July 1849. National Era, 1847-Dec. 1848.
Contains the original source materials written by African-Americans for African-Americans. Covers many aspects of 19th century cultural life and history. Includes content from four major African-American newspapers which are complemented by the more complete microfilm versons of these same titles held by the UA Libraries. Three of the newspapers were published in N.Y.
19th century +.
A combination of files from Africa, Europe and the USA for the study of Africa. The database is a gateway to a wide aray of important bibliographies, indexes and databases focusing on information to support The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more. Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings and much more.
Alt-PressWatch is a full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes critical perspectives on local and international issues confronting contemporary society within a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database offers free text searching and complete indexing. It is a current and retrospective collection and it provides viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media.
Offers article citations from journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index. [Z 5305 U5 B56XA]
A database which indexes names and associated biographical sources, including biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias and literary criticism. References to articles written about a particular person can be located through the sources listed here. Not all names can be found here but it is a useful first stop. BGMI indexes only reference works containing multiple biographies; it does not index periodical articles or books of biography about a single individual.
Business Source Complete. 1922+.
Provides over 8,500 full text scholarly publications, including nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for 4,400 journals. This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
International Affairs Online (CIAO). 1991+.
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts and course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.
Contains abstracts of articles and some full-text access to articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field. ComIndex and ComAbstracts are associated databases part of the Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS) Association) institutional package. ComIndex, the earlier version of the database has been merged into ComAbstracts, contains indexing to articles published in the primary professional literature.
Communication Abstracts. 1978+. [REF
P 87 Z999 C64X]
An important print index for the field of communication. Published by Sage, Communication Abstracts provides thorough coverage of the literature of communication studies, including interpersonal, mass, organizational, and small group communication; journalism; and public relations. Indexes more than 100 journals, including core communication studies titles. Updated bimonthly. Communication Abstracts does not index a standard set of journals. Communication Abstracts employs selective coverage (not every article in a journal issue is selected for inclusion). Journals indexed in each volume can be found in the third issue of each volume.
The Conference Board - Business Knowledge Research.
Provides access to the Conference Board's publications, including Straight Talk, Across the Board, Research Reports and Executive Action.
Contemporary Women's Issues.
Offers content from mainstream periodicals, alternative press, hard-to-find newsletters and NGO research reports. Focuses on the critical issues and events that influence women including health, the workplace, parenting, human rights, reproductive rights and legal issues.
Access to more than 105 U.S and other, mostly British, English language newspapers. Searchable by title, headline, author, date and section.
Dissertations and Theses.
1861+ (Indexing dissertations); 1980+ (Abstracting dissertations); 1997+ (Full text of first 24 pages of dissertations & theses).
This database contains indexing and abstracts for dissertations accepted at over 1,000 North American and European universities. Dissertations are a valuable resource for literature reviews. They are extremely important for upper division students trying to discern what may have already been written on a topic and what methodology was used. The abstracts are available on-line and often the first 24 pages are free. Dissertations can be ordered through interlibrary loan.
Digital Dissertations @ SUNY Albany.
1861+ (Indexing). 1988+ (Abstracts). 1997+ (Full text).
Includes all dissertations written at the University at Albany with full-text of those written from 1997+.
The world’s largest scholarly, multi-discipline, full text database designed specifically for academic institutions with a collection of 2,330 peer-reviewed, scholarly full text journals. Scholarly, full text resources are provided for nearly all academic areas of study including communications.
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Covers the African American, Arab American, Asian American, Native American, European and Eastern European, Jewish, and Hispanic, Chicano and Latino point of view. The database (English and Spanish articles) is searchable in either English or Spanish.
GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, non-governmental (ngo) special reports.
GPO Monthly Catalog.
Bibliographic records published in the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications (MOCAT) which describe Government information products available through the U.S. Government Printing Office.
Humanities International Index.
Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews in over 1,000 literary, scholarly and creative journals published in the United States and Canada. All journals are indexed in their entirety, ranging from original creative works including poems and fiction, to photographs, paintings, and illustrations.
Index to Current Urban Documents.
Index and full text of selected local government publications arranged geographically and by subject. Titles of the documents are provided with bibliographic description. Microfiche numbers provide access to the Urban Documents Microfiche Collection located at [MIC Fiche HT 166 U72X]. An annual cumulation is available only in hardcopy and is located in [REF Z 7164 L8 I53X].
Index to Journals in Communication Studies Through
1995. Ed. Ronald J. Matlon. Falls Church, VA:
Speech Communication Association, 1995. [REF Z 5632
COMAbstracts includes much of the information contained in this print index however, this source is still referred to students as "the Matlon Index."
General database with access to 6,000 publications including refereed academic journals spanning the disciplines and general interest magazines. There is particularly strong coverage in business, technology, law, health care and news/newswires. 3,000 publications are available in full text.
International Index to Black Periodicals. 1998+.
Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean and full-text coverage of 31 core Black Studies periodicals. Coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social and political issues of importance to Black Studies.
Full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Though the most recent issues of journals are generally not available, this is an important full-text online archival source.
Contains several legal collections, law reviews but is also useful for verifying facts, finding government documents, and business information. The publication coverage dates vary depending on the collection. New sources include full-text, daily news (Albany Times Union, New York Times), world news, foreign language news, news transcripts. For example, the online version of Burrelle’s Index of Broadcast Transcripts is listed under "transcripts".
1970+ (Full Text).
Index to Congressional publications, 1789+. Legislative Histories, testimony from Congressional hearings, bill tracking, text of Congressional Record, Federal Register, National Journal, and information about members and committees, 1970+.
LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History.
Finding aids to selected microform publications, some of which are owned by the University Libraries.U Albany no longer subscribes but some of the Finding Aids are useful.
and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA).
[ REF P 105 Z999 L58] 1985+.
Covers international literature in all aspects of the study of language. Citations (not full-text) are found here. However, there are several Web resources added in this collection on a broad range of topics.
Military & Government Collection .
Military & Government Collection offers current news pertinent to U.S. and Canadian federal governments and agencies. The database also provides important information for all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications and newsweeklies. Also featured are peer-reviewed and other scholarly journals, including those covering areas of engineering, public affairs, public policy, international affairs and much more. Military & Government Collection includes abstracts and indexing for over 500 titles and full text of 287 titles. The database also includes full text country reports and 245 full text pamphlets. Dates of coverage vary.
National Newspaper Index.
Index to the Christian Science Monitor (1979+), Los Angeles Times (1982+), New York Times (1979+), Wall Street Journal (1979+) and Washington Post (1977+).
New York Codes, Rules and Regulations.
Commonly referred to as the NYCRR, this resource is a compilation of rules and regulations promulgated by NYS executive departments and agencies. NYCRR is available through Westlaw Campus within 'State Administrative Codes.'
New York Red Book.
Illustrated yearbook containing facts about state officials including the governor and lieutenant governor, members of the legislature and judiciary, and state departments officials and staff. The Red Book includes biographies, historical information, district and regional offices, contact information, and policies and goals.
New York State Newspapers.
A subset of the Custom Newspaper database, provides access to the content of ten NYS regional newspapers, excluding the Albany Capital District. Includes the New York Times and the New York Post from 2002-.
Polling the Nations.
The most comprehensive collection of polling data with 200,000+ questions and responses compiled from 12,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
1970+. (with selected material back to 1886).
Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.
Scholarly full-text articles from journals in the humanities, social sciences, and cultural and gender studies from Johns Hopkins University Press. The journal list is available for browsing.
Covers all aspects of psychology, including much of relevance to communication. It indexes and abstracts articles in specialized journals in the field (many of which we own) plus books.
Affairs International Service (PAIS).
[REF H 1 Z999 P83] 1915+.
Includes some books and government documents, as well as periodical articles. Covers all subjects that bear upon international (U.S. included), contemporary public issues and the making of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature. 1890+. [REF AI 3 R48].
Popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. Includes current events and news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health and nutrition, consumer affairs, and others. Useful for tracking down primary source materials from the 19th and 20th centuries. Many of the journals indexed in this print source are also indexed in EBSCO Academic Search Premier.
Regional Business News.
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Many are full-text.
Social Sciences Abstracts.
1983+ (Indexing). 1994+ (Abstracting).
International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.
This database indexes and abstracts journal articles and books in sociology and social work, including much of relevance to communication.
African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: A National
Bibliography. Ed. James P. Danky. Cambridge, MA: Harvard
University Press, 1998. [REF PN 4882.5 Z999 A37 1998]
Lists 6,500 newspaper titles by and about African Americans located between 1989-1998. Entries provide newspaper title with coverage dates, frequency, what the source features as well as library holding information. Extremely useful for historical research and potential primary source documents. Includes a brief history of the project, list of libraries, publisher index, subject and features index and editors index.
Biographical Dictionary of American Newspaper Columnists.
Sam G. Riley. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1995. [REF PN
4871 B57 1995]
Biographical sketches for columnists with a general interest focus such as political, humor, personal, op-ed, life-style, or items, newspaper columns. Documentary sources used include the columnist autobiographical work or other reference sources which are cited after each entry. A useful source for tracing career paths of reporters and columnists. Includes index and selective bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Social Theory. George Pitzer, Editor. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Inc., 2005.
[REF HM 425 E47 2005]
A useful reference tool for brief descriptions on theoretical approaches used in the social sciences. See also, The Encyclopedia of Sociology.
Foremost Women in Communications: A Biographical Reference Work on Accomplished Women in Broadcasting, Publishing, Advertising, Public relations, and Allied Professions. New York, NY: Foremost Americans Pub. Corp., 1970. [P 92.5 A1 F6 BldgOnly]Return to Top
The Broadcast Communications Dictionary.
Ed. Lincoln Diamant. New York, NY: Greenwood Press, 1989. [REF
PN 1990.4 D5 1989]
Brief definitions of 6,000 technical and popular terms used in the field.
The Contemporary Thesaurus of Social Science Terms and Synonyms: A Guide for Natural Language Computer Searching. Sara D. Knapp. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1993. [REF ReadyRef ZA 4060 K58 2000] Also available in Dewey Reference.
A Dictionary of Communication and Media Studies.
James Watson and Anne Hill. New York, NY: Arnold, 2000. [REF
P 87.5 W38 2000]
Brief definitions of terms used in the press, broadcasting, advertising, and public relations.
A Dictionary of Narratology. Gerald Prince. Lincoln, NE: University of Nebraska Press, 1987. [REF P 302.7 P75 1987]
Dictionary of Symbols. Carl G. Liungman. Santa
Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1991. [REF BL 603 L5413 1991] Also
available in Dewey Reference.
A guide to non-alphabetic symbols of all kinds. Part I contains articles on different symbolic systems (e.g. astrological symbols, hobo signs). Part II is a guide to the uses of various symbols, arranged by shape. Use the index at the end to locate a symbol.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, & Communications.
Marcel Danesi. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2000. [P
87.5 D36 2000]
Definitions and descriptions of terms, concepts, personages, schools of thought, and historical movements.
Key Concepts in Communication and Cultural Studies. Tim O'Sullivan, et al. 2nd ed. New York, NY: Routledge, 1994. [P 90 K457 1983]
Key Concepts in Cultural Theory. Eds. Andrew
Edgar and Peter Sedgwick. New York, NY: Routledge, 1999. [RBR
HM 621 K49 1999]
Use these thesauri or controlled vocabulary in specific databases and for free word searching in other databases.
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. 8th ed. Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1997. [REF Z 695.1 P7 T48 1997]
Thesaurus of Sociological Indexing Terms. 4th ed. San Diego, CA: Sociological Abstracts, 1996. [REF Z 695.1 S63 B66] Also available in Dewey Reference.
Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications.
Richard Weiner. New York, NY: Macmillan, 1996. [REF P 87.5 W45 1996]
Brief definitions of terms used in broadcasting, printing, telecommunications, advertising, and related fields.
The Associated Press Broadcast News Handbook: Incorporating
the AP Libel Manual. Brad Kalbfeld. New York, NY: Associated
Press, 1998. [PN 4783 H57 1998]
"An Approach to Broadcast Style" (pp. 1-169) is a guide to reporting, news writing, editing, and production. "The AP Libel Manual" (pp. 173-210) contains basic advice on avoiding libel suits. "The Specifics of Broadcast Style" (pp. 213-569) is a glossary of the correct usage of specific terms.
The Associated Press Stylebook and Libel Manual: Including
Guidelines on Photo Captions, Filing the Wire, Proofreaders' Marks, Copyright.
Ed. Norm Goldstein. New York, NY: Associated Press, 1998. [REF PN
4783 A83 1998]
The first part of the book is a dictionary of words and phrases that can pose problems in usage, with separate sections for sports and business terms. The second part is a manual of compliance with libel laws.
Broadcasting and Cable Yearbook. New York, NY:
R.R. Bowker, Annual. [REF HE 8689 B77XC] Also available in
A directory of television and radio stations, satellite carriers, services, and regulatory agencies.
The New York Times Manual of Style: The Stylebook Used by the
Editors and Writers of the New York Times. Allan M. Siegal and
William G. Connolly. New York, NY: Times Books, 1999. [REF PN 4783
S57 1999] Also available in Dewey Reference.
An alphabetical glossary of terms that are often misused in news writing.
Communication Research: Strategies and Sources.
Rebecca B. Rubin, et al. Belmont, CA: Wadsworth Publishing Company, 1986.
[REF 91.3 R83 1986]
Contains a discussion of key journals within Communication Studies as well as a guide to library resources. The sources listed here may be dated but this source does address key aspects within the research process for Communication Studies.
Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination. Chris Hart. London: Sage Publications, Ltd., 1998. [H 62 H2568X 1998] Also available in Dewey.
This book is designed to help students and novice researchers plan and prepare a literature review. Some of the topics examined are: classifying and reading research, mapping and analyzing ideas, argumention analysis, and writing the review. Included are appendices on the proposal, how to cite references, and the presentation of a dissertation.
Encyclopedia of Communication and Information.
Ed. Jorge Reina Schement. New York, NY: Macmillan, 2002. [REF P 87.5 DE53 2002]
A three-volume encyclopedia with 280 articles on topics in the fields of: Careers, Information Science, Information Technologies, Literacy, Institutional Studies, Interpersonal Communication, Library Science, and Media Effects.
Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications.
Ed. Donald H. Johnston. San Diego, CA: Academic, 2003. [P 87.5 E532X 2003]
This four-volume encyclopedia features articles on subjects, such as radio broadcasting, reality-based television, ethnicity in media, intellectual property law, and film. The status of media in various countries and world regions is also chronicled.
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition: Communication
from Ancient Times to the Information Age. Theresa Enos.
New York, NY: Garland Pub., 1996. [REF PN 172 E53 1996]
Articles cover applications of rhetoric (e.g. Pulpit Oratory, Rhetoric of Film), rhetorical methods (e.g. Proof, Narrative Theory), and persons famous in the field.
Encyclopedia of Semiotics. Ed. Paul Bouissac.
New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1998. [REF P99 E64 1998]
Articles on the concepts of symbol theory as well as channels of communication (e.g. Computers, Comics), and the symbolic values of various subjects (e.g. Architecture, Baseball).
Encyclopedia of Television. Ed. Horace Newcomb.
Chicago, IL: Fitzroy, 1997. [REF PN 1992.18 E53 1997]
Articles on major television shows, producers, performers, types of shows, and the television broadcasting systems of foreign countries. List of further readings accompany each article.
Encyclopedia of Television News. Ed. Michael
D. Murray. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999. [REF PN 4888 T4 E53 1999]
Provides biographies of mainstream television news television correspondents, editors, producers. This work also includes very brief entries on topics and a range of broadcast journalism issues. Arranged alphabetically with subject index and a table of contents.
The Encyclopedia of Psychology. Ed. Alan E. Kazdin.
Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2000. [REF BF
31 E523X 2000] Also available in Dewey Reference.
Areas covered in this resource of 1,500 articles include, but are not limited to, clinical psychology, psychological testing and assessment, and cross-cultural psychology.
Encyclopedia of Sociology. Eds. Edgar F. Borgatta and Marie L. Borgatta. New York, NY: Macmillan, 2000. [REF HM 17 E5 2000] Also available in Dewey Reference.
From Talking Drums to the Internet: An Encyclopedia of Communications Technology.
Robert Gardner. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997.
Articles on the history of various communication media (e.g., Clock, Telegraph, Computer), theories (e.g. Nonverbal Communication, Psychoanalysis), and significant persons (e.g. Goebbels, Darwin).
Handbook of Communication and Emotion: Research, Theory, Applications, and Contexts. Eds. Peter A. Anderson and Laura K. Guerrero. San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998. [BF 637 C45 H283 1998]
Handbook of Interpersonal Communication. Eds. Mark L. Knapp and John A. Daly. 3rd ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2002. [BF 637 C45 H287 2002]
Handbook of Research for Educational Communications and
Technology. Ed. David H. Jonassen. New York, NY: Macmillan
Library Reference, 1996. [DEWEY DEWRBR (*) LB 1028.3 H355 1996]
A review of research on applications of media technology, with extensive bibliographies.
Handbook on Mass Media in the United States: The Industry
and its Audiences. Eds. Erwin K. Thomas and Brown H.
Carpenter. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994. [P 92 U5 H36
Articles describing the branches of the industry (e.g. Books, Cable, Films) and its audiences (e.g. Women, Minorities).
International Encyclopedia of Communications.
Ed. Erik Barnouw. New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1988. [OVER (*) P 87.5 I5 1989]
Articles on all areas of communication in the broadest sense, including codes of communication, mass media, communication behavior, and effects in this four volume set.
Language and Communication: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia.
Michael Shaw Findlay. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 1998. [REF P29 F47 1998]
Articles addressing communication between people of different cultures.
The Persuasion Handbook: Developments in Theory and Practice. James Price Dillard, Michael Pfau, Editors. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2002. [HM 1196 P47 2002]
Speech Communication Directory. Annual. Annandale, VA: Speech Communication Association, 1973-1994. [PN 4073 S64X BldgOnly]Return to Top
Government Information can be found via the Reference Collection site of the University at Albany Libraries' Web page. Many government documents are now located on the World Wide Web. Important sites listed are United Nations Documents, U.S. Bureau of Census info, and statistical sources. The University at Albany, University Library is a government documents depository library. The U.S. government supplies depository libraries to make documents accessible to the public. There are many government documents in print, electronic, and microform formats that are not accessible via the Web. Call numbers for these sources begin with GovDocs J 85 and are found in the Government Documents section of the uptown University Library on the first floor. These often underutilized sources can provide excellent information for verifying information and ascertaining facts, arguments, and debate sources.Return to Top
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity.
Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2005. [REF HV 6322.7 E532 2005]
A review of genocide from the ancient world to the present in all regions of the world as well as efforts to prevent and respond to crimes against humanity and genocide.
Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right.
Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Reference, 2005. [PN 4731 Z999 S56X 1989]
Includes international events, a timeline and a topic related guide to locate entries and interpretations of "left" and "right". Emphasis is on the modern era though there are many movements, political leaders, and thinkers from the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Encyclopedia of Propaganda.
Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe Inc., 1998. [REF HM 263 E53 1998]
Addresses forms of communication or processes of persuasion which intend to produce change in the thinking or behavior of an audience. Definitions and examples are included.
American Journalism History: An Annotated Bibliography.
William David Sloan. New York, NY: Greenwood Press,
1989. [PN 4731 Z999 S56X 1989]
A bibliography of research on the history of American journalism, divided into 15 periods.
Censorship: A World Encyclopedia. Ed. Derek
Jones. Chicago, IL: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2001. [REF Z 657 C393
Direct and indirect forms of censorship and their effects and prevention are emphasized Includes people, concepts, debates, bans, and global geographical categories in the alphabetical thematic list of entries. References are provided after brief authored essays.
Censorship of Historical Thought: A World Guide, 1945-2000.
Antoon de Baets. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002. [REF Z 657 B135 2002]
This guide documents persecuted and/or exiled historians as well as non-historians who were censored for covering particular subjects within history. The guide documents cases in over 130 countries since 1945. An extensive introduction raises questions related censorship and editorial policies and discusses the methodological concerns in creating such a guide. Sources are listed after each geographical division. A name and subject index are also included.
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature.
Jo A. Cates. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1997. [REF
PN 4731 Z999 C38 1997]
A guide to the best reference sources on the field, arranged by type of publication: bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries, manuals, etc. Includes annotations.
Press Freedom and Development: A Research Guide and Selected
Bibliography. Clement E. Asante. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press, 1997. [REF P 95.8 P74 1997]
The author asserts that the role of communication in freedom, democracy and social change and development is not highlighted in bibliographies on mass media and attempts to correct this. The work has three main themes: media-government relations, global perspectives on the freedom of the press in society, and development communication. Includes a selected, annotated, geographical bibliography and a list of "significant" sources for researchers working on this theme.
Evaluating Web Content Resources
The University at Albany Libraries' checklist of criteria for evaluating web sites.
Deborah M. LaFond
Social Sciences Bibliographer
Katie Jezik, Library Assistant 2003-2005
Joana Tse, Library Assistant 2004-2005
Chisato Tada, Library Assistant 2005
University Libraries, University Library
University at Albany, State University of New York