Selected Resources for Research in East Asian Studies
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for researching information on east asian studies using both print and electronic
resources available through the University at Albany Libraries. The prefix REF before the call number of a book indicates that
it is shelved in the Reference Area on the first floor. If the call number has no prefix, the book is shelved in the general stacks
on the upper floors of the main library. Most east asian materials will have call numbers that begin with the letter "B," "DS," or
"PL;" those books are shelved on the third floor, northeast or on the second floor.
Subject Headings
Subjects for books in the University at Albany Libraries are based on Library of Congress (LC) Subject headings.
The subject headings function like a thesaurus, allowing you to find the relevant materials about a specific topic with
greater precision than keywords. They are especially helpful for searching library online catalogs. Examples of LC subject headings for various topics are listed below.
All of the following entries are linked to the search results on the University at Albany Libraries' online catalog, Minerva. If you
need help in finding appropriate subject headings for your research, please consult a reference librarian or use the
Library of Congress Subject Headings (REF Z695 U4752X 2002) located near the Reference Desk area.
Indexes and Databases
Indexes and abstracts are useful for finding journal articles, conference papers, government documents, and other types of publications. The section below includes core indexes in both print and electronic format.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)
1971+
Contains more than 420,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East,
Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. Most scholarly journals that focus on Asia
are examined and exhaustively indexed on an issue-by-issue basis.
- Bibliography of Oriental Studies
A free citation index to articles in East Asian Studies published in Japanese, Chinese and a number of European languages.
Search by title and author.
- Columbia International Affairs Online
1991+
Provides the full-text of working papers, occasional papers, conference proceedings,
etc., produced by prominent research organizations in the field of international affairs. It also includes the table of contents
of major international affairs journals.
- Chinese Pamphlets: Political communication
and mass education in the early period of the People's Republic of China
1947-1954
Chinese pamphlets, picture books and other propaganda issued during the early years of the People's Republic of China
between 1947 and 1954. This is the "street literature" of the revolution, the comic books, leaflets and other ephemera
distributed to the population of the provincial cities and villages.
- Historical Abstracts
1982+
Covers history of the world except for the United States and Canada from 1450 to the present. Includes all branches of history:
political, diplomatic, military, economic, social, cultural, religious and intellectual history, etc.
- MLA International Bibliography
1963+
Produced by the Modern Language Association and consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language,
linguistics, and folklore. It draws on scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, covering relevant monographs,
working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
- PAIS International
1972+
A bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of international political, social, and public policy issues.
Covers selected journal articles, books, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, reports,
government documents, etc. More that 1,600 journals and over 8,000 monographs are indexed each year.
- International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
1951+
Core disciplines covered are anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, with additional coverage in
other social science fields. Indexes both core and specialized journals (2,600) and books in the social sciences.
Thirty percent of the records are in languages other than English.
Periodicals
To locate journals in print, microform, and electronic formats in the University at Albany Libraries, go to Libraries' Home Page. Click on Journals - Print & Online, then type the title of the journal in the searchbox. If the library has the journal in print or in microform, the record showing the call number will be displayed.
Many more are available via research databases. The most complete listing of education related databases can be accessed through Database Finder on the Libraries' home page.
Dictionaries
Chinese
- ABC Chinese-English comprehensive dictionary : alphabetically based computerized. Eds. John DeFrancis and Tom Bishop et al.
Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 2003.
REF PL 1455 A33 2003
Includes presentation for each entry of the traditional
character equivalents for the preceding simplified characters, information
regarding boundness of individual characters, and a comprehensive radical chart
providing users with access to the traditional, simplified, as well as variant forms of characters.
- ABC dictionary of Chinese proverbs. John S. Rohsenow.
Honolulu, HI: University of Hawaii Press, 2003.
PL 1273 R64X 2003
"Consists of approximately 4,000 Chinese proverbs alphabetically arranged by the first word(s)
of the proverbs according to the Hanyu Pinyin transcription and Chinese characters (standard simplified),
followed by a literal (and when necessary also a figurative) English translation."
- Zhongda Chinese-English dictionary. Liang Derun and Zheng Jiande.
Xianggang: Zhong wen da xue chu ban she, 2003.
REF PL 1455 A17 2003
"This dictionary is intended for the use of foreign readers and thus pays special attention to the
translation of the Chinese terms or the use of their English equivalents. Over 4,500 Chinese words and 70,000 entries
of terms have been included, among them more than 20,000 are new entries."
- Zhong Ying fo jiao ci dian = A Chinese-English dictionary of Buddhist terms. Chen Guansheng and Li Peizhu.
Beijing : Wai wen chu ban she, 2005.
REF BQ 130 C54X 2005
"This dictionary collects more than 16 thousand entries, covering terms, allusions, books, monks, relics, rituals,
schisms, events, places, Buddhism materials of Mahayana (including Tibetan Buddhism and Japanese Buddhism) and
Hinayana Buddhism. Every entry consists of Chinese phrase, English translation and concise Chinese explanation."
- Grand dictionnaire Ricci de la langue chinoise = Li shih Han Fa ta tzu tien. Institut Ricci.
Paris : Institut Ricci (Paris-Taipei) [Paris] : Desclée de Brouwer, 2001.
REF PL 1459 F8 I57X 2001
A well-developed seven-volume Chinese dictionary includes more than 13,500 entries and over 300,000 definitions.
Japanese
- Kodansha’s essential Kanji dictionary : a compact character dictionary for students and professionals. Kodansha Intanashonaru.
Tokyo : Kodansha Intanashonaru, 2002.
REF PL 679 K567 2002
"includes all of the 1,945 Joyo Kanji, the core kanji recommended by the Japanese Ministry of Education, Science, and Culture
for use in newspapers and magazines."
- Kodansha’s romanized Japanese-English dictionary. Timothy J. Vance.
Tokyo ; New York : Kodansha International : Distributed in the U.S. by Kodansha America, 1993.
REF PL 679 V36 1993
About 16,000 romanized Japanese words are listed in alphabetical order for beginners with no knowledge of kanji or kana to use
the dictionary. The words are presented in standard Japanese script with definitions and sample sentences that offer guidance
on grammar, meaning, style, orthography, pronunciation, and punctuation.
- Random House Japanese-English English-Japanese dictionary. Seigo Nakao.
New York : Random House, c1995.
REF PL 679 N294 1995
Japanese terms are presented in roman letters and Japanese characters. A selection of Japanese cultural terms and
concepts are also included.
- Nichi-Ei Bukkyogo jiten = A dictionary of Japanese Buddhist terms, based on references in Japanese
literature. Hisao Inagaki. Berkely, Calif. : Stone Bridge Press, 2007.
REF BQ 130 I53 2007
This dictionary contains nearly 5,000 entries on Buddhist terms, personal names, ceremonies, texts, and sects.
- Kosetsu Bukkyogo daijiten. Nakamura Hajime. Tokyo : Tokyo Shoseki, Heisei 13 [2001].
REF BQ 130 N345 2001
A four-volume set dictionary on Buddhism.
Encyclopedias
China
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China. Ed. Brian Hook; consultant ed. Denis Twitchett.
Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1991.
REF DS 705 C35 1991
"provides an absorbing and authoritative account of China and all things Chinese - geography, politics, customs,
food and drink, the arts, and a rich and colourful history, from ancient times through to the momentous events
of the past decade."
- Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its History and Culture. Dorothy Perkins.
New York: Facts on File, 1999.
REF DS 705 P47 1999
"Completely up-to-date and comprehensive, the Encyclopedia of China reveals the beauty, tragedies, and triumphs of
this more than 3,000-year-old civilization."
- Encyclopedia of contemporary Chinese culture. Ed. Edward Davis.
London : Routledge, 2003.
REF DS 777.6 E525X 2005
"Provides a range of diverse and fascinating cultural subjects from prisons to rock groups, underground Christian churches
to TV talk shows and radio hotlines. Also includes various aspects of contemporary culture in Hong Kong and Taiwan."
Japan
- The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan. Eds. Richard Bowring and Peter Kornicki.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
REF DS 805 C36 1993
"covers all the general reader, student, business person, journalist, researcher, tourist or armchair traveler would want to know."
- Encyclopedia of Japan : Japanese history and culture, from abacus to zori. Dorothy Perkins.
New York : Facts on File, c1991.
DS 805 P47 1990
Touches upon traditional and contemporary aspects of Japan, including history, religion,
education, government, the arts, food, wars, the family, and notable figures.
- Japan encyclopedia. Louis Frédéric ; translated by Käthe Roth.
Cambridge, Mass. : Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2002.
REF DS 821 F73 2002
"This richly detailed yet concise encyclopedia is a guide to the full range of Japanese history and civilization,
from the dawn of its prehistory to today, providing clear and accessible information on society and institutions,
commerce and industry, sciences, sports, and politics, with particular emphasis on religion, material culture, and the arts."
Histories
China
- The Cambridge history of Ancient China: From the Origins of Civilization to 221 B.C. Eds. Michael Loewe and Edward L. Shaughnessy.
Cambridge, UK; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1999.
DS 741.5 C35 1999
Provides a detailed account of the institutional and cultural history of pre-imperial China.
- China: A New History. John King Fairbank and Merle Goldman.
Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2006.
DS 735 F27 2006
Covers the post-Mao period through the early years of the twenty-first century, including the leadership of Hu Jintao.
- Chinese History: A Manual. JEndymion Wilkinson.
Cambridge, MA: Published by the Harvard University Asia Center for the Harvard-Yenching Institute: Distributed by
Harvard University Press, 2000.
DS 735 W695 2000
Introduces research sources, such as the basic information sources, pre-Qin sources, historical genres,
literary and primary sources, as well as primary sources by period.
Japan
- Concise Dictionary of Modern Japanese History.
Comp. Janet Hunter. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1984.
REF DS 881.9 H86 1984
A concise guide to the significant people, places, events, and ideas from the Meiji Restoration to the present.
- The Cambridge history of Japan Eds. John W. Hall ... et al.
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1988- . 6 Vols.
DS 835 C36 1988 [v.]
Presents Japan's transformation from closed agrarian society to major world power.
Korea
- Historical Dictionary of the Republic of Korea.
Andrew C. Nahm. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1993.
REF DS 909 N34 1993
"Describes political and social events, foreign affairs, economic and cultural developments, and important people
in the history of South Korea since its creation in 1948."
- Sourcebook of Korean Civilization.
Eds. Peter H. Lee; with Donald Baker et al. New York: Columbia University Press, 1993-
DS 904 S68 1993
"Encompassing social intellectual, religious, and literary traditions from ancient times through World War II."
Atlases
China
- Atlas of China. Zhongguo di tu chu ban she. Beijing : China Cartographic Pub. House, [2001].
REF G 2306 F7 Z4 2001
"detailed and up-to-date maps of the Chinese provinces and autonomous regions, with full city index."
- China: A Provincial Atlas. Chiao-min Hsieh and Jean Kan Hsieh. New York: Macmillan Publishing Co., 1995.
REF G 2305 H84 1995
"contains maps of physical features, cultural demographics, provinces, autonomous regions and major cities."
- Cultural Atlas of China. Caroline Blunden and Mark Elvin. New York: Checkmark Books, 1998.
REF DS 721 B56 1998
"provides thorough discussions of China's natural environment, art, politics, society, language, writing, religion,
medicine, mathematics, ceramics, music, theater, farming and food, and family life.
Japan
- Cultural Atlas of Japan. Martin Collcutt, Marius Jansen, and Isao Kumakura. New York: Facts on File, 1988.
Oversized * DS 821 C62 1988
"Interrelates geography, history, archeology, anthropology, and the arts to trace the evolution of the country from its Ice Age beginnings
through its aristocratic and feudal ages and continuing to the modern era."
- The National Atlas of Japan. Kokudo Chiriin. Tokyo : Japan Map Center, 1977
REF G 3355 K57 1977
Consists of 216 thematic maps which include explanatory notes.
Korea
- Atlas of Korea. Eds. Young-Han Park et al. Seoul : Sung Ji Mun Hwa Co., 2000.
REF G 2330 E1 S8 2000
Consists of thematic and general maps, major cities maps of North Korea, and statistical data.
Biographic Sources
- Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: Antiquity through Sui, 1600 B.C.E.-618 C.E. Eds. Lily Xiao Hong Lee and
A. D. Stefanowska. Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2007.
REF HQ 1767.5 A3 B52X 2007
Instead of original research, the contributing authors synthesized legendary or prehistoric women whose stories
are known in literature and have influenced Chinese culture.
- Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Women: the Qing Period, 1644-1911 Eds. Lily Xiao Hong Lee,
A. D. Stefanowska, Sue Wiles, and Clara Wing-chung Ho. Hong Kong : Hong Kong University Press, 1999.
REF HQ 1767.5 A3 B55X 1999
This reference work presents the lives, work, and significance of more than 200 Chinese women from
varied backgrounds and areas of interest: literature, painting, drama, embroidery, pottery,
politics, science, religion, healing, cuisine, and music.
- Biographical dictionary of Chinese women : the twentieth century, 1912-2000 Eds. Lily Xiao Hong Lee,
A. D. Stefanowska, and Sue Wiles. Armonk, N. Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2003.
REF HQ 1767.5 A3 B56 2007
This title contains more than 250 biographies of Chinese women "who have forged careers as scientists,businesswomen, sportswomen,
and military officers appearing alongside writers, academics, revolutionary heroines, politicians, musicians, opera stars,
film stars, artists, educators, nuns and traditional good wives."
- Notable Women of China : Shang Dynasty to the Early Twentieth Century Eds. Barbara Bennett Peterson,
et al. Armonk, N. Y. : M.E. Sharpe, 2000.
REF HQ 1767.5 A3 N68 2000
This reference source covers 89 significant Chinese women from the sixteenth century B.C. to those born at the end of the
Quing Dynasty.
- Dictionary of Ming Biography, 1368-1644. Eds. Carrington Goodrich and Chaoying Fang.
New York: Columbia University Press, 1976.
RESERVE DS 753.5 A84 1975
Biographies of Ming figures including an index, maps, and a chronology of emperors.
- Eminent Chinese of the Ching period. Ed. Arthur W. Hummel.
Washington, U.S. Government Printing Office, 1943-44.
RESERVE DS 734 U65
"Biographical sketches of officials and others from the last three centuries."
- Mountain of fame : portraits in Chinese history. John E. Wills, Jr.
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c1994.
DS 734 W63 1994
"uses more than twenty exemplary lives, including those of statesmen, philosophers, poets, and rulers, to provide the focus
for accounts of key historical trends and periods.
- Who's Who in the People's Republic of China. Wolfgang Bartke. München; New York : K.G. Saur, 1987.
REF DS 778 A1 B37X 1987
"a reference guide to the current (as of March 1980) active leadership."
- Giants of Japan : The Lives of Japan's Greatest Men and Women Mark Weston
New York : Kodansha International, 1999.
CD 1833 W47 1999
"Here are more than forty fascinating biographies of people who have shaped Japan's industry, history, and culture,
individuals who have given their society its unique emphasis on both success and serenity."
Address comments to
This page is maintained by Yu- Hui Chen
Updated June 3, 2008