University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Selected Resources for Research in Education - General


Updated July 16, 2013

This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for researching general information on education using both print and electronic resources available through the University at Albany Libraries. The prefix REF before the call number of a book indicates that it is shelved in the Reference Area on the main floor. In the case of some serial publications, only the most recent edition is shelved in the Reference Area; older editions are shelved in the general stacks. These books are labeled "Latest Issue Shelved in REF." If the call number ends with WWW, the book is an electronic resource. Most education materials will have call numbers that begin with the letter "L;" those books are shelved on the third floor, northeast.


Subject Headings

Subjects for books in the University at Albany Libraries are based on Library of Congress (LC) Subject headings. The subject headings function like a thesaurus, allowing you to find the relevant materials about a specific topic with greater precision than keywords. They are especially helpful for searching library online catalogs. Examples of LC subject headings for various education topics are listed below. All of the following entries are linked to the search results on the University at Albany Libraries' online catalog, Minerva. If you need help in finding appropriate subject headings for your research, please consult a reference librarian or use the Library of Congress Subject Headings (REF Z695 U4752X 2002) located near the Reference Desk area.

African Americans - Education - History
Comparative Education
Education and State - United States (Note: To find "Education and State" for a specific country, replace United States with the country name.)
Education - United States - History
Education - United States - Philosophy
Education - United States - Curricula
Education - Cross cultural studies
Education, Elementary
Education, Secondary - United States
Education, Higher - Administration
Education, Urban
Education - Social aspects - United States
Education - Research - Methodology
Education - Statistics
Education - Study and teaching
Educational Accountability - United States
Educational anthropology
Educational evaluation
Educational law and legislation - United States
Educational psychology
Educational sociology - United States
Educational technology
Educational tests and measurements - Standards - United States
Inclusive education
Language arts
Mainstreaming in education - United States
Multicultural education - United States
Second language acquisition
Special education
[Return to Top]

Browsing by Call Number

Call numbers are assigned to each book or journal. They arrange books and journals on the shelves in broad subject categories. The University at Albany Libraries use the Library of Congress classification scheme. This call number system uses the combination of letters and numeric numbers. The letters represent the subject, and "L" is the call number classification for Education. You might also find education related material in other call number ranges, such as BF and P. The following entries are some examples. For a complete listing of LC call numbers, please visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

L Education (General)
LA History of Education
LB Theory and Practice of Education
LB1025-1050.75 Teaching (Principles and practice)
LB1049.9-1050.75 Reading (General)
LB1050.9-1091 Educational psychology
LB1555-1602 Elementary or public school education
LB1603-1696.6 Secondary education. High schools
LB2300-2430 Higher education
LB2801-3095 School administration and organization
LC Special Aspects of Education
LC65-245 Social aspects of education
LC1200-1203 Inclusive education
LC1390-5160.3 Education of special classes of persons
LD Individual Institutions - United States
LE Individual Institutions - America (except United States)
LF Individual Institutions - Europe
LG Individual Institutions - Asia, Africa, Indian Ocean Islands, Australia, New Zealand, Pacific Islands
P118-118.75 Language acquisition
BF176-176.5 Psychological tests and testing
BF309-499 Consciousness. Cognition. Including learning, attention, comprehension, memory, imagination, and more
BF712-724.85 Developmental psychology
[Return to Top]

Indexes and Databases

Indexes and abstracts are useful for finding journal articles, conference papers, government documents, and other types of publications, such as ERIC documents. The section below includes indexes in both print and electronic format.

Education: General

[Return to Top]

Periodicals

To locate journals in print, microform, and electronic formats in the University at Albany Libraries, go to Libraries' Home Page. From the center column, click on Journals , then type the title of the journal in the search box. If the library has the journal in print or in microform, the record showing the call number will be displayed.

Many more are available via research databases. The most complete listing of Education related databases can be accessed through Databases and Indexes on the Libraries' home page.

[Return to Top]

Statistical Sources

National Center for Education Statistics publications are available online through the Website of the National Center for Education Statistics  (NCES). For additional online statistical resources related to Education, go to the Internet Resources in the Education Research Guides. Then select "Statistical Sources" under General Resources.

The online catalog may be used to find statistical sources under subject headings such as "Education - Statistics" or "Education, Higher - Statistics." The Library of Congress Subject Headings REF Z U4752x [v.] or a reference librarian may be consulted for more specific subject headings. For access to more electronic sources of statistics, select "Reference Collection" from the Libraries' Home Page menu, then "Statistical Sources."

[Return to Top]

Tests and Measurements

[Return to Top]

Encyclopedias

[Return to Top]

Dictionaries and Thesauri

Dictionaries


Thesauri

[Return to Top]

Biographical Sources and Directories

A wide range of directories and sources of biographical information may be found in the University Libraries. A selection of these titles is included here. Additional up-to-date biographical information is available online from the Libraries' Home Page by selecting "Reference Collection," then "Biography." Reference librarians can also provide assistance in finding additional material.

[Return to Top]

Bibliographies and Guides

A selection of bibliographies is offered in this section. The libraries have numerous other sources for finding bibliographies; among them are ERIC/RIE and Bibliographic Index, both described below in this guide. Minerva, the online catalog, can be used to find additional bibliographies. For example, a bibliography on higher education would be found under the subject heading, "Education, Higher--Bibliographies." Ask a reference librarian for help in identifying relevant subject headings.

[Return to Top]

Address comments to

This page is maintained by Yu- Hui Chen
Updated July 16, 2013