Back to Geography and Planning Resources
Geography: A Brief Guide to Selected Sources
This guide is intended to serve as a starting
point for locating information pertaining to geography using
both print and electronic resources available through the University
at Albany Libraries. Call numbers for print materials listed here
are for materials located in the University Library. Call numbers
beginning with the prefix “REF” are in the Reference area on the first
floor, and those with the prefix “RBR” are at the Reserve Desk on the
lower level. Many of the electronic resources covered here are
accessible from off campus for registered University at Albany library
borrowers. For more information on accessing these resources remotely,
see Off-Campus Access to Databases
and Online Journals.
This guide is not intended to be comprehensive, and the library
owns many more resources than are listed here. For more geography-related Web sites see
Geography and Planning Internet Resources. The
Geography and Planning Key Resources page links additional subscription databases
available for University at Albany library borrowers. If you would
like more assistance, please contact a reference librarian.
Locating Books
Books owned by the University Libraries can be
identified by using the online public access catalog, Minerva.
You may search Minerva by author, title, subject, keywords, etc.
Subjects can be searched by using either Library of Congress Subject
Headings or by using keywords. Minerva contains information about
books housed in all three libraries: the Dewey Library, the University
Library and the Science Library. Minerva will also help you
find the titles of journals owned by the Libraries, but it will not
help you to locate individual articles within journals. See
the section below on Finding a Journal Article for more information
on how to do that. A location "ULIB" in the record indicates that the book
is found in the University Library, the location "DEWEY" is for the Dewey
Library, and the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Please
ask for help at the reference desk (442-3558).
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Dictionary of Geography, by Susan Mayhew.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1997. This reference work
covers words and terms encountered in both human and physical geography.
Each entry provides an initial brief definition followed by a more in-depth
explanation. Included also are also key economic and population statistics.
[Ref G 63 M39 1997]
- Dictionary of Human Geography, edited
by R.J. Johnston, et al. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers,
2000. This includes definitions of terms, concepts, theories, and organizations
in the contemporary study of human geography. Includes short bibliographies.
[Ref GF 4 D52 2000]
- Dictionary of Physical Geography, edited
by David S.G. Thomas and Andrew Goudie. Malden, MA: Blackwell
Publishers, 2000. Contains over 2,000 entries, covering terms
in the field with an international perspective. [Ref GB 10 D53 2000]
- Encyclopedic Dictionary of Physical Geography, edited by Andrew Goudie, et al. Cambridge, MA: Blackwell,
1994. Includes concise definitions and longer articles
on vocabulary and concepts in physical geography. Includes short
bibliographies. [Ref GB 10 E53 1994]
- Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography: Places
and Peoples of the World. Boston: Houghton Mifflin,
1997. This dictionary contains about 10,000 brief entries covering
geographic place names and the major peoples, ethnic groups, and languages
of the world. [Ref G 63 H68 1997]
- World Geographical Encyclopedia, edited
by Sybil P. Parker. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1995. This
is a five volume illustrated set. Typical entries include
an overview of the natural environment, population, economy, history
and culture of the region. [Ref G 63 E5213 1995]
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations, Gale
Group staff. Detroit : Gale Group, 2001. This six
volume set contains 200 articles covering 194 countries. The
first volume covers the family of organizations that comprise the
United Nations system, and the sixth volume provides biographical profiles
of world leaders. [Ref G 63 W67 2001]
Country Reports
The following sources provide overviews and statistical
information about countries of the world. See also the resources
listed on the University Libraries'
International Facts & Locations
page.
- Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook, edited by Jennifer L. Jackson. Detroit: Gale Group. Compiled
largely from U.S. Department of State reports, this set contains
country entries covering geography, people, history, government, economics,
and travel. [Ref G 122 C67XA]
- Europa World Year Book. London, England:
Europa Publications Limited. This is a very useful compendium
of country facts and statistics. Each country entry covers
recent history, economics, demographics, and a directory of names,
addresses and other useful facts about the government and political
system. It also includes a section on intergovernmental organizations.
[Ref JN 1 E85]
-
EarthTrends
- From the World Resources Institute. This site contains an online collection of information
regarding the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape the world.
Data is organized in ten topic areas, with each area containing data tables,
maps and country profiles.
- Economist Intelligence
Unit Publications
- Licensed database providing electronic access to the University's EIU subscriptions.
Content includes Country Reports for 26 countries, covering
the political scene, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and
foreign trade and payments. Also contains Country Profiles for nearly 40 countries
which outline each nation's economic and political status and background.
On-campus access only.
LexisNexis Academic
- Licensed database of full-text news and legal information. Contains
country profiles from the CIA World Factbook and Walden's Country Reports.
Select "Reference" under the Search forms heading.
Atlases
Atlases provide ready access to thematic collections of maps.
The University Library owns many atlases, and most are located
in the Reference area on the first floor. Oversized volumes
with a "Ref" prefix in the call number are located in the atlas
cases, near the windows behind the Reference Desk. Other volumes
are on the reference shelves. The following titles are a sample
of the geographical atlases available in the University Library.
In addition, there are many more cultural, historical and specialized
titles available, which may be located by searching the online catalog.
World Atlases
- Essential World Atlas. New York:
Oxford University Press, 2001. [Ref G 1021 E88 2001]
- Encyclopedic World Atlas: A-Z Country-by-Country
Coverage, George Philip & Son. New York: Oxford
University Press, 2000. [Ref G 1021 G417 2000]
- Hammond Atlas of the World.
Maplewood, NJ: Hammond Incorporated, 2000. [Ref G
1021 H2665 2000]
- Times Atlas of the World.
New York: Times Books, 1999. [Ref G 1021 T55 1999]
- National Geographic Atlas of the World. Washington,
D.C.: National Geographic Society, 1999. [Ref G 1021 N38 1999]
- Oxford Atlas of the World, George
Philip & Son. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. [Ref
G 1021 A7545 2000]
- Atlas of World Development, edited
by Tim Unwin. New York: John Wiley & Sons, 1994. [Ref
G 1046 E1 U5 1994]
- The Atlas of Global Change, edited
by Lothar Beckel. New York: Macmillan Library Reference, 1998. [Ref
GE 149 G4813 1998]
Country/Region Specific Atlases
- State of China Atlas, Robert Benewick
and Stephanie Donald. London: Penguin Reference, 1999. [Ref
G 2305 B4 1999]
- China: a Provincial Atlas, Chiao-min
Hsieh, Jean Kan Hsieh. New York: Macmillan Publishing Co., 1995.
[Ref G 2305 H84 1995]
- Atlas of Eastern Europe in the Twentieth Century, Richard and Ben Crampton. New York: Routledge, 1996. [Ref
G 2080 C7 1996]
- Atlas of Russia and the Independent Republics, Moshe Brawer. New York: Simon &
Schuster, 1994. [Ref G 2110 B7 1994]
- Russian Regions Today: Atlas of the New Federation. Washington, D.C.: The International Center, 1994. [Ref
G 7060 R87X 1994]
- Atlas of South America, Moshe Brawer. London: Macmillan,1991. [Ref G 1700 B73X 1991]
State/Local Atlases
- New York Atlas & Gazetteer: Detailed Topographic
Maps, DeLorme. Freeport, ME: DeLorme Mapping Co.,
1998. [Ref G 1250 D4 1998]
Bibliographies and Guides
- Political Geography: a Comprehensive Systematic
Bibliography, B.L. Sukhwal and Lilawati Sukhwal. New
York: AMS Press, 1996. Includes information on books, journals,
theses and dissertations in the field of political geography. [
JC 319 Z999 S85 1996]
- A Geographical Bibliography for American
Libraries, edited by Chauncy D. Harris. Washington,
D.C.: Association of American Geographers, 1985. Entries are
arranged by the major field of geography. [G 116 Z999 G46X 1985]
- The Literature of Geography: a Guide to
its Organisation and Use, by J. Gordon Brewer.
London: Clive Bingley, 1978.
Organized primarily by the format of the information. Many entries
contain a sample page of the source being described. [G 116 Z999 B74X]
- Bibliography of Geography,
by Chauncy D. Harris. Chicago: University of Chicago,
Dept. of Geography, 1976. An introduction to general aids for
the bibliography of geography. [H 31 C514 NO.179 206]
- Guide to Information Sources in the Geographical Sciences, edited by Stephen Goddard. Totowa, N.J. : Barnes & Noble,
1983. Arranged by major fields of geography, geographical region,
and tools for the geographer. [G 116 Z999 G85X]
Locating Journal Articles
Journal articles relevant to your subject can be identified using
indexing and abstracting services. Some databases provide access
to the actual text of the articles, but most do not. If the journal
article text is not available online, you must determine if the
library subscribes to the print journal, and locate it in the Periodicals
Room. For more help with this process, ask a Reference Librarian
(442-3558).
Please note, the databases described in this section can only be
accessed from off campus if you are a a registered library borrower
. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany
AND currently be affiliated with the University as faculty, staff or student.
Sources described below are the most relevant
databases for researching topics in geography. Additional
databases can be found by looking at the listing for
Geography and Planning, Key Resources. Because research in geography can be multidisciplinary, depending
on your topic, you may wish to consult sources covering economics,
public affairs, biology or area studies for specific regions.
To identify databases in other subject areas, go to the
Database Finder
search screen. Highlight the subject of interest in
the “Search By” box and select “Key Resources.”
-
Geobase
- Covers worldwide literature on geography, geology, and
ecology. It includes information on over 2000 journals, books,
monographs, conference proceedings, and reports, starting in 1980.
-
Social Sciences Abstracts
- Provides indexing and abstracting for international,
English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography,
economics, political science, and law, with coverage beginning
in 1983.
-
Sociological Abstracts
- Covers more than 2500 journals in the field of sociology, including sociological topics
in fields such as anthropology, economics, education, medicine,
community development, philosophy, demography, political science,
and social psychology.
- JSTOR
- Includes the electronic backfiles of many social sciences journals,
but does not provide access to current issues.
-
EBSCO Academic Search Premier
- General database covering business, humanities, news, science
and social sciences, containing both academic journals and general
interest magazines. Some articles are full-text.
-
InfoTrac OneFile
- General database which includes refereed academic journals
spanning the disciplines and general interest magazines. Some articles
are available full-text.
Biographies
Biographical information about geographers can
be found in a variety of traditional sources, in addition to
those mentioned below. Several general biography licenced
databases and web sites can be accessed from the Libraries’
Biography
page.
- Geographers Biobibliographical Studies,
edited by Patrick H. Armstrong and Geoffrey J. Martin.
New York: Continuum. This series is a collection of scholarly biographical
texts chronicling the lives of those who have made a significant
contribution to the field of geography. The work is international
in scope, and includes entries for both famous and obscure individuals. New
volumes are published irregularly.
[Ref G 67 G46X]
- Biographical Dictionary of American Geography
in the Twentieth Century, compiled by Gary S. Dunbar.
Baton Rouge: Geoscience Publications, 1996. Contains brief entries
including birth and death dates, place of birth and parents, earned
academic degrees, and employment history. [Ref G 67 D86 1996]
- Biographical Dictionary of Geography, by Robert P. Larkin
and Gary L. Peters. Westport: Greenwood
Press, 1993. Includes a select list of geographers chosen for their
importance to geography and for representation of its subfields. Describes
the geographer's life, academic attainment, contribution to geography,
brief bibliography, and when available, provides other biographical
references. [Ref G 67 L37 1993]
Statistics and Facts
For more databases and web sites for statistical
sources pertaining to geography, see Statistical Sources and International
Facts and Locations.
- American Statistics Index.
Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service, 1973-.
ASI provides references to U.S. government publications containing
statistical information. Most of the documents indexed
in ASI are available in the Library in either print or microfiche.
[Ref Z 7554 U5 A46]
-
CIA World Factbook - Provides basic information on a country's
economy, infrastructure, geography and government.
- Index to International Statistics. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Services,
1983-. This service provides references to statistical publications
of international government organizations. Many of the
documents indexed in IIS are available in the University Library
in either print or microfiche. [Ref HA 154 I53X]
-
Library of Congress Country Studies - This series presents a description and analysis of the
historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national
security systems and institutions of countries throughout the
world.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States
. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1878-. An annual publication providing summary statistical information on
the social, political, and economic organization of the United States,
available in print and online. [Ref HA 202; latest issue shelved
in ReadyRef]
- Statistical Reference Index. Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information
Service, 1980-. Provides references to selected American statistical
publications from private and state government sources.
Most of the referenced documents are available in either print or microfiche
at the University Library. [Ref HA 195 Z999 S78X]
Last Updated: July 15, 2004
Maintained by Mary K. Van Ullen
Comments to
mvanullen@uamail.albany.edu