University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

GEOLOGY
A Brief Guide to Reference Resources

[Guides to the literature] [Databases, Indexes & Abstracts] [Dictionaries & Encyclopedias]
[Biography] [Handbooks & Compendiums] [Current Awareness Services]

updated:  January 19, 2007

Guides to the Literature

Information Sources in the Earth Sciences. [SCIENCE REF QE 26.2 Z999 I54 1989]
Good treatment of information sources throughout the earth sciences, including geophysics, engineering and environmental geology, soil science, and meteorology.

Databases, Indexes & Abstracts

GeoRef. Accessible to University at Albany users only
GeoRef is a comprehensive database for the geosciences. It covers over 1.8 million references to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1693 to the present; and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present. Available electronically through the Library Web page <http://library.albany.edu> under "Database Finder".

Science Citation Index. [SCIENCE REF / Index Q 1 Z999 S28]
Science Citation Index (SCI) indexes the core journals in geology. Searchable by author, title keyword, author's address, or by cited reference which links current and past publications. The Science Library has 1964+ ; also available in CD-ROM format (1980+). (Stand alone terminal by the Science Information Commons.)

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences. [SCIENCE REF QE 5 E5137 1996]
This two volume encyclopedia contains signed articles on all aspects of earth sciences, including climatology, mineralogy, paleontology, history, and biography. Volume I contains some useful reference tables on the geologic time scale, SI units of measurements, and elemental composition of different portions of the earth and meteorites.
Magill's Survey of Science: Earth Science Series. [SCIENCE REF QE 28 M33 1990]
Six volumes of signed articles on topics within earth sciences (defined very broadly). Each article includes a summary, listing of principal terms, bibliography, and cross-references to other articles.

Biography

Dictionary of Scientific Biography. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 D5]
Multi-volume encyclopedia containing essays on scientists from all periods of history. Each essay is signed by the contributor and includes a bibliography. 14 volumes plus indices and supplements.
Geologists and the History of Geology: an International Bibliography from the Origins to 1978. [SCIENCE REF QE 21 Z999 S28X]
Five original volumes plus two supplements. The first volume lists works concerning the history of geology and its subdivisions and allied fields. The second and third list individual geologists with brief statements about their significance and citations of biographical sources. The fourth volume indexes the geologists by nationality and specialty, while the fifth provides an index to authors, editors, and translators.
Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 N73 1995]
This four-volume set is a comprehensive source of biographical information on over 1,300 scientists active in the 20th century. Each biographical entry includes a 2 or 3 page essay, a list of selected writings, and a bibliography. There are field of specialization, gender, nationality/ethnicity, and subject indexes.

Handbooks and Compendiums

Dana's New Mineralogy, 8th edition. [SCIENCE REF QE 372 D23 1997]
Provides physical, chemical, and crystallographic data for minerals. Where possible, gives bibliographic references to the mineral's description.

Current Awareness Service

Ingenta. Accessible to University at Albany users only
An automated current awareness service that delivers the tables of contents of journals, citations, and books by electronic mail. Search strategies can also be created by word or author. Instructions on how to set up a profile are available at <http://library.albany.edu/databases/about/ingentahelp.html>.
For Web-based geology resources see the Geology Subject Guide

This page maintained by Sue Kaczor.
Comments to skaczor@uamail.albany.edu