Back to Latin American and Caribbean Studies Main Subject Page

University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Globalization in Latin America:
a Guide and Selective Bibliography


This page has been created by Tina Viglucci.

Scope of this Guide

The guide is designed to serve as a starting point from which students and faculty can research the topic of Globalization and Latin America at the University at Albany Libraries. It provides general guidance on how to locate relevant sources at the University Libraries using the online catalog, Minerva. It also lists some of the resources available at the University Libraries, which have been categorized by topic and by geographic area. Note that this list is only a selected sample of the materials available on the subject at the Libraries and is not meant to be an exhaustive bibliography. The next section of this guide, search strategies, will help you in locating additional resources.

Back to Top


Search Strategies

Using Subject Headings

Library of Congress subject headings are assigned to materials at the University at Albany Libraries. These are specific terms that describe what a source is about and can be very useful in searching for relevant materials in the Minerva online catalog. Some examples of Library of Congress subject headings to use when searching for materials on Globalization in Latin America are listed below. As your research progresses, you may find other subject headings that are even more specific to your exact topic.

Anti-Globalization Movement
Art and Globalization
Culture and Globalization Latin America*
Effect of Globalization
Globalization Case Studies
Globalization Cross Cultural Studies
Globalization Developing Countries
Globalization Economic Aspects
Globalization Economic Aspects Congresses
Globalization Economic Aspects Latin America*
Globalization Environmental Aspects

Globalization Health Aspects
Globalization History
Globalization Latin America*
Globalization Latin America* Congresses
Globalization Political Aspects
Globalization Religious Aspects
Globalization Social Aspects Latin America*
Globalization in Literature
Language and Globalization
Latin America * Politics and Government


Search Tips

  • * To search for works pertaining to a particular region or country within Latin America, replace “Latin America” in any of the above subject headings with the name of that region or country, ie. Caribbean, Central America or Brazil.
  • Once you find a useful resource in the online catalog, you may want to see which subject headings are used to describe it. Just click on the Full Record to view these. You may find additional subject headings listed that you can use to focus your search.
  • To retrieve works with Global, Globalized, Globalization or 'Globalización' (in Spanish) in the title, type in Global* in our online catalog. This is called ‘truncating.’

Back to Top


Locating Books

The location of books in the Library is, as a rule, based on the Library of Congress' classification system of call numbers which uses letters and numbers to arrange books by subject.

Items with call numbers starting with the letters A through L are on the 3rd floor of the Main University Library, while those those starting with the letters M through Z are on the 2nd Floor. Oversized books, identified by one, two or three asterisks (*), are on the 2nd Floor.

Books on the shelves are arranged in alphabetical order, by the letters on the first line of the call number. For example, the D call numbers come before the DA call numbers, which in turn come before the DB's.

The letters are followed by numbers. Books in the DA call numbers, for example, are further arranged in numerical order, from low to high. For instance, DA 100 will come before DA 135, which in turn precedes DA 500. More on locating resources on the shelves .

Back to Top


Resources by Topic

Most of the sources on this list are in the University Library at the uptown campus. Some, however, may be located either at the downtown Dewey Library or at the uptown Science Library. Make sure you look under "Location" in each entry to verify this information. In terms of format, most are in print, although there are some audiovisual materials listed.

General

Carlson, Beverley A. Job Losses, Multinationals and Globalization: the Anatomy of Disempowerment. Santiago, Chile: United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, Division of Production, Productivity and Management, 2002. 68p.
Location : University Library / HC 121 D474 No.132
Examines pervasive job cuts and losses occurring in multinational companies, raises the question of the social and economic costs of globalization to countries and workers in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the disempowerment of national authorities.

Chiclote, Ronald H. Development in Theory and Practice: Latin American Perspectives. Lanham, Md.: Rowman and Littlefield, 2003.394p.
Location : University Library / HN 110.5 A8 E888X 2001

Cordera Campos, Rolando. De lo Local a lo Global: los Desafíos de la Globalización y sus Repercusiones Locales. Mexico: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, 2006. 242 p.
Location: University Library / JZ 1318 D42X 2006

Dezalay, Yves. The Internationalization of Palace Wars: Lawyers, Economists, and the Contest to Transform Latin American States. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2002. 331p.
Location : University Library / F 1418 D49 2002

Ferrer, Aldo. De Cristobal Colón a Internet: América Latina y la Globalización. México, D.F.: Fondo de Cultura Económica, 1999. 126p.
Location : University Library / HC 125 F39 1999
A presentation of a worldwide panorama of globalization is followed by an analysis of Latin America’s current situation in the context of its historical trajectory and suggestions for alternate ways for it to improve its responses to the globalized world.

Gambrill, Mónica C. La Globalización y sus Manifestaciones en América del Norte. México: Universidad Autónoma de México, Centro de Investigaciones Sobre América del Norte, 2002. 462 p.
Location: University Library / HC 95 S46X 1999

Garretón Merino, Manuel A. Latin America in the Twenty-First Century: Toward a New Sociopolitical Matrix. Coral Gables, Fla.: North-South Center Press, 2003. 148p.
Location : University Library / HN 110.5 A8 L394 2003

Globalización y Mercados Laborales en América Latina . Buenos Aires: Centro Interdisciplinario de Estudios Sobre el Desarrollo Latinoamericano, 1998. 142p.
Location : University Library / HD 5730.5 A6 G565 1998
Examines the problems of unemployment, the evolution of labor markets, and the challenges of social reform in Latin America.

Globalization and Development . Santiago, Chile: ECLAC, 2002. 380p. Electronic version.
Print copy location : University Library / HC 125 C458X 2002
A study in two parts: the first explores the historical context of the world’s financial, social, political and cultural internationalization with a proposal for an agenda for Latin America and the Caribbean; the second focuses on specific issues including migration, social development and the effects of globalization on Caribbean economies. Includes more than 50 statistical tables.

Graham, Carol. Private Markets for Public Goods: Raising the Stakes in Economic Reform. Washington, D.C.: Brookings Institution Press, 1998. 380p.
Location : University Library / HV 525 G72 1998
Examines the role of market incentives in the delivery of education, health care, social security and the privatization of state-owned enterprises in Latin America, Africa and Eastern Europe. Includes case studies of programs to improve public institutions in Bolivia, Chile and Peru.

Harris, Richard L. Critical Perspectives on Globalization and Neoliberalism in the Developing Countries. Boston: Brill, 2000. 183p.
Location : University Library / HF 2580.9 C75 2000
Rejects the global capitalist system and neoliberalism as the best option for the economic, social and political advancement of developing countries, and searches for other alternatives.

Hopenhayn, Martin. América Latina, Desigual y Decentrada. Buenos Aires: Grupo Editorial Norma, 2005.
373 p.
Location: University Library / HN 110.5 A8 H56 2005

Kaufman, Robert R. Crucial Needs, Weak Incentives: Social Sector Reform, Democratization, and Globalization in Latin America. Washington, D.D.: Woodrow Wilson Press, 2004. 542p.
Location : Science Library / RA 395 L3 C78 2004

Kohl, Richard. Globalization, Poverty and Inequality. Paris, France: Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, 2003. 134p.
Location : University Library / JZ 1318 G656 2003
Uses a sociopolitical matrix to understand the political, economic, social and cultural changes affecting Latin America. Examines the challenges facing the region and discusses future directions and implications for government, public policy and social progress. Includes tables of the sociopolitical matrices of the 1980’s and 90’s.

Mejía, María Eugenia. Humanizar la Globalización: Estado, Economía y Cultura en el Nuevo Milenio. Santafe de Bogotá: Instituto del Pensamiento Liberal: CEREC, 1999. 256 p.
Location: University Library / JZ 1318 H85 1999
A collective reflection from the Institute and the Centro de Estudios de la Realidad Colombiana (CEREC) which looks for ways to confront globalization by minimizing the social costs and taking advantage of potential benefits to humanity. Includes a section on the effect of globalization on Latin American cultural identity.

Ocampo, Jose Antonio and Juan Martin, eds. Globalization and Development: a Latin American and Caribbean Perpsective. Palo Alto, Calif.: Stanford Social Sciences, Washington, D.C.: World Bank, 2003. 214p.
Location : University Library / HF 1480.5 G585 2003
A historic overview of economic development in Latin America and the Caribbean region. It proposes an agenda that addresses disparity, respects diversity and fosters collaboration between regional, national and international institutions.

Petras, James F and Henry Veltmeyer. Globalization Unmasked: Imperialism in the 21st Century . Halifax: Nova Scotia: Fernwood Pub.; New York: Zed Books: Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave, c2001. 183p.
Location : University Library / HF 1455 P476 2001
The authors contend that globalization is not new and that capitalism over the past 100 years has had a tendency to integrate economies worldwide. They argue that globalization was created by policies put in place by powerful states under the control of dominant classes to divert attention away from the resurgence of imperialist powers. Contains a section on Latin American and Euro-American Imperialism and the U.S. strategy in Latin America.

Roy, Ash Narain. The Third World in the Age of Globalisation: Requiem or New Agenda? Delhi: Madyham, London: Zed, 1999. 182p.
Location: University Library / HF 1413 R69X 1999
A reflection on modern Latin American history in the context of its relations with the Third World and USA during the latter half of the twentieth century and particularly in the 1980’s and 90’s. Includes a bibliography.

Saenz, Mario. Latin American Perspectives on Globalization: Ethics, Politics and Alternative Visions. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 2002. 252p.
Location : University Library / JZ 1318 L38 2002
The contributions from scholars of philosophy, literature, politics and the social sciences challenge conventional theories of globalization.

Tardanico, Richard and Rafael Mejivar Larin, eds. Global Restructuring, Employment and Social Inequality in Urban Latin America. Miami: North-South Center Press, 1997. 295p.
Location : University Library / HD 5730.5 A6 G56 1997
Uses cases from Mexico, Guatemala, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Venezuela, Chile and Argentina to examine socioeconomic changes in labor markets, privatization, export, gender realignments and territorial reorganization.

Ugarteche, Oscar. The False Dilemma: Opportunity or Threat? NY: Zed Boos Ltd., 2000. 240p.
Location : University Library / HC 125 U39713X 2000
Argues that the economic framework of globalization and neoliberalism is forcing a false dilemma on the nations south of the United States, rejects the export-led growth model and calls for the development of countries’ internal markets.

Ventura-Dias, Vivianne. Production Sharing in Latin American Trade: a Research Note. Santiago, Chile: United Nations, 2001. 40p.
Location : University Library / HC 130 D5 V46X 2001

Zea, Leopoldo. Fin de Milenio: Emergencia de los Marginados . México: Fondo de Cultura Económica, 2000. 359 p.
Location: University Library / D 869 Z39 2000
The author, a doctor in philosophy, analyzes the effects of globalization in the form of the emergence of diverse peoples and ideologies that had previously been submerged, and discusses the necessity of powerful countries to reformulate their relationship with Latin American, Asian and African countries.

Back to Top

Alter-Globalization Movements

Barrios, Harald. Resistance to Globalization: Political Struggle and Cultural Resilience in the Middle East, Russia and Latin America. Munster, London: Lit, 2003. 178 p.
Location: University Library / JZ 1318 R475X 2003
Presents case studies which focus on Venezuela, Brazil, the Middle East, Iran and Russia and center on what globalization means in different world regions.

Rodríguez Garavito, César A. Law and Globalization from Below: Towards a Cosmopolitan Legality. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2005. 395p.
Location : University Library / K 370 L3852 2005
This book analyzes the role of the law in the global movement for social justice using case studies including those of anti-sweatshop movements for the protection of international labor rights and grassroots movements in Colombia and Brazil that challenge neoliberal globalization.

Olesen, Thomas. International Zapatismo: the Construction of Solidarity in the Age of Globalization. New York, Zed, 2005. 243p.
Location: University Library / HM 881 O47X 2005
An account of the emergence and evolution of the transnational Zapatista solidarity network in the era of globalization. It provides understanding of this movement as well as global solidarity and justice movements framed within the larger global debate on neoliberalism and democracy.

Petras, James F. and Henry Weltmeyer. A System in Crisis: the Dynamics of Free Market Capitalism. New York, Zed Books: Distributed in the USA exclusively by Palgrave, c2003. 260p.
Location : University Library / HB 501 P4159 2003
A critique of the capitalist state system and an analysis of the myriad grassroots movements that oppose it. Includes sections on disintegration and revolution in Argentina, Latin American peasants against the state and uprisings of indigenous people in Ecuador.

Prashad Vijay and Teo Balive. Dispatches from Latin America: on the Frontlines Against Neoliberalism. Cambridge, MA: South End Press, 2006. 375p.
Location: University Library / HN 110.5 A8 D858 2006
Drawing from articles published in NACLA Report in the Americas, this book examines the challenges to neoliberalism taking place throughout Latin America. Four sections outline the current moment, the emergence of new left-leaning governments, indigenous movements and other socal mobilizations combating neoliberalism.

Seoane, José. Resistencias Mundiales: de Seattle a Porto Alegre. Buenos Aires: Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales, 2001. 207 p.
Location: University Library / HN 17.5 R476 2001
A collection of articles in two parts. The first part presents the most important stages and characteristics of the globalization of capitalism and imperialism and the role of international financial organisms. The second analyzes the evolution of anti-globalization manifestations including the Zapatista movement. Includes a useful chronology of international and regional protests against globalization.

Starr, Amory . Global Revolt: a Guide to the Movements Against Globalization . London:, UK; New York: Zed Books, 2005. 264 p.
Location: University Library / HN 18 S7915 2005
This book is made up of brief entries on different aspects of the movements against globalization. Entries are organized under 4 headings: history, manifestos, controversies and tactics. Includes many Third World struggles and movements from the Global South including the Zapatistas.

Tavanti, Marco. Las Abejas: Pacifist Resistance and Syncretic Identities in a Globalizing Chiapas. New York: Routledge, 2003. 271p.
Location: University Library / F 1221 T9 T39 2003
A study of Las Abejas, the pacifist religious movement in Chiapas in Southern Mexico which is reflective of indigenous groups’ engagement in global political and religious movements.

Back to Top

Cultural and Social Aspects

Brunner, José Joaquín. Globalización Cultural y Posmodernidad. Santiago , Chile : Fondo de Cultura Económica, 1998. 257p.
Location: University Library / HF 1359 B78 1998

Castedo Franco, Eliana. La Aldea Global y la Modernización de un País Subdesarrollado: lo Ajeno y lo Propio en la Transformación de la Política y la Cultura Cotidiana en Bolivia. Madrid : Iberoamericana, 2000. 286 p.
Location: University Library / F 330 C37X 2000
Analyzes the changes in the collective behavior and modifications in the social structure of contemporary Bolivian society. Has an extensive selected bibliography and a section of useful statistical charts.

García Canclini, Néstor. La Globalización Imaginada. México: Paidos, 2000. 238 p.
Location: University Library / HF 1359 G37X 2000
A series of imaginary narratives and essays in which the author presents the theories of circular and tangential globalization and proceeds to explore and discuss topics such as relations between Europe, Latin America and the United States, global cities and intercultural exchanges in migration and globalization. Includes a bibliography.

Giarracca, Norma. Ruralidades Latinoamericanas: Identidades y Luchas Sociales. Buenos Aires : CLACSO, 2004. 550 p. Electronic version .
Print copy location: University Library / HD 1531 L3 R87X 2004

López Morales, Humberto. La Globalización del Léxico Hispánico. Pozuelo de Alarcón, Madrid: Espasa, 2006. 203 p.
Location: University Library / PC 4711 L66X 2006
Discusses the assumption that globalization and mass media – television, radio and films - will have a homogenizing effect on Spanish which will result in a neutral language devoid of cultural personality, local identities and with a limited vocabulary.

Lowe, Lisa. The Politics of Culture in the Shadow of Capital. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1997. 593p.
Location : University Library / HC 59.72 C3 P65 1997
A collection of essays which focuses on localized and resistant social practices which challenge capitalism, among them anticolonial and feminist struggles, peasant revolts, labor organizing and cultural movements. With studies of anti-racist social movements in Mexico, South America and the Caribbean.

Mar-Molinero, Clare. Globalization and Language in the Spanish-Speaking World: Macro and Micro Perspectives. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2006. 270 p.
Location: University Library / PC 4074.7 G66 2006

Mato, Daniel. Estudios Latinoamericanos sobre Cultura y Transformaciones Sociales en Tiempos de Globalización. Buenos Aires: Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales: Agencia Sueca de Desarrollo Internacional, [2001]. 221 p. Electronic version.
Print copy location: University Library / HN 110.5 A8 E888X 2001.
A collection of 11 essays which contribute to two principal ideologies: the role of culture in socio-political processes in the context of contemporary globalization, and the impact of Latin America on Cultural Studies, specifically those denominated Latin American Cultural Studies, in English-speaking countries.

Back to Top

Economic Aspects

Anderson, Sarah. Views from the South: the Effects of Globalization and the WTO on Third World Countries . [Oakland, Calif.}: Co-published by Food First Books and the International Forum on Globalization; Chicago: Distributed by LPC Group, 2000. 194p.
Location: University Library / HF 1413 V53 2000

Benetti, Raffaello. Survival of Weak Countries in the Face of Globalization: Puerto Rico and the Caribbean. San Juan: Editorial de la Universidad de Puerto Rico, 2003. 137p.
Location : University Library / HF 1505 B46 2003
A multidisciplinary analysis of the policies and economic plans of weak countries trying to thrive in the face of globalization. Incorporates a historical approach to international business and marketing practices, a sociological analysis of the impact on society in general and an economic analysis of Puerto Rico and Caribbean countries’ performance in the globalized economy.

Betancur B., María Soledad. Globalización: Cadenas Productivas y Redes de Acción Colectivas: Reconfiguración Territorial y Nuevas Formas de Pobreza y Riqueza en Medellín y Valle de Aburra. Bogotá: Tercer Mundo Editores, 2001. 383 p.
Location: University Library / HC 198 A28 B47 2001

González Núnez, Gerardo. El Caribe en la Era de la Globalización: Retos, Transiciones y Reajustes. Mayaguez, P.R.: Centro de Investigaciones Sociales: Publicaciones Puertorriquenas, 2002. 240 p.
Location: University Library / Call Number: HC 151 C37X 2002
A collection of essays that analyzes the globalization phenomenon from the perspective of the Caribbean. Focuses on the effect of free market exchange and megatransnational corporations on small regional economies, regional integration projects, banana-growing industries and clothing ‘maquiladoras,’ among others.

Haussman, Ricardo and Ulrich Hiemenz. Global Finance from a Latin American Viewpoint. . Paris: Development Centre of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development; [Washington]: Inter-American Development Bank, 2000. 135p.
Location: University Library / Call Number: HG 203 G56X 2000

Margheritis, Ana. Latin American Democracies in the New Global Economy. Coral Gables, Fla.: North-South Center Press, 2003. 290p.
Location : University Library / HC 125 L347955 2003
Concentrates on the changes toward more open economies in Latin America to improve living conditions and democratic governance. Also explores possible opportunities for innovative policy options.

Ocampo, Jose Antonio. Developing Countries’ Anti-Cyclical Policies in a Globalized World. Electronic version .
Santiago, Chile: Naciones Unidas, CEPAL, 2002. 40p.
Print copy location: University Library / HB 3755.5 O32X 2002
This paper looks at the role of developing countries' domestic policies in managing boom-bust cycles. It's based on recent literature on the subject and on the experience of Latin America in the 1990s.

Ocampo, Jose Antonio. Financial Globalization and the Emerging Economies. Santiago, Chile: United Nations, Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, 2000. 328p. Electronic version .
Print copy location: University Library / HG 3881 F4325X 2000
This collection of essays results from an international conference convened by ECLAC and the International Jacques Maritain Institute of Rome in Santiago de Chile in 1999. The essays in four parts serve to discuss issues and policy surrounding financial globalization, taking into account the financial crisis suffered by emerging economies of Asia and Latin America in the 1990s.

Parodi Trece, Carlos. Globalización y Crisis Financieras Internacionales . Lima, Peru: Universidad del Pacifico, Centro de Investigacion, 2001. 506 p.
Location: University Library / HB 3722 P37 2001
The book attempts to understand the lessons learned from the economic crises in the latter part of the 20th century, emphasizing those in Peru, Brazil and Mexico, as a way of preventing similar occurrences in the future.

Posse, Abel. Argentina: el Gran Viraje. Buenos Aires: Emece Editores, 2000. 204 p.
Location: University Library / F 2849.2 P675 2000
Explores the causes of Argentina’s financial crisis at the end of the 20th century, which in the author’s view were a result of globalization and neoliberalism, and shares a vision for renewal.

Rich, Patricia Gray. Latin America: its Future in the Global Economy. New York: Palgrave, 2002. 282p.
Location : University Library / HF 1480.5 L3852 2002
A collection of contributions which focus on the need for weighing the costs and benefits of globalization and the impacts on the poorer sections in defining Latin American negotiating positions. With tables and indexes on unemployment and wages.

Solimano, Andrés. The Evolution of World Income Inequality: Assessing the Impact of Globalization. Santiago, Chile: [United Nations], ECLAC, 2001. 41p. Electronic version .
Print copy location : University Library / HC 79 I5 S653X 2001
This paper analyzes historical disparities in income and living standards around the world which, according to the author, undermine global integration and social stability. Explores the policies that aim to reduce inequality and focus on growth rates of poor countries, income distribution at the national level and global distribution to low-income nations. Tables with levels of GDP include statistics by region for Latin America.

Solimano, Andrés. Savings, Investment and Growth in the Global Age: Analytical and Policy Issues. Santiago, Chile: Naciones Unidas, CEPAL, 2006. 35p. Electronic version.
Print copy location : University Library / HC 79 S3 S65X 2006 .
Looks at the process of economic growth and examines various topics surrounding savings, investment, their determinants and the relationship between them. Includes extensive information on Latin American growth experiences.

Solimano, Andres. International Migration, Capital Flows and the Global Economy: a Long Run View. Santiago de Chile: Naciones Unidas; CEPAL, Economic Development Division, 2005. 40 p. Electronic version .
Print copy location: University Library / JV 6217 S65X 2005
This document analyzes various economic policy regimes and "political-economy epochs" from the 1870s to the early 21st century and their impact on international migration and international capital mobility. Includes statistics on emigration to the United States through the 19th and 20th centuries by region of origin, including Latin America.

Stallings, Barbara. Globalization and Liberalization: the Impact on Developing Countries. Santiago, Chile:[United Nations], ECLAC, 2001. 37p. Electronic version .
Print copy location : University Library / JZ 1318 S73X 2001 JV 6217 S65X 2005
The first section in this book examines the components and mechanisms of globalization. The second turns to financial globalization and looks at changing trends in finance for developing countries including those in Latin America and the Caribbean.

The Take.  [videorecording]  produced by Barna-Alper Productions Inc. and Klein Lewis Productions in co-production with the National Film Board of Canada and in association with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation ; written by Naomi Klein ; directed by Avi Lewis.   New York : First Run Features ;   Brooklyn, NY : First Run Icarus Films, [2006]. DVD, 87 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HC 173 T354V 2004A
In the wake of Argentina’s spectacular economics collapse, Latin America’s most prosperous middle class finds itself in a ghost town of abandoned factories and mass unemployment. Explores how Argentina’s 2001 economic collapse, where a prosperous middle-class economy was destroyed during 10 years of IMF policies, impacted the lives of ordinary workers. Follows 30 unemployed auto-parts workers, who stage a protest against their bosses and economic globalization by occupying their closed factory and refusing to leave.

Watson, Hilbourne A. Global Political Economy. Boulder: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1994. 261p.
Location : University Library / HC 151 C314 1994
Includes case studies from Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Barbados and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean to explore economic theories in global capitalism.

Back to Top

Education and Globalization

Arnove, Robert F. and Carlos Alberto Torres. Comparative Education: the Dialectic of the Global and the Local. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2003. 491p.
Location : University Library / LB 43 C68 2003

Merriam, Sharan B., Bradley C. Courteney and Ronald M. Cervero eds. Global Issues and Adult Education: Perspectives from Latin America, Southern Africa, and the United States. San Francisco: Joosey-Bass, 2006. 520p.
Location: University Library / LC 5255 A2 G56 2006
Examines the role of educators throughout the world in addressing global issues. Inlcudes a chapter on how adult education addresses the consequences of globalization in Latin America, another on how it provides greater equity for marginalized populations including women in Colombia, and another on the relationship between adult literacy and community empowerment in Latin America.

Rhoads, Robert A. and Carlos Alberto Torres. The University, State and Market: the Political Economy of Globalization in the Americas. Stanford, Calif.: Stanford University Press, 2006. 360p.
Location : University Library / LC 67.68 N67 U55 2006
Under the main topic of globalization and higher education in the Americas, this book includes sections on privatization and transformation in Latin American and Caribbean universities, challenges to national unions in Argentina and Mexico and a diagnosis of Argentinian and Brazilian universities.

Trinidad, Rocío. ¿Qué Aprenden los Ninos con la Televisión?: Globalización, Socialización y Aprendizaje. Lima: Instituto de Estudios Peruanos, 2002. 142 p.
Location: University Library / LC 5146 P4 T75X 2002
Seeks to provide understanding of the influences of globalization through television in the socialization and learning of rural children, in the construction and redefinitions of identity and as a source of information and knowledge that possibly forestalls the school and the family.

Back to Top

Environmental Aspects

Rodríguez, María Guadalupe Moog. Global Environmentalism and Local Politics: Transnational Advocacy Networks in Brazil, Ecuador and India . Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2004. 195 p.
Location: Dewey Library / HC 59.72 E5 R63 2004

Urquidi, Víctor L. Los Desafíos del Desarollo Sustentable en la Región Latinoamericana. México: El Colegio de México, Centro de Estudios Demográficos y de Desarrollo Urbano, 2002. 51 p.
Location: University Library / HC 79 E5 U735X 2002
Traces the past 30 years of environmental improvement in the world, analyzes the environmental situation in the Latin American region and discusses the concept of sustainable development as a sociopolitical process.

Back to Top

Gender, Race and Ethnicity Issues

All Different, All Equal.  [videorecording] TVE International ; BBC Worldwide ; produced and co-ordinated by Di Tatham.   Oley, PA : Bullfrog Films, c2000. VHS, 24 min.
Part 11 of a series on how the globalized world economy affects ordinary people. Looks at progress in achieving greater equality for women -- five years after the Beijing Conference on Women where government delegations pledged themselves to tackle increasing violence against women. Examines gains in women’s rights globally with visits to Brazil, Northern Ireland, Nigeria, Fiji, New Zealand and other nations.

Allahar, Antón. Ethnicity, Class and Nationalism: Caribbean and Extra-Caribbean Dimensions. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2005. 281p.
Location : University Library / GN 564 C37 E84 2005
Examines the role of race and ethnicity in nation-building in Caribbean countries including Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica and Puerto Rico.

Amorós, Celia, Ana de Miguel eds. Teoría Feminista, de la Ilustración a la Globalización. Madrid :Minerva Ediciones, 2005. 3 vol.
Location: University Library / HQ 1190 T432 2005

Barker, Drucilla. Liberating Economics: Feminist Perspectives on Families, Work and Globalization. Ann Arbor, Michigan: University Michigan Press, 2004. 193p.
Location : University Library / HQ 1381 B365 2004
Constructs a feminine understanding of the economic roles of families, caring labor, motherhood, paid and unpaid labor in the globalized world. Includes a bibliography of Internet resources. Connects women's economic status in the industrialized nations to the economic circumstances surrounding women in the global South.

Briceno Linares, Ybelice. Del Mestizaje a la Hibridación: Discursos Hegemónicos sobre Cultura en América Latina. Caracas : Fundación CELARG, 2006. 112 p.
Location: University Library / HM 1272 B75X 2006

Clarke, Kamari Maxine and Deborah A. Thomas . Globalization and Race: Transformations in the Cultural Production of Blackness . Durham: Duke University Press, 2006. 407p.
Location: University Library / GN 645 G54 2006

Cravey, Altha J. Women and Work in Mexico’s Maquiladoras. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1998. 176p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 6073 O332 M9454 1998

Ferree, Myra Marx and Aili Mari Tripp. Global Feminism: Transnational Women's Activism, Organizing, and Human Rights . New York: New York University Press, 2006.
325 p.
Location: University Library / HQ 1111 G56 2006

Goddard, Victoria A. Gender, Agency and Change: Anthropological Perspectives. New York: Routledge, 2000. 280 p.
Location: University Library / GN 358 G45 2000
A collection of cases including two from Spain and Argentina in which gender is the main focus for exploring the processes through which the construction of identity and agency take place.

Green, Charles. Manufacturing Powerlessness in the Black Diaspora: Inner-City Youth and the New Global Frontier. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2001. 205p.
Location : Dewey Library / HQ 796 G723 2001
This book attempts to explain and understand urban crises among blacks from developed and underdeveloped countries within the context of black diaspora, historic racism and globalization.

Hernández, Valeria. Etnografías Globalizadas. Buenos Aires: Sociedad Argentina de Antropología, 2005. 307 p.
Location: University Library / GN 345 E86X 2005

Marco, Flavia. Economics and Gender: Selected Bibliography. Santiago, Chile: United Nations, ECLAC, Women and Development Unit, 2002. 116p. Electronic version .
Print copy location : University Library / HD 6100.5 Z999 M37 2002
Contributes to the research and analysis of phenomena associated with processes of globalization and economic liberalization, including changes in the traditional roles performed by men and women. The bibliography of over 100 titles, each with an abstract, includes works in English and Spanish published between 1995 and 2001 with priority given to Latin America and Caribbean academic works. Includes indexes by subject, authors, geographical area and a list of related websites.

Méndez, Jennifer Bickham. From the Revolution to the Maquiladoras: Gender, Labor, and Globalization in Nicaragua. Durham : Duke University Press, 2005. 284p.
Location: University Library / HQ 1236.6 N5 M46 2005

Nieves-Rosa, Limarie. Globalization and Gender [microform]: Exploring the Effects of Welfare Reform in Puerto Rico. AnnArbor: University Microfilms International, 2003. 220 leaves
Location : University Library / HM 45 Z899 2003 N54

Thorin, María. The Gender Dimension of Globalization: a Survey of the Literature with a Focus on Latin America and the Caribbean. Santiago, Chile: United Nations, 2001. 52p.
Location : University Library / HD 6100.5 T56X 2001
A comprehensive compilation and categorization of resources on the topic of gender and economic globalization. It provides an introduction to the body of research, its themes, more than 350 works of literature, and lists of Internet sites and researchers.

Back to Top

In Literature

Lecuna, Vicente. La Ciudad Letrada en el Planeta Electrónico: la Situación Actual en el Intelectual Latinoamericano. Madrid: Editorial Pliegos, 1999. 222 p.
Location: University Library / PN 99 L29 L43 1999

Paz Soldán, Edmundo. El Delirio de Turing. La Paz, Bolivia: Alfaguara, 2003. 313 p.
Location: University Library / PQ 7820 P39 D46X 2003
Protests and other movements against neoliberalism and globalization form the basis for this novel which is set in Bolivia. These include popular revolts against transnational electric energy companies’ rate increases and a guerilla-style war led by a group of hackers who combat government and the transational companies with electronic viruses.

Ward, Thomas. La Teoría Literaria: Romanticismo, Kraucismo y Modernismo ante la Globalización Industrial . University, Miss.: Romance Monographs, 2004. 178 p.
Location: University Library / PQ 6070 W37X 2004
Identifies three periods of globalization through world history and studies the literary reaction to the second of these periods which is identified as having taken place during neocolonialism and is characterized by mechanical production.

Back to Top

Maquiladoras

Canto Sáenz, Rodolfo. Del Henequén a las Maquiladoras: la Política Industrial en Yucatán, 1984-2000. México, D.F. : Instituto Nacional de Administración Pública ; [Mérida, Mexico] : Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, 2001. 286p.
Location: University Library / HD 3616 M44 Y83 2001

Carrillo V., Jorge. Empresas Maquiladoras y Tratado Trilateral de Libre Comercio: Empleo, Eslabonamientos y Expectativas. Tijuana, Baja California : El Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 1992. 78 p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 9734 M42 C37 1992

Contreras Montellano, Oscar F. Empresas Globales, Actores Locales: Producción Flexible y Aprendizaje Industrial en las Maquiladoras. México, D.F. : Colegio de México, Centro de Estudios Sociológicos, 2000. 238p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 8039 O332 M6137 2000

Cravey, Altha J. Women and Work in Mexico’s Maquiladoras. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1998. 176p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 6073 O332 M9454 1998

De la O, María Eugenia. Globalización, Trabajo y Maquilas: las Nuevas y Viejas Fronteras en México. Mexico, DF: Plaza y Valdes, 2001. 461p.
Location: University Library / HD 9734 M42 G58 2001

Kopinak, Kathryn. Desert Capitalism: Maquiladoras in North America’s Western Industrial Corridor. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, 1996. 232p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 9734 M42 K67 1996

Maquilápolis: City of Factories. [videorecording]  ITVS ; a CineMamás film ; produced and directed by Vicky Funari, Sergio De La Torre in collaboration with the women of Grupo Factor X, Colectivo Chilpancingo, Promotoras por los Derechos de las Mujeres.   [Vallejo, CA] : California Newsreel, c2006. DVD, 68 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HD 6101 Z6 T54V 2006
Explores the environmental devastation and urban chaos of Tijuana's assembly factories and the female laborers who have organized themselves for social action.

Méndez, Jennifer Bickham. From the Revolution to the Maquiladoras: Gender, Labor, and Globalization in Nicaragua. Durham : Duke University Press, 2005. 284p.
Location: University Library / HQ 1236.6 N5 M46 2005

Ramírez Carrillo, Luis A. Las Redes del Poder: Corrupción, Maquiladoras y Desarrollo Regional en México: el Caso de Yucatán . México: La H. Cámara de Diputados, LIX Legislatura; [Mérida, México]: Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, México, D.F.: Miguel Angel Porrúa, 2004. 342 p.
Location: University Library / HC 137 Y8 R365X 2004
Investigates the impact of globalization in Yucatán between 1980 and 2000 and the region’s development of ‘maquiladoras’ assembly plants. Also evaluates the role of political and business corruption in the success of projects stemming from globalization in Yucatán.

Rueda Peiro, Isabel. La Industria de la Confección en México y China ante la Globalización. [Mexico, D.F.]: Miguel Angel Porrua: Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas – Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Facultad de Contaduría y Administración: Dirección General de Asuntos del Personal Académico – Universidad Nacional de Mexico, [2004]. 258 p.
Location: University Library / HD 9940 M63 I532 2004.

Seligson, Mitchell A. Maquiladoras and Migration: Workers in the Mexico-United States Border Industrialization Program.
Location: University Library / HC 135 S362 1981

Back to Top

Mass Media and Technology

Dunn, Hopeton S. Globalization, Communications, and Caribbean Identity. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1995. 228p.
Location : University Library / P 92 C33 G58 1995

López Morales, Humberto. La Globalización del Léxico Hispánico. Pozuelo de Alarcón, Madrid: Espasa, 2006. 203 p.
Location: University Library / PC 4711 L66X 2006
Discusses the assumption that globalization and mass media – television, radio and films - will have a homogenizing effect on Spanish which will result in a neutral language devoid of cultural personality, local identities and with a limited vocabulary.

Martin B., Jesús. Al Sur de la Modernidad: Comunicación, Globalización y Multiculturalidad. Pittsburg, PA: Instituto Internacional de Literatura Iberoamericana, Universidad de Pittsburg, 2001. 303 p.
Location: University Library / PQ 7081 A1 M37X 2001
A collection of texts that explore how the modernization of communications in Latin America is increasingly tied to the processes of economic globalization and the technological information revolution. Includes an extensive bibliography divided into main topics.

Trinidad, Rocío. ¿Qué Aprenden los Ninos con la Televisión?: Globalización, Socialización y Aprendizaje. Lima: Instituto de Estudios Peruanos, 2002. 142 p.
Location: University Library / LC 5146 P4 T75X 2002
Seeks to provide understanding of the influences of globalization through television in the socialization and learning of rural children, in the construction and redefinitions of identity and as a source of information and knowledge that possibly forestalls the school and the family.

Back to Top

Migration

Addiechi, Florencia. Las Fronteras Reales de la Globalización: Estados Unidos ante la Migración Latinoamericana. Mexici, DF: UACM, Universidad Autonóma de la Ciudad de México, 2005. 295 p.
Location: University Library / E 184 S75 A33X 2005

Comunidades Locales y Transnacionales: Cinco Estudios de Caso en el Perú . Lima : IEP, 2003. 400 p.
Location: University Library / JV 7511 C65 2003
This is the culmination of the published results of a study that explored cultural diversity and the redefinition of identity in the Andean countries. It explores new migration trends in urban and rural locales, which have shifted from permanent and temporal relocalizations to fluid comings and goings across larger, more diverse spaces.

Green. Charles. Manufacturing Powerlessness in the Black Diaspora: Inner-City Youth and the New Global Frontier. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2001. 205p.
Location : Dewey Library / HQ 796 G723 2001
This book attempts to explain and understand urban crises among blacks from developed and underdeveloped countries within the context of black diaspora, historic racism and globalization.

Solimano, Andres. International Migration, Capital Flows and the Global Economy: a Long Run View. Santiago de Chile: Naciones Unidas; CEPAL, Economic Development Division, 2005. 40 p. Electronic version .
Print copy location: University Library / JV 6217 S65X 2005
This document analyzes various economic policy regimes and "political-economy epochs" from the 1870s to the early 21st century and their impact on international migration and international capital mobility. Includes statistics on emigration to the United States through the 19th and 20th centuries by region of origin, including Latin America.

Seligson, Mitchell A. Maquiladoras and Migration: Workers in the Mexico-United States Border Industrialization Program.
Location: University Libraries / HC 135 S362 1981

Back to Top

Politics and Government

Bielsa, Rafael, Roberto Lavagna, Horacio Rosatti. Estado y Globalización: el Caso Argentino. Buenos Aires : Rubinzal-Culzoni, [2005]. 156 p.
Location: University Library / HC 175 B55 2005

Bouvier , Virginia Marie. The Globalization of U.S.-Latin American Relations: Democracy, Intervention, and Human Rights. Westport, CT: Praeger, 2002. 286p.
Location : University Library / F 1418 G58 2002

Hoogvelt, Ankie M.M. Globalization and the Postcolonial World: the New Political Economy of Development. Baltimore, Md.: Johns Hopkins University Press, 2001. 325p.
Location : University Library / HN 110.5 A8 E888X 2001
Describes the impacts of globalization in sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, Asia and Latin America, identifying different postcolonial responses in each of these regions. The section on Latin America covers democracy, military regimes, civilian rule and new social movements.

Iglesias, Fernando A. Qué Significa Hoy Ser de Izquierda: Reflexiones Sobre la Democracia en los Tiempos de la Globalización. Buenos Aires : Editorial Sudamericana, 2004. 250 p.
Location: University Library / Call Number: JZ I318 135X 2004

Margheritis, Ana. Latin American Democracies in the New Global Economy. Coral Gables, Fla.: North-South Center Press, 2003. 290p.
Location : University Library / HC 125 L347955 2003
Concentrates on the changes toward more open economies in Latin America to improve living conditions and democratic governance. Also explores possible opportunities for innovative policy options.

Schoonmaker, Sara. High-Tech Trade Wars: U.S.-Brazilian Conflicts in the Global Economy. Pittsburg, Pa.: University of Pittsburg Press, 2002. 220p.
Location: University Library / HD 9696.63 B72 S36 2002

The United States and the Caribbean: Transforming Hegemony and Sovereignty. New York: Routledge, 2005. 175p.
Location : University Library / F 2178 U6 M332 2005
Focuses on changes in U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean presumably resulting from the continent-wide economic depression of the 1980’s, the end of the Cold War, the democratization of Latin American political regimes, increases in emigration to the U.S., and shifts towards more open market economies.

Back to Top

Urban Development

Dilla Alfonso, Haroldo. Globalización e Intermediación Urbana en América Latina. Santo Domingo: Programa FLACSO-República Dominicana, 2004. 280 p.
Location: University Library / HT 384 L29 G57 2004

Portes, Alejandro.Ciudades Latinoamericanas: un Análisis Comparativo en el Umbral del NuevoSiglo. Buenos Aires : Prometeo Libros, 2005. 556 p.
Location: University Library / HT 127.5 C573X 2005
Explores how urban life in the region has developed in the globalized world through the study of cities in six Latin American countries: Buenos Aires in Argentina, Rio de Janeiro in Brazil, Santiago de Chile in Chile, Lima in Peru, Montevideo in Uruguay and various metropolitan centers in Mexico.

Scarpaci, Joseph L. Plazas and Barrios: Heritage Tourism and Globalization in the Latin American Centro Histórico. Tucson, AZ: University of Arizona Press; 2005. 267pp
Location : University Library / F 1408.5 S37 2005
This book presents nine case studies that show how global pressures have affected the concept of the ‘centro histórico’ and left their mark on the built heritage – plazas and barrios - throughout Latin America. Profusely illustrated with photographs and maps.

Simposio Sobre Planeación y Gestión Urbana y Metropolitana en México. Planeación y Gestión Urbana y Metropolitana en México: una Revisión a la Luz de la Globalización. Tijuana: Colegio de la Frontera Norte; Zinacantepec: Colegio Mexiquense, 2001. 266 p.
Location: University Library / HT 169 M4 S56 199

Back to Top


Resources by Geographic Area

Most of the sources on this list are in the University Library at the uptown campus. Some, however, may be located either at the downtown Dewey Library or at the uptown Science Library. Make sure you look under "Location" in each entry to verify this information. In terms of format, most are in print, although there are some audiovisual materials listed.

Argentina

Bielsa, Rafael, Roberto Lavagna, Horacio Rosatti. Estado y Globalización: el Caso Argentino. Buenos Aires : Rubinzal-Culzoni, [2005]. 156 p.
Location: University Library / HC 175 B55 2005

Borón, Atilio. Tiempos Violentos: Neoliberalismo, Globalización y Desigualdad en América Latina. Buenos Aires: Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales: EUDEBA, 1999. 318p.
Location : University Library / HC 125 T526 1999
Analyzes the problems brought about by globalization – from the dissolution of social norms to a proletariat of crime, corruption, the drug trade, social exlusion and marginalization - and the neoliberal response by regional governments, with emphasis on Argentina.

Guadagni, Alieto A. Contradicciones de la Globalización: Oportunidad, Desafíos y Amenazas que Enfrenta la Argentina en el Siglo XXI. [Buenos Aires]: Instituto di Tella: Siglo Veintiuno de Argentina, 2004. 251 p.
Location: University Library / HF 1509 G82 2004
Analyzes globalization in the world and Latin America and evaluates the particular significance for Argentina. Offers a personal vision of how Argentina should take advantage of globalization as an opportunity to grow equitably in the 21st century.

Gullo, Marcelo. Argentina, Brasil: la Gran Oportunidad. Buenos Aires: Biblos, 2005. 174 p.
Location: University Library / F 2833.5 B7 G84 2005

Posse, Abel. Argentina: el Gran Viraje. Buenos Aires: Emece Editores, 2000. 204 p.
Location: University Library / F 2849.2 P675 2000
Explores the causes of Argentina’s financial crisis at the end of the twentieth century, which in the author’s view was a result of globalization and neoliberalism, and shares a vision for renewal.

The Take.  [videorecording]  produced by Barna-Alper Productions Inc. and Klein Lewis Productions in co-production with the National Film Board of Canada and in association with the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation ; written by Naomi Klein ; directed by Avi Lewis.   New York : First Run Features ;   Brooklyn, NY : First Run Icarus Films, [2006]. DVD, 87 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HC 173 T354V 2004A
In the wake of Argentina’s spectacular economics collapse, Latin America’s most prosperous middle class finds itself in a ghost town of abandoned factories and mass unemployment. Explores how Argentina’s 2001 economic collapse, where a prosperous middle-class economy was destroyed during 10 years of IMF policies, impacted the lives of ordinary workers. Follows 30 unemployed auto-parts workers, who stage a protest against their bosses and economic globalization by occupying their closed factory and refusing to leave.

Teubal, Miguel. Agro y Alimentos en la Globalización: una Perspectiva Crítica. Buenos Aires: Editorial La Colmena, 2002. 208 p.
Location: University Library / HD 9014 A72 T48 2002
Explores Argentina’s production, processing and supply of agricultural food products framed within the globalization polemic. Covers the impact of globalization on small and medium-sized agro producers, the conditions of rural workers, the commercialization of food products and access to food products by the general population.

Back to Top

Brazil

Alba Vega, Carlos.Democracia y Globalización en México y Brasil. México: El Colegio de México, Centro de Estudios Internacionales, 2004. 427 p.
Location: University Library / HC 135 D44X 2004

All Different, All Equal.  [videorecording] TVE International ; BBC Worldwide ; produced and co-ordinated by Di Tatham.   Oley, PA : Bullfrog Films, c2000. VHS, 24 min.
Part 11 of a series on how the globalized world economy affects ordinary people. Looks at progress in achieving greater equality for women -- five years after the Beijing Conference on Women where government delegations pledged themselves to tackle increasing violence against women. Examines gains in women’s rights globally with visits to Brazil, Northern Ireland, Nigeria, Fiji, New Zealand and other nations.

Gullo, Marcelo. Argentina, Brasil: la Gran Oportunidad. Buenos Aires: Biblos, 2005. 174 p.
Location: University Library / F 2833.5 B7 G84 2005

Rodríguez, María Guadalupe Moog. Global Environmentalism and Local Politics: Transnational Advocacy Networks in Brazil, Ecuador and India . Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2004. 195 p.
Location: Dewey Library / HC 59.72 E5 R63 2004

Schoonmaker, Sara. High-Tech Trade Wars: U.S.-Brazilian Conflicts in the Global Economy. Pittsburg, Pa.: University of Pittsburg Press, 2002. 220p.
Location: University Library / HD 9696.63 B72 S36 2002

Back to Top

Caribbean

Allahar, Antón. Ethnicity, Class and Nationalism: Caribbean and Extra-Caribbean Dimensions. Lanham, MD: Lexington Books, 2005. 281p.
Location : University Library / GN 564 C37 E84 2005
Examines the role of race and ethnicity in nation-building in Caribbean countries including Guyana, Trinidad, Jamaica and Puerto Rico.

Benetti, Raffaello. Survival of Weak Countries in the Face of Globalization: Puerto Rico and the Caribbean. San Juan: Editorial de la Universidad de Puerto Rico, 2003. 137p.
Location : University Library / HF 1505 B46 2003
A multidisciplinary analysis of the policies and economic plans of weak countries trying to thrive in the face of globalization. Incorporates a historical approach to international business and marketing practices, a sociological analysis of the impact on society in general and an economic analysis of Puerto Rico and Caribbean countries’ performance in the globalized economy.

Clarke, Kamari Maxine and Deborah A. Thomas . Globalization and Race: Transformations in the Cultural Production of Blackness . Durham: Duke University Press, 2006. 407p.
Location: University Library / GN 645 G54 2006

Dunn, Hopeton S. Globalization, Communications, and Caribbean Identity. New York: St. Martin’s Press, 1995. 228p.
Location : University Library / P 92 C33 G58 1995

Globalization and Development . Santiago, Chile: ECLAC, 2002. 380p. Electronic version .
Print copy location : University Library / HC 125 C458X 2002
A study in two parts: the first explores the historical context of the world’s financial, social, political and cultural internationalization with a a proposal for an agenda for Latin America and the Caribbean; the second focuses on specific issues including migration, social development and effects on Caribbean economies. With more than 50 tables.

González Núnez, Gerardo. El Caribe en la Era de la Globalización: Retos, Transiciones y Reajustes. Mayaguez, P.R.: Centro de Investigaciones Sociales: Publicaciones Puertorriquenas, 2002. 240 p.
Location: University Library / HC 151 C37X 2002
A collection of essays that analyzes the globalization phenomenon from the perspective of the Caribbean. Focuses on the effect of free market exchange and megatransational corporations on small regional economies, regional integration projects, banana-growing industries and clothing ‘maquiladoras,’ among others.

Green, Charles. Manufacturing Powerlessness in the Black Diaspora: Inner-City Youth and the New Global Frontier. Walnut Creek, CA: AltaMira Press, 2001. 205p.
Location : Dewey Library / HQ 796 G723 2001
This book attempts to explain and understand urban crises among blacks from developed and underdeveloped countries within the context of black diaspora, historic racism and globalization.

Isa Contreras, Pavel. El Caribe Frente a los Retos de la Globalización. Santo Domingo: Facultad Latinoamericana de Ciencias Sociales, Programa República Dominicana, 1996. 86p.
Location : University Library / HN 193.5 C375 1996
Contains the studies conducted as part of an OXAM/FLACSO Project to search for strategies for the development of policies and actions to integrate the Caribbean region in the new national and international economic, social and political dynamics.

Klak, Thomas, ed. Globalization and Neoliberalism: the Caribbean Context. Lanham: Rowman & Littlefield, 1998. 319p.
Location : University Library / HC 151 G58 1998
Explores the interaction between development, trade, foreign policy, environment, tourism, gender relations and migration in the Caribbean. Includes maps, a list of acronyms, tables and figures and an extensive bibliography.

Knight, Franklin W. and Teresita Martínez-Vergne, eds. Contemporary Caribbean Cultures and Societies in a Global Context. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 2005. 303p.
Location : University Library / F 1741 C66 2005
Examines the challenges of globalization to the Caribbean through topics such as the World Bank and the Haitian economy, creolization in Havana, nation building in Puerto Rico and women’s grassroots movements in the Dominican Republic.

Life and Debt.  [videorecording]  A Tuff Gong Pictures Production a film by Stephanie Black ; producer, Stephanie Black ; narration writer, Jamaica Kincaid ; director, Stephanie Black.   New York, NY : New Yorker Video, [2003], c2001. DVD, 86 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HC 154 L54V 2001B
Jamaica, which became an independent country from Great Britain in 1962, is an example of the complexities of economic globalization on the world’s developing countries. Portrays the relationship between Jamaican poverty and the practices of international lending agencies as one of the devasting consequences of globalization.

Ramsaran, Ramesh. Caribbean Survival and the Global Challenge. Kingston: Ian Randle Publishers, 2002. 491p.
Location : University Library / HF 1495 G66 2002
A collection of responses on the broad range of implications created by globalization for Caribbean countries. These touch on issues from crime to telecommunications, the non-definition of Law of the Sea at regional levels and a Caribbean Cooperative Zone, among others.

Seguinot Barbosa, José. GEO Caribe: Medio Ambiente, Cultura y Salud en el Caribe Contemporáneo. San Juan, Puerto Rico: Editorial GEO, 2005. 258 p.
Location: University Library / GE 160 C27 S44 2005

The United States and the Caribbean: Transforming Hegemony and Sovereignty . New York: Routledge, 2005. 175p.
Location : University Library / F 2178 U6 M332 2005
Focuses on changes in U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean presumably resulting from the continent-wide economic depression of the 1980’s, the end of the Cold War, the democratization of Latin American political regimes, increases in emigration to the U.S., and shifts towards more open market economies.

Watson, Hilbourne A. Global Political Economy. Boulder: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1994. 261p.
Location : University Library / HC 151 C314 1994
Includes case studies from Jamaica, Haiti, Cuba, Barbados and Puerto Rico in the Caribbean to explore economic theories in global capitalism.

Back to Top

Central America

Melmed-Sanjak, Jolyn, Carlos E. Santiago and Alvi Magid, eds. Centroamérica en la Globalización: Perspectivas Comparativas. Albany , NY: State University of New Cork, 1994. 252p.
Location : University Library / HC 141 C3849 1994
A general vision of the economic and political development of Central America which explores reindustrialization, cooperativism, the role of multinational companies and foreign investments, among other topics.

Robison, William I. Transnational Conflicts: Central America, Social Change, and Globalization. New York: VERSO, 2003. 400p.
Location : University Library / HN 123.5 R6 2003
Provides general theories on globalization, a reinterpretation of Central America’s political history in the light of globalization and coverage of individual countries’ specific dimensions of change in the 21st century

Rodlauer, Markus and Alfred Schipke, eds. Central America: Global Integration and Regional Cooperation. Washington, D.C.: International Monetary Fund, 2005. 135p.
Location : University Library / HC 141 C374 2005
Looks at how Central America is attempting to meet the economic, social and political challenges through growing integration. Covers the policy implications of increased land and financial integration, tax policy and administration, banking supervision and regulation and sustained growth, among other topics.

Back to Top

Dominican Republic

Marlbor Alvarado, Jorge. Dominicanismo Universal: Relación Económica, Política, Cultural y Social de la República Dominicana con el Mundo Globalizado. Santo Domingo, Republica Dominicana: Editora Manati, 2001. 245 p.
Location: University Library / JZ 1318 M37X 2001
Examines the development strategies of the more developed countries through history to consider new alternatives for less developed countries, specifically the Dominican Republic.

Steven, Gregory. The Devil Behind the Mirror: Globalization and Politics in the Dominican Republic. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2007. 285p.
Location: University Library / HF 1502 G74 2007
An account of the impact that transnational processes associated with globalization are having on tourism, media and urban development, among other facets of life and livelihood in the Dominican Republic. Includes numerous photographs with are listed and described before the text.

Back to Top

Mexico

Alba Vega, Carlos.Democracia y Globalización en México y Brasil. México: El Colegio de México, Centro de Estudios Internacionales, 2004. 427 p.
Location: University Library / HC 135 D44X 2004

Canto Sáenz, Rodolfo. Del Henequén a las Maquiladoras: la Política Industrial en Yucatán, 1984-2001. México, D.F. : Instituto Nacional de Administración Pública ; [Mérida, Mexico] : Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, 2001. 286p.
Location: University Library / HD 3616 M44 Y83 2001

Carrillo V., Jorge. Empresas Maquiladoras y Tratado Trilateral de Libre Comercio: Empleo, Eslabonamientos y Expectativas. Tijuana, Baja California : El Colegio de la Frontera Norte, 1992. 78 p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 9734 M42 C37 1992

Contreras Montellano, Oscar F. Empresas Globales, Actores Locales: Producción Flexible y Aprendizaje Industrial en las Maquiladoras. México, D.F. : Colegio de México, Centro de Estudios Sociológicos, 2000. 238p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 8039 O332 M6137 2000

Cravey, Altha J. Women and Work in Mexico’s Maquiladoras. Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, 1998. 176p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 6073 O332 M9454 1998

De la O, María Eugenia. Globalización, Trabajo y Maquilas: las Nuevas y Viejas Fronteras en México. Mexico, DF: Plaza y Valdes, 2001. 461 p.
Location: University Library / HD 9734 M42 G58 2001

Ferry, Elizabeth Emma. Not Ours Alone: Patrimony, Value, and Collectivity in Contemporary Mexico. New York: Columbia University Press, c2005. 273p.
Location : University Library / HD 9506 M63 G8327 2005
The practices and patrimony of the Guajanato Santa Fe Cooperative, a cooperatively-mined silver mine in Mexico, are explored in this book. It further explores other aspects of patrimony, collective identity and rights to resources in Mexico which challenge capitalist society.

Kopinak, Kathryn. Desert Capitalism: Maquiladoras in North America’s Western Industrial Corridor. Tucson : University of Arizona Press, 1996. 232p.
Location: University Libraries / HD 9734 M42 K67 1996

Maquilápolis: City of Factories. [videorecording]  ITVS ; a CineMamás film ; produced and directed by Vicky Funari, Sergio De La Torre in collaboration with the women of Grupo Factor X, Colectivo Chilpancingo, Promotoras por los Derechos de las Mujeres.   [Vallejo, CA] : California Newsreel, c2006. DVD, 68 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HD 6101 Z6 T54V 2006
Explores the environmental devastation and urban chaos of Tijuana's assembly factories and the female laborers who have organized themselves for social action.

Méndez, Jennifer Bickham. From the Revolution to the Maquiladoras: Gender, Labor, and Globalization in Nicaragua. Durham : Duke University Press, c2005. 284p.
Location: University Library / HQ 1236.6 N5 M46 2005

Nash, June C. Mayan Visions: the Quest for Autonomy in an Age of Globalization. New York: Routledge, 2001. 303p.
Location: University Library / F 1435.3 P7 N37 2001

Olesen, Thomas. International Zapatismo: the Construction of Solidarity in the Age of Globalization. New York, Zed, 2005. 243p.
Location: University Library / HM 881 O47X 2005
An account of the emergence and evolution of the transnational Zapatista solidarity network in the era of globalization. It provides an understanding of this movement as well as global solidarity and justice movements framed within the larger global debated on neoliberalism and democracy.

Ramírez Carrillo, Luis A. Las Redes del Poder: Corrupción, Maquiladoras y Desarrollo Regional en México: el Caso de Yucatán . México: La H. Cámara de Diputados, LIX Legislatura; [Mérida, México]: Universidad Autónoma de Yucatán, México, D.F.: Miguel Angel Porrúa, 2004. 342 p.
Location: University Library / HC 137 Y8 R365X 2004
Investigates the impact of globalization in Yucatán between 1980 and 2000 and the region’s development of ‘maquiladoras’ assembly plants. Also evaluates the role of political and business corruption in the success of projects stemming from globalization in Yucatán.

Rueda Peiro, Isabel. La Industria de la Confección en México y China ante la Globalización. [Mexico, D.F.]: Miguel Angel Porrua: Instituto de Investigaciones Estéticas – Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México: Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, Facultad de Contaduría y Administración: Dirección General de Asuntos del Personal Académico – Universidad Nacional de Mexico, [2004]. 258 p.
Location: HD 9940 M63 I532 2004

Seligson, Mitchell A. Maquiladoras and Migration: Workers in the Mexico-United States border industrialization program.
Location: University Libraries / HC 135 S362 1981

Simposio Sobre Planeación y Gestión Urbana y Metropolitana en México. Planeación y Gestión Urbana y Metropolitana en México: una Revisión a la Luz de la Globalización. Tijuana: Colegio de la Frontera Norte; Zinacantepec: Colegio Mexiquense, 2001. 266 p.
Location: University Library / HT 169 M4 S56 1999

Tavanti, Marco. Las Abejas: Pacifist Resistance and Syncretic Identities in a Globalizing Chiapas. New York: Routledge, 2003. 271p.
Location: University Library / F 1221 T9 T39 2003
A study of Las Abejas, the pacifist religious movement in Chiapas in Southern Mexico which is reflective of indigenous groups’ engagement in global political and religious movements.

Back to Top

Puerto Rico

Benetti, Raffaello. Survival of Weak Countries in the Face of Globalization: Puerto Rico and the Caribbean. San Juan: Editorial de la Universidad de Puerto Rico, 2003. 137p.
Location : University Library / HF 1505 B46 2003
A multidisciplinary analysis of the policies and economic plans of weak countries trying to thrive in the face of globalization. Incorporates a historical approach to international business and marketing practices, a sociological analysis of the impact on society in general and an economic analysis of Puerto Rico and Caribbean countries’ performance in the globalized economy.

Nieves-Rosa, Limarie. Globalization and Gender [microform]: Exploring the Effects of Welfare Reform in Puerto Rico. AnnArbor: University Microfilms International, 2003. 220 leaves
Location : University Library / HM 45 Z899 2003 N54

Pabón, Carlos. Nación Postmortem: Ensayos Sobre los Tiempos de Insportable Ambiguedad. San Juan , P.R.: Ediciones Callejón, 2002. 429 p.
Location: University Library / JC 311 P32X 2003

Back to Top

Other Countries

Betancur B., María Soledad. Globalización: Cadenas Productivas y Redes de Acción Colectivas: Reconfiguración Territorial y Nuevas Formas de Pobreza y Riqueza en Medellín y Valle de Aburra. Bogotá: Tercer Mundo Editores, 2001. 383 p.
Location: University Library / HC 198 A28 B47 2001

Carranza, Victor. Globalización y Crisis Social en el Perú . Lima , Peru : IFEA, 2000. 155 p. Location: University Library / F 2212 I52 V.121

Castedo Franco, Eliana. La Aldea Global y la Modernización de un País Subdesarrollado: lo Ajeno y lo Propio en la Transformación de la Política y la Cultura Cotidiana en Bolivia. Madrid : Iberoamericana, 2000. 286 p.
Location: University Library / F 330 C37X 2000

Comunidades Locales y Transnacionales: Cinco Estudios de Caso en el Perú . Lima : IEP, 2003. 400 p.
Location: University Library / JV 7511 C65 2003
This is the culmination of the published results of a study that explored cultural diversity and the redefinition of identity in the Andean countries. It explores new migration trends in urban and rural locales, which have shifted from permanent and temporal relocalizations to fluid comings and goings across larger, more diverse spaces.

Danger: Children at Work. [videorecording] TVE International ; BBC Worldwide ; directed by Emily Marlow.   Oley, PA : Bullfrog Films, c2002. VHS, 27 min.
Location:University Library, Interactive Media Center
Part of a series examining the issue of glabalization and its effect on ordinary people around the world. This segment looks at the production of fireworks by poor families and their children in Guatemala. Since the land is poor, many have turned from agriculture to producing fireworks at home, a dangerous practice which has become the major source of income for 80% of local people, with no safety controls and frequent accidents.

Fernández Saavedra, Gustavo. Bolivia en el Laberinto de la Globalización: Ensayos. La Paz , Bolivia : Plural Editores, Instituto Prisma, 2004. 228 p.
Location: University Library / HC 182 F468 2004

Méndez, Jennifer Bickham. From the Revolution to the Maquiladoras: Gender, Labor, and Globalization in Nicaragua. Durham : Duke University Press, 2005. 284p.
Location: University Library / HQ 1236.6 N5 M46 2005

Rodríguez, María Guadalupe Moog. Global Environmentalism and Local Politics: Transnational Advocacy Networks in Brazil, Ecuador and India . Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2004. 195 p.
Location: Dewey Library / HC 59.72 E5 R63 2004

Tales from the Global Economy : the Cappuccino Trail  [videorecording]  FFP for BBC; director, Jeremy Newson.  Princeton, NJ : Films for the Humanities & Sciences, 2002. DVD, 50 min.
Location: University Library, next to Circulation Desk / HD 9199 T35V 2001A
By following the trail of two coffee beans grown in the Peruvian Andes, this program looks at the stimulant, which, after oil, is the most globally traded commodity. One of the beans takes the route of the open market where its price is determined by commodities traders and analysts. The other bean finds its way into a gourmet coffee made by a company dedicated to paying fair prices to farmers for their high-quality organic crop.

Back to Top


Web Resources

These sources are all freely available via the Internet.

Academic Initiatives

George Washington Center for the Study of Globalization (GWCSG)
The section “One-Stop Globalization” in the Center's website contains event summaries, news, perspectives and resources on globalization, as well as an archive of useful resources including interviews, facts, statistics and a summation of past and present globalization policies. The site has a global focus but searching GWCSG by country, ie. Argentina, will retrieve information related to it.

Globalization Studies Network (GSN)
A coalition of university research centers from all over the world. The website contains information on programs, news on conferences, archives from the GSN newsletter and links to online globalization magazines.

Globalization Urbanization and Migration (GUM)
A project of the George Washington Center for the Study of Globalization. The on-going collaborative research site and network is oriented towards gathering empirical data to measure immigration in cities around the world. It includes information for more than 150 metropolitan areas illustrated in data sets, pie charts and maps including Argentina, Brazil, Jamaica, Mexico, Spain and Venezuela.

The Globalization Website
Maintained by Emory University’s Sociology Department. The website is sectioned off into Globalization debates, organizations, news , people (including some public figures from Latin America), issues, theories and a very helpful glossary of the globalization lexicon. Especially valuable for the links it provides to other websites related to global issues incluging some Spanish language sites.

Yale Center for the Study of Globalization
This site draws on the resources of the Yale University community, scholars from other universities, and public and private sector experts from around the world, some having to do with Latin America. The Documents and Publications section, for example, contains the full-text of the presentations at the 2004 Latin American Colloquium which was focused on growth in Latin America. The site also links to Yale Global Online, the center's flagship publication, with a section on the Americas containing articles and current news.

Back to Top

Organizations

General

Eldis Globalisation Resource Guide
Eldis is a 'gateway' to information on development issues, providing free and easy access to wide range of quality online resources. The Globalisation Resource Guide contains a feature article and news from around the world including Latin America.

Globalización América Latina
Electronic bulletin with brief articles, news and resources on global themes, civil society and development in Latin America. Published by D3E, a non government organization working on research, promotion and education on sustainable development issues in Latin America.

International Forum on Globalization
An alliance representing over 60 organizations in 25 countries formed to stimulate thinking, activity, and public education in response to economic globalization and its impact. Searching by country and region, there are news, events and reports to be found concerning Latin America.

Resource Center of the Americas
This website contains news, analysis, activism and curriculum materials about sweatshops, world debt, human rights and poverty in the American Hemisphere, with a focus on the global economy. The globalization section includes the latest news and commentary on issues related to debt, trade, immigration and labor rights, among others.

UnMundo América Latina
This is an organization that works for human rights and sustainable development. Its content comes from more than 1,500 member organizations around the world. A browsable archives on globalization related news can be found under the section titled “A Profundidad” and the subcategory “Política.” The archives can be searched by region - Latin America and the Caribbean - and by country.

Back to Top

Policy, Trade and Economy

Economic Commission for Latin America
English version
ECLAC contributes to the economic development of Latin America reinforcing economic relationships among the countries and other nations of the world. The website contains economic periodical reports, full-text articles from journals and bulletins, speeches, press releases, opinions and more.

Global Policy Forum
News, information, analysis and resources from an organization that monitors UN policy making, promotes accountability of global decisions and mobilizes for global citizen participation. The website contains over 25,000 text files. The Globalization section contains articles, case studies, trade agreements, statistics and much more valuable information related to Latin America.

Third World Network
This is an independent non-profit international network of organizations and individuals involved in issues on development, the Third World and North-South issues. The website includes news and reports on the World Trade organization, trade development, intellectual property rights, global financial and economic crises, the environment, gender issues and more.

World Economic Forum
This independent organization is dedicated to engaging leaders of the world in partnership to shape global, regional and industry agendas. The reports in the site include the Latin America Risk report which notes the increasing strength of the region’s economies while emphasizing the uncertainties of political instability and social inequality.

Back to Top

Articles, News and Commentary

Centre for Research on Globalization
This website, based in Montreal, publishes news articles, commentary, background research and analysis by writers, scholars and activists on a broad range of issues. Includes a section on Latin America and the Caribbean.

Global Envision
A web initiative with educational resources, articles, stories, opinions, news and information on globalization, world business, poverty, global growth, and world trade. Retrieves much useful information through region or country searches.

The Globalist
News about Latin American economies, cultures and politics, and how they influence the global community from a global media and education company that solely covers globalization.

Human Globalization.org
Website which contains news on issues related to globalization around the world as well as facts, case studies (from Brazil and Mexico), views and reports (on the Dominican Republic, Peru, Jamaica and Argentina) from the authors, scholars in the field of economics.

Back to Top

 

Send comments or questions to

The University at Albany, State University of New York

Updated May 23, 2007