Deborah Bernnard
Dewey Library
University at Albany
This guide is an introduction to basic sources of information in Information and Library Science. Most of the University Libraries' books and periodicals on information and library science are located in the Dewey Graduate Library on the downtown campus. Books and periodicals on related subjects such as computer science and telecommunications are primarily located in the Science Library on the Main Campus. This guide is necessarily highly selective and only cites material located in the Dewey Library. The student in information science will be using a wide range of sources during the course of graduate study, including many resources held only at the University Library. Reference librarians are available to help you with your research. Please ask at the reference desk for assistance. You may also contact a reference librarian by phone at 442-3691 or by emailing dewref@albany.edu.
World Encyclopedia of Library and Information Services. 3rd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1993. 1 vol.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science. New York: Marcel Dekker, 1968-2003. Multi-volume set.
Encyclopedia of Library and Information Science, second edition. New York: Marcel Dekker, 2003. Multi-volume set.
International Encyclopedia of Information and Library Science, second edition. New York: Routledge, 2003. 1 vol.
American Library Association. Committe on Library Technology. ALA Glossary of Library and Information Science. Chicago: ALA, 1983.
Harrod's Librarians' Glossary and Reference Book. Hants, England: Gower, Ashgate Pub. 2000.
International Dictionary of Library Histories. David H. Stam, Ed. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers.
Watters, Carolyn. Dictionary of Information Science and Technology. Boston: Academic Press, 1992.
Reitz, Joan M. Dictionary for Library and Information Science. Westport,CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2004.
Diodato, Virgil, PhD. Dictionary of Bibliometrics. New York: The Haworth Press, 1994.
Soper, Mary Ellen, Larry N. Osborne, and Douglas L. Zweizig. The Librarian's Thesaurus. Chicago: American Library Association, 1990.
ARL Annual Salary Survey. Washington, DC: Association of Research Libraries, Annual.
ALA Survey of Librarian Salaries: 2003 ALA Survey Reports. Chicago: American Library Association.
ARL Statistics. Washington, DC: Association of Research Libraries, Annual.
Bowker Annual: Library and Book Trade Almanac. New Providence, NJ: Bowker, Annual.
Library and Information Science Education 2003 Statistical Report. Oak Ridge, TN: Association for Library and Information Science Education, Annual.
Public Library Data Service. Statistical Report. Annual.Chicago: Public Library Association
Please note:databases having the
icon can
only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library
borrower. You must have a SUNYcard issued by the University at Albany
AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or
student.
Library,Information Science and Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Information Science Abstracts (Print, 1966-2002)
Library Literature and Information Science (Print 1921+)
LISA Library
and Information Science Abstracts (Print, 1970+, online through
CSA, 1969+)
.
ERIC
(Online through EBSCO, 1966+)
.
PAIS
(Print 1968+, online through Webspirs, 1972+)
.
EBSCO Academic
Search Premier (Electronic, 1990+)
.
Encyclopedia of Associations. Detroit: Gale Research Co.
Gale Directory of Databases. David H. Stam, Ed. Detroit: Gale Research, Inc.
ALA Handbook of Organization and Membership Directory. Chicago: ALA, Annual.
American Library Directory: A Classified List of Libraries in the United States and Canada, with Personnel and Statistical Data. New York: R.R. Bowker, Annual.
World Guide to Libraries. 19th edition. Munchen, K.G. Saur.
World Guide To Special Libraries. 6th ed. Munchen: K.G. Saur.
Directory of Federal Libraries. 3rd ed. Phoenix: Oryx Press.
ASIST Handbook and Directory. Washington, DC: American Society for Information Science & Technology, Annual.
IFLA Directory. The Hague, Netherlands: International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions. Annual.
The Dewey Library also holds membership directories for specialized associations such as the Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA)(DEWEY REF Z 675 A85 A18XA), the Medical Library Association (DEWEY REF Z 673 M5) and the American Assocation of Law Libraries (DEWEY REF Z 675 L2 L384)