Back to Latin American and Caribbean Studies Main Subject Page

University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Latin American & Caribbean Studies Information Sources
A Selective Bibliography



Last Updated:  March 03, 2007

SCOPE

This bibliographic guide identifies information sources (print and electronic) available at the University at Albany’s Libraries in the field of Latin American and Caribbean Studies. The guide is designed to serve as a starting point from which students and faculty can begin their research. It is a selective listing of resources and not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography on Latin America and the Caribbean. All of the print sources are located at the University Library at the uptown campus. The electronic sources are available on workstations in all three libraries of the University. Most of the electronic sources are also accessible off campus via the Internet for registered University at Albany borrowers with valid University at Albany identification cards.
[Back to Top]

KEY TO ABBREVIATIONS

GOV DOC…………...Government Documents
PER…………………..Periodicals
REF…………………..Reference Area
ULIB…………………University Library
*……….……………..Over Sized Books
[Back to Top]

SUBJECT HEADINGS

Library of Congress (LC) subject headings are assigned to items housed in the University at Albany Libraries. Subject headings may be used when searching for books, articles, and other materials pertaining to Latin America and the Caribbean. They are especially helpful for searching online catalogs, but they can also be used to search abstracts and indexes as well as the Internet. Some examples of LC subject headings that may be useful when searching for materials are listed below. As you move ahead with your research topic, you will find other subject headings to use. Caribbean Area
Central America
Hispanic American Literature
Hispanic Americans
Latin America
Latin America-Antiquities
Latin America--Biography
Latin America--Civilization
Latin America--Commerce
Latin America--Economic Conditions
Latin America--Foreign Economic Relations
Latin America--Foreign Relations
Latin America--History
Latin America--Politics and Government
Latin America--Social Conditions
Latin American Literature
Latin Americans--United States
Latino--Americans
South America
Spanish American Literature
Spanish Literature To search for works about the Caribbean Area, Central America, South America, or a specific country, replace the above phrase “Latin America” with the name of the particular region or country for which you want to find information. See examples below. Caribbean Area--History
Central America--Foreign Economic Relations
Costa Rica--Social Conditions
Mexico--Antiquities
Peru-Politics and Government
South America-Social Conditions

For additional help in finding appropriate subject headings that will assist you in your search, please consult a reference librarian or see the Library of Congress Subject Headings (REF Z695 U4752X 2002). These are the 4 large, red books located in the reference areas of the University Library on the uptown campus and the Dewey Library on the downtown campus.
[Back to Top]



BROWSING AREAS

Sometimes it is difficult to find relevant information on your topic through the online catalog. Another method for finding information is to browse the shelves that contain materials on Latin American and the Caribbean. These materials are classified into several general areas based on the Library of Congress classification system. The following ranges of call numbers represents only some of the areas where many items are located. Please note that additional useful works are shelved in other areas of the University Library based on the main topic of the specific item.
DP1-DP402 History of Spain
DP501- DP900.22 History of Portugal
E 11- E135 History of Americas: General, Indians
E184 Latinos/Hispanics in US
F1201-F3799 History: Latin America, Spanish America
F1421-F1440 History: Central America
F1601-F1629 History: West Indies
F2155-F2191 History: Caribbean Area
F2201-F3799 History: South America
GN1-GN890 Anthropology
GR Folklore
HC Latin American Economics
JL Political Institutions and Public Administration: America Outside the US
KG-KH Law: Latin America, Central America, Caribbean, South America
LC2667-LC2698 Education: Latin Americans. Hispanic Americans.
LE Education: America (except United States)
N6502 Art History
PC4001-PC4977 Spanish Language
PC5001-PC5498 Literature: Portuguese
PN Literature (General)
PQ6001-PQ8929 Spanish Literature

For a more detailed listing of LC call numbers visit the Library of Congress Classification Outline online. (Available in Adobe Acrobat PDF and WordPerfect formats.)
[Back to Top]



CATALOGS


[Back to Top]



ATLASES & MAPS


[Back to Top]



BIBLIOGRAPHIES & GUIDES

Bibliographies and guides provide lists directing you to prominent authors, books, periodical articles, and other works on Latin American and Caribbean Studies. Many of the resources listed below contain informative annotations detailing the quality and usefulness of an individual source. The University Library has many bibliographies on all kinds of topics pertaining to the field. You can locate additional call numbers for bibliographies by adding “bibliography” or “bibliographies” in the Subject field of a Simple Keyword Search in the online catalog.

[Back to Top]



BIBLIOGRAPHIES OF BIBLIOGRAPHIES


[Back to Top]



ENCYCLOPEDIAS & SUBJECT DICTIONARIES

The encyclopedias and subject dictionaries listed below provide useful background information on Latin America and the Caribbean. Many of the resources also contain bibliographies and reading lists for further research. To locate additional encyclopedias and dictionaries, search the online catalog by country, region or topic and add “encyclopedias,” “encyclopedia,” “dictionaries,” or “dictionary” in the Subject field of a Simple Keyword Search.

[Back to Top]



BIOGRAPHICAL SOURCES

These sources contain biographies of famous individuals from Latin America and the Caribbean. In addition to providing biographies, many of the sources provide bibliographies of additional sources of information. Monographic biographies in the University Libraries collection may be found by searching AdvanceWeb .

[Back to Top]



INDEXES & ABSTRACTS

Use the following databases, indexes, and abstracts to find articles in journals, newspapers, and magazines. Some of the sources also contain citations to and abstracts of books, dissertations, and government documents. Most of the electronic resources are available for University at Albany faculty, staff, and students only. These sources can also be accessed through the Library Database Finder page .

[Back to Top]



COUNTRY STUDIES


[Back to Top]



STATISTICAL SOURCES


[Back to Top]



WOMEN


[Back to Top]



SELECTED PERIODICALS


[Back to Top]



LITERATURE


[Back to Top]


This site was initially compiled by Joanne Spadaro.
Designed and maintained by Jesús Alonso-Regalado.
Send comments or questions to