Back to Law

University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Finding Law Review Articles Using Full Text Online Databases

by Richard Irving
Bibliographer for Political Science, Public Administration and Policy, and Law

Updated: August 26, 2008
[Using Westlaw Campus] [Using LexisNexis Academic]

Using Westlaw Campus

Westlaw Campus is an abridged version of the Westlaw online database. Westlaw Campus provides full text access to state and federal court decisions, state and federal statutes, and some secondary source materials such as law review articles. University at Albany students and faculty can search Westlaw Campus through the University Libraries web site, under "Databases & Indexes".

Known Citation Searching

To find a law review article when the citation is known, follow these steps:
 

  1. Open Westlaw Campus on the University Libraries' web site, under "Databases & Indexes".
  2. Click the "Law" tab at the top left.
  3. Locate the "Find a Document" window under "Shortcuts" on the left hand sidebar.
  4. Enter the known citation into the first search box in the "Find a Document" section.
    *HINT: Use the full title of the journal rather than the title abbreviation.*
    For example, enter "50 Syracuse Law Review 1" instead of "50 SYRLR 1".
  5. Click on "GO" next to the search box. If searching by citation is unsuccessful, try a keyword search as described below.

Keyword Searching

If you do not know the exact citation or the proper form of the citation, you may want to search for the article by using keywords. If known, the author's name or the title of the article could act as keywords. If you do not have a reference to a specific article, keyword searching can also be used to find articles on a topic. Follow these steps:

  1. Open Westlaw Campus on the University Libraries' web site, under "Databases & Indexes".
  2. Click on the "Law" tab at the top left.
  3. Under "Search" click the "Basic Search" tab and enter terms describing your issue
    For example, enter: ADA and smoking and Kearney.
  4. Before clicking "Search" check the box to the left of "Journals and Law Reviews" under "Select Database(s)". A pull down menu allows searching of all journals and law reviews or restricting searching to a specific state's journals and law reviews.
  5. Click "Search"

  6. A search in the "Basic Search" mode will always retrieve 100 documents ranked in order of relevancy. To view the full text of any articles click on its link. Consult Help(FAQs) for assistance in constructing Westlaw Campus search strategies.
Retrieval Options

Print/Email/Downloading

The print/email/dowmload options appear at the upper right of the screen. Just click the option you would like and follow the instructions.


Using LexisNexis Academic

Lexis/Nexis Academic is an online database with access to a wide range of news, business, legal and reference information. University at Albany students and faculty can search LexisNexis Academic through the University Libraries web site, under "Databases & Indexes".

LexisNexis Academic features full text coverage of over 800 legal periodicals. A complete list is accessible by clicking the "Sources" tab at the upper left of any screen and then clicking the "Law Reviews & Journals" folder under "Publication Type".

Known Citation Searching

To find a law review article when the citation is known, follow these steps:
 

  1. Open LexisNexis Academic on the University Libraries' web site, under "Databases & Indexes".
  2. Click on "Legal" tab at the top left.
  3. In the "Article Citation" box type in the citation, for example, "50 Syracuse L. Rev. 1", and click "Search".
  4. Please note that in order for the search to be sccessful you will need to use the abbreviation for the title of the journal as found in the The Bluebook: a uniform system of citation DEW REF KF 246 U54x. If searching by citation is unsuccessful, try an author and/or title search as described below.

Author/Title Searching

If you do not know the exact citation or the proper form of the citation, you may want to search for the article by using the author's name and/or the title.  Follow these steps:
 

  1. Open LexisNexis Academic on the University Libraries web site, under "Databases & Indexes".
  2. Click on "Legal" tab at the upper left.
  3. Enter the author (full name or last name) in the "Author" box, and keywords from the title in the "Article Title" box.
  4. Click on "Search".

Keyword Searching

If you are looking for articles on an issue rather than a specific article, follow these steps:
 

  1. Open LexisNexis Academic on the University Libraries web site, under "Databases & Indexes".
  2. Click on "Legal" tab at the upper left.
  3. To the right of "Search Terms" select "Natural Language".
  4. Select an option from the "Sources" window. For most searches leave it at the default "U.S. Law Reviews and Journals, Combined".
  5. Select the appropriate range of dates to search from the "Specify Date" window. If you do not know the requisite date, select "All available dates" from the pull down menu.
  6. Type your search terms in the search box.
    For example, death penalty mentally retarded and click "Search".
  7. The search will retrieve all relevant documents in the database ranked in the order of relevancy.
  8. To view the full text of the article, click on the name of the law review in the search results screen.

Retrieval Options

LexisNexis Academic has options for printing, downloading and emailing the full text of the law review article after you have retrieved it.

Printing/Email/Downloading
 

  1. The icons for email, printing and downloading appear at the upper right.
  2. You can print, download, email an individual document or documents you have selected from a result list.


This page is maintained by Richard Irving
Comments to rirving@uamail.albany.edu

[Home] [Back]