University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Last updated December 12, 2003

Linguistics and Cognitive Science

Brief Guide to Research

General Specialized
Introduction
General Guides to the Literature
Bibliographies, Databases, Indexes & Abstracts
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Anthropological Linguistics
Mathematical/Computational Linguistics
Semiotics
Sociolinguistics
Translating & Interpreting

Introduction

This guide provides information for beginning research in Linguistics and Cognitive Science. It is not intended to be comprehensive but rather serves as an introduction. Although it is aimed at undergraduates, anyone interested in doing research in linguistics will find this guide a useful starting point.

Most of the print sources are shelved in the University Library, with an indication of the location of the resource if not in the general collection. Many of these titles are located in the Reference section on the first floor of the University Library; these call numbers have a locational prefix of “REF.” If there is no special location listed, the title is shelved in the general collection on either the second or third floor. A few of the titles listed below are housed in the Science Library, and they are so indicated. Assistance concerning the locations of specific items is available at the Reference desk.

General Guides to the Literature

Cowan, William. Source Book for Linguistics / William Cowan, Jaromira Rakusan. Philadelphia, PA : J. Benjamins Pub. Co., 1985. Source book of language data to be used as exemplification and practice in introductory courses in linguistics. Contains an extensive set of illustrations and exercises with data drawn from a wide selection of languages, both Indo-European and non-Indo-European.
P 121 C62 1985

DeMiller, Anna L. Linguistics : A Guide to the Reference Literature. 2nd. ed. Englewood, CO. : Libraries Unlimited, 2000. An annotated list of selected bibliographies and other reference sources in three main sections with subdivisions: general linguistics, allied areas, and languages. Intended for a variety of users.
P 121 Z999 D45 2000

Trask, R. L. (Robert Lawrence). Key Concepts in Language and Linguistics. London ; New York : Routledge, 1999. In dictionary format, provides detailed coverage of nearly 300 key concepts in the study of language, taken from every area of language study. Each entry gives historical origins of the concept and the names of individuals who have made the concept prominent. Includes bibliography.
P 29 T687 1999

Back to top

Bibliographies, Databases, Indexes & Abstracts

Linguistic Bibliography for the Year … and Supplement for the Years … / Permanent International Committee of Linguists, 1939-1947-- . The Hague ; Boston, MA : Martinus Nijhoff, 1948- A major international bibliography of articles, monographs, dissertations and reviews covering more than 1700 journals and 820 conference proceedings, festschriften, etc. Published annually.
REF / P 121 L512X

Linguistics Abstracts. Oxford, England : Basil Blackwell, 1985- . Includes descriptive abstracts on general linguistic theory. Excludes applied linguistics and descriptive or historical works on specific languages and language families.
REF / P 1 L57X

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts : LLBA. La Jolla, CA : Sociological Abstracts, 1985- . A major abstract journal in linguistics and related areas. Descriptive abstracts are arranged alphabetically within major subject areas. Covers some 1500 sources. Foreign language materials are represented with English translations of titles as well as citations in the original language. Also available electronically, 1973-current as Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only
REF / P 105 Z999 L58

MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures.
New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1921- . A major international bibliography of articles and monographs covering the world’s languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore. Published annually. Also available electronically, 1963-current as MLA Bibliography. Accessible to University at Albany users only
REF / PB 1 Z999 M53

The Year’s Work in Modern Language Studies. London: Modern Humanities Research Association, 1930- . A selective annual survey of work in some of the major European languages and literatures (other than English). Signed articles by specialists are descriptive and evaluative.
REF / PB 1 Y45

[Back to top]

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Bussmann, Hadumod. Routledge Dictionary of Language and Linguistics. Translated and edited by Gregory Trauth and Kerstin Kazzazi. London ; New York : Routledge, 1996. Provides a thorough overview of linguistics, encompassing descriptive and historical, comparative and typological linguistics as well as the applied subdisciplines. Meant for both students and professional scholars in linguistics and allied fields.
REF / P 29 B875 1996

Crystal, David. The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language. 2nd ed. New York : Cambridge University Press, 1997. A thematic approach to the study of language with many illustrations, diagrams, maps, etc.
REF / P 29 C64 1997

Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Language. 2nd ed. Chicago, IL : University of Chicago Press, 2001. A convenient ready-reference defining questions on language and languages, with explanatory matter given in basic linguistic terminology. Revised edition of An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Language and Languages.
REF / P 29 C68 2001

Crystal, David. A Dictionary of Linguistics & Phonetics. 5th ed. Malden, MA : Blackwell, 2003. A standard reference work for students of linguistics and phonetics and for researchers in related fields.
REF / P 29 C65 2003

Dalby, Andrew. Dictionary of Languages : The Definitive Reference to More Than 400 Languages.
New York : Columbia University Press, 1998. Provides descriptions of those languages spoken by more than a million people, along with sample texts, demographic information and maps.
REF / P 371 D35 1998

The Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics / R. E. Asher, editor-in-chief. Oxford; New York : Pergamon Press, 1994. 10 vols. Articles cover a broad range of topics in linguistics and related topics. Includes a list of languages of the world (along with number of speakers, affiliation and geographic location) and the International Phonetic Alphabet.
REF / P 29 E 48 1994

International Encyclopedia of Linguistics / William J. Frawley, editor-in-chief. 2nd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2003. 4 vols. Signed articles by recognized specialists cover languages and all branches of linguistics, primarily for students and scholars of linguistics and related fields.
REF / P 29 I58 2003

Trask, R. L. (Robert Lawrence). The Dictionary of Historical and Comparative Linguistics. Chicago, IL : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000. Covers the terminology of classical historical linguistics, comparison and reconstruction, dialectology, and processes of word-formation as well as philological terms.
REF / P 143 T727X 2000

Back to top

Specialized

Anthropological Linguistics

Anthropological Literature. Cambridge, MA : Tozzer Library, 1979- Index to articles from journals and other sources which have been received by the Tozzer Library at Harvard University. It treats anthropological linguistics along with other subdisciplines. It has been published in various formats since its inception and can be found in several locations depending on the years wanted. The print volumes are shelved in: STORAGE CCBW2002 GN 25 Z999 A57X. Volumes 6-10 (1984-1988) were published only in microfiche and are shelved in: REF / FICHE GN 25 Z999 A57X. This reference source with citations available from the late nineteenth century to the present is available electronically as Anthropological Literature. Accessible to University at Albany users only

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology / edited by David Levinson and Melvin Ember. New York : Henry Holt, 1996. 4 vols. Alphabetic arrangement of articles relating to anthropology, including some relating to linguistics. Includes extensive bibliographies.
REF / GN 307 E52 1996

Encyclopedia of World Cultures / David Levinson, editor-in-chief. Boston, MA : G. K. Hall, 1991-1996. 10 vols. + supplement. Prepared under the auspices of the Human Relations Area Files at Yale University Each volume is devoted to a particular geographic region of the world and offers an alphabetic arrangement of cultures. Most of the articles include information about the language of that culture.
REF / GN 307 E53 1991

Back to top

Applied Linguistics

Annual Review of Applied Linguistics = ARAL. Rowley, MA : Newbury House, 1981+ Since 1991, each annual issue has articles focusing on a special theme, e.g. language and psychology, second language teaching, multilingualism, technology and language, language policy and planning, literacy.
P 129 A54X

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Applied Linguistics : A Handbook for Language Teaching / edited by Keith Johnson and Helen Johnson. Oxford, England ; Malden, MA : Blackwell, 1998. Intended for those with an interest in the field of applied linguistics as it relates to second and foreign language education. Most entries include a bibliography.
REF / P 129 E 53 1998

Oxford handbook of applied linguistics / edited by Robert B. Kaplan. New York : Oxford University Press, 2002. Includes chapters on the emerging discipline of applied linguistics, language skills, discourse analysis, second language learning, second language teaching, variation in language use, bilingualism, multilingualism, language policy and planning, translation and interpretation, language assessment, and technological applications in applied linguistics.
P 129 O95 2002

Back to top

Mathematical/Computational Linguistics

ACM Guide to Computing Literature. New York : Association for Computing Machinery, 1977- . A comprehensive reference to the world’s English-language computing literature, including coverage of mathematical and computational linguistics. Available electronically as ACM Guide to Computing Literature. Accessible to University at Albany users only
SCIENCE REF / Index QA 76 B486

INSPEC. Accessible to University at Albany users only [S.l. : s.n.] 1968- . The database provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of physics, electronics, computers and information technology. Includes coverage of computational linguistics.

The Oxford Handbook of Computational Linguistics / edited by Ruslan Mitkov. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2003. Contains signed articles on the fundamentals, processes, methods, resources and applications. Includes bibliographies, a glossary and indexes.
P 98 O95 2003

Back to top

Psycholinguistics

Handbook of Psycholinguistics / edited by Morton Ann Gernsbacher. San Diego, CA : Academic Press, 1994. Contains essays by leading experts introducing readers to the research and theory of many of the subareas of psycholinguistics. Includes extensive bibliographies.
P 37 H335 1994

Psychological Abstracts. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 1927- Covers the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including linguistics. Library has V. 1-87, 1928-2000, in the Periodicals Room at the beginning of the compact shelving ranges. Ask at the Periodicals Room Information Desk for assistance. Available electronically from 1887 to the present as PsycINFO. Accessible to University at Albany users only
BF 1 P65

Back to top

Semiotics

Danesi, Marcel. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics, Media, and Communications. Toronto ;
Buffalo, NY : University of Toronto Press, 2000. Alphabetic arrangement of terms and personal names with brief definitions. Includes bibliography and index.
P 87.5 D37X 2000

Encyclopedia of Semiotics / Paul Bouissac, editor in chief. New York : Oxford University Press, 1998. Contains signed articles covering the field of semiotics defining technical terms and explaining schools of thought, authors and scholars. Complements the Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics. Includes bibliographies.
REF / P 99 E64 1998

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Semiotics / general editor, Thomas A. Sebeok ; editorial board, Paul Bouissac … [et al.]. Berlin ; New York : Mouton de Gruyter, 1986. 3 vols. Volumes 1-2 contain signed articles on a wide range subjects and persons related to the field of semiotics. Volume 3 is an extensive bibliography.
REF/ P 99 E65 1986

Nöth, Winfried. Handbook of Semiotics. Bloomington, IN : Indiana University Press, 1990. Provides an overview of the field of semiotics, both theoretical and applied. The essays are subdivided with headings to assist the user in finding a particular facet of the topic. Includes an extensive bibliography.
P 121 Z999 D45 2000

Back to top

Sociolinguistics

The Handbook of Sociolinguistics / edited by Florian Coulmas. Oxford, England ; Cambridge, MA : Blackwell Publishers, 1997. Contains essays by leading researchers in the field and offers an introduction to and an overview of the state of the art in key areas of sociolinguistics. Includes an extensive bibliography.
P 40 H3426 1997

Horvath, Barbara M. Community Languages : A Handbook / Barbara M. Horvath and Paul Vaughan. Clevedon, England ; Philadelphia, PA : Multilingual Matters, 1991. Provides information on 68 languages to assist those dealing with foreign language communities in English-speaking countries.
P 40 H69 1991

The New Handbook of Language and Social Psychology / edited by W. Peter Robinson and Howard Giles. Chichester, England ; New York : John Wiley, 2001. Contains signed articles on a range of topics linking language and social psychology. Includes bibliographies.
P 106 N447 2001

Sociological Abstracts. San Diego, CA : Sociological Abstracts, 1952/53- . Covers the international literature in sociology and related behavioral and social sciences, including linguistics. Library has V. 1-47, no. 7, 1952/53-1999, in the Periodicals Room at the beginning of the compact shelving ranges. Ask at the Periodicals Room Information Desk for assistance. Available electronically from 1963 to the present as Sociological Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only
HM 1 S67

Back to top

Translating & Interpreting

Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies / edited by Monda Baker, assisted by Kirsten Malmkjaer. London ; New York : Routledge, 1998. Signed articles on issues and topics relating to translation studies, including the history and traditions of translation studies in a variety of countries and cultures throughout the world.
REF / P 306 R68 1998

Samuelsson-Brown, Geoffrey. A Practical Guide for Translators. 3rd ed. Clevedon, England ;
Philadelphia, PA : Multilingual Matters, 1998. Includes chapters on how to become a translator, bilingualism, tools of the trade, reference sources, quality control, running a translation business, professional organizations, glossary of terms, and software packages.
P 306 S25 1998

Sofer, Morry. Guide for Translators. Rockville, MD : Schreiber Pub., 1995. Includes chapters on developing skills needed by good translators, translation techniques, equipment, reference literature, training courses and programs, oral interpretation, machine translation, dictionaries, and accreditation.
P 306 S59 1995

The Translator’s Handbook, edited by Rachel Owens. 3rd ed. London : Aslib, 1996. Edited collection treating theoretical and practical aspects of translation. Includes chapters on evaluation of translations, training of translators, tools used, machine translation, new technology, organizations for translators.
P 306 T746 1996

Back to top

This page is maintained by Jesus Alonso Regalado
Comments may be sent to jalonso@uamail.albany.edu