Updated: September 21, 2007
[Databases]
[Periodicals]
[Reference Books]
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for researching marketing and advertising information using both print and electronic resources available through the University at Albany Libraries. Call numbers for print materials listed here are for materials located in the University Library. Call numbers beginning with the prefix "REF" are in the Reference area on the first floor.
Please note: databases having the
icon can only be accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower. You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany
AND currently be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student. For more information on accessing these resources remotely, see Off-Campus Access to Databases and Online Journals.
Many more resources are available than are covered here. More business-related Internet web sites are linked from the Business Internet Resources page, and the Business Key Resources page links additional business subscription databases available for University at Albany library borrowers. If you would like more assistance, please contact a reference librarian (442-3558).
The following electronic databases contain journal articles, market research reports, industry surveys and other types of information related to marketing and advertising. To find additional business-related databases, use the Database Finder.
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier contains full text from management and marketing journals and trade publications including
Harvard Business Review, Journal of Marketing Management, Journal of Marketing
Research (JMR), Journal of Marketing, Journal of International Marketing,
Brandweek, etc. Additional full text, non-journal content includes
market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles
and SWOT analyses. ![]()
Business Insights
Contains the full-text of hundreds of market research reports covering consumer goods, finance, energy,
healthcare, technology and more.
![]()
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides detailed industry surveys, as well as company profiles and financials. ![]()
Business and Company Resource Center with Investext Plus
Integrated resource providing company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports,
company histories, chronologies and periodicals. ![]()
Polling the Nations
A collection of polling data with 200,000+ questions and responses compiled from 12,000+ surveys conducted in the U.S. and 70 other countries. ![]()
American Fact Finder
The United States Census site for population, housing, economic, and geographic data.
Mediamark Reporter
Provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand usages, and advertising media preferences
reported by a sample of over 25,000 United States consumers. For more
information on how to use Mediamark Reporter, see handout located in the
Reference area.
Simmons Study of Media and Markets, Choices 3
Choices 3 is an electronic resource of consumer demographics by product type and product name.
It surveys 20,000 households and is typically used in marketing research. Use
it to create customized reports that can be cross tabulated for a wide array
of demographic and psychographic characteristics of users of products and
their media behavior. The most current data on CD-ROM is available for Fall,
2002. The User Manual for this database is also available. [Ready Ref Manual HF
5415.1 S54X]
These periodicals may be found on the lower level of the University Library
Advertising Age.
Chicago, IL: Crain Communications [Per HF 5801
A276]. Current issues only, earlier issues on microfilm.
Electronic full-text 1992-present in the Business Source Premier and Ebsco Academic Search Premier
Databases. Includes various statistics on advertising related topics.
The
June and November issues rank top advertising expenditures.
Media Market Guide.
New York, N.Y.: Conceptual Dynamics;
Bethlehem, N.H. [Per HF 5826.5 M43]. Holdings: 1996, 2nd quarter+
This
periodical contains quarterly projections for spot television, cable, spot
radio, newspapers, magazines, and outdoor cost data.
Newspaper Advertising Source.
Added title: SRDS newspaper
advertising source
Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate & Data Service [Per HF
6111 N487X]. Holdings: Current year plus one.
This
periodical includes pricing information for advertising in national
newspapers, weekly newspapers, international newspapers, newspaper groups,
ethnic newspapers, college newspapers, specialized newspapers, national
classifieds, comics and newspaper-distributed magazines.
Books with the "REF" prefix are shelved in the Reference Area on the Main Floor of the University Library. Prior editions, if available, may be found on the Third Floor. Note: Searching "New Strategist" as an Author search in the Minerva Online Catalog will locate more consumer studies on various topics. Not all are shelved in the Reference Area.
Advertising Ratios & Budgets.
Lincolnshire, IL: Schonfeld
& Associates, Inc. [REF HF 5813 U6 A68X].
This reference covers
over 5,000 companies and 300 industries with prior year advertising budgets, ad-to-sales
ratios and ad-to-gross margin ratios, as well as budget forecasts and growth rates.
Advertising Growth Trends.
Lincolnshire, IL: Schonfeld
& Associates, Inc. [REF HF 5813 U6 A65X].
Provides information on public
companies that spend significantly on advertising.
Advertising Red Books
New Providence, NJ: LexisNexis [REF HF 5805 S7].
Covers companies that spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each entry contains information on company contacts,
products, advertising expenditures, key personnel, and advertising agency.
American Incomes: Demographics of Who Has Money.
Ithaca, NY: New Strategist Publications. [REF HC 110 I5 R87 2005].
This book explores household income trends by a variety of demographic characteristics.
Best Customers :Demographics of Consumer Demand .
Ithaca, NY: New Strategist Publications. [HC 79 C6 R87 2005].
This book examines spending patterns by the demographic characteristics of households to reveal
who the best and biggest consumers are for specific products and services.
Editor & Publisher Market Guide.
New York, N.Y.: Editor & Publisher Co.[REF HF 5905 E38].
The directory uses Census data to project population estimates, age group/ethnicity breakdowns,
income statistics, cost of living, high school/college graduation rates and retail sales in nine major retail
classifications.
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns.
Detroit : Gale
Group [REF HF 5837 E53 2000].
Covers the major marketing and
advertising campaigns of the 20th century from an historical perspective.
Entries look at the campaign's historical context, target market, expected
outcomes, competition, marketing strategy and development hurdles and the
outcome of the campaign and evaluates what worked, what didn't and why.
The Lifestyle Market Analyst.
Wilmette, IL: Standard Rate &
Data Service [REF HF 5415.33 U6 L54].
Contains designated market area, consumer lifestyle and demographic profiles.
Sourcebook of Zip Code Demographics.
Fairfax, VA: CACI [REF HA 203 S66].
Provides data on population, households, income, age, and spending potential for various
products by zip codes.
This page is maintained by Mary K. Van Ullen.
Comments to