University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Nanoscience and Nanoengineering

A Brief Guide to Reference Resources

[Guides to the Literature] [Databases & Indexes] [Dictionaries & Encyclopedias]
[Handbooks & Compendiums] [Current Awareness Services]



updated:  July 10, 2009
This page is maintained by

Guides to the Literature

Guide to Information Sources in the Physical Sciences. [SCIENCE REF QC 5.35 Z999 S74 2000]
This resource serves as a guide to the major information sources in physics. It contains chapters on bibliographic sources, abstracting and indexing databases, journals, books, online sources, non-bibliographic databases, and grants. There is also a chapter on future developments and trends.

How to Find Chemical Information. [SCIENCE REF QD 8.5 M34 1998]
This is a thorough treatment on the use of chemical information sources. It includes chapters on Chemical Abstracts, Beilstein, and Gmelin.

Information Sources in Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 158.5 Z999 H87 1998]
Although there are no chapters on nanoscience and nanoengineering, there are chapters covering allied science and technical disciplines including chemistry, physics, chemical engineering, electrical engineering, materials science, and mechanical engineering.


Databases & Indexes

INSPEC. Accessible to University at Albany users only
The INSPEC database provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of physics, electronics, and computing from 1968 forward for journal articles, reports, books, dissertations, patents, and conference papers.

SciFinder Scholar. Accessible to University at Albany users only
This is the online version of Chemical Abstracts, and includes the CAplus database, the CAS Registry file, and Medline. Containg information back to 1907, it includes citations and abstracts from journals, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations, as well as chemical substance and reaction information. Users may search it by search by author, subject, chemical name, registry number, or chemical structure. It requires special client software and an Internet connection. SciFinder Scholar is available on workstations near the Science Library reference desk. The client software is also available to University at Albany faculty, students, and staff. For instructions on downloading the SciFinder Scholar client software, please contact Michael Knee. For help with SciFinder Scholar, see CAS's SciFinder Scholar Resources or the guides from Leeds University.

Scopus. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Produced by Elsevier, Scopus indexes the contents of over 16,500 journals from 4,000 international publishers. It also covers conference proceedings, book series, scientific Web pages, and patents. In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct a cited author search to determine who has cited an author's article.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Materials: Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF TA 402 E53 2001]
This encyclopedia consists of 11 volumes and about 1,800 articles. It is comprehensive, and includes numerous tables, figures, illustrations, cross-references, bibliographic citations, and an extensive subject index.

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology. [SCIENCE REF T 174.7 E53 2004]
This 10-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage on all aspects of the field. It contains over 400 review articles. There are extensive cross-references and bibliographic citations; numerous figures and tables; and a detailed subject index.

Handbook of Nanostructured Materials and Nanotechnology. [SCIENCE OVER (*) TA 418.9 N35 N32 2000]
Written by experts in their respective fields, this five-volume set provides comprehensive coverage of the fundamentals of all aspects of nanostructed materials and nanotechnology.

Handbook of Surfaces and Interfaces of Materials. [SCIENCE OVER (*) QC 173.4 S94 H363X 2001]
All aspects of the chemistry, physics, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces of materials are covered in this five-volume set. Experimental and theoretical concepts, physical properties, and spectroscopic techniques of a wide range of materials are treated. The five volumes cover: surface and interface phenomena; surface characterization and properties; nanostructures, micelles, and colloids; thin films and layers; and biointerfaces and applications. A great deal of experimental data is presented.

Handbook of Thin Film Devices. [SCIENCE REF TK 7872 T55 H363 2000]
This five-volume encyclopedic work covers semiconductor, optical, superconductor, magnetic, and ferroelectric devices and technologies. The articles, written and edited by authoritative experts and innovators, provide critical overviews, research level analysis, and technical details.

Handbook of Thin Film Materials. [SCIENCE TA 418.9 T45 H35 2002]
The focus of this five-volume work is processing techniques, characterization methods, and physical properties of thin films. The editors have compiled five thematic volumes covering most thin films including ferroelectric and dielectric thin films, semiconductor and superconducting thin films, and magnetic thin films.

Oxford Reference Online: Physical Sciences & Mathematics. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Oxford Reference Online provides access to chemistry and physics resources in its Physical Science & Mathematics section, including A Dictionary of Chemistry and A Dictionary of Physics.


Handbooks & Compendiums

AIP Physics Desk Reference. [SCIENCE REF QC 61 P49 2003]
Divided into the disciplines of physics, each chapter contains fundamental constants, conversion factors, basic mathematical and physical formulas for that discipline.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [SCIENCE REF QD 65 H3]
The classic ready-reference book of physical and chemical data. It is issued annually with revised information and new material. Previous editions are available in the Science Library circulating collection.

Handbook of Microlithography, Micromachining, and Microfabrication. [SCIENCE TK 7836 H3423 1997]
Volume 1 of this two-volume set covers microlithography, including process development and production. Micromachining and microfabrication are detailed in Volume 2 which covers numerous device applications. The set contains many recipes, tables, and charts.

Handbook of Optical Engineering. [SCIENCE TA 1520 H368 2001]
This concise and practical handbook highlights the principles, processes, methods, and procedures of optical engineering. There are hundreds of tables, flow charts, graphs, schematics, drawings, photographs, and formulas, as well as worked-out examples that demonstrate applications and clarify calculation methods.

Smithsonian Physical Tables. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Covering a wide range of common physical and chemical data, it includes general physical constants and units of measurement as well as tables on photometry, mechanical properties, building materials, density, acoustics, diffusion, geomagnetism, radiation, abundance of substances, colloids, electron emission, fission, and gravitation. The 901 tables are fully searchable and the index is hyperlinked to the data.


Current Awareness Services

Alerting Services.
Alerting Services is made available from the Science & Engineering Library at the University of California, San Diego. It lists publishers, independent journals, and databases that provide email alerting services. This includes both those that support complete tables-of-contents listings as well as those that will maintain subject search profiles.

IngentaConnect. Accessible to University at Albany users only
An automated current awareness service that delivers the table of contents of journals or article citations by electronic mail. Search strategies can be created by journal, keyword, or author. Instructions on how to set up a profile are available at <http://library.albany.edu/databases/about/ingentahelp.html>.


For additional Web-based Nanoscience and Nanoengineering resources
see the Nanoscience and Nanoengineering subject guide.