Nonprofits - Selected Information Sources
by
Richard Irving
Updated: 29 March 2007
Almanacs
Directories
Funding
Administration
Law & Tax
Finding A Book
Indexes and Abstracts
Almanacs
New Nonprofit Almanac & Desk Reference. Biennial. San Francisco
: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 2002-.
The Almanac produced jointly by Independent Sector and the
National
Center for Charitable Statistics at the Urban Institute, provides key data,
high-quality information, and insightful trend analysis about the nonprofit
sector as a whole.
Dewey: REF HV 90 H63x
State Nonprofit Almanac. Biennial. Washington, D.C.: Urban Institute
Press, 1997-.
This book lists 501(c)(3) public charities and their support, expenses, and
assets, as reported to the Internal Revenue Service on annual information returns
(Form 990). The charities are also categorized by their activities, using the
National Taxonomy of Exempt Entities. This publication is a product of the National
Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS), located in the
Center
on Nonprofits and Philanthropy at the Urban Institute, in collaboration
with
Independent Sector.
Dewey: REF HV 89 S83x
Directories
National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations. Annual. Rockville,
Md.: The Taft Group, 1990-.
Provides organization name, address, IRS filing status, employer identification
number, charitable deduction eligibility, annual income, and type of activity,
for over 260,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States.
Dewey: REF AS 29.5 N38
Ulib: REF AS 29.5 N38
Encyclopedia of Associations Annual. Detroit, MI: Gale Research
Co.,1961-.
Provides information on more than 22,000 nonprofit American membership organizations
of national scope.
Dewey: REF HS 17 G334
Ulib: ReadyRef HS 17 G334
Online: Associations
Unlimited http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Associations
Unlimited in the search box
(University at Albany affiliation required
for remote access)
Encyclopedia of Associations. Regional, State, and Local Organizations.
Northeastern States Biennial. Detroit, MI : Gale Research Co., c1987-.
Provides information on nonprofit organizations "that are organized and function
at the regional, state, county, city, neighborhodd, and local levels." This
particular volume is limited to the northestern United States.
Dewey: REF HS 17 G335x
Ulib: ReadyRef HS 17 G335x, Ulib has the vols. for all regions
Online: Associations
Unlimited http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Associations
Unlimited in the search box
(University at Albany affiliation required
for remote access)
Greater Capital Region Human Services Directory. Annual.
Council of Community Services of New York State, Inc., 1992-.
Includes contact information and brief descriptions for nonprofit human service
providers in the 11 county Greater Capital Region. Arrangement is alphabetical
but there is a subject index.
Dewey: REF HV 99 A3 F48x
Ulib: REF HV 99 A3 F48x
Internet: Greater Capital
Region Human Services Directory http://www.ccsnys.org/hsd//hsdsearch.asp
Guidestar - The National
Database of Nonprofit Organizations (http://www.guidestar.org/index.jsp)
Produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc., this site includes a searchable database
of more than 850,000 nonprofit organizations.
Funding
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance.
http://www.cfda.gov/ , Washington, DC: GSA.
The Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance Programs (CFDA) is a government-wide
compendium of all 1,499 Federal programs, projects, services, and activities
that provide assistance or benefits to the American public. These programs
provide grants, loans, loan guarantees, services, information, scholarships,
training, insurance, etc., to millions of Americans every day.
Ulib: GOVDOC Ref J 85 PREX 2.20 :
Community of Science. http://www.cos.org
, Community of Science, Inc.
Provides information on more than 400,000 research funding opportunities worldwide
through its
COS Funding Opportunities.
Its
COS Expertise database provides
references to researchers.
Funding Sources for Community and Economic Development:
a guide to current sources for local programs and projects.Westport, CT:
Oryx press, 2005.
Contains descriptions of more than 3,000 funding programs directed to the improvement of communities.
Has, subject, sponsoring organizations, and grants by program type indexes. Also, has "A Guide to
Proposal Planning and Writing".
Dewey: Ref HN 90 C6 F85 2005/2006
Government Assistance Almanac. Annual. Detroit, MI: Omnigraphics,
1985-.
A commecial version of the
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. In
addition to program information contains information on obtaininng federal assistance,
an agency index, and master (subject) index.
Dewey: Ref HC 110 P63 G69
The Foundation Directory. Irregular. New York: Foundation Center,
1960-.
Reference source for information about private and community grantmaking foundations
in the United States. Descriptive information for each foundation includes contact
information, donors, foundation type, summary financial data, purpose and activities,
fields, of interest, types of support, limitations, applications information.
The directory includes donor, geographic, subject, and foundation name indexes.
The Foundation Center web site, http://fdncenter.org
, offers free information on grantmaking, research information on philanthropy,
a "Fund Finder" search engine, and a
Catalog of Nonprofit Literature.
Some features, such as the online version
of the Foundation Directory require a subscription.
Dewey: REF AS 911 A2 F65
Ulib: ReadyRef AS 911 A2 F65
The Foundation Grants Index. Annual. New York: Foundation Center;
distributed by Columbia University Press, 1970/71-.
Provides information on actual grants awarded by foundations. The main arrangement
is by 28 major subject fields, but there are several other indexes including,
recipient name index, foundation name, type of support/geographic area.
Dewey: REF AS 911 A2 F66
Ulib: REF AS 911 A2 F66
Guidestar - The National Database
of Nonprofit Organizations http://www.guidestar.org/index.jsp
Produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc., this site includes a searchable database
of more than 850,000 nonprofit organizations. The
Advanced
Search option facilitates locating nonprofits dealing with specific
issues within a geogaphic area.
The "How To" Grants Manual: successful grantseeking techniques for obtaining
public and private grants. 5th ed. David G. Bauer. Phoenix, AZ:
The American Council on Education and Oryx Press, 2003.
Step-by-step information regarding the preparation of grant proposals.
Dewey: REF HG 177 B38 2003
The International Foundation Directory, 2004. 13th ed. London, UK:
Europa Publications Limited, 2004
Descriptions of significant foundations arranged alphabetically by home country. Has
foundation name, main activities, and areas of activity indexes. Also, a short article
on researching and applying to foundations.
Dewey & UKIB REF HV 7 I57
The Nonprofit Handbook, vol.2 - Fund Raising. 3rd ed. James
M. Greenfield. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2001.
Topics covered include, managing fund development, ethics and governance, environmental
and institutional readiness, annual giving programs, major giving programs,
select audiences and environments, support ingredients.
Dewey: REF HD 62.6 N662x 2001
Nonprofit Sector Research Fund
http://www.nonprofitresearch.org/
Associated with the Aspen Institute, the Nonprofit Sector Research Fund provides funding
for research on nonprofit organizations and their practices. Includes references to relevant
publications some of which are available full text.
Operating Grants for Nonprofit Organizations. Annual. Westport, CT:
Oryx Press, 2000-.
Information on more than 1,000 organizations that provide funding to nonprofits.
Main arrangement is alphabetical by the state of the funding organizations.
Includes geographic and subject indexes. Each entry includes the organization's
name, contact information, and principal areas of interest, and for some entries
samples of funding projects.
Dewey: REF HD 2769.2 O64 2002
Proposal Planning & Writing. 2nd ed. Lynn E. Miner, Jeremy
T. Miner & Jerry Griffith. Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1998.
General information on finding public and private funding, writing a proposal,
and a detailed guide to writing government proposals.
Dewey: REF HG 177.5 U6 M56 1998
The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing. rev. ed. Jane
C. Geever & Patricia McNeill. The Foundation Center, 1997.
Another step-by-step guide to preparing a grant proposal and finding potential
funders.
Dewey: REF HG 177.5 U6 G44 1997
Administration
Association of Small Foundations,
(http://smallfoundations.org/) .
ASF is intended to provide assistance to nonprofits with few or no staff. Its
web site provides information on grantmaking including samples of relevant forms.
The Nonprofit Handbook, vol. 1 - Management. 3rd ed. Tracy
Daniel Connors. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2001.
Covers a broad range of issues under the topics of effectiveness, efficiency,
and evolutionary environment.
Dewey: REF HD 62.6 N662x 2001
Budgeting for Not-For-Profit Organizations. David Maddox.
New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1999.
Ulib: HG 4027.65 M33 1999
The Complete Guide to Nonprofit Managemnt. 2nd ed. Robert H. Wilbur.
New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc. 2000.
Ulib: HD 62.6 C66 2000
Enterprising Nonprofits: a toolkit for social entrepreneurs.
J. Gregory Dees, Peter Economy & Jed Emerson. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.,
2001.
Dewey: HD 62.6 D44 2001
Law & Tax
Charitable
Institutions (Office of the New York State Attorney General) (http://www.oag.state.ny.us/charities/charities.html)
The Attorney General's Charities Bureau is responsible for supervising charitable
organizations in New York State. Its web site includes important information
regarding legal aspects of nonprofit management. Also, the full text of the
annual report, Pennies for Charities, which documents the amount of money collected
by fund raisers actually going to charities.
Internal
Revenue Service - Charities & Non-Profits (http://www.irs.gov/charities/index.html)
Provides federal tax information for nonprofits.
Financial and Accounting Guide for Not-For-Profit Organizations.
6th ed. Malvern J. Gross. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2000.
Ulib: HF 5686 N56 G76 2000
Nonprofit Law Made Easy. Bruce R. Hopkins. Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley & Sons, Inc.,
2005.
Dewey: KF 1388 Z9
The First Legal Answer Book for Fund-Raisers. Bruce R. Hopkins. New
York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2000.
Dewey: KF 1389.5 Z9 H66 2000
The Law of Tax-Exempt Healthcare Organizations. 2nd ed. Thomas K.
Hyatt. New York: John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 2001.
Dewey: KF 6495 H4 H93 2001
New York Nonprofit Law and Practice: with tax analysis. Victoria
B. Bjorklund, James J. Fishman, & Daniel L. Kurtz. Charlottesville, Va. : Michie,
1997.
Dewey: KFN 5342 B58 1997
Finding A Book
Minerva (ONLINE PUBLIC ACCESS CATALOG)
Books owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through the
Minerva
online catalog. Minerva can be searched by author, title, subject, keywords,
etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the Library of Congress subject
headings or by keywords. Minerva includes books for all three libraries:
Dewey Library, the University Library and the Science Library. The location
"DEWEY" is for Dewey Library, the location "ULIB" for University Library and
the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Minerva also indicates if
a book is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If a book you need
is on loan, you may request that it be returned for you (select Request Forms
on the University Libraries homepage). Please ask for help or instructions at
the reference desk (442-3691).
OTHER SOURCES
Information on the holdings of other capital district libraries is available
through
CaDiLac, the Capital District
Library Council Union Catalog. The
WorldCat
database offers author, title and subject access to books owned by libraries
throughout the United States and world. Library catalogs from around the world
are also available on the University at Albany Library web site. NOTE: Books
or articles not owned by the University Libraries can be requested through interlibrary
loan.
Indexes and Abstracts
Business Source Complete. EBSCO Internatiional
Provides full text access to over 1,000 journals dealing with management, business, and public administration.
ONLINE: Business Source Complete
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Business Source Premier
in the search box (University at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
EconLit. American Economic Association.
"EconLit is a comprehensive, indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of
the world's economic literature, produced by the American Economic Association.
It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective
volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.)." Excellent coverage of financial and managment
issues relating to nonprofits.
Online: EconLit
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
EconLit in the
search box (University at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
Human Resources Abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage publications.
Aims to list the most important current periodical literature on human, social
and human resource problems. Arranged by 14 subject categories including labor
resource development, employment/unemployment, equal opportunity, career development,
social services, etc. Subject and author indexes. Quarterly with annual cumulated
author indexes.
Dewey: REF HV 1 P68X, V.10+; 1975+ (V. 1-9, 1966-1974 with title: Poverty
and Human Resources Abstracts)
Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin (PAIS). New York:
Public Affairs Information Service.
Indexes resources in public affairs and policy for use by the government, the
business/financial community, researchers and students. Emphasis is on factual
and statistical information. 1400 periodicals as well as books, reports, and
federal and state documents are arranged by subject and indexed by author.
Dewey: REF INDEX H 1 Z999 P83, V. 1; 1915+
Ulib: H 1 Z999 P83, V. 1+; 1915+
ONLINE: PAIS
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
PAIS in the search
box (University at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
Social Science Index. New York : H.W. Wilson Co.
International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography,
economics, political science, and law.
Dewey: REF AI 3 S63X; 1971-.
Ulib: REF AI 3 S63X; 1971-.
ONLINE: Social
Science Abstracts http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Social Science Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Social Services Abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific
Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research
focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social
welfare, social policy, and community development.
Online: Social
Services Abstracts http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Social Services Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Sociological Abstracts. Sociological Abstracts, Inc.
Primary database for sociology information covering journals and conference
papers. International coverage of the social aspects of nonprofits or nongovernmental
organizations.
Ulib: BldgOnly HM 1 S67 Not currently received; v.1-47,no.7 1952/53-1999.
ONLINE: Sociological
Abstracts http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Sociological
Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation required for
remote access)