Back to Public Administration and Policy
Updated March 27, 2008
As an academic field, public administration is concerned with the study of
activities having to do with the formulation and implementation of government
policies and programs. Public policy and public management are two aspects
of public administration. Public policy focuses on the formulation and
analysis of goverment policies. Public management examines the implementation
and evaluation of government programs. Public administration is an interdisciplinary
field of study which borrows its concepts and methods from political science,
sociology, psychology, economics, organizational studies, etc. This guide
provides reference to some key information sources relevant to the field. Some
of the sources in this guide are available through the Internet. There
are other relevant Internet sites which may be found by accessing the Research
a Subject page included within the University Libraries web site.
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE AND RESEARCH
Location Codes:
ULIB - University Library
DEWEY - Dewey Library
INTERNET - Web site openly accessible
ONLINE - Subscription database
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia
of Political Institutions. Edited by Vernon Bogdanor. Oxford,
UK: Basil Blackwell
Explanation
of concepts associated with political institutions , organizations and movements
in industrial societies. Included
are some
political scientists. Brief bibliographies accompany each definition.
DEWEY: REF JA
61 B56
Dictionary of Politics:
Selected American and Foreign Political and Legal Terms.Walter John Raymond.
Lawrenceville, VA: Brunswick, c1992.
A dictionary
defining terms about international politics and public law. Emphasis on U.S.
DEWEY: REF JA
61 R39 1992
The Dorsey Dictionary
of American Government and Politics. Jay M. Shafritz. Chicago: Dorsey Press,c1988.
Entries
in this dictionary identify government terms, political slang, political figures
and scholars, court cases, laws and events. Bibliographic references areincluded
with most terms.
DEWEY: REF JK
9 S42 1988
Encyclopedia of Governmental Advisory Organizations.
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research Co., c1973-
Comprehensive guide to over 7,000 advisory committees
of all kinds reporting to the President, Congress, and various U.S. government
departments and agencies. Irregular.
ULIB: OVER / (*) JK 468 C7 E52; latest
two years; latest year in Ready Reference
DEWEY: Ref JK 468 C7 E52; latest year
only
Encyclopedia of Government
and Politics. Edited by Mary Hawkesworth and Maurice Hogan. London and New
York:
Rutledge, c1992.
Essays
on concepts, theories and issues in government and political science.
DEWEY: REF JA
61 C66 1992, V. 1 & 2
Encyclopedia of Policy
Studies. Stuart S. Nagel. New York: M. Dekker, c1994.
This
encyclopedia is divided into two units; Unit One provides general approaches
to policy studies while Unit Two specifies policy problems. Includes an
author and subject index.
DEWEY: REF H 97
E6 1994
Encyclopedia of Public Administration
and Public Policy. Edited by Jack Rabin. New York: Marcel Dekker, Inc., 2003.
This 2 vol. work provides several hundred short essays on various topics related to
public administration or public publicy. The articles are written by experts and include references.
DEWEY: REF JK 9 E 526 2003
Facts on File Dictionary
of Public Administration. Jay M. Shafritz. New York: Facts on File
Publications, c1985.
Dictionary
of the "theory, concepts, practices, laws, institutions, literature and people
of the academic discipline and professional practice of publicadministration."
Brief bibliographies often accompany entries.
DEWEY: REF JA
61 S54 1985
International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration.
Jay M. Shafritz. Boulder: Westview Press,1998.
Encyclopedia of concepts and
terms arranged alphabetically. Brief bibliographies often accompany entries.
Vol. 4 has cumulative alphabetical index.
DEWEY: REF H 97
1574 1998 V.1-4
The Public Administration
Dictionary, 2nd Ed. Ralph C. Chandler and Jack C. Plano. Santa Barbara,
CA: ABC-CLIO, c1988.
Selectively
includes those concepts and terms which are fundamental to an understanding
of the field of public administration.
Defined terms are arranged in seven subject categories with indexes both for
those terms and others included in the text of definitions.
ULIB: JA 61 C47
DEWEY: REF JA
61 C47 1988
The State and Local
Government Political Dictionary. Jeffrey M. Elliot and Sheikh R. Ali.
Santa Barbara,CA: ABC-CLIO,c1988
This
is the only political science dictionary to focus primarily on state and local
government concepts. Arrangement is in chapters with related terms grouped
together. Lengthy entries. Index included.
DEWEY: REF JK
2408 E44 1988
Carroll's county directory. Washington, D.C.
: Carroll Pub., c1995-
Semiannual
DEWEY: REF JS 414 C67; latest
issue only
Carroll's federal directory : executive, legislative,
judicial. Washington, DC : Carroll Pub., 1995-
Bimonthly
ULIB: REF JK 6 F42; latest issue only
DEWEY: REF JK 6 F42; latest issue only
Carroll's municipal directory. Washington,
D.C. : Carroll Pub., c1995-
Semiannual
DEWEY: REF JS 363 M86; latest issue only
CSG state directory. Directory III, Administrative officials.
Lexington, Ky. : The Council, c1998-
Annual directory providing information regarding
appointed and elected state officials with primary responsibilities in over
150 functional areas. Arrangement is alphabetical by function and then
alphabetical by state within each functional area.
ULIB: JK 2679 C68X; latest issue in reference
DEWEY: REF JK 2679 C68X
The Handbook of state legislative leaders.
Centerville, Mass. : State Legislative Leaders Foundation, 1994-
Annual publication providing profiles of
legislative leaders for all 50 states.
DEWEY: REF JK 2484 H27; latest
year only
Municipal Reference Guide. New York. Eatontown, NJ:
National Resources Directories, c1996_
DEWEY: REF JS 451 N75 M883X, latest year only
ULIB: REF JS 451 N75 M883X
The New York Red Book. Albany: New york Legal Publishing Corporation
Information on New York State executive,
legislative, and judicial braches of government. Also, information on
commissions, authorities, counties, etc. Annual.
DEWEY: REF JK 3430 N5; latest year only
ULIB: REF JK 3430 N5, 1985+
INTERNET:
New York Red Book
URL:http://www.nylp.com/online_pubs/index.html
; get password and user id from reference desk at Dewey or ULIB
The New York State Directory. [Albany, NY]:
Empire State Report, Inc., c 1983-
Provides directory information on the legislative,
executive, and judicial branches of NYS government. Also, directory information
on municipal and local governments, private sector organizations interested
in particular policy areas, lobbyists, colleeges and university, public school
administrators, commissions, authorities, etc. Annual.
DEWEY: REF JK 3430 N53X , 1999-2000; latest year
only
ULIB: REF JK 3430 N53X, 1999-2000; latest year only
Guides to the Literature and Research
Handbook of Public
Administration, 2nd Ed.. James L. Perry, ed. San Francisco: Jossey-Bass,
1996.
A "detailed
overview" of the public administration field is presented in 8 parts dealing
with the "changing context" of public administration, administration,
relationships with other government branches, policies and programs, budgets
and fiscal administration, human resources, operations and services, and the
profession. These parts are divided into 43 topical articles. Bibliographies
are attached to each article.
DEWEY: REF JF
1351 H276 1996
Handbook of Public
Administration, 3rd Ed. Jack Rabin, W.Bartley Hildreth, Gerald J.
Miller, ed. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2007.
This
handbook contains essays covering 15 major topical areas within the field.
DEWEY: JF 1351
H275 2007
Information-finding
and the research process: a guide to sources and methods for public administration
and the policy sciences. Antony E. Simpson. Westport, CT: Greenwood
Press,1993.
The most
comprehensive guide to sources of information in the field of public administration
and policy.
DEWEY: REF JF 1351
Z999 S56x 1993
ULIB: REF JF 1351 Z999
S56x 1993
Political Science:
A Guide to Reference and Information Sources.
Henry E. York. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited,1990.
This
guide describes more than 800 reference sources for political science and related
fields.
DEWEY: REF JA
71 Z999 Y67X 1990
Minerva (ONLINE PUBLIC ACCESS CATALOG)
Books owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through the Minerva online catalog (with terminals on both floors of the Dewey Library). You may search Minerva by author, title, subject, keywords, etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (the red books near the catalog terminals) or by keywords. Minerva lists books for all three libraries: Dewey Library, the University Library and the Science Library. The location "DEWEY" is for Dewey Library, the location "ULIB" for University Library and the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Minerva also indicates if a book is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If a book you need is on loan, you may request that it be returned for you (select Request a Service on the University Libraries homepage). Please ask for help or instructions at the reference desk (442-3691).
OTHER SOURCES
Information on the holdings of other capital district libraries is available through CaDiLac , the Capital District Library Council Union Catalog (electronic). WorldCat database offers author, title and subject access to books owned by libraries throughout the United States and world. National Catalogs are also available on the University at Albany Library Homepage.
NOTE:Books or articles not owned by the University Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan .
Listed here are basic indexes for identifying articles, books, documents, and reports on public administration, public policy, and related topics. Many of these databases are accessible electronically from outside the library to members of the University at Albany community i.e., students, faculty, and staff. To access the databases from a remote location the user has to set up her computer to serve as a proxy server. For instructions on how to set up your computer as a proxy server as well as a complete list of electronically accessible indexes and databases go to Database Finder ; http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp .
ABC Pol Sci.
(new title- CSA Political Science & Government ) Santa Barbara, CA:
ABC-Clio.
A bibliography
of the concepts of 300 journals in political science, government and the related
disciplines of law, sociology and economics. Arranged alphabetically
by journal title with author and subject indexes. Bimonthly with annual and
five year cumulated indexes.
DEWEY: REF JA 1
Z999 A23, V. 7+ ; 1972,1974+
ULIB: JA 1 Z999 A23,
V.1 + ; 1969+
ONLINE:
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts in the search box (University
at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
Human Resources Abstracts. Beverly Hills, CA: Sage
publications.
Aims to list the most important current
periodical literature on human, social and human resource problems. Arranged
by 14 subject categories including labor resource development, employment/unemployment,
equal opportunity, career development, social services, etc. Subject and author
indexes. Quarterly with annual cumulated author indexes. Abstracts.
DEWEY: REF HV 1 P68X, V.10+; 1975-2007
(V. 1-9, 1966-1974 with title: Poverty and Human Resources Abstracts)
Index to Legal Periodicals. New York: Published
for the American Association of Law Libraries by H.W.Wilson.
Subject and author index to 476 legal
periodicals published in the U.S. and other English-speaking countries.
It includes a table of cases with citations and references to articles
as well as a table of statutes with U.S.Code citations and references. Some
of the topics are administrative law, discrimination, equal employment
opportunity, labor law, unions, etc.
DEWEY: REF KF 8 I54X, V. 10+; 1952+
ULIB: KF 8 I54X. V. 1+; 1926+
ONLINE:
Index to Legal Periodicals
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type Index to Legal Periodicals in the search box (University
at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
International Bibliography of Political Science - Bibliographie
Internationale de Science Politique. Paris: Unesco.
A bibliography of the published literature
in the social sciences listing journal articles and monographs from international
sources. Over 70 languages are represented with English title translations
where needed. Offers subject, geographic and author index with a French
subject index. Annual.
DEWEY: REF JA 1 A1 Z999 I58, V. 36+; 1987+
ULIB: REF JA 1 A1 Z999 I58, V. 1+; 1953+
ONLINE:
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type International Bibliography of the Social Sciences in
the search box (University at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
LEGALTRAC. Menlo Park, CA: Information Access Corp.
LEGALTRAC provides subject, author,
case and statute access to legal articles in 680 journals from the U.S. and
other English- speaking countries. It also includes coverage of legal
newspapers and selected general journal articles, newspaper articles, books
and government documents.
ONLINE:
LegalTrac
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type LegalTrac in the search box (University at Albany
affiliation required for remote access)
Psychological Abstracts. Arlington, VA: American
Psychological Association.
Provides "non evaluative summaries
of the world's literature in psychology and related disciplines." A useful source
for human resource management; some of the topics covered include management
and management training, personnel evaluation and performance, personnel selection
and training, organizational behavior and job satisfaction.
ULIB: BF 1 P65, V. 1+; 1928+
ONLINE:
PsycINFO
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type PsycINFO in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS). Bulletin.
New York: Public Affairs Information Service.
Indexes resources in public affairs
and policy for use by the government, the business/financial community, researchers
and students. Emphasis is on factual and statistical information.
1400 periodicals as well as books, reports, and federal and state documents
are arranged by subject and indexed by author.
DEWEY: REF INDEX H 1 Z999 P83, V. 1; 1915+
ULIB: H 1 Z999 P83, V. 1+; 1915+
ONLINE:
PAIS
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type PAIS in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Sage Public Administration Abstracts. Newbury Park,
CA: Sage Publications
Quarterly issues contain approximately
250 items from important recent literature in public administration. Included
are abstracts of books, articles, pamphlets, government publications,
speeches and legislative research studies. Arranged in broad subject categories
with author and subject indexes.
DEWEY: REF JA 1 S27, V. 1+; 1974/75-2007 ( V. 1 and V.
2 some issues missing)
ULIB: REF JA 1 S27, V. 1+; 1974/75-2000.
ONLINE:
Public Administration Abstracts
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type Public Administration Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Social Science Citation Index. Philadelphia: Institute
for Scientific Information.
Provides coverage of the literature
of every discipline in the social sciences. Over 4500 journals ( 1400
fully indexed) and some monographic series are covered. this index can be searched
by subject( keywords) or by tracing citations. Triennial with annual cumulations
is extremely useful for locating book reviews.
DEWEY: REF H 1 Z999 S63, 1974,1978+
ULIB: REF H 1 Z999 S63 , 1969, 1973+
Social Sciences Index. New York: H.W.Wilson, Co.
This cumulative index of English language
periodicals consists of author and subject entries encompassing the fields of
anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, criminal
justice and criminology, economics, family studies, geography, gerontology,
international relations, law, minority studies, planning and public administration,
policy sciences, political science, psychiatry, psychology,social work and public
welfare, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies.
DEWEY: REF INDEX/ A1 3 S63X, V. 1+; 1974+
ULIB: REF A1 3 S63X, V. 1+; 1974+
ONLINE:
Social Sciences Abstracts
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Social Science Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany
affiliation required for remote access)
Social Services Abstracts. Bethesda, MD: Cambridge Scientific Abstracts.
Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work,
human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
ONLINE:
Social Services Abstracts
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Social Services Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Sociological Abstracts. San Diego, CA: Sociological
Abstractx, Inc.
Covers the field of sociology including
such topics of interest to public administration as social organization, bureaucratic
structure, social change andeconomic development, public
opinion, sociology of law and policy sciences. Published five times a year with
subject, author and source index.
ULIB: REF HM 1 S67, V.1+; 1953+
ONLINE:
Sociological Abstracts
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
Sociological Abstracts in the search box (University at Albany affiliation
required for remote access)
Full-Text Databases
Business Source Complete. EBSCO Information Services.
Provides full-text access to over 1,000 peer reviewed
journals in the fields of business, economics, management and public administration.
ONLINE:
Business Source Premier
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type Business Source Complete in the search box (University at Albany
affiliation required for remote access)
EBSCO Academic Search Premier. EBSCO Information
Services.
General index covering business, humanities, news,
science and social sciences. Some articles available full-text.
ONLINE:
EBSCO Academic Search Premier
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type Ebsco
in the search box (University at Albany affiliation required for remote
access)
JSTOR.
Full-text backfiles of many social science journals
including major political science and economic titles.
ONLINE:
JSTOR
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
JSTOR in the search box (University at Albany affiliation required
for remote access)
LexisNexis Academic. Reed Elsevier Inc.
Full-text of law review articles, newspapers,
and selected periodical titles.
ONLINE:
LexisNexis Academic
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp type
LexisNexis Academic in the search box (University at Albany affiliation required
for remote access)
Lexis Nexis State Capital. Congressional Information
Services.
Provides access to state government information
including statutes, bills, regulations, newspapers of record, legislative
membership, and
articles about legislative issues affecting the states.
Users can search for information on an individual state, combination
of states, or all 50
states.
ONLINE:
LexisNexis State Capital
http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type LexisNexis State Capital in the search box (University
at Albany affiliation required for remote access)
American Statistics Index. Washington, DC. Congressional
Information Service.
ASI is an index ( with
abstracts) to the statistical publications of the U. S. government. The
index volume serves a name, category and subject index to theabstract volume.
Arranged by issuing agencies, the abstracts contain complete bibliographic information
and contents of the publication. Monthly with both annual
and multi-year cumulations.
DEWEY: REF Z 7554 U5 A46 - 1980+
ULIB: GOVDOC REF Z 7554 U5 A46 - 1974+; also microfiche
The Book of the States. Chicago, Ill. : Council
of State Governments : American Legislators' Association, [1935-
Includes comparative data on state executive, legislative,
and judicial functions, finances, management, etc.
DEWEY: REF JK 2403 B615, 1990+
ULIB: JK 2403 B615 - 1935+;
latest year in reference
County and city extra : annual metro, city, and county
data book. Lanham, MD : Bernan Press, c1992-
An annual publication including statistical data for
every state, county, metropolitan area, congressional district, and for all
cities in the the United States with a 1990 population of 25,000 or more.
Almost all of the data is generated from various federal government sources
ancluding the U.S. Census Bureau Includes data on population, health,
housing, crime, education, government finances, etc.
DEWEY: REF HA 203 C68X - 1993+
ULIB: HA 203 C68X - 1993+; latest edition
in reference
Fedstats.
Internet site maintained by the Federal Interagency Council
on Statistical Policy. Provides access to statistics produced by more
than 70 agencies in the U.S. federal government.
INTERNET:
Fedstats: One Stop Shopping for Federal Statistics
http://www.fedstats.gov/
Government-Federal, State and Local Governments (including
Schools). Washington, DC: U.S. Bureau of Census.
Intenet site providing data on state and local government
units.
INTERNET:
Federal, State, and Local Governments - Main Page
http://www.census.gov/govs/www/
The Municipal year book; an authoritative resume of activities
and statistical data of American cities.
Chicago, International City Managers' Association, 1934-
Includes data on municpal agencies such as fire
and police departments, salaries of officials, and directory information.
Annual.
DEWEY: JS 342 A2 I52 - 1962+; latest year in
reference
ULIB: JS 342 A2 I52 - 1934+; latest year in
reference
New York State Statistical Yearbook. Albany, NY:
Nelson A. Rockefeller Institute of Government.
Contains New York State statistics
on population, housing, health, human services, education, employment, business
and industry, public finance,law enforcement,elections,etc.
Data form federal and state sources. Arranged by broad subject categories
with subject index and index to sources.Annual.
DEWEY: REF HA 544 A2 -1967+
ULIB: REF HA 544 A2 - 1967+
Places, towns, and townships. Lanham, MD :
Bernan Press, c1993-
An irregular publication which is a companion
toCounty and city extra. It includes data for places with
a population of under 25,000.
DEWEY: REF HA 203 P58 - 1998+
Statistical Abstract of the United States. US Bureau
of the Census. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office
Serves as a source of social, political
and economic statistics and as a guide to further statistical information. Includes
both government and privatelycollected data. Emphasis
on U.S. national data but some regional, state and city data. Divided
into 33 subject sections- among them population; elections;
federal, state and local government finances and employment; energy comparative
international statistics. Includes appendices on methodology and aguide
to sources of statistics. Detailed subject index.
DEWEY: REF HA 202 - 1977+ ( and some earlier years)
ULIB: REF HA 202 - 1878+ (with some missing)
SCIENCE: REF HA 202 - 1998+
INTERNET:
Statistical Abstract of the United States
http://www.census.gov/prod/www/abs/statab.html
Statistical Reference Index. Washington, DC.: Congressional
Information Service.
SRI is an index (with abstracts)
to the statistical publications of private organizations and state government
agencies. Contains national, statewide, foreign and
a small amount of local data. In the abstract volume, entries are alphabetical
under type of source organization. Bibliographic information, description
of contents and availability are included, Index
volume gives access by subject, category, issuing source and title. Monthly
(except January and Februarycombined) with annual cumulating.The
cited documents are available on microfiche, ULIB REF HA 195 Z999
S77X.
DEWEY: REF HA 195 Z999 S78X - 1980+
ULIB: REF HA 195 Z999 S78X - 1980+
Historical Statistics of the United States.U.S. Bureau
of the Census. Washington, D.C.: 1975.
Designed as both a collecting and
a reference source, this two volume set provides statistical data of the United
States from 1789 to 1970. Annotations contain both
definitions and further source listings.
DEWEY: REF HA 202 B87
The developemnt of the Internet has greatly enhanced the abilty to physically access goverment publications. Many of the materials mentioned in this section are available via the Internet and we have endeavored to include the appropriate url for those materials. For Internet access to other government information consult the references provided under the heading, GOVERNMENT INFORMATION, at the University Library homepage, http://www.albany.edu/library/. Two publications which provided subject access to state government publications have been discontinued, Monthly Checklist of State Publications and the Dictionary Catalog of Official Publications of the State of New York. Some state publications will be accessible through the Statistical Reference Index described in the previous section. The New York State Library catalogs New York State publications. In recent years they have been converting publications to digital format and making them available through the Internet. Their catalog records provide the url for the digitized version. The New York State Library online catalog, [WebCat] Excelsior, can be accessed at the following url: http://nysl.nysed.gov.80/uhtbib/cgisirsi/365/60/30205.
Budget of the United States Government . U.S. Office
of Management and Budget. Washington, DC: Government Printing Office.
The Budget includes the
budget message of the President and an overview of the budget proposals. Spending
is explained in terms of national needs, agency missions
and basic programs. Includes federal receipts and proposals to deal with deficits.
Summary tables. Indexes by subject and agency.
For some years, additional volumes contain more detailed information on appropriations,
legislative proposals, budget estimates, etc. Annual.
ULIB: GOVDOC J 85 PrEx 2.8
DEWEY: EXT J 85 PrEx 2.8; LATEST ISSUES ON RESERVE
INTERNET:
Office of Management and Budget
http://www.access.gpo.gov/usbudget/index.html
CIS Annual. Washington, DC.: Congressional
Information Service.
Monthly Indexes
and abstracts to all Congressional publications ( except the Congressional Record)
- hearings, committee prints, reports documents. The
abstracts contain bibliographic information and content of documents. Indexing
is by subject/name, title, bill, committee or subcommittee chairman or byreport,
document, print or hearing number. Legislative histories are included
in volumes up to 1984; after 1985, they are in a separate volume. Abstractsare
cumulated annually; indexes quarterly and annually.
DEWEY: REF Z 1223 A25, 1979+
ULIB: REF Z 1223 A25, 1970+
ONLINE: CIS Index is accessible thru
LexisNexis Congressional http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type LexisNexis Congressional in the
search box; click LexisNexis Congressional (University at Albany affiliation
required for off campus access)
Code of Federal Regulations. (CFR) Washington,DC.:
US Office of the Federal Register.
Here, federal rules and regulations
are codified. Arranged by 50 titles, each title is divided into chapters by
the issuing agency and then by regulatory area. Each title is revised
once a year and then kept up to date by issues of the FederalRegister.
DEWEY: LAW KF 70 A3; current year only.
ULIB: KF 70 A3; current year only.
INTERNET:
The Code of Federal Regulations
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
Federal Register. Washington, DC.: US Office of the
Federal Register.
Published each weekday, the Federal
Register is a listing (with discussion) of rules and proposed rules of federal
administrative agencies. It also announces executive orders and
proclamations of the president, notices of meetings and actions, reports and
decisions.
DEWEY: J 85 AE2.106, current year only.
ULIB: J 85 AE2.106, 1959+
INTERNET:
Federal Register
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/fr/index.html
Executive budget for the fiscal year..., New York State
Governors. Albany, NY.
Includes the governor's message with
financial highlights, an overview of the budget and program highlights.
Agencies are covered one by one giving agency background, operating budget,
general funds, revenues, etc. Also includes legislative and judiciary
budget requests. Annual for fiscal year.
DEWEY: HJ 11 N745xb , 1969/70+
ULIB: HJ 11 N745xb, 1969/70+
INTERNET:
NYS DOB: Executive Budget Publications
http://www.budget.state.ny.us/pubs/executive/executive.html
Index to Current Urban Documents. Westport.
Conn.: Greenwood Press.
Quarterly subject and geographic index to
local government documents and state documents dealing specifically with a city
or county. Cumulated annually. (Note: Dewey has microfiche
for NYS localities)
DEWEY: REF Z 7164 L8 I53X, 1972/73-2001
MICROFICHE: DEWEY: FIC HT 166 U72X
ULIB: REF Z 7164 L8 I53X, 1977+
Online:
Index to Current Urban Documents 2002+. http://library.albany.edu/databases/search.asp
type Index to Current Urban Documents in the search box.
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications.
Issued by the Superintendent of Documents, Washington, DC: U.S. GPO
The major bibliographic reference source for publications
from all branches of the federal government.
ULIB: GOVDOC REF J 85 Gp 3.8:
INTERNET:
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
http://catalog.gpo.gov/F
Municipal Reference Guide. New York. Eatontown, NJ:
National Resources Directories, c1996
DEWEY: REF JS 451 N75 M883X, latest year only
ULIB: REF JS 451 N75 M883X
The New York Red Book. Albany: Williams Press
Information on New York State executive,
legislative, and judicial braches of government. Also, information on
commissions, authorities, counties, etc. Annual.
DEWEY: REF JK 3430 N5, CURRENT YEAR
ULIB: REF JK 3430 N5, 1985+
INTERNET:
New York Red Book
http://www.nylp.com/online_pubs/index.html Get password and user id at reference
desk
The United States Government Manual. Washington,
DC.: Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service,
General Services Administration: For Sale by the Supt. of
Docs., US GPO.
The official handbook of the Federal Government. It provides
information on the agencies of the legislative, executive, and judicial branches.
Also, information on quasi-official agencies, boards, commissions, etc. Annual.
DEWEY: REF JK 421 A3, Last two years only
ULIB: REF JK 421 A3, 1973+
INTERNET:
United States Government Manual
http://www.gpoaccess.gov/gmanual/index.html
Handbooks can differ in their format and content, but most handbooks provide a general overview of the subject matter and references to other sources of information. The first two handbooks listed below deal with New York State. The others deal with broader topics. Marcel Dekker publishes an excellent series of handbooks on public administration and public policy topics. A search of the series name "Public Administration and Public Policy" in the online catalog will result in a complete list of Marcel Dekker's handbooks.
New York State Government: what it does, how it works. Robert B. Ward Albany, NY:
Rockefeller Institute Press, 2002
As the subtitle indicates, this source provides not only a description of the government structure but also
a narrative of the actual operation of NYS government. Discussion of the budget process and the role of public authorities
is excellent.
DEWEY: REF JK 3416 W37 2002 and DEWEY: JK 3416 W37 2002
Handbook of Local Government 5th ed. Albany:
Department of State, 2000.
General information on the structure, responsibilities,
and interactions of local governments in New York State.
INTERNET:
Handbook of Local Government
http://www.dos.state.ny.us/lgss/list9.html (requires
Adobe Acrobat reader)
Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration. 2nd edition. Kaifeng Yang and Gerald J Miller eds.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2008
Dewey: JF 1338 A2 H34 2008
Homeland Security Handbook. Edited by Jack Pinkowski.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2008
Dewey: HV 6432 H663 2008
Disaster Management Handbook. Edited by Jack Pinkowski.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2008
Dewey: HV 551.2 D55 2008
Personnel Management in Government: Politics and Process. 6th edition. Norma M. Riccucci and Katherine C. Naff.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2008
Dewey: JK 765 P48 2008
Handbook of Globalization and the Environment. Khi V. Thai, Diane Rahm,
and Jerrell D. Coggburn eds. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2007
Dewey: GE 170 H3663 2007
Handbook of Globalization, Governance, and Public Administration. Ali Farazmand and Jack Pinkowski eds.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2007
Dewey: JF 1351 H269 2007
The Art and Practice of Court Administration. Alexander B. Aikman.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2007
Dewey: KF 8732 A945 2007
Handbook of Transportation Policy and the Environment. Edited by Jeremy Plant.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2007
Dewey: HE 193 H33 2007
Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: theories, politics and methods. Frank Fischer,
Gerald J. Miller and Mara S. Sidney eds. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2007
Dewey: HV 97 H3583 2007
Handbook of Decision Making. Edited by Goktug Morcol. Boca Raton, Florida:
CRC Press, 2007
Dewey: JF 1525 D4 H36 2007
Elements of Effective Governance: measurement, accountability, and participation
Edited by Kathe Callahan. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2006
Dewey: JK 468 T67 E43 2006
Handbook of Technology Management in Public Administration. David S. Greisler
and Robert J. Stupak eds. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2006
Dewey: HC 79 I55 G74 2007
Public Financial Management. Edited by Howard A. Frank.
Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2006
Dewey: HJ 141 P83x 2006
Sustainable Development Policy and Administration. Gedeon M. Mudacumura,
Desta Mebratu, and M. Shamsul Haque eds. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC press, 2006
Dewey: HC 79 E5 S86697 2006
Handbook of Public Sector Economics. Edited by Donijo Robbins.
Boca Raton: Florida: Taylor and Francis, 2005
Dewey: HJ 141 H3634 2005
Handbook of Public Information Systems>. Edited by G. david Garson.
Boca Raton: Florida: Taylor and Francis, 2005
Dewey: JF 1525 A8 H36 2005
Chaos Organization and Disaster Management. Alan Kirschenbaum.
New York: M. Dekker, 2004.
DEWEY: HV 551.2 K57 2004
Strategic Management for Public and Nonprofit Organizations. Alan Walter Steiss.
New York: M. Dekker, 2003.
DEWEY: HD 30.28 S7283 2003
Handbook of Conflict Management. William J. Pammer, Jr. and Jerri Killian eds.
New York: M. Dekker, 2003.
DEWEY: HD 42 H36 2003
Case Studies in Public Budgeting and Financial Management.
Aman Khan and W. Bartley Hildreth eds. New York: M. Dekker, 2003.
DEWEY: HJ 2051 C37x 2003
Handbook of International Health Care Systems. Khi V. Thai,
Edward T. Wimberley, and Sharon M. McManus eds. New York: M. Dekker, 2002.
DEWEY: RA 441 H36 2002
Public Administration: an interdisciplinary critical analysis. Eran Vigoda ed.
New York: M. Dekker, 2002.
DEWEY: JF 1351 P77 2002
Handbook of Administrative Ethics. Terry L.
Cooper, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT JK 468 E7 H36
Handbook of Comparative and Development Public Administration
. 2nd ed., Ali Farazmand, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001
DEWEY: EXT JF 1351 H267 2001
Handbook of Comparative Public Administration in the
Asia-Pacific Basin. Hoi-kwok Wong, Hon S. Chan,ed. New york: M. Dekker,c1999.
DEWEY: EXT JQ 24 H36 1999
Handbook of Criminal Justice Administration.
M.A. DuPont-Morales, Michael Hooper, Judy H. Schmidt, eds., New York: M. Dekker,
c2001.
DEWEY: EXT HV 7419 H37 2001
Handbook of Crisis and Emergency Management. Ali
Farazmand,ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT HV 551.3 H36 2001
Handbook of Debt Management. Gerald J. Miller. New
York: M. Dekker, c1996.
DEWEY: EXT 257.2 H356 1996
Handbook of Fiscal Policy. Jack Rabin and Glenn
L. Stevens, eds., New York: M. Dekker, c2002
DEWEY: EXT HJ 192.5 H36x 2002
Handbook of Global Eceonomic Policy. Stuart
S. Nagel, ed. New York: M. Dekker, c2000.
DEWET: EXT HD 87 H363 2000
Handbook of Global International Policy. Stuart
S. Nagel, ed. New York: M. Dekker, c2000.
DEWEY: EXT JZ 1242 H36 2000
Handbook of Global Political Philosophy. Stuart
S. Nagel, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2000.
DEWEY: EXT JF 51 H32 2000
Handbook of Global Social Policy. Stuart S.
Nagel, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT HN 17.5 H336 2001
Handbook of Global Technology Policy. Stuart S. Nagel,
ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT T 49.5 H355 2001
Handbook of Government Budgeting. Roy T. Meyers,ed.
San Francisco: Jossey-Bass Publishers, c1999.
DEWEY: EXT HJ 2051 H338 1999
Handbook of Health Administration and Policy. Anne
Osburne Kilpatrick, James A. Johnson, ed. New york: M. Dekker, c1999.
DEWEY: EXT RA 427 H29 1999
Handbook of Local Government Administration. John
J. Gargan. New York:Marcel Dekker, c1997.
DEWEY: EXT JS 141 H35 1996
Handbook of Organizational Behavior. Robert
T. Golembiewski, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c 2001.
DEWEY: EXT HD 58.7 H355 2001
Handbook of Organizational Consultation. 2nd
ed., Robert T. Golembiewski, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2000.
DEWEY: EXT HD 69 C6 H363
Handbook of Organization Theory and Management: the Philosophical
Approach. Thomas D. Lynch, Todd J. Dicker, ed. New York:
M. Dekker, c1998.
DEWEY: EXT HD 2326 H283 1998
Handbook of Practical Program Evaluation. 2nd ed. Joseph
S. Wholey, Harry P. Hatry, Kathryn E. Newcomer,ed. San Francisco:
Josey-Bass, 2004.
DEWEY: EXT H 97 H358 2004
Handbook of Public Law and Adminitration . Phillip
J. Cooper, Chester A. Newland,ed. San Fransisco: Jossey-Bass, c1997.
DEWEY: EXT KF 5402 H356 1997
Handbook of Public Management Practice and Reform
. Kuotsai Tom Liou, ed., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT JF 1351 H278 2001
Handbook of Public Quality Management. Robert
J. Stupak and Peter M. Leitner, eds., New York: M. Dekker, c2001.
DEWEY: EXT JF 1525 T67 H36 2001
Handbook of Research On Urban Politics and Policy in
the United States. Ronald K. Vogel, ed. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press
1997.
DEWEY: EXT HT 110 H36 1997
Handbook of State Government Administration.
John J. Gagan, ed. New York: M. Dekker, c2000.
DEWEY: EXT JK 2443 H35 2000
Handbook of Strategic Management. 2nd ed., Jack Rabin,
Gerald Miller, Bartley W. Hildreth, eds., New York: M. Dekker, c 2000.
DEWEY: HD 30.28 H3664
Handbook on Taxation. W. Bartley Hildreth, James
A. Richardson. New York: M. Dekker, c1999.
DEWEY: EXT HJ 2362 H36 1999
U.S. Land and Natural Resources Policy: A Public Issues
Handbook. Gary C. Bryner. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1998.
DEWEY: EXT HD 216 B79 1998