University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

P H Y S I C S

A Brief Guide to Reference Resources

[Guides to the Literature] [Databases & Indexes] [Dictionaries & Encyclopedias]
[Biography] [Handbooks & Compendiums] [Current Awareness Services]



updated:  July 9, 2009
This page is maintained by

Guides to the Literature

Guide to Information Sources in the Physical Sciences. [SCIENCE REF QC 5.35 Z999 S74 2000]
This resource serves as a guide to the major information sources in physics. It contains chapters on bibliographic sources, abstracting and indexing databases, journals, books, online sources, non-bibliographic databases, and grants. There is also a chapter on future developments and trends.

Information Sources in Physics. [SCIENCE REF QC 21.2 I54 1994]
Written by physicists and librarians, it contains chapters on the literature of specific fields of physics as well as chapters on science libraries and the scope and control of the physics literature.


Databases & Indexes

arXiv.org e-Print Archive. Accessible to University at Albany users only
arXiv.org is a fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers, covering physics and the related disciplines.

INSPEC. Accessible to University at Albany users only
The INSPEC database provides comprehensive coverage of the fields of physics, electronics, and computing from 1968 forward for journal articles, reports, books, dissertations, patents, and conference papers.

Scopus. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Produced by Elsevier, Scopus indexes the contents of over 16,500 journals from 4,000 international publishers. It also covers conference proceedings, book series, scientific Web pages, and patents. In addition to subject searching, it is also possible to conduct a cited author search to determine who has cited an author's article.

SPIN Web. Accessible to University at Albany users only
SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) is a fully searchable research database to over 80 major physics and astronomy journals. It contains records from 1975 forward and, is continually updated with 45,000 new records added annually.

SPIRES HEP Literature Database . Accessible to University at Albany users only
Compiled by the libraries at the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) and Deutsche Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), this database covers high-energy physics including journal articles, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers, and theses. It contains record from 1974 forward.


Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Cambridge Illustrated Thesaurus of Physics. [SCIENCE REF QC 5 R5 1984B]
Combines the functions of a dictionary and thesaurus by providing definitions and indicating related words. Numerous illustrations enhance the definitions.

Dictionary of Effects and Phenomena in Physics: Descriptions, Applications, Tables. [SCIENCE REF QC 5 S383X 1987]
An overview of 400 effects and phenomena, providing a definition, relationship to other effects, scientist responsible for its discovery, and references to the literature.

Encyclopedia of Physics. [SCIENCE REF QC 5 E545 2005]
A 2-volume encyclopedia covering all areas of physics including theoretical and applied physics. Articles are written by experts and range in length from a page to several pages. Contains cross-references, bibliographies, and an index.

The Facts on File Dictionary of Physics. [SCIENCE REF QC 5 F34 2005]
Contains over 2,800 concise definitions of terms used in physics.

Handbuch der Physik. [SCIENCE QC 21 H327]
Also called the Encyclopedia of Physics, it is a treatise covering all fields of physics. Published from 1955-1988, the articles are written by eminent physicists and are authoritative for the time that they were written. Many early articles are in German, newer articles are in English, and some are in French. 55 volumes in 78 parts including indexes.

McGraw-Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Physics. [SCIENCE QC 5 M4245 2006]
Provides over 900 brief but substantive article. Also includes illutrations, bibliographies, appendices, supplemental information, and an index.

Oxford Reference Online: Physical Sciences & Mathematics. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Oxford Reference Online provides access to physics resources in its Physical Science & Mathematics section, including A Dictionary of Astronomy, A Dictionary of Physics, A Dictionary of Scientists, and The Oxford Companion to Cosmology.


Biography

The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: Physicists. [SCIENCE REF QC 15 B56 1984B]
A resource containing brief biographies of physicists, both living and deceased. Includes a glossary and an index to topics studied by the subjects.

Dictionary of Scientific Biography. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 D5]
This multi-volume resource has numerous essays on physicists from all periods of history. Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, each essay is signed by the contributor, emphasizes the biographee's accomplishments, and includes a bibliography. 14 volumes plus indexes and supplements.

A Dictionary of Scientists. Accessible to University at Albany users only
From Oxford Reference Online, this resource has 1,300 biographies, spans 2,500 years, and covers all areas of science.

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 N73 1995]
This four-volume set is a comprehensive source of biographical information on over 1,300 scientists active in the 20th century. Each biographical entry includes a 2 or 3 page essay, a list of selected writings, and a bibliography. There are field of specialization, gender, nationality/ethnicity, and subject indexes.


Handbooks & Compendiums

AIP Physics Desk Reference. [SCIENCE REF QC 61 P49 2003]
Divided into the disciplines of physics, each chapter contains fundamental constants, conversion factors, basic mathematical and physical formulas for that discipline.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [SCIENCE REF QD 65 H3]
The classic ready-reference book of physical and chemical data. It is issued annually with revised information and new material. Previous editions are available in the Science Library circulating collection.

Handbook of Physical Quantities. [SCIENCE REF QC 61 H36 1997]
Provides physical parameters and properties of substances employed in modern science.

Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants. [SCIENCE REF QC 61 K3 1995]
A compilation of physical and chemical data grouped into sections on general physics, chemistry, and atomic and nuclear physics. Previous editions are available in the Science Library circulating collection.


Current Awareness Services

Alerting Services.
Alerting Services is made available from the Science & Engineering Library at the University of California, San Diego. It lists publishers, independent journals, and databases that provide email alerting services. This includes both those that support complete tables-of-contents listings as well as those that will maintain subject search profiles.

IngentaConnect. Accessible to University at Albany users only
An automated current awareness service that delivers the table of contents of journals or article citations by electronic mail. Search strategies can be created by journal, keyword, or author. Instructions on how to set up a profile are available at <http://library.albany.edu/databases/about/ingentahelp.html>.


For additional Web-based physics resources
see the Physics subject guide.