Updated August 31, 2009
This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for those seeking information pertaining to political science from sources provided by the University at Albany Libraries. It includes references to information appearing in either print or digital format. However, users interested in Internet sources may want to consult the companion Internet guides, Political Science and United States Politics & Elections . Those interested in in the fields of public administration and public policy may want to consult Public Administration - Selected Information Sources and its companion guide to Internet resources Public Administration and Policy . Call numbers are included for the print sources. The call number is intended to enable the user to readily locate each source within the library. The beginning part of the call number includes one or more of the following location symbols:
DEWEY - Thomas E. Dewey Graduate Library for Public Affairs and Policy
ULIB - University Library
REF - Reference area (first floor of either ULIB or DEWEY)
READYREF - Ready References (next to the reference desk at the University Library)
INDEX - Located on the 1st floor at Dewey
PER - Periodical (basement of either ULIB or DEWEY)
DATABASE & INDEXES - Accessible electronically from the University
Library web
site.(Remote access available only to University at Albany students, faculty and
staff.)
DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
SELECTED HANDBOOKS AND GUIDES TO THE LITERATURE AND RESEARCH
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Institutions.
Edited by Vernon Bogdanor. Oxford, UK: Basil Blackwell 1987.
Explanation of concepts associated with political
institutions , organizations and movements in industrial societies. Included
are some political scientists. Brief bibliographies accompany each definition.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 B56 1987
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
. Edited by David Miller ; advisory editors, Janet Coleman,
William Connolly, Alan Ryan. Oxford, UK ; New York, NY, USA : B. Blackwell,
1987.
A concise guide to the major ideas and doctrines of political
thought which affect the modern world. The 400 entries deal mainly with
western thought, but there are some entries covering non-western traditions.
Each entry is accompanied by a short reading list.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 B57 1987
The Concise Dictionary of Politics. 2nd ed. Edited by Iain McLean and Alistair McMillan.
Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2003.
Over 1,700 entries covering all aspects of politics.
INTERNET:
The Concise Dictionary of Politics
The Routledge Dictionary of Politics. 3rd ed. by David Robertson.
New York: Routledge, c2004.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 R63x 2004
The Dictionary of Political Analysis.
by Jack C. Plano, Robert E. Riggs, Helenan S. Robin. Santa Barbara,
CA : ABC-Clio, c1982.
Terms included are primarily analytic concepts,
rather than historical, institutional, or descriptive. Emphasis given
to terms which relate to the behavioral approach to political inquiry.
Each entry includes a definition, followed by a significance paragraph which
provides illustrations, examples and applications of the term being defined.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 P57 1982
ULIB: REF JA 61 P57 1982
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought. 3rd ed. by Roger
Scruton. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2007.
Entries are devoted primarily to concepts of political
thought as drawn from the disciplines of political science, philosophy, sociology,
and economics. Entries for individuals are limited to major thinkers rather
than political figures.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 S37 2007
Dictionary of Politics: Selected American and Foreign
Political and Legal Terms. Walter John Raymond
. Lawrenceville, VA: Brunswick, c1992.
A dictionary defining terms about international
politics and public law. Emphasis on U.S.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 R39 1992
The Dictionary of 20th-century World Politics. by Jay
M. Shafritz, Phil Williams, Ronald S. Calinger.
New York : H. Holt, 1993.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 S53 1993
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. 2nd ed.
Edited by Leonard W. Levy & Kenneth L. Karst. 6 vols. New York: Macmillan reference USA, c2000.
Includes over 2,000 articles covering doctrinal
concepts of constitutional law, people, judicial decisions, public acts, and
historical periods. Articles vary in length, with some being up to 6,000
words, and include bibliographies.
DEWEY: REF KF 4548 E53 2000
ULIB: REF KF 4548
E53 2000
INTERNET:
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency. Editors,
Leonard W. Levy, Louis Fisher. 2 vols. New York : Simon &
Schuster, 1998,c1994.
Over one thousand articles covering every aspect of the
office. Entries are arranged alphabetically with a general and case name
index. Brief bibliography accompanies each entry.
ULIB: REF JK 511 E53 1998
DEWEY: REF JK 511 E53 1994 (earlier edition)
The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International
Agreements. 3rd ed. by Edmund Jan Osmanczyk. 4 vols. New
York : Routledge, 2003.
A four volume work includes entries on the UN,
its agencies, organizations it cooperates with, international agreements, conventions,
and treaties, as well as general political, economic, military, geographical,
sociological, diplomatic, and legal concepts as they relate to international
affairs. the arrangement is alphabetical and most entries contain a reference
to a source of additional information. For current information check the
Internet site, United Nations System
of Organizations.
ULIB: REF KZ 4968 O84 2003
International Encyclopedia of Elections. Edited
by Richard Rose. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, 2000.
One hundred forty-seven articles "designed to
explain how diverse features of elections work in different historical, geographical,
and cultural settings." A bibliography is included for each article and
the appendix includes tabular information on election systems in independent
countries.
DEWEY: REF JF 1001 I57 2000
ULIB: REF JF 1001 I57 2000<
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World 2nd ed. Edited by Joel Krieger.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Over 600 articles on people concepts and events includin "biographies of Kofi Annan,
Tony Blair, Bill Clinton, and Gerhard Schroder; articles on events such as the Rwandan Genocide
and the war in Kosovo; and coverage of international trade developments such as NAFTA and
the World Trade Organization."
DEWEY: JA 61 O95 2001
INTERNET:
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
Survey of Social Science : government and politics series.
Edited by Frank N. Magill; consulting editor Joseph M. Bessette.
5 vols. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, c1995.
Concise summaries (typically six pages in length)
of over 300 areas of study pertaining to government and/or political science.
Each article includes a short bibliography.
DEWEY: REF JA 61 S88 1995
West's Encyclopedia of American law.
12 vols. & yearbook Minneapolis/St. Paul, MN : West Pub. Co., 1998-.
"Over 4,000 articles devoted to terms, concepts,
events, movements, cases, and persons significant to U.S. law." Bibliographies
for many of the articles are included in the back of the volume which includes
the article. The last volume includes a dictionary of legal terms and name,
subject, and case indexes.
DEWEY: REF KF 154 W47 1998
ULIB: LAW KF 154 W47 1998
World Encyclopedia of Parliaments and Legislatures.
Edited by George Thomas Kurian; consulting editors, Lawrence D. Longley,
Thomas O. Melia. 2 vols. Washington, D.C. : Congressional Quarterly, c1998.
Provides information, including historical background,
constitutional basis, rules, criteria for membership, and organization, on the
national parliaments/legislatures of more than one hundred ninety countries.
A bibliography is included for each entry.
DEWEY: REF JF 511 W67 1998
National
The Almanac of American Politics. Edited by
Michael Barone, et al. Washington, D.C. National Journal, 1972-.
More than a directory, this biennial publication
provides analyses and commentaries on the political issues and trends in each
state and congressional district. Includes election results, votes on
key issues, ratings by interest groups, campaign contributions and expenditures.
Also, includes commentaries on the political climate for the nation, its regions,
the House, the Senate, and the Presidency.
ULIB: JK 271 B343 latest issue shelved in REF
DEWEY: REF JK 271 B343
INTERNET: The Almanac of American Politics
; get password and user id at either Dewey or ULIB reference desk
Politics in America. Edited by Philip D. Duncan
and Brian Nutting. Washington, D.C.: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1982-.
This biennial publication provides biographical
and political history information on current governors, U.S. Senators, and House
of Representative members from each state. Analysis of the demographic
and political trends for each state and congressional district is included.
Individual entries include committee assignments, election results, campaign
finance information, key votes, voting studies, and interest group ratings.
ULIB: JK 1010 P64 latest issue shelved
in REF
DEWEY: REF JK 1010 P64
Biographical Directory of the Uniterd States Congress, 1774-Present.
United States. Congress. Office of the Clerk. United States. Congress, Senate. Office of the Secretary.
Washington, D.C.: U.S. Congress, 2002-.
Includes biographical information on each of the
more than 13,000 men and women who served in either the Continental Congress
between 1774 and 1789 or the U.S. Congress from 1789 to Present.
INTERNET: Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
The United States Government Manual. Washington,
DC: Government Printing Office, 1935-.
This annual publication is the official handbook
of the federal government. It serves as a directory to government officials
and as a concise guide to the three branches of the federal government and its
departments, agencies, and quasi official agencies.
ULIB: JK 421 A3 latest issue shelved in
REF
DEWEY: REF JK 421 A3 retain latest
year only
INTERNET: The United States Government Manual
Congressional Staff Directory. Washington, DC: CQ
Press, 1959-.
Published three times a year. Provides directory
information regarding congressional staff members and staff of agencies
associated with Congress. Some staff member biographies are included.
ULIB: JK 1012 C65 latest two issues shelved
in Ready REF
DEWEY: JK 1012 C65 latest two issues shelved in
REF
INTERNET: Congressional Staff Directory
Congressional Quarterly Almanac. Washington,
DC: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1948-.
An annual compendium of the most recently completed
congressional session. Provides summaries of legislative action, roll
call votes, analyses of members' voting patterns, interest group ratings, and
the text of presidential messages to Congress.
ULIB: REF JK 1 C66
DEWEY: JK 1 C66 latest two years in REF
Who's who in American politics. New York :
Bowker, 1967-.
This biennial includes biographical references to approximately
25,000 individuals currently active in politics at a national, state or local
level.
ULIB: E 176 W6424 latest issue shelved in REF
DEWEY: REF E 176 W6424 latest two issues shelved
in REF, earlier issues in storage
State
The Book of the States. Lexington, KY: Council
of State Governments, 1935-.
This biennial (annual since 2002) provides authoritative narrative
reviews and analyses of major trends in state government. The narrative
descriptions are supported by statistical tables and listings for the major
officeholders in each state. The information is divided into eleven chapters
e.g., state constitutions, state executive branch,, state finances, programs
and issues.
ULIB: JK 2403 B615 latest year shelved in REF
DEWEY: REF JK 2403 B615 1984/85+ shelved
in REF
The New York Red Book. Guilderland, NY: New York
Legal Publishing Corp., 1892-.
Includes biographical information on New York
State office holders as well as descriptions of New York State departments and
agencies. Also includes information on county office holders, political
information, and biographical information on members of New York's congressional
delegation.
ULIB: JK 3430 N5 latest issue in ready REF
DEWEY: JK 3430 N5 latest issue in REF
INTERNET: The New York Red Book
; get password and user id from the reference desk at ULIB or Dewey
The New York State Directory. Albany, NY: Empire
State Report, Inc., c1983-.
Directory for the NYS executive, legislative and
judicial branches. Also, includes references to State agencies and private
organizations divided into approximately twenty five policy areas.
ULIB: REF ReadyRef JK 3430 N53X
DEWEY: Ref JK 3430 N53X
Local
Carroll's County Directory. Washington, D.C.
: Carroll Pub., c1995-.
National directory of county level officials.
DEWEY: REF JS 414 C67 retain latest issue
only
Carroll's Municipal Directory. Washington,
D.C. : Carroll Pub., c1995-.
National directory of municipal level officials.
DEWEY: REF JS 363 M86 retain latest issue only
The Municipal year book; an authoritative resume of activities
and statistical data of American cities. Chicago, International City
Managers' Association, 1934-.
Annual publication including the listing of city officials by
functional areas, as well as statistical information, and articles dealing with
management issues, intergovernmental issues, and staffing and compensation.
ULIB: JS 342 A2 I52 latest issue shelved in REF
DEWEY: JS 342 A2 I52 latest issue shelved in REF
International
The Statesman's year-book. London : Macmillan
; New York : St. Martin's Press, 1864-.
This annual publication provides concise factual information
about the countries of the world, and international organizations. The
countries are arranged in alphabetical order. Each entry includes information
on the state's history, demographics, geography, climate, government, defense,
economy, natural resources, industry, communications, religion, education, welfare
system, and its leaders.
ULIB: JA 51 S7 latest issue shelved in REF
DEWEY: JA 51 S7 latest issue shelved in REF
The International year book and statesmen's who's who.
East Grinstead, England : Kelly's Directories, 1953-.
An annual publication providing basic information on international
organizations, states of the world, and dependent states and territories.
Includes biographical information on significant international politicians,
diplomats, and business persons.
ULIB: JA 51 I57 latest issue shelved in REF
DEWEY: REF JA 51 I57 retain latest year only
Political Handbook of the World. Edited
by Arthur S. Banks and Thomas C. Muller. Binghamton, New York: DSA Publications,
1975-.
This annual publication provides current statistical and other
descriptive information on the governments of over 180 countries and world intergovernmental
organizations.
ULIB: JF 37 P6XC latest issue shelved
in REF
DEWEY: REF JF 37 P6XC latest two editions shelved in
REF; earlier editions in storage
Professional
Directory of Political Science Faculty & Programs.
Washington, D.C. : American Political Science Association, 2002-.
This triennial publication covers programs in the U.S., Canada, and the U.K.
It includes a faculty index, index of institutions by state/country, and index of institutions by highest degree offered.
ULIB: REF JA 88 G8 retain latest two editions
only
DEWEY: REF JA 88 G8 retain latest edition only
The Cambridge History ot Twentieth-Century Political Thought.
Edited by Terence Ball and Richard Bellamy. New York: Cambridge University press, 2003.
Includes essays on liberal democracy and its opposition, Marxism, the interaction between science
and political thought, new social movements (feminism, environmentalism, etc.), non-Western political
thought.
DEWEY: REF JA 83 C25 2003
A Companion to Contemporary Political Philosophy. 2nd ed.
Edited by Robert E. Goodin, Philip Pettit and Thomas Pogge. Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers,
2007.
Survey articles covering disciplines contributing to political
science, major ideologies, and special topics, i.e. democracy, federalism, legitimacy,
totalitarianism, etc.
ULIB: JA 71 C565 2007
Contemporary Political Philosophy: an
Anthology. Edited by Robert E. Goodin and Philip Pettit.
Cambridge, MA: 1997.
Collection of significant essays representing major themes in
political philosophy as divided into the following categories: democracy, state
and society, justice, rights, liberty equality, oppression.
ULIB: JA 71 C66 1997
Getting Published in Political Science Journals
By Fenton Martin and Robert Goehlert. 5th ed. Washington, DC: American Political Science Association,
2001.
Provides descriptive and manuscript submission for 122 of the major political science journals.
DEWEY: REF JA 86 M37 2001
Information Sources of Political Science 5th ed. Edited by
Stephen W. Green and Douglas J. Ernest. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, Inc. 2005.
Provides descriptions of significant reference sources in political science and related disciplines.
DEWEY: REF J71 Z999 I55 2005
A New Handbook of Political Science. Edited
by Robert E. Goodin and Hans Dieter Klingermann. New York: Oxford University
Press, 1996.
A collection of survey articles covering major topics in political
sciences divided into the following groupings: the discipline, political institutions,
political behavior, comparative politics, international relations, political
theory, public policy and administration, political economy, political methodology.
ULIB: JA 66 N49 1996
DEWEY: REF JA 66 N49 1996
Political Science : the state of the discipline III .
Edited by Ira Katznelson and Helen V. Milner. Washington, DC: American Political Science
Association, 2002.
Set of essays grouped under three major topics; the state, democracy, agency.
Also, includes discussion of means of inquiry. Earlier editions are also available.
ULIB: JC 11 P65 2002
DEWEY: JC 11 P65 2002
Minerva (ONLINE PUBLIC ACCESS CATALOG)
Books owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through
the Minerva online
catalog. You may search Minerva by author, title, subject, keywords,
etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS
SUBJECT HEADINGS (ask at the reference desk for their location) or by
keywords. Minerva lists books for all three libraries: Dewey Library,
the University Library and the Science Library. The location "DEWEY"
is for Dewey Library, the location "ULIB" for University Library and
the location "SCIENCE" for the Science Library. Minerva also indicates
if a book is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If a book
you need is on loan, you may request that it be returned for you (select Request
Formson the University Libraries homepage).
Please ask for help or instructions at the reference desk (442-3691).
OTHER SOURCES
Information on the holdings of other capital district libraries
is available through CaDiLac, the Capital District Library Council
Union Catalog
(electronic). WorldCat
database offers author, title and subject access to books owned by libraries
throughout the United States and world.
Library catalogs from around the world are also available on the
University at Albany Library Homepage.
NOTE: Books or articles not owned by the University Libraries can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
ABC pol sci. (new title-CSA Political Science
& Government) Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1969-.
A bibliography of the contents of 300 journals in political
science, government and the related disciplines of law, sociology and economics.
Arranged alphabetically by journal title with author and subject indexes.
Bimonthly with annual and five year cumulative indexes.
ULIB: REF JA 1 Z999 A23
DEWEY: REF Index JA 1 Z999 A23
DATABASE FINDER:
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts , 1975-.
American Public Opinion Index. Louisville,
KY : Opinion Research Service, 1981-.
Annual index providing subject access to questions asked in
public opinion polls based on scientifically drawn random samples. Includes
information on the organization conducting the poll, sample size, polling method,
and poll universe. Poll results are available in the Polling
the Nation database.
ULIB: REF HM 261 A463
Combined Retrospective Index to Journals in Political
Science, 1886-1974. Washington, DC: Carrollton Press, 1977.
Provides author and subject access to bibliographic information
regarding articles appearing in over 200 American and British political science
journals. The references are limited to articles published during the
time span, 1886-1974.
ULIB: REF JA 1 Z999 C18X
DEWEY: REF JA 1 Z999 C18x
International Bibliography of Political Science.
London: British Library of Political and Economic Science, 1953-.
An annual publication providing references to journal articles
and books. Worldwide scope of coverage. The online version is included
within the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences.
ULIB: REF JA 1 A1 Z999 I58
DEWEY: REF/ JA 1 A1 Z999 I58
DATABASE FINDER: International
Bibliography of the Social Sciences , 1951-.
International Political Science Abstracts.
Paris: International Political Science Association, 1951-.
Provides indexing and abstracting of articles from over 600
political science journals. It is the most comprehensive abstracting source
for political science journals, providing access to many foreign language journals.
ULIB: JA 36 I5, 1951-1996.
DEWEY: REF JA 36 I5, 1977-1996.
Public Affairs Information Service Bulletin. (PAIS)
New York: Public Affairs Information Service., 1915-.
Provides references to books, journals articles, and government
documents dealing with the broadly defined subject area of public affairs.
Some coverage of foreign publications.
ULIB: REF H 1 Z999 P83
DEWEY: REF INDEX H 1 Z999 P83
DATABASE FINDER: PAIS
, 1972-.
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO).
New York :Columbia University Press, 1997-
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) provides
the full-text of working papers, occasional papers, conference proceedings,
etc., produced by prominent research organizations in the field of
international affairs. It also includes the table of contents of major international
affairs journals. Coverage since 1991.
DATABASES & INDEXES Columbia
International Affairs Online (CIAO)
Economist Intelligence Unit Publications.
London: Economist Intelligence Unit
Analysis and data on countries around the world.
Includes Country Reports, Country Profiles, and Market Indicators and Forecasts. Only available on campus
DATABASES & INDEXES
Economist Intelligence Unit Publications
LexisNexis Congressional. Congressional Information
Service, c1998-.
Information by and about the United States Congress including
an index (CIS Annual) of congressional publications since 1970, legislative
histories since 1970, testimony from congressional hearings, bill tracking,
text of the Congressional Record and Federal Register, text of The
Hill , Roll Call, selected articles from the Washington
Post, and information about members and committees.
DATABASES & INDEXES:
LexisNexis Congressional
Ebsco Academic Search Premier. EBSCO Information
Services.
General index covering business, humanities, news, science and
social sciences. Some articles available full-text.
DATABASES & INDEXES: EBSCO
ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER
JSTOR.
Full-text back files of many social science journals including
major political science and economic titles.
DATABASES & INDEXES: JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic. Reed Elsevier Inc.
Full-text of law review articles, newspapers, and selected periodical
titles.
DATABASES & INDEXES: LexisNexis
Academic Home Page
Polling the Nations. Bethesda, Md. : SilverPlatter
International, 1996-.
The most comprehensive collection of polling data with
200,000+ questions and responses compiled from 12,000+ surveys conducted
in the U.S. and 70 other countries. Coverage since 1986.
Documentation on each poll can be found in the companion American Public
Opinion Index (ULIB REF HM 261 A463).
DATABASES & INDEXES:
Polling the Nations
American Statistics Index. (See- U.S. Government Materials for description and location)
America Votes: A Handbook of Contemporary American
Election Statistics. Edited by Richard M. Scammon and Alice V. McGillivray.
Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1956-.
A biennial publication which provides statistical data for U.S.
presidential, gubernatorial, and congressional elections for all fifty states
and the District of Columbia It includes maps of each congressional district.
ULIB: REF JK 1967 A8
DEWEY: REF JK 1967 A8
County and city data book. Washington,
DC: U.S. G.P.O., 1952-.
Socioeconomic and housing data from the Census and updating
surveys as well as private sources include population, education, poverty, government
finance, median income, tax base, climate, social programs, etc.
States, Counties, cities, places of 2,500 or more.
ULIB: HA 202 A36 1994; latest edition shelved in REF;
also available in cd-rom format
DEWEY: REF HA 202 A36
Index to International Statistics. Bethesda,
MD: Congressional Information Services, 1983-.
Published monthly with a cumulative annual volume. Provides
references to statistical publications of international government organizations.
ULIB: REF HA 154 I53X
New York State Statistical Yearbook. Albany,
NY: Rockefeller Institute of Government, 1967-.
An annual publication providing information on population and
vital statistics, business, government, education, etc., for NYS.
ULIB: HA 544 A2; copies of latest edition shelved in
REF and READYREF
DEWEY: REF HA 544 A2
Statistical Abstract of the United States.
Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1878-.
An annual publication providing summary statistical information
on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
ULIB: REF HA 202; latest issue shelved in READYREF
SCIENCE: REF HA 202; latest two years only
DEWEY: REF HA 202
INTERNET: http://www.census.gov/prod/www/statistical-abstract-us.html
Statistical Reference Index. Bethesda, MD:
Congressional Information Service, 1980-.
Provides references to selected American statistical publications
from private and state government sources. The referenced documents are
available on microform at the University Library.
ULIB: REF HA 195 Z999 S78X
DEWEY: REF Index HA 195 Z999 S78X
Vital Statistics on American Politics. Edited
by Harold W. Stanley and Richard G. Niemi. Washington, DC: CQ Press,
1988-.
A compendium of data, presented in tabular format, depicting
historical information about American politics and public opinion.
ULIB: JK 274 S74
DEWEY: REF JK 274 S74
Vital Statistics on Congress. Norman J. Ornstein;
Thomas E. Mann; and Michael J. Malbin. Washington, DC: American Enterprise
Institute for Public Policy Research, 1980-.
Provides information on members of Congress, their elections,
campaign finance, committees, staff and operating expenses, workload, budgeting,
and voting alignments.
ULIB: JK 1041 V57; latest edition in REF
DEWEY: JK 1041 V57; latest edition in
REF
Introduction to United States Government Information
Sources, 6th ed. Morehead, Joe. Englewood, CO: Libraries
Unlimited, 1999.
Describes the structure of the federal government's publication
and distribution system. Provides a detailed treatment of the types of
documents produced by the three branches of the federal government and of the
reference sources to be used to access the documents. Arrangement is by
the source of publication.
DEWEY: REF JA 83 Z999 M 67 1999
United States Government Manual. Washington,
DC: Government Printing Office, 1935-.
This annual publication is the official handbook of the federal
government. It serves as a directory to government officials and as a
concise guide to the three branches of the federal government and its departments,
agencies, and quasi official agencies.
ULIB: JK 421 A3; copies of latest year shelved in REF
and READYREF
DEWEY: REF JK 421 A3; latest year only
INTERNET: http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/browse-gm.html
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
1774-1996. Washington, DC: CQ Staff Directories, Inc., 1997.
Includes biographical information on each of the more than 11,000
individuals who served in either the Continental Congress between 1774 and 1789
or the U.S. Congress from 1789 t0 january 3, 1997. Some entries include
bibliographic references.
ULIB: REF JK 1030 B56 1996
DEWEY: REF JK 1030 B56 1996
Biographical Directory of the United States Executive
Branch, 1774-1989. Editor in Chief Robert Sobel. Westport
CT" Greenwood Press, 1990.
Contains career biographies of over 650 men and women who have
held cabinet positions in the American presidency. Also, includes biographies
of Presidents, Vice-presidents, and Presidents of the Continental Congress.
Each entry includes bibliographic references.
ULIB: REF E 176 B578 1990
DEWEY: REF E 176 B5 1990
Congressional Directory. Washington, DC:
Government Printing Office, 1988.
This biennial directory includes not only biographical information
on members of Congress, But also directory information on congressional staff
and support services personnel, members of the federal judiciary, members of
the executive departments, personnel within the diplomatic corp, and members
of the Washington press corps. Also, includes maps of congressional districts.
ULIB: JK 1011 1932; latest three editions shelved
in REF; latest issue shelved in READYREF
DEWEY: JK 1011 1932; latest two years shelved in REF
Congressional quarterly almanac. Washington
: Congressional Quarterly, Inc., 1948-.
An annual compendium of the most recently completed congressional
session. Provides summaries of legislative action, roll call votes, analyses
of members' voting patterns, interest group ratings, and the text of presidential
messages to Congress.
ULIB: REF JK 1 C66
DEWEY: JK 1 C66; latest two years shelved in REF
CQ weekly. Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly,
Inc., 1945-.
Provides a summary of the events having taken place in Congress
that week. Includes texts of important documents, summary of action on
major bills, and the voting record of members. There are quarterly and
annual indexes. Much of the information later appears in the CQ
Almanac.
ULIB: Per JK 1 C15; print holdings end with 2005.
DEWEY: Per JK 1 C15; print holdings end with 2005.
ONLINE: CQ Weekly 1983-. http://library.cqpress.com/cqweekly/
National journal. Washington, DC: National
Journal Group, Inc., 1969-.
Weekly journal providing news and analyses of federal policy
making and politics.
ULIB: Per JK 1 N28
DEWEY: Per - CurDisplay JK 1 N28
Major Studies and Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research
Service. Frederick, MD: University Publications of America,
1916-.
A microform collection of the background papers, prepared by
the Congressional Research Service, on topics of proposed legislation before
Congress. Many of these publications from recent years are now available
thru the Internet.
.
ULIB: GOVDOC / Film JK 1108 M35
DATABASES & INDEXES: Gallery Watch CRS Reports
INTERNET: Congressional Research Service Reports on the Web http://zfacts.com/p/576.html
INTERNET: Congressional Research Reports for the People http://www.opencrs.com/
INTERNET: Congressional Research Service Reports. Hosted by UNT Libraries http://digital.library.unt.edu/govdocs/crs/
American Statistics Index. Bethesda, MD:
Congressional Information Service, 1973-.
This annual publication provides references to U.S. government
publications containing statistical information. Many of the referenced
documents are available in either print and/or microfiche format in the government
documents area of the University Library.
ULIB: REF Z 7554 U5 A46
DEWEY: REF Index Z 7554 U5 A46
DATABASES & INDEXES: American Statistics Index Digital Collection
CIS annual. Bethesda, MD: Congressional
Information Service, 1970-.
This index to the publications of the U.S. Congress is published
monthly with an annual cumulation. It has tree parts, index, abstracts,
and legislative history. The abstracts include a description of each document
and the Su.Doc. number if available. The Su.Doc. number can be used to
locate the document in the University Library's government document collection.
It is also available online through Congressional
Universe,
ULIB: GOVDOC REF Z 1223 A252X
DEWEY: REF Index Z 1223 A252X
Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications.
Washington, DC: Government Printing Office, 1941-.
Each month's issue lists the publications of the federal government
made available by the Superintendent of Documents. Arrangement is alphabetical
by government agency. Each issue has its own index and there are cumulative
indexes for the year. Each entry includes a Su.Doc number which can be
used to locate the referenced document within the government documents collection
at the University Library.
ULIB: GOVDOC REF J 85 GP 3.8:
DATABASE FINDER: GPO
Monthly Catalog
INTERNET: http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/locators/cgp/index.html