University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

A Brief Guide to Reference Sources In Psychology


Last Updated: January 28, 2008
This page is maintained by Deborah M. LaFond

Scope of Guide

Books and journal articles for the study of psychology can be found in all of three of campus libraries. The focus of this guide is on key print reference resources and electronic databases used in locating relevant resources. This guide includes sources and collections that are cross-disciplinary in nature but are used primarily in the field of psychology. Resources cited here may be located in the reference sections of the three campus libraries. Emphasis is placed upon referernce sources in the University Library (uptown campus) (ULIB) and the Science Library (uptown). It is important to know that for the uptown campus, psychology books and print journals are divided by call number classification ranges and placed in either the Main or Science Libraries. For example, books with call numbers beginning with BF are found in the University Library (ULIB), whereas books beginning with the call number classification RC will be found in the Science Library (Science). The Dewey Library on the downtown campus could have books with both BF and RC call numbers. Print resources cited here are located in the University Library unless the Science Library or the Dewey Library is indicated after the call number. Examples of monographs and other media have also been provided to exemplify a variety of formats and interdisciplinary themes in psychology.

On-site access to electronic resources is generally open to the community. Leased or subscription databases may be accessed remotely by affiliated users with a SUNYCard. It is possible to use these databases from off-campus using your personal identification password. Click on the gold UA icon for more information.

If you cannot locate a resource in the the University at Albany, Minerva Catalog Accessible to University at Albany users only requests can be made to borrow a resource from another library through our Interlibrary Loan Service,commonly referred to as ILL. This service offers access to resources not owned by the University Libraries. You must sign up for an account on ILLIAD to use this service. Use the ILLIAD system found on the Interlibrary Loan page to set up your account. The process of ordering from another library takes approximately 2-3 weeks (sometimes faster), so please allow for this in planning your research. UA Delivery provides article and book delivery to students, staff and faculty (if sources are owned by any of our three libraries). There is a request limit of 3 items per day for all categories of users. Requests for materials in storage may also be made through UA Delivery.

University at Albany Libraries' key indexes and electronic databases for psychology can be found by clicking on the the Database Finder or by using the database finder within specific Subject Pages & Guides.

Subject Pages & Guides serve as points of entry into several related subjects. Guides relevant to Psychology and Educational Psychology include:

Return to Top

Tips for Locating Resources

Finding Articles by Topic

Researching With Electronic Databases is a guide to steps for searching periodical articles by topic within databases. How to Locate Periodical Articles is another brief guide to locating information from citations. The Minerva online public access catalog(OPAC) does not index journal articles by topic but it does index journal titles. Often these journal titles are found when searching in research databases, indexes or bibliographies. Please use the Database Finder or Subject Pages & Guides to find specific subject databases to search for articles by topic. Please look at the guide Interpreting Your Search Results for steps on locating resources found in these tools. For those journals that have full-text articles accessible, Minerva provides a direct link from the journal title in the OPAC record to a menu of databases that may provide the full-text. FIND IT is an icon that alerts a researcher to the variety of sources. If you click on FIND IT, it could take you directly to the source article or a menu appears with the options for finding the source which may include the MINERVA catalog or a list of full-text access points.

Finding Books Through Minerva (ONLINE PUBLIC ACCESS CATALOG)

Resources owned by the University Libraries can be located through the Minerva online local catalog by using computer terminals on each floor of the library or through the Internet. Use Minerva to locate books by author, title, or subject using exact search or keyword search. Topics may be searched by using either the Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) (consult the red books near the reference desk), or by keyword searching. Minerva lists resources that are held by the Libraries, including books, journal titles, reports, media, and selective Internet resources. The online catalog indexes resources held at all three libraries: Dewey Library, the University Library, and the Science Library. The notation "DEWEY" indicates materials are in the Dewey Library, records listing "ULIB" in the call number will be found in the University Library, and materials marked "SCIENCE" in the Science Library. On the uptown campus Library of Congress call number ranges from Q through TP are located in the Science Library and may also be found in the Reference stacks of theMain Library. All call number ranges are represented in the Dewey Library.

Location of sources should appear next to the call number within the Minerva record. Minerva also notes whether an item is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). Click directly on the call number on the Minerva record to find status. Examples from the Science Library (SCIENCE) and the Dewey Library (DEWEY) are noted with location designations. The Interactive Media Center (IMC), Periodicals (PER), Government Documents (GovDocs), Reference (REF), and Microform (MIC) are all locations within the University Library. "CCBE" indicates items are in the library storage facility and must be requested and picked up at the Science Library, Circulation Desk. Requests for materials in storage may be made through UA Delivery. UA Delivery provides article and book delivery to students, staff, and faculty if resources are owned by any of our three libraries. There is a request limit of 3 items per day for all categories of users.

Minerva also notes whether an item is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). If you need a book which is on loan, you may request it be returned for your use through the "recall" process. Select Request Forms on the University Libraries homepage to find out more about this or stop by the Circulation desks for assistance. The User Education Department of the library provides several detailed instructional guides to assist you in the research process. Use the site index to find a listing of the many resources within this page. Please do not hesitate to ask for help or instructions at the reference desk (442-3556) when searching for information on your topics.

To construct a search for books by subject in the online catalog, it is important to become familiar with the Library of Congress Subject Headings(LCSH), an official list of words and phrases used to describe what books and other items are about. These expressions must be used for subject heading searches in Minerva and other library catalogs that use the Library of Congress classification system. Without the use of these headings, you may obtain a "zero results" message. The following selected terms provide examples of the variety of headings in the five volume set located at the Reference Desk. Please consult a reference librarian to discuss your search strategy.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (Selected Terms)

  • Clinical psychology
  • Anxiety--Cross-cultural studies
  • Anxiety disorders--ethnology
  • Clinical health psychology
  • College students--family relationships
  • Depression, Mental--Sex factors
  • Depression--ethnology
  • Identification (Psychology)--Social aspects
  • Interpersonal relations
  • Personality
  • Psychology, Clinical--Methods
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Behavioral assessment
  • Cognitive learning
  • Decision making
  • Early memories
  • Intellect
  • Intelligence levels
  • Interference (Perception)
  • Learning
  • Planning--Data processing
  • Problem solving
  • Self acceptance
  • Self control
  • Violence--psychological aspects
  • Environmental psychology
  • Ethnopsychology
  • Memory
  • Psychiatry, Transcultural
  • Psychoanalysis--History
  • Psychobiology
  • Attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder
  • Psycholinguistics
  • Psychology, Industrial
  • Artificial intelligence
  • Leadership
  • Motivation
  • Success
  • Psychophysiology
  • Social psychology
  • Social status
  • Social systems
  • Women--Mental health

  •  

Guides & Reviews

An Illustrated History of American Psychology. John A. Popplestone and Marion White McPherson. 2nd ed. (Akron, OH: The University of Akron Press, 1999). [REF BF 108 U5 P67X 1999]
This reference contains images pertaining to the history of American psychology from approximately 1875 to 1975. Included are images of correspondence, lab equipment, and people.

Annual Review of Psychology.Accessible to University at Albany users only 1996+. Print version 1950+. [BF 30 A56]
A very useful place to find out about current topics in psychology. It may be useful to consult the entire social science series. Annual publication.

Contemporary Psychology. (Washington: American Psychological Association, 1956+). [Per BF 1 C53]
This source provides reviews of books and other sources pertaining to psychology. The University Library owns issues for the current year and past years.

Critical Thinking About Research: Psychology and Related Fields. Julian Meltzoff. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 1998). [BF 76.5 M45 1998] Also available at Dewey in Reference. Contains examples of research articles and discussion of ethical issues to consider.

Doing a Literature Review: Releasing the Social Science Research Imagination. Chris Hart. (London: Sage Publications, Ltd., 1998). [H 62 H2568X 1998] Also available in Dewey.
This book is designed to help students and novice researchers plan and prepare a literature review. Some of the topics examined are: classifying and reading research, mapping and analyzing ideas, argumention analysis, and writing the review. Included are appendices on the proposal, how to cite references, and the presentation of a dissertation.

Lexicon of Psychiatry, Neurology, and the Neurosciences. Frank J. Ayd, Jr. 2nd ed. (Baltimore, MD: Williams & Wilkins, 2000). [REF RC 334 A96 2000]
Descriptions of drugs and drug interactions listed alphabetically by generic name. Proprietary names are listed after the main entry for the generic name. Journal and book citations are made at the end of some of the entries to refer the reader to further information on the topic.

Mental Health Desk Reference. Elizabeth Welfel and R. Elliot Ingersoll. (New York, NY: John Wiley and Sons, Inc., 2001). [REF RC 466 M464 2001]
The first five chapters deal with assessment and treatment, while the last two sections of this reference focus on legal and ethical topics. Chapters focus on the needs of a variety of clients from children and adolescents to the elderly, and from individuals to communities. Topics include: management of personality disorders, eating disorders, child maltreatment, counseling older adults in institutional settings, etc. Multicultural counseling and psychotherapy are also explored.

Psychology: A Guide to Reference and Information Sources. Pam M. Baxter. (Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1993). [REF BF 121 Z999 B39X 1993]
A comprehensive guide which provides in-depth descriptions of several library resources, journals, and key bibliographies to specific subjects in psychology. A useful beginning point for understanding the range of resources available.

Psychology: An Introductory Bibliography. Susan E. Beers, ed. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996). [REF BF 121 Z999 P79 1996]
Annotations accompany the citations in this reference. Subjects include: developmental psychology, social psychology, personality, and psychotherapy. Citations are generally from the 1970s to the 1990s.

Psychology Basics. Frank N. Magill, ed. 2 v. (Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1998). [REF BF 31 P765 1998]
Arranged alphabetically by subject, this source contains 110 articles on topics such as social psychology, memory, intelligence, personality, and others. Summaries and key terms and definitions accompany the articles. A glossary is also included.

Research Guide for Psychology. Raymond G. McInnis. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1982). [BF 76.5 Z999 M35X]
A well organized, comprehensive listing of sources which organizes and provides access to psychological literature as well as related fields.

Psychologists' Desk Reference. Gerald P. Koocher, John C. Norcross, and Sam S. Hill III, eds. (New York, NY; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1998). [REF RC 467.2 P78 1998] Also available in Science.
A variety of theoretical orientations, diagnostic codes, test information treatment principles, ethics, and practice guidelines. Useful for students and practicing clinicians.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2001). [REF BF 76.7 P83 2001] [RBR BF 76.7 P83 2001] Also available in Science and Dewey.
A style manual that serves as a guide for citing resources in bibliographies and for publication submission. Used to cite sources used in term papers in psychology as well as several other social science disciplines.

Test Critiques. v. 1-10.(Kansas City, MO: Test Corporation of America, 1984-). [REF BF 176 T419 1984-] Background, critique, and evaluation of psychological tests. Includes information on authors of tests as well as literature on reliability and validity of tests. The title index of tests in the most recent volume is cumulative for all volumes.

Return to Top

Directories

American Men and Women of Science: Social and Behavioral Sciences. Jaques Cattell Press, ed. 13th ed. (New York, NY: R.R. Bowker, 1978). [OVER (*) H 57 A54X 1978]
A biographical directory for all areas of the social sciences for individuals who have received recognition through achievement or research, or attained a position of substantial responsibility. Contains geographical and discipline indexes. See also American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences, 2003, an e-book found on Minerva. Note: The 2003 source includes biological, but not social and behavioral sciences.

APA Membership Register. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2000). [REF BF 11 A672X 2001]
The membership register is published in years when a directory is not produced. Contains brief entries, with a divisional (area of specialization) index.

APPIC Directory: Internship and Postdoctoral Programs in Professional Psychology. 31st ed. (Washington, DC: Association of Psychology Postdoctoral and Internship Centers, 2003). [REF BF 77 D57X 2003/2004]
Arranged by state, this directory offers information concering internship and postdoctoral programs in psychology. Entries include application requirements, stipends, treatment modalities, and specialty areas.

Directory of Ethnic Minority Professionals in Psychology.2nd ed. (Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 1990). [BF 30 D57X 1990]
According to the forward, "a prime purpose for the Directory was to identify ethnic minority psychologists within the profession." This resource is organized into three sections: Ethnicity, Geographics, and Demographics. Four major ethnic groupings are used: American Native/Alaskan Native, Asian/Asian American/Pacific Islander, Black/African American, and Hispanic/Latino. Entries include: Name, Business Affiliation, Address, Telephone Number, Ethnicity, Degree, Major Field in Psychology, Degree Year, and Specialty Areas in Psychology.

Directory of the American Psychological Association. (Washington, DC: The Association, 2001). [REF BF 11 A67 2001] Also available in Dewey.
Includes names, addresses, professional positions and areas of specialization of American psychologists. Also contains official information (officers, statistics, bylaws) on the APA.

Eminent Contributors to Psychology. Robert Irving Watson, ed. 2 v. (New York, NY: Springer, 1974). [REF BF 121 Z999 W37X]
Volume 1 is a bibliography of primary references of 500 individuals living between 1600-1967. Volume 2 is a bibliography of secondary references to the same persons. Number of references are in proportion to the importance of the persons and each is rated on a scale of eminence. For noted women in psychology, See also Models of Achievement: Reflections of Eminent Women in Psychology. [BF 109 A1 M6 1988]

The National Directory of Bereavement Support Groups and Services. (Forest Hills, NY: ADM Pub., 1996). [REF BF 575 G7 N38X 1996] Also available in Dewey.
Comprised of four major sections, this reference contains articles dealing with different types of bereavement along with a selection of support groups. Support group listings are arranged alphabetically by state. A listing of conferences and seminars by month and a bibliography are also included; however, they may be out of date. This source is useful to understand the various types of support groups available.

Return to Top

Dictionaries and Glossaries

A Psychiatric Glossary. American Psychiatric Association. Joint Commission on Public Affairs. 5th ed. (Washington, DC: The Association, 1980). [REF RC 437 A5 1980]
Provides clear and concise definitions of terms most frequently used in psychiatry.

Biographical Dictionary of Psychology. Noel Sheehy, Antony J. Chapman, and Wendy A. Conroy, eds. (New York, NY: Routledge Reference, 1997). [REF BF 109 A1 B56 1997] Also available in Dewey.
Approximately 500 individuals from both North America and Europe who have had a significant impact on the field of psychology are included in this dictionary. Entries consist of information regarding the life and work of each of the indviduals chosen.

The Concise Dictionary of Psychology. David A. Statt. 3rd ed. (New York, NY: Routledge, 1998). [REF BF 31 S62 1998]
Created to help students to better understand psychological terms, this dictionary contains examples of how the terms are used along with "see also" references to additional information.

Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology. Jon E. Roeckelein. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998). [REF BF 31 R625X 1998]
This resource consists of overiews of concepts, general theories, and theories credited to individuals. Also included are citations to theories that provide information which may allow users to locate original publications.

Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. American Psychological Association. 9th ed. (Washington, DC: The Association, 2001). [REF Z 695.1 P7 T48 2001] Also available in Dewey.
A list of terms related to psychological concepts. Divided into alphabetical and relationship sections, it provides descriptor/subject terms used in Psychological Abstracts. The same index is duplicated electronically in PsycINFO under "Thesaurus".

Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology. James M. Baldwin, ed. 3 v. (Gloucester, MA: P.S. Smith, 1901). [B 41 B3 1901]
Authoritative for the period written and still useful. Helps in understanding the meaning of terms and interprets the movements and developments of thought. There are concise definitions, longer articles, and some biographies.

Psychiatric Dictionary. Robert Jean Campbell. 7th ed. (New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1996). [REF RC 437 H5 1996]
Definitions and longer explanations of terms used in psychiatry and allied fields.

A Dictionary of Psychology. Andrew M. Colman. (New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 2001). [REF BF 31 C65X 2001] Also available in Dewey.
Concise definitions.

A Comprehensive Dictionary of Psychological and Psychoanalytical Terms: A Guide to Usage. Horace Bidwell English. (New York, NY: Longmans, 1958). [REF BF 31 E58]
A good basic dictionary for nomenclature in psychology as well as relevant terms for mathematics, medicine, and other related fields. Good cross references.

A Dictionary of Statistics for Psychologists. Brian S. Everitt and Til Wykes. (New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1999). [REF BF 39 E83X 1999]
Defining more than 1,500 terms, this dictionary features the inclusion of references to publications in which particular terms are used. Cross-references are provided, as well as some graphical or numerical examples to accompany term definitions.

Key Words in Multicultural Interventions: A Dictionary. Jeffrey Scott Mio, ed. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1999). [REF BF 637 C6 K493 1999]
This reference contains, "words that are typically used in the field of multicultural counseling and psychotherapy." Contributors to the dictionary were asked to provide the origins of the words listed as well as the multiple meanings attached to each. Terms included in this source were selected by the editiors by examining journal articles, conference proceedings, monogaphs, and other materials.

Dictionary of Behavioral Science. Benjamin B. Wolman. (New York, NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1973). [REF BF 31 W64]
This dictionary covers all areas of psychology. Includes appendices for classification of mental disorders and ethical standards of psychology.

Return to Top

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science. W. Edward Craighead and Charles B. Nemeroff, eds. 3rd ed. 4 v. (New York, NY: Wiley, 2000). [REF BF 31 E52 2000] Also available in Dewey.
Entries in this reference consist of topics and individuals in psychology. Bibliographies are included with each entry.

Encyclopedia of Adult Development. Robert Kastenbaum, ed. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1993). [REF BF 724.5 E53 1993] Also available in Dewey.
Composed of 106 articles written by contributors from a range of disciplines, this resource explores topics such as humor, divorce, exercise, and language development. The focus is on adult development; however, other stages of development are also touched upon. Articles include biblographies.

The Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Warren Thomas Reich, ed. 5 v. (New York, NY: Simon & Schuster Macmillan, 1995). [REF QH 332 E52 1995]
This 5 volume set is composed of entries by contributors from a variety of fields including psychology, philosophy, religion, language, etc. Entries vary in length with some containing several articles on a given topic. Bibliographies and cross references are included, and a substantial appendix in volume 5 contains codes, oathes, and directives pertaining to patients, health care providers, human research, the welfare and use of animals, and the environment. There is also a section on additional resources in bioethics in this volume.

Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science. Lynn Nadel, ed. 4 v. (New York, NY: Nature Publishing Group, 2003). [REF BF 311 E53X 2003]
Made up of four volumes, this encyclopedia offers both introductory and intermediate articles on topics related to cognitive science. Articles contain references and sections on further reading. Some entries also contain black and white photographs or illustrations. A glossary and a subject index are included as well.

Encyclopedia of Creativity. Mark A. Runco and Seven R. Pritzker, eds. 2 v. (San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1999). [REF BF 408 E53 1999]
Topics such as tests for creativity, theories of creativity, and "thought processes associated with creative thinking," are included in this reference. One appendix, "selectively reviews tests, inventories, and rating scales used to assess creativity." Biographical information about creative individuals is also available.

Encyclopedia of Educational Research. Marvin C. Alkin, ed. 6th ed. 4 v. (New York, NY: Macmillan, 1992). [REF LB 15 E48 1992] Also available in Dewey.
Long valued in the field of education, the entries in this four-volume encyclopedia are organized under 16 broad topic headings. Includes numerous long articles on psychological topics. Entries are signed and include bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Mental Health. Howard S. Friedman, ed. 3 v. (San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 1998). [REF RA 790.5 E53 1998] Also available in Dewey.
This source "takes a broad approach, examining the psychological, biological, social, and cultural factors relating to mental health." Topics covered include cognitive therapy, behavioral genetics, agoraphobia, hypertension, television viewing, and others. Articles range from 10 to 20 pages in length.

The Encyclopedia of Psychology. Alan E. Kazdin, ed. 8 v. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association, 2000). [REF BF 31 E523X 2000] Also available in Dewey.
Areas covered in this resource of 1,500 articles include, but are not limited to, clinical psychology, psychological testing and assessment, and cross-cultural psychology.

Encyclopedia of Sexual Behavior. Albert Ellis and Albert Abarbanel, eds. 2 v. (New York, NY: Hawthorne, 1961). [REF HQ 9 E4] [HQ 9 E4]
Prepared by two psychotherapists(editors) with the aid of contributors from various fields. A well-rounded treatment with both conservative and liberal points of view represented.

The Freud Encyclopedia: Theory, Therapy, and Culture. Edward Erwin, ed. (New York, NY: Routledge, 2002). [REF BF 173 F6176 2002]
"Among the unique features of the encyclopedia are articles that examine the history and current state of psychoanalysis in some twenty-five countries on all the continents." Included in this reference are not only entries on Freud's theories and methods of therapy, but, as the subtitle suggests, entries that examine Freud's impact on culture (art, literature, etc.) as well. Includes entries on individuals who influenced or were influenced by Freud.

Handbook of Child Psychology. William Damon. (New York: J. Wiley, c1998). [DEWEY REF BF 721 H242 1998]

Handbook of Child Psychopathology. Thomas H. Ollendick and Michel Hersen, eds. (New York: Plenum Press, c1998). [SCIENCE RJ 499.3 H36 1998]

International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychoanalysis, and Neurology. Benjamin B. Wolman, ed. 12 v. (New York, NY: Aesculapius Publishers, 1983). [REF RC 334 I573 1983]
Two thousand authorities have contributed to this monumental work of scientific data pertaining to human nature, its deficiencies, and their treatment. Articles are signed and conclude with short bibliographies. There are frequent cross-references to related fields and topics. Name and subject indexes are included.

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences. 2001+. Neil J. Smelser and Paul B. Baltes, eds. 26 v. (New York, NY: Elsevier, 2001) [REF H 41 I58 2001]
Covers all areas of the social sciences. Includes almost 4,000 signed articles, 90,000 bibliographical references, and 150 biographical entries.

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. David L. Sills, ed. 18 v. (New York, NY: Macmillan Co., 1968, 1972). [DEWEY REF H 40 A2 I5]
Quite comprehensive in coverage and useful as access to basic literature in all of all the social sciences, including the fields of psychiatry and psychology. Many articles are biographical. Good bibliographies. An excellent index volume gives entry to entire set.

International Handbook of Psychology. Albert R. Gilgen and Carol K. Gilgen, eds. (New York, NY: Greenwood Press, 1987). [REF BF 105 I57 1987]
Scholarly essays providing international perspectives on psychology.

Learning & Memory. John H. Byrne, ed. 2nd ed. (New York, NY: Macmillan Reference USA/Thomson/Gale, 2003). [REF BF 318 E53 2003]
Arranged alphabetically by topics concerning learning and memory, this encyclopedia also contains biographical information on individuals who "contributed to the current understanding of learning and memory." Bibliographies accompany entries.

The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences. Robert A. Wilson and Frank C. Keil, eds. (Cambridge, MA: MIT Press, 1999). [REF BF 311 M556 1999]
Containing more than 450 essays, this resource also includes introductory essays that examine six major disciplines comprising cognitive science. Topics examined include fuzzy logic, language acquisition, aphasia, sterotyping, and animal communication. A list of further reading is included with entries.

Major Psychological Assessment Instruments. Charles S. Newmark, ed. 2nd ed. (Boston, MA: Allyn and Bacon, 1996). [REF BF 176 M35 1996]

PNDR, Psychologists' Neuropsychotropic Drug Reference. Louis A. Pagliaro. (Philadelphia, PA: Brunner/Mazel, 1999). [REF RM 315 P32526 1999]
Organized alphabetically by generic name (with trade names listed in the entries), this reference contains listings for over 80 prescription neuropsychotropic drugs commonly available in North America. Included in the entries are classifications, the USDEA schedule designations for abuse potential, recommended dosages, available dosage forms, contraindications, etc. Appendices contain a classification of neuropsychotropic drugs, US Drug Enforcement Agency schedule designations, FDA pregnancy categories, and abbreviations and symbols.

Return to Top

Statistical Sources

American Statistics Index Digital. Accessible to University at Albany users only The American Statistics Index (ASI) indexes the statistical publications of the United States government, state governments, intergovernmental entities, and some associations.The full text of the source documents is available from 2003 to present. ASI Digital provides indexing and abstracts for these publications from 1973 to present. Selected older source documents are also available in full text. Source documents may also be available in the University Libraries government documents collection. The earlier version, the fiche and paper indexes for American Statistics Index. 1973+. (Bethesda, MD: Congressional Information Service). [Z 7554 U5 A46] are located in the Periodicals and Microform Room. Also available in Dewey.
The paper index volume serves as a name, category, and subject index to the abstracts volume. The abstracts volume, arranged by issuing agency, contains complete bibliographic information on the publication. Monthly with annual and multi-year cumulations.

A Dictionary of Statistics for Psychologists. Brian S. Everitt and Til Wykes. (New York, NY: Oxford University Press, 1999). [REF BF 39 E83X 1999]
Defining more than 1,500 terms, this dictionary features the inclusion of references to publications in which particular terms are used. Cross-references are provided, as well as some graphical or numerical examples to accompany term definitions.

Sociometrics Health and Social Science Data Library. Accessible to University at Albany users only (discussed in the databases section below, Available on the University Libraries' Web page)

Statistical Abstract of the United States. 1995-2002. (Print editions 1878+. Annual.) (Washington, DC: US Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census). [REF HA 202] Also available in Dewey and Science.
Latest issue shelved in Ready Reference. Previous years are kept on the reference shelves at Main. Only the last 5 years are kept in Science reference. An annual statistical summary of the social, political, and economic data about the United States. Includes governmental and private sources. These volumes provide useful tables and charts from thousands of federal statistical publications. Included are statistics on expenditures, federal food programs, child support, child abuse, household and family data, etc. Includes a guide to sources of statistics.

Statistical Methods for Psychology. David C. Howell. (Pacific Grove, CA: Brooks/Cole-Thomson Learning, 2001). [DEWEY REF BF 39 H69 2001]

Statistical Reference Index. 1980+. [REF HA 195 Z999 S78X] Also available in Dewey.
A selective guide to American statistical publications from sources other than the U.S. Government. Monthly with annual cumulation. It contains national, state, foreign, and a small amount of local data. Arrangement is ordered by source organization. The index volume allows access by subject, category, issuing source, and title. Also indexes (with abstracts) statistical publications of private organizations.

Databases, Print Indexes, Abstracts and Bibliographies

Indexes and Abstracts help you locate specific topics in journal articles and books. You must first use an index, abstract, bibliography or electronic database to identify an article on your topic, then locate the title and call number of the journal in which it is published by searching Minerva, the Libraries' online catalog. The following list represents tools most relevant for psychology and related disciplines. For a list of other relevant subject guides and Internet resoruces by topic, please consult Subject Pages & Guides.

Databases and electronic full-text journal packages purchased or leased by the Libraries are listed here, not databases or Internet sites freely available on the Web.

Please be aware that electronic formats of journals found freely available on the Web do not always contain the same information found in print journals. Web titles often contain advertisements and sometimes partial ranges of full-text articles. For example, the Libraries subscribe to the print and complete version of the Monitor on Psychology (commonly referred to as the APA Monitor), a journal which concentrates on recent scientific developments in psychology. The shelf call number is [PER BF 1 A54]. The web version of Monitor on Psychology contains only freely accessible information, not the entire contents.

AIDSEARCH. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1980+.
Web database that includes: AIDSDRUGS, a dictionary of chemical and biological agents currently being evaluated in the AIDS clinical trials covered in the companion AIDSTRIALS database; AIDSLINE, citations from journal articles,government reports, letters, technical reports, meeting abstracts/papers, monographs, special publications, theses, books, and audiovisuals covering research, clinical aspects, and health policy issues related to AIDS; AIDSTRIALS, information about the clinical trials of substances being tested for use against AIDS, HIV infection, and AIDS-related research.

ABS Guide to Recent Publications in the Social and Behavioral Sciences. American Behavioral Scientist. 1965-1975. (New York, NY: ABS). [Z 7161 A4]
A highly selective interdisciplinary bibliography, which includes both books and periodicals with brief author annotations. Author and title index provided.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD. Click for instructions for off-campus access 19th century +.
A combination of files from Africa, Europe and the USA for the study of Africa. The database is a gateway to a wide aray of important bibliographies, indexes and databases focusing on information to support The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more. Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings and much more.

Bibliographic Guide to Psychology. 1975-1993. (Boston, MA: G. K. Hall). [BF 121 Z999 N48X]
Comprehensive annual bibliography of materials cataloged by the Research Libraries of the New York Public Library with additional material from Library of Congress MARC tapes. Includes non-book materials as well as books and serials.

Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association). See Psychological Documents. [REF BF 1 C33]

Catalog of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Monograph Section of the Library of the Institute for Sex Research. Indiana University. Institute for Sex Research. Library. 4 v. (Boston, MA: G. K. Hall, 1975). [OVER (*) Z 7164 S42 I53X]
A dictionary catalog of over 36,000 monographs consisting primarily of historical materials and contemporary research relating to sexual behavior and marriage. Also contains material on abortion, psychiatry, religion, and women's rights.

Child Abuse, Welfare & Adoption. Accessible to University at Albany users only
From the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information, this database offers citations and abstracts from conference papers, journal articles, books, and other sources. Also included are, "descriptions of service programs and prevention and treatment strategies."

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography. 1927 -2001. (Washington, DC: National Research Council). [REF HQ 750 A1 C47]
Published 3 times a year by Society for Research in Child Development. Abstracts journals in biology, psychology, sociology, and related topics Also includes selected book reviews and a list of current books received. Author and subject indexes.

COM Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1988+, selective. (Rotterdam Junction, NY: CIOS). [REF P87 Z999 C64X]
An annual compilation of interdisciplinary journals covering individual and group behaviors and attitudes, sex roles, stereotyping, organizational behavior, and communication. Journal citations, abstracts, references to books, and book chapters are included.

EBSCO Academic Search Premier. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1990+. (some earlier)
Including scholarly and popular sources with a multidisciplinary scope, this full text database covers 4,400+ social science, humanities, science, and technology titles. 2,500+ titles are peer reviewed, with 1,000+ journals available in full text. There is selective coverage of journal articles in psychology, communication, current events, history, humanities, religion, law, sociology, and the sciences. Includes Sage Family Studies Abstracts.

ERIC [via Ebsco] Accessible to University at Albany users only ERIC via Ebsco offers links to full text articles from more than 380 of the 800+ journals indexed by ERIC. Offers keyword searching at the basic and advanced levels and subject searching using the thesaurus. Click on "Linked Full Text" to retrieve the full article.

An electronic index which encompasses two print education indexes. Current Index to Journals in Education and Resources in Education. The combined file indexes over 800+ serials in every area of education. Educational psychology and counseling are well represented in this source. While there is some overlap of coverage between PsycINFO and ERIC, it is useful to search both.

The Harvard List of Books in Psychology. Harvard University. 4th ed. (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1971). [Z 7201 H28 1971]
Compiled and annotated by psychologists at Harvard University. A selective bibliography of works in the main areas of psychology, judged to be the best at the time of publication. Contains author index. Please refer to Contemporary Psychology for current reviews of books.

Humanities International Index. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1975+.
Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews in over 1,000 literary, scholarly and creative journals published in the United States and Canada. All journals are indexed in their entirety, ranging from original creative works including poems and fiction, to photographs, paintings, and illustrations.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences are indexed in this database.

LexisNexis Academic Accessible to University at Albany users only .
By selecting "Medical" from the "Quick Info" options on the left side of the screen, the user can search medical news, medical journals, and medical abstracts. Enter search terms related to psychology to retrieve articles on a given topic. Date limiters are available.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts: LLBA. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1978+. [REF P 105 Z999 L58]
Contains citations which represent a broad range of disciplines: education, speech and communications, medicine, anthropology, ethnology, and cultural studies. Considerable foreign language coverage. Especially noteworthy is the section on psycho-linguistics which incorporates verbal learning, neurolinguistics, psychoacoustics, and auditory perception. Volumes for 1967-1984 were published under
the title Language and Language Behavior Abstracts.

MEDLINE. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1990+.
Electronic database which contains journal citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals and corresponds to the combined print Index Medicus and Index to International Nursing Index. MEDLINE provides excellent coverage of the literature in the neurosciences, biomedicine, psychopharmacology, psychiatric and physiological intervention, public health care, and social support programs.

PsycARTICLES. Accessible to University at Albany users only

A full-text journal collection of academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. The full-text of 50+ journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) are included in PsycARTICLES. For dates of coverage for these full-text online journals, consult the APA PsycARTICLES coverage page .

The Libraries recommend that you begin your search in the the PsycINFO database to access the broadest array of literature on a topic. If you choose to start directly from the PsycARTICLES @ OVID database, please keep in mind that there are no descriptor/search terms in PsycARTICLES. The database offers only keyword (throughout the full-text articles), journal title, author, or title searches. If you want the broadest coverage in the psychology literature, it is best to search first in the PsycINFO database.The PsychINFO results will also include literature published beyond just APA journals. In addition, PsycINFO Descriptor/Thesaurus terms can be searched as well as keyword searches. Descriptor/Thesaurus terms in conjunction with key word terms give you a more focused and defined search results.

Mental Health Abstracts. Available through DIALOG Customized Search Service. Please see reference desk to make appointment. All aspects of mental health and illness are included. Supplement to Medline and PsycINFO especially in clinical psychology and psychiatry.

PsycINFO. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1887+.
The most comprehensive, extensive, and most current electronic database coverage for all areas of psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. Includes technical report series (NTIS), citations of papers from conferences, and citations and abstracts for selected dissertations in psychology. Covers the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. PsycINFO includes book and chapter citations published from the 1980's on. The electronic version of the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms is a useful place to find search terms for research topics.

Psychological Abstracts. 1927+. Print version now compiled electronically in PsycINFO. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association). [CCBE REF BF 1 P65] Microfilm versions are located in ULIB Microforms. Bound volumes are located in storage in the Science Library. v.1+ 1928-2000.
Monthly abstracts provide summaries of the world's scientific literature in psychology and related disciplines dating back to 1927. Material is divided into 17 major categories. Each issue contains author and subject indexes, which are cumulated twice a year. Cumulative author and subject indexes covering longer periods are listed under Psychological Abstracts in the Psychology 101 Workboook section.

Science Direct. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1997+.
Contains the full-text of all Elsevier journals currently subscribed to by any SUNY library, as well as the titles subscribed to by several participating CUNY libraries. Backfile coverage starts with 1997. Sort by the subject and type "psychology" under "All Journals and Book Series, Favorites, or a specific subject" to locate full-text journals in psychology. Alternatively, view the complete journal title list and begin searching from there.

Sociometrics Health and Social Science Data Library. Accessible to University at Albany users only
Topically focused data archives which provide a source of high-quality health and social science data and documentation. The following datasets can be downloaded by affiliated users. Also includes teaching modules and updates.

  • American Family Data Archive (14 STUDIES; 36 DATA SETS; 20,000+ VARIABLES)
  • AIDS/STD Data Archive (11 STUDIES; 20 DATA SETS; 14,000+ VARIABLES)
  • Child Well Being and Poverty Data Archive
  • Contextual Data Archive
  • Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (130+STUDIES; 144 DATA SETS; 20,000+ VARIABLES)
  • Data Archive of Social Research on Aging (3 STUDIES; 22 DATA SETS; 19,400+ VARIABLES)
  • Maternal Drug Abuse Data Archive (7 STUDIES; 13 DATA SETS; 5,000+ VARIABLES)
  • Research Archive on Disability in the U.S.(16 STUDIES; 29 DATA SETS; NEARLY 16,000 VARIABLES)
  • Multivariate Interactive Data Analysis System (MIDAS) Sociometrics' new online data analysis system. The system allows users to perform real-time data analysis of the SSEDL data sets over the web and download data set documentation and customized data sets.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1983+ (indexing), 1994+ (abstracts).
    International, English-language periodicals in sociology, anthropology, geography, economics, political science, and law.

    Social Sciences Citation Index. 1969+. (print) (Philadelphia, PA: Institute for Scientific Information). [REF H 1 Z999 S63] Also available in Dewey.
    A DIALOG Customized Search can retrieve results from the electronic counterpart of this interdisciplinary index to the literature of the social sciences. Not all journals within the social sciences are indexed here but this is one standard tool for finding out who has been referenced within a large list of social science publications. Published quarterly with an annual cumulation in three sections: Citation Index, Corporate and Source Index, and Permuterm Subject Index. Citations are arranged by cited author and then chronologically by author with the original journal citation in the Citation Index. The Permuterm Subject Index, arranged by significant words in the title of the article, enables the user to search for the most specific subject. SSCI is international in scope. For information or an appointment for Computer Search Service (CSS), please consult a Reference Librarian. User guides for this resource are also available at the reference desk.

    Social Services Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only1980+.
    Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

    Social Work Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1977+.
    Covers journals and dissertations in social work and related disciplines from the National Association of Social Work (NASW).

    Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile). Accessible to University at Albany users only 1974+.
    Very useful for interdisciplinary topics in psychology. Print counterpart is also entitled Sociological Abstracts.

    Serials in Psychology and Allied Fields. Margaret Tompkins. 2nd ed. (Troy, NY: Whitson, 1976). [BF 1 Z999 T65X]
    Prepared at Russell Sage College, this annotated list provides indexing information for approximately 450 serial publications through the 1970's. Contains only English language serials and those foreign publications which contain an abstract summary or table of contents in English.

    Return to Top

    Psychology 101 Workbook Sources

    Interlibrary Loan(ILL) offers access to resources not owned by the University Libraries. You must sign up for an account on ILLIAD to use this service.

    Encyclopedia of Psychology. Raymond J. Corsini, ed. 2nd ed. 4 v. (New York, NY: Wiley, 1994). [OVER (*) BF 31 E52 1994]
    Contains 2,000 separate entries, several of which are devoted to biographies. A good source to use to get a basic grasp of psychological concepts, controversial issues, and testing instruments within the field of psychology. Comprehensive bibliography included. See also updated version The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science, 2000. [REF BF 31 E52 2000] Also available in Dewey.

    The New York Times [MIC Per MIC NEWS Unclassified newspaper on microfilm. Sept. 18, 1851-]
    The Science Section appears in the Tuesday New York Times newspaper. This section reports on current psychological studies. Current print issues are located at the Periodicals Desk on the lower level. Current examples are sometimes placed at the Reference Desk. Older issues (located in the Periodicals Room) are on microfilm. Please ask for assistance on how to locate the issues on microfilm in the Periodicals Room.

    Databases and Indexes

    EBSCO Academic Search Premier. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1990+. (some earlier)
    Including scholarly and popular sources with a multidisciplinary scope, this full text database covers 4,400+ social science, humanities, science, and technology titles. 2,500+ titles are peer reviewed, with 1,000+ journals available in full text. There is selective coverage of journal articles in psychology, communication, current events, history, humanities, religion, law, sociology, and the sciences. Includes Sage Family Studies Abstracts.

    ERIC [via Ebsco] Accessible to University at Albany users only ERIC via Ebsco offers links to full text articles from more than 380 of the 800+ journals indexed by ERIC. Offers keyword searching at the basic and advanced levels and subject searching using the thesaurus. Click on "Linked Full Text" to retrieve the full article.

    An electronic index which encompasses two print education indexes. Current Index to Journals in Education and Resources in Education. The combined file indexes over 800+ serials in every area of education. Educational psychology and counseling are well represented in this source. While there is some overlap of coverage between PsycINFO and ERIC, it is useful to search both.

    MEDLINE. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1990+.
    Electronic database which contains journal citations and abstracts from over 3,000 journals and corresponds to the combined print Index Medicus and Index to International Nursing Index. MEDLINE provides excellent coverage of the literature in the neurosciences, biomedicine, psychopharmacology, psychiatric and physiological intervention, public health care, and social support programs.

    PsycARTICLES. Accessible to University at Albany users only

    A full-text journal collection of academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines. The full-text of 50+ journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA) are included in PsycARTICLES.

    The Libraries recommend that you begin your search in the the PsycINFO database to access the broadest array of literature on a topic. If full-text is available from PsycARTICLES, you will see a PsycArticles@Journals@Ovid link. If you do not see this in the PsycINFO record, Click on the FIND IT link to view your options to access the full-text article path.

    If you choose to start directly from the PsycARTICLES@Journals@Ovid database. Please keep in mind that there are no descriptor/search terms in PsycARTICLES. The database offers only keyword (throughout the full-text articles), journal title, author, or title searches. PsycINFO offers the broadest coverage of the literature in psychology. In addition, PsycINFO Descriptor/Thesaurus terms can be searched as well as keyword searches. Descriptor/Thesaurus terms in conjunction with key word terms give you a more focused and defined search results. The results will also include literature published beyond just APA journals.

    PsycINFO. Accessible to University at Albany users only 1887+.
    The most comprehensive, extensive, and most current electronic database coverage for all areas of psychology produced by the American Psychological Association. Includes technical report series (NTIS), citations of papers from conferences, and citations and abstracts for selected dissertations in psychology. Covers the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. PsycINFO includes book and chapter citations published from the 1980's on. The electronic version of the Thesaurus of Psychological Indexing Terms is a useful place to find search terms for research topics. Look for the Thesaurus icon in PsycInfo.

    To specify a search for articles within a particular journal, you must add the phrase which includes the field you want to search. The field for journals is "jn". If you are are looking for articles on self-help within the journal titled Behavior Therapy, you can add the phrase "in jn" after the title of the journal (using dashes between words of the title), then add the "and" boolean operator, then your topic.
    Example:Behavior-therapy in jn and self-help

    After you obtain results, you can set the display to sort and order citations with journals held at the University Libraries(if you have no more than 200 hits). Click on the "change display" option on the opening menu in PsycINFO. Then find the sort feature. Click on sort. Inside the box to the right, locate Library Holdings Message (LHM). Please consult a reference librarian to learn more about limiting your searches.

    PsycLIT. CD-ROM subset of PsycINFO. No longer available. Electronic access to Psychological Abstracts, now superceded by PsycINFO database.

    Psychological Abstracts. 1927+. Print version now compiled electronically in PsycInfo. (Washington, DC: American Psychological Association). [CCBE REF BF 1 P65] Bound volumes are located in storage in Science Library. Volumes can be requested at the Science Library Circulation desk. v.1+ 1928-2000.
    Monthly abstracts provide summaries of the world's scientific literature in psychology and related disciplines dating back to 1927. Material is divided into 17 major categories. Each issue contains author and brief subject indexes which are cumulated twice a year. Cumulative author and subject indexes covering longer periods are listed below. Before the electronic version, the following print sources were used in conjunction with Psychological Abstracts:

    Return to Top

    Compiled by
    Deborah M. LaFond
    Social Sciences Bibliographer
    University at Albany, University Libraries
    State University of New York

    Comments to dlafond@uamail.albany.edu

    Additional Contributions, March - April 2004
    Jennifer Ogrodowski
    Collections Division
    University at Albany, University Libraries
    State University of New York


    Return to Top