This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for
researching company information using both print and electronic resources
available through the University at Albany Libraries. Call numbers for print
materials listed here are for materials
located in the University Library. Call
numbers beginning with the prefix “Ref” are in the Reference area on the first
floor, and those with the prefix “RBR” are at the Reserve Desk on the basement
level. Many, but not all, of the
electronic resources covered here are accessible from off campus for registered
University at Albany library borrowers.
For more information on accessing these resources remotely, see Off-Campus Access to
Databases and Online Journals.
Many additional resources are available than are covered
here. More business-related Internet web
sites are linked from the Business Internet
Resources page, and the Business Key Resources
page links additional business subscription databases available for University at Albany library borrowers. If you would
like more assistance, please
contact a reference librarian.
Before You Begin Your Research
Establishing a few basic facts about the company first will
simplify the research process. To find
answers to these questions, use Wards Business Directory of U.S. Private and
Public Companies (Ref HG 4057 A2 W365x), the Directory of Corporate
Affiliations (Ref HG 4057 A219XA), or web sites given below. For more ideas
on how to research private
companies or subsidiaries, see How to Find Information About Companies (Ref
HD 2771 H68).
Is the company public or private?
Publicly held companies in the
United States are required by law to disclose a great deal of information,
while privately held companies are generally not. It is usually more difficult
to research a private company than a
public company.
Is the company a division, branch or subsidiary of
another company?
Some of these entities may have different names than their parent companies.
Usually, only the financial statements of the parent companies are made
public.
What is the company’s ticker symbol?
- Many of the electronic resources
available through the University Libraries use the ticker symbol, the symbol
which identifies a company’s stock on an exchange. To find a ticker symbol on the web, try:
- Yahoo! Finance Ticker Symbol Lookup
- What are the company’s SIC or NAICs codes?
Standard Industrial
Classification (SIC) codes provide a mechanism for classifying like
businesses together. They can be used
to identify a company’s competitors and to determine industry financial
norms. Search the 1987 SIC manual:
- Standard Industrial
Classification Search
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are being
phased in to replace SIC
codes, but many standard reference works still use the SIC codes. You can look
up NAICS codes and convert SIC
codes to NAICS codes at:
-
North American Industry
Classification
Company Directories
Company directories provide basic information, such as
addresses, telephone numbers, and the names of select executives. These are
a few of the more popular
directories.
- Directory of Corporate
Affiliations (Ref HG 4057 A219XA). Useful for finding parent company and
subsidiary information.
Covers U.S. and international public and
private companies.
- America’s Corporate Families,
the Billion Dollar Directory (Ref HG 4057 A147). Covers 12,000 major U.S.
companies and their subsidiaries. Cross-reference index includes international
affiliates.
- Million Dollar Directory:
America’s Leading Public & Private Companies (Ready Ref HC 102
D8). Covers 160,000 U.S. public and
private companies. Volumes 1-3 list
companies in alphabetical order. Volume
4 has listings by SIC code, volume 5 has geographical listings, and volume 6
lists the top 50,000 companies.
- Ward’s Business Directory of
U.S. Private and Public Companies (Ref HG 4057 A2 W365X). Information is
arranged alphabetically by
company name (volumes 1-3), geographically (volume 4), ranked by sales within
SIC code (volume 5) and by state rankings by sales within SIC code (volumes 6
and 7). Volume 4 also contains several
lists of rankings and analysis.
Company Information Sources
These sources provide financial and other background
information on companies.
Electronic Databases
Please note: databases having the
icon can only be
accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower.
You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently
be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
- Business
and Company Resource Center With Investext Plus - Contains company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies
and periodicals. Thomson Financials' Investext Plus database
is fully integrated in this database, which contains
detailed data and analysis on publicly traded companies in a wide variety of industries.
The information is contained in reports generated by analysts at leading
research organizations worldwide. Information provided may include trends, sales
and earnings forecasts, market share projects, and research and development expenditures.
- Datastream International -
Datastream is a resource containing a wealth of international financial and
economic data. Available in the
Interactive Media Center (IMC) in the University Library for University at
Albany students, faculty and staff only.
Several Datastream manuals are available at the Reserve Desk. The Datastream Guide, from
Princeton University, is an online tutorial showing how to use the basic
features of the resource.
- Mergent Online
- Mergent Online provides comprehensive background and financial information on
15,000 U.S. and 20,000 global companies. Mergent Online corresponds
to the print holdings of Mergent's (formerly Moody's) financial
publications, and includes online SEC (EDGAR) filings. This resource can
be used to generate customized reports, such as company profiles
and comparisons, and allows downloading financial and textual data. Company records
include information about organizational history, property, subsidiaries,
officers and directors, long-term debt
and capital stock. Financial statements are presented in "as-reported" form
and in native currencies.

- LexisNexis
Academic - Large database of legal, medical, news and business
information. From the "Academic Search Forms" menu, select
the category “Business.” The two
subcategories containing financial information are “Company Financials” and “SEC
Filings and Reports.”

- Research Insight/Compustat -
Research Insight is a software and data retrieval system designed for financial
analysis. The system allows you to manipulate, analyze, and present Compustat
information in a variety of ways. The
Compustat database contains fundamental financial and market data for US and
Canadian corporations, banks, S&Ls, business segments, geographic areas,
industry composites, and indexes, in addition to extensive data on inactive
companies.Available in the
Interactive Media Center (IMC) in the University Library for University at
Albany students, faculty and staff only.
Several manuals are available at the Reserve Desk. Copies of Standard & Poor’s Research
Insight Compustat: A Primer for Getting Started are available in the
IMC.
- Standard & Poor's Net Advantage -
This database contains the electronic version of several standard business reference tools from Standard & Poors. Contains information on US companies,
securities, bonds and mutual funds, as well as the full text of S&P Industry Surveys.

Print Resources
- Hoover's Handbooks - These
handbooks include company histories and profiles as well as section of rankings
and lists.
- Hoover’s
Handbook of American Business RBR / HG 4057 A2862 2001 (On Reserve)
- Hoover's
Handbook of Emerging Companies REF HG 4057 A28618 (Reference)
- Hoover's
Handbook of Private CompaniesREF /
HG 4057 A28616X 2001 (Reference)
- Mergent Moody’s Manuals - these manuals contain company
histories, backgrounds and financial data
- Complete Corporate Index Ref HG 4961 M66. Use
this to find which manual and pages contain information on your company.
- Bank and Finance Manual Ref HG 4961 M65
- Industrial Manual Ref HG 4961 M67
- Municipal & Government Manual Ref HG 4931 M58
- OTC Industrial Manual Ref HG 4961 M732x
Public Utility Manual Ref HG 4961 M7245
- Transportation Manual Ref HG 4971 M74
- Standard & Poor’s Corporation Records Ref HG 4501 S7664
- Value Line Investment Survey RBR / HG
4501 V26 (On Reserve). Use Part 1 to
locate your company in the “Index to Stocks.”
Company Rankings
- Business
Rankings Annual Ref HG 4050 B88
- Market
Share Reporter RBR / HF 5410 M 35 (On Reserve)
- Ward’s
Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public CompaniesRef HG 4057 A2 W365x V.6
- “Fortune
500.” Appears in a late April or May
issue of Fortune, Per HF 5001 F7.
- “Forbes 500 Annual Directory.” Appears in the last
April issue of Forbes, Per HF 5001 F6. Also
available online at Forbes.com
- “The Business Week 1000.” Appears in a
mid-April special issue of Business Week, Per HF 5001 B89 (older issues
on microfilm).
- “The Inc. 500.” This list of the 500 fastest
growing companies appears in the October issue of Inc., Per HD 2346 U5 I55.
Also available online at
The Inc. 500.
Periodical Articles
While newspaper, trade magazine and journal articles are important for researching all companies, they are often the major source
of information about private companies.
When searching for articles about a company, always make sure to check sources
that cover the geographic areas where the company has an impact on the local economy.
Electronic Databases
Please note: databases having the
icon can only be
accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower.
You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently
be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
- Business Source Complete
- electronic database which provides in-depth coverage of business conditions,
trends, corporate strategies and tactics, management techniques, competitive and
product information, and a wide variety of other topics.
It contains full-text from the world's top management and marketing journals.
The database also includes other sources of full-text information such as
country economic reports from highly respected business sources
and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

- LexisNexis
Academic - contains full-text articles from news, trade and
business sources. Select the "Guided News Search" option for more precise retrieval.

Print Indexes
- Business Periodicals Index
Ref HF 5001 Z999 B86
- Predicasts F&F Index HG
4961 F8XB
- Wall Street Journal Index
Ref HG 1 W 26.The Wall Street
Journal is also indexed in Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe, see above.
Patents
A patent is a legal asset that gives its owner the right to make, use or sell an invention.
By examining the patents assigned to a given company, it is often possible to gain insight
into the company's research and product development plans. Patent information can be a valuable tool in performing competitive
intelligence. Note that while many freely available sources of patent information are good
for identifying particular patents, they are usually inadequate for performing a patentability
search for a new invention, which generally requires a professional searcher with access to more specialized
tools.
Please note: databases having the
icon can only be
accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower.
You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently
be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
This page is maintained by Mary K. Van Ullen.
Comments to mvanullen@uamail.albany.edu