This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for
researching industry information using both print and electronic resources
available through the University at Albany Libraries. Call numbers for print
materials listed here are for materials
located in the University Library. Call
numbers beginning with the prefix “Ref” are in the Reference area on the first
floor, and those with the prefix “RBR” are at the Reserve Desk on the basement
level.
Please note: databases having the
icon can only be
accessed from off campus if you are a registered library borrower.
You must have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND currently
be affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.
For more information on accessing these resources remotely, see Off-Campus Access to
Databases and Online Journals.
Many more resources are available than are covered
here. More business-related Internet web
sites are linked from the Business Internet
Resources page, and the Business Key Resources
page links additional business subscription databases available for University at Albany library borrowers. If you would
like more assistance, please
contact a reference librarian.
Before You Begin Your Research
Define the Industry
Industries are classified in many ways, and it will simplify your research
if you first determine the scope of the business activity you wish to examine.
Often, your need for data may include only a single product or a small range of products.
However, many standard resources for industry information may define an industry based on
broader critera, such as SIC or NAICS codes. For example, you may wish to locate market information
about pretzels, yet most relevant industry reports may be based on SIC code 2052, "Cookies and Crackers,"
which also covers pretzels.
- Finding the Appropriate SIC and NAICS Codes
Standard Industrial
Classification (SIC) codes provide a mechanism for classifying like
businesses together and for identifying industry norms. Because companies may be involved in more than one type
of business activity, they may have more than one SIC code. Search the 1987 SIC manual:
- Standard Industrial
Classification Search
- North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) codes are being
phased in to replace SIC
codes, but many standard reference works still use the SIC codes. You can look
up NAICS codes and convert SIC
codes to NAICS codes at:
-
North American Industry
Classification
General Industry Sources
Start your industry research with these tools.
-
Standard & Poor's Net Advantage - Electronic database which offers
a number of S&P's classic business resources for researching company and industry
information. Includes Industry Surveys, which cover trends and prospects for each
industry and provides comparative data on leading companies. This is a key
resource for industry research.

- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Ref HA 202, Latest issue shelved in Ready Ref). Contains
tables of summary statistical information. Each table cites
the information source, typically a government agency. Often more detailed information
can be obtained from the responsible agency. Portions of the Statistical Abstract of the United States
are available online.
- Dun & Bradstreet/Gale Group Industry Handbooks (Ref HG 4501 S75X). These
handbooks provide extensive coverage of the following industries:
pharmaceutical, chemical, health care, telecommunications, and computers and software.
- Encyclopedia of American Industries (Ref HC 102 E53). Contains detailed
essays on manufacturing and service industries. Arranged by SIC code.
- Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries (Ref HD 2324 E528). This volume
covers industries that are pioneering new technologies, introducing novel marketing
strategies or implementing innovative means of serving new markets.
- Encyclopedia of Global Industries (Ref HD 2324 E53X). Covers the history,
development and current status of over one hundred of the world's most profitable
and high-profile industries.
- Mergent's Industry Review. (Ref HG 4961 M68). Contains key financial
information, operating data, ratios and company rankings for over 130 industries.
- U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook (J 85 C 61.48). This volume
provides an overview of major U.S. industries in a global marketplace.
It includes industry reviews, analyses and forecasts taken from government and
private-sector sources.
- U.S. Industry Profiles : The Leading 100 (Ref HD 9721 U65X). Provides
information on the current status and predicted future of each industry. Includes
charts, graphs, maps and sources for further reading.
- "The Platinum List." Appears in the first January issue of Forbes. (Per HF 5001 F6).
Contains brief reports on major industries, and ranks leading companies within each
industry.
Industry Reports
These sources provide research reports on various industries.
- Business Insights
- Business Insights contains the full-text of extensive market research reports covering several
industries. If the industry of interest is covered, this is a key source for market information.

- Business
and Company Resource Center With Investext Plus - Contains company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies
and periodicals. Thomson Financials' Investext Plus database
is fully integrated in this database, which contains
detailed data and analysis on publicly traded companies in a wide variety of industries.
The information is contained in reports generated by analysts at leading
research organizations worldwide. Information provided may include trends, sales
and earnings forecasts, market share projects, and research and development expenditures.
This resource also provides electronic access to The Encyclopedia of American Industries,
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries and The Encyclopedia of Global Industries
mentioned above.
- Market Research
- Create a customized report using data from Export.gov, the US
government Internet portal to exporting and trade services.
This site was created for US businesses wishing to expand their opportunities abroad.
It provides a "Step-by-Step Approach to Market Research," access to the U.S. Commercial Service Market Research Library,
information on trade agreements and trade statistics.
The site is free, but access to some content requires registration.
- MCD Current Industrial Reports
- These reports offer a wealth of statistical information about US industries, prepared
by the Census Bureau.
- STAT-USA
- This database is a good source of trade statistics and contains international
market research reports. Available in the University Library to University at Albany Libraries users only.
Staff at the Reference Desk will assist you in accessing the site.
Internet Portals
There are a variety of industry-specific portals on the Internet which can be
useful for business research. Portals may provide news and other content and may link
to companies and associations involved with the industry.
- Industry Portals
- The Industry Research Desk maintains an excellent collection of
portal sites covering more than 50 industries, from Polson Enterprises.
- VerticalPortals.com
- Directory of portal sites, mostly for consumer products.
Industry Norms and Ratios
These sources provide comparative information to help you analyze a company's
performance relative to the industry.
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (Reserve HF 5681 R25 T68).
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (Reserve HF 5681 R25 I52X).
- RMA Annual Statement Studies (Reserve HF 5681 B2 R62X).
- Standard & Poor's Analyst's Handbook (Ref HF HG 4519 S772).
- Research Insight/Compustat -
Research Insight is a software and data retrieval system designed for financial
analysis. The system allows you to manipulate, analyze, and present Compustat
information in a variety of ways. The
Compustat database contains fundamental financial and market data for US and
Canadian corporations, banks, S&Ls, business segments, geographic areas,
industry composites, and indexes, in addition to extensive data on inactive
companies.Available in the
Interactive Media Center (IMC) in the University Library for University at
Albany students, faculty and staff only.
Several manuals are available at the Reserve Desk. Copies of Standard & Poor’s Research
Insight Compustat: A Primer for Getting Started are available in the
IMC.
Trade and Professional Associations
Trade and professional organizations exist for nearly every industry. These organizations often
collect and publish valuable data about their members' areas of interest. Some organizations
will share information with the public, but others make data available only to members. Local
meetings of these organizations provide excellent networking opportunities.
- Associations on the Net
- A guide to web sites of prominent organizations and associations, from the Internet Public
Library.
-
Associations Unlimited - This database contains more than 158,000 detailed listings for organizations all over the world.

Legal and Regulatory Issues
The legal and regulatory climate in which an industry operates can be very complex. Businesses
are subject to federal, state, local and agency laws and regulations. In some cases, a
facility's environmental compliance history may be of public record. Some of these sources may help you understand the issues surrounding an industry.
- LexisNexis
Academic - Large database containing full text news, business and legal
information. From the "Academic Search Forms" menu, select
the category “Legal Research.” Use this menu to find the full text of legal cases,
look up federal regulations or find review articles. Law reviews are scholarly articles which examine issues in
depth, and can sometimes be useful in researching industries.

- Consumer Products Safety Commission
- This site lists the CPSC's regulations, laws & information
for manufacturers, importers, distributors & retailers, and provides
a database of product recalls.
- EPA's Sector Facility Indexing Project
- This site provides access to a wide range of environmental information about
regulated facilities in several industries.
- OSHA
- The Occupational Safety and Health Administration offers an extensive website with a special section devoted to assisting
small business as well as interactive software advisors to help employers
understand how to comply with OSHA standards.
- Right to Know Network
- Provides free access to numerous environmental databases, including the Toxic Release Inventory,
a database of information about releases and transfers of toxic chemicals from specific manufacturing facilities.
Periodical Articles and Statistics
Articles published in journals, newsletters and trade publications to cover industry
developments. Many additional electronic databases which index business periodicals can be found
on the
Business Key Resources page. For additional sources of industry statistics, see
the listing under Industry Reports above.
- Business Source Complete
- This database offers information in nearly every area of business including management,
economics, finance, accounting, international business, and more.
It contains full-text from many of the world's top management and marketing journals.
The database also includes other sources of full-text information such as country economic
reports respected business sources, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies.

- LexisNexis
Academic - Large database containing full-text news, business and legal
information. From the "Academic Search Forms" menu, select
the category “News.” Select the tab marked "Guided News Search", and select the "Business News" category. The Wall Street Journal
is indexed back to 1973 in the “U.S. News” submenu of this database, although full-text of that
title is not available.

- Business
and Company Resource Center With Investext Plus - Contains company profiles,
brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies
and periodicals. Thomson Financials' Investext Plus database
is fully integrated in this database, which contains
detailed data and analysis on publicly traded companies in a wide variety of industries.
The information is contained in reports generated by analysts at leading
research organizations worldwide. Information provided may include trends, sales
and earnings forecasts, market share projects, and research and development expenditures.
- Business
& Industry - Electronic index of leading trade magazines, newsletters,
the general business press and international business dailies.
- Business
Dateline - Provides citations on regional business activities and trends as
well as major stories on local firms, their products and executives. This database indexes the Capital
District Business Review.
- Statistical Reference Index (Ref HA 195 Z999 S78X). SRI identifies industry statistics contained in publications
produced by professional associations and institutes, businesses and trade publishers,
state agencies, research centers, and universities. The Index volumes
provide an accession number to direct you to a microfiche reproduction of the original publication.
Both the print index and the accompanying microfiche collection are housed in the southeast wing
of the reference area.
This page is maintained by Mary K. Van Ullen.
Comments to mvanullen@uamail.albany.edu