This guide is about initiating research in Art and Art History.
It does not attempt to be comprehensive; instead it is an
introduction to the process. The intended audience is undergraduates, but
anyone interested in doing Art and Art History research will find
this guide a useful starting point.
All print sources will be located in the Main University Library. Call numbers will
indicate the location of the resource. Most of the print titles
will be found in the Reference section, located on the first floor of the Main Library.
Additional titles may be shelved in Reserve, which is located at the Circulation Desk.
Call numbers for reference books are preceded
with "Ref” and Reserve books with "RBR," while no prefix on the call number indicates
the book is shelved in the regular stacks on the second floor. If you have any questions,
ask at the Reference Desk.
All electronic resources are available from workstations in all three University libraries.
To access electronic resources from off campus, an individual must have a
valid University at Albany identification card and be a registered University at Albany
Libraries borrower. To read about remote access, go to
Off-Campus Access to
Databases and Online Journals.
-
Arnason, H. Harvard. History of Modern Art: Painting, Sculpture, Architecture,
Photography Rev. 4th ed, Marla F. Prather.
New York: H. N. Abrams, 1998.[Ref N 6490 A713 1998]
This extensively revised edition contains 27 chapters covering every aspect and school
of modern art. It is heavily illustrated with black and white, and colored pictures. There is
an in-depth bibliography arranged by topics and also by individual chapters. Included is a
single index of subjects, artists, and titles.
-
ARTbibliographies Modern. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-Clio, 1973--.
[Ref N 1 Z999 A78]
Abstract of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and
exhibition reviews. Covers artists and movements from Impressionism to the most
recent work and trends, with a particular emphasis on new and lesser-known
artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature.
Available electronically as
ARTbibliographies Modern.

.
-
Art Index. New York: H. W. Wilson, 1929--.[Ref N 1 Z999 A79]
Key international English language arts publications. Includes periodicals,
museum bulletins,yearbooks, competition and award notices, exhibition listings, interviews,
film reviews, and more.
Available electronically as
Art Index.

.
-
Bibliography of the History of Art [BHA].
Santa Monica, CA: J. Paul Getty Trust, Getty Art History Information Program 1990--.
[Ref N 1 Z999 B53]
Citations and abstracts of 4,000 contemporary publications along with books, exhibition
catalogs, and dissertations on European art from 4th century BCE to the present and American
art since the 15th century. It also has author, subject, and journal indexes.
Available electronically as
Bibliography of the History of Art[BHA].:

.
-
Ehresmann, Donald L., ed. Fine Arts: A Bibliographic Guide to Basic Reference Works, Histories,
and Handbooks. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1990.
[Ref N 5300 Z999 E47 1990]
Over 2,000 brief annotated entries of reference works in Western languages published
between 1830 and 1988. Arranged by type of work, chronologically, and geographically with
author-title and subject indexes.
-
Encyclopedia of World Art. 16 vols. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1959-1983.
[Ref N 31 E533]
Signed in-depth articles on the full range of the visual arts, with international
geographical and chronological coverage. Articles are arranged alphabetically and contain
extensive bibliographies. A one volume index is extremely useful.
-
Freitag, Wolfgang M. Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists.
New York: Garland, 1997.[RBR N40 Z999F74 1997]
Lists 14,000 monographs for 2,100 artists, primarily European and North American, and
covers all chronological and geographical settings. Entries are arranged alphabetically, and
there is an index of authors, editors, and compilers.
-
Répertoire International de la Littérature de l'Art [RILA].
New York: College Art Association of America, 1973-1989.[Ref N 1 Z999 R15X]
Citations and abstracts of books, periodical and newspaper articles, exhibition catalogs,
museum, and more covering all facets of Western art, including architecture,
from the 4th century BCE to the present. Organized by topical headings, it also contains
exhibition lists and an author-subject index.
Available electronically as part of
Bibliography of the History of Art[BHA].:

.
-
Turner, Jane, ed. The Dictionary of Art. 34 vol.
New York: Grove, 1996.[Ref N 31 D5 1996]
This extensive set contains 41,000 articles on all aspects of art. The articles
vary in length, but most contain bibliographies. Also, there are 15,000 illustrations and a
one volume comprehensive index.
Available electronically as
The Dictionary of Art.

.
-
Walker, John A. Glossary of Art, Architecture, and Design Since 1945: Terms and Labels
Describing Movements, Styles and Groups Derived from the Vocabulary of Artists and
Critics
Rev. 2nd ed. Hamden, CT: Linnet Books, 1977.[Ref N 34 W34 1977]
There are 521 entries covering art, architecture, and graphic and industrial design.
Additional references are provided.
-
Daniel, Howard. Encyclopedia of Themes and Subjects in Painting: Mythological,
Biblical, Historical, Literary, Allegorical, and Topical.
New York: H. N. Abrams, 1971.[Ref ND 1288 D3 1971]
There are 400 themes or subjects arranged alphabetically. Most focus on mythological
or religious topics, and many illustrations are included. Unfortunately, there is no index.
-
Dunkelman, Martha Levine. Central Italian Painting, 1400-1465: An Annotated
Bibliography. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1986.[RBR N 6919 C46 Z991 1986]
Over 2,000 references to books, articles, and other publications relating to this
important geographical and chronological period of western art. Coverage focuses on
English-language works, but includes references to some European publications as well.
There are two indexes: one for artists, and one for editors, reviewers, and authors.
-
Havlice, Patrice Pate. World Painting Index. 2 vols.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977.[Ref ND 45 H38]
This book was designed to continue Monros' books (see below). Although it claims
world coverage, the focus is heavily on European and American paintings. It draws on 1,200
books and catalogs published from 1940 to 1975. In volume one, entries are arranged alphabetically
by artist, while volume two is a listing of titles cross-indexed to volume one.
-
Havlice, Patrice Pate. World Painting Index: First Supplement. 2 vols.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1982.[Ref ND 45 H38 SUPP.]
This book follows the earlier edition that it supplements, drawing on 600
books and catalogs published from 1973 to 1980. The arrangement is similar and the focus
includes little-known Western artists as well as women and Third World painters.
-
Ludman, Joan and Lauris Mason. Fine Print Reference: A Selected Bibliography
of Print-Related Literature. Milkwood, NY: Kraus International Publications, 1982.
[RBR NE 850 Z999 L83X]
This collection focuses on the history and technique of prints of all geographical locations
and chronological periods. The 3,215 entries are arranged alphabetically in 10 general
catagories which are then divided into sub-categories. It includes indexes for authors, and
museums and galleries.
-
Mason, Lauris, and Joan Ludman. Print Reference Sources: A Selected Bibliography,
18th-20th Centuries. Milkwood, NY: Kraus-Thomson, 1975.[RBR NE 850 Z999 M38X]
A selection of materials on 1300 printmakers, including catalogs, museum publications,
and essays from books and periodicals. Entries include both primary and secondary sources
and are arranged alphabetically.
-
Monro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of American
Paintings: A Guide to Pictures Occurring in More Than Eight Hundred Books.
New York: H. W. Wilson, 1948.[Ref ND 205 M57]
Indexes American paintings in 520 books and more than 300 catalogs. Entries are arranged
alphabetically by artist, title of work, and, where necessary, by subject. A supplement
covering 1948 to 1961 is included.
-
Monro, Isabel Stevenson and Kate M. Munro. Index to Reproductions of European
Paintings: A Guide to Pictures in More Than Three Hundred Books.
New York: H. W. Wilson, 1956.[Ref ND 45 M6]
Indexes European paintings in more than 300 books but no catalogs. Entries are arranged
alphabetically by artist, title of work, and, where necessary, by subject.
-
Smith,Lyn Wall and Nancy Dustin Wall Moure. Index to Reproductions of American
Paintings Appearing in More Than 400 Hundred Books, Mostly Published Since 1960.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1977.[Ref ND 205 S575]
This is a continuation of the Monros' earlier book mentioned above. Entries are arranged
alphabetically by artist followed by titles of paintings. A subject index is helpful, and
there is no title index.
-
Wright, Christopher. The World's Master Painters From the Early Renaissance to the
Present Day: A Comprehensive Listing of Works by 1,300 Painters and a Complete Guide
to Their Locations Worldwide. 2 vols.
New York: Routledge, 1992.[Ref ND 40 W75 1991]
This book's scope is extensive, covering 120,000 paintings by 1,300 artists, and it
identifies over 4,000 locations. There are short biographies of artists, and
artist, subject, and title indexes.
-
Clapp, Jane. Sculpture Index. 2 vols.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1970-1971.[Ref NB 205 Z999 E54X]
Although slightly dated, this resource is still valuable. It indexes pictures of sculpture in
950 publications from art histories, exhibition catalogs, reference books, and more. The main
focus is on modern sculpture after 1900, but it does include international works.
-
Craven, Wayne. Sculpture in American.
Newark: University of Delaware Press, 1984.[RBR NB 205 C7 1984]
This book is a survey study of American sculpture from the colonial period to the present,
and it includes an overview of the relationship of sculpture to other arts. The book is well
illustrated with a selective yet solid bibliography and contains a general index.
-
Ekdahl, Janis. American Sculpture: A Guide to Information Sources.
Detroit: Gale Research, 1977.[RBR NB 205 Z999 E54X]
The book is divided into
three parts. The first is a broad section covering bibliographies, catalogs, indexes, and
more. The second section covers the history and aesthetics of American culture. The third
section covers resources for 220 American sculptors. Author, title, and subject indexes
are provided.
-
Watson-Jones, Virginia. Contemporary American Women Sculptors.
Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1986.[Ref NB 212 W37 1986]
Over 300 American artist are listed, including lesser known sculptors as well as the
famous. Each entry has a brief biography, lists professional activities, and an artist's
statement.
-
Davis, Keith F. An American Century of Photography: From Dry-Plate to Digital.
New York: Hallmark Cards in association with H. N. Abrams, 1995.[RBR (*)TR 23 H35 1995]
This work covers the development of photography from the end of the 19th century to the
present. Although drawn from the Hallmark Collection, the numerous
photographs are a good representation of American photography in general. It has extensive
bibliographies, both chapter and general, which includes biographical bibliographies.
-
Moss, Martha. Photography Books Index. 2 vols.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1980.[Ref TR 199 M67]
This book indexes twenty-two major photography anthologies, identifying thousands
of pictures. It is divided into three sections. The first is of photographers, the second is
by subject, and the third is portraits of named individuals. It also includes a list of
books indexed. Volume 2 is a supplement.
-
Roosens, Laurent and Luc Salu. History of Photography: A Bibliography of Books.
4 vols. New York: Munsell, 1986-1999.[RBR (*)TR 15 Z999 R66X 1989]
This work lists books about photography in many languages, but most are Western languages.
All entries are arranged alphabetically, including photographers. The coverage between 1839
and 1914 is comprehensive, while coverage between 1915 to the mid-1990 is selective.
Photographers born before 1914 are covered in volume 1. Those born before 1936 are
additionally covered in volume 2. Volume 3 extends those born before 1950, and volume 4
to 1962. Each volume contains a photographers index that may be cross-indexed to other volumes.
-
Rosenblum, Naomi. A World History of Photography.
3rd ed. New York: Abbeville Press, 1997.[RBR (*)TR 15 R67 1997]
This single-volume work has an international scope that covers the history of
photography from 1839 to the present, arranged thematically, and includes technical
as well as historical and sociological aspects. It is well illustrated with over
800 pictures, many rare. The bibliography is organized in categories of histories,
reference sources, and selected monographs and biographies.