Back to English Resources
Brief Guide to Literary Resources & Criticism
Updated: 7 October 2009
Introduction
This guide is about initiating literary research and finding
literary resources. It does not attempt to be comprehensive; instead it is an
introduction to the process. The intended audience is undergraduates, but
anyone interested in doing literary research and finding resources will find
this guide a useful starting point.
All print sources will be located in the Main University Library. Call numbers will
indicate the location of the resource. Most of the print titles
will be found in the Reference section, located on the first floor of the Main Library,
although some are shelved on Reserve and can be accessed at the Circulation Desk.
Call numbers for reference books are preceded
with “Ref” and reserve books with “RBR,” while no prefix on the call number indicates
the book is shelved in the regular stacks on the second floor. If you have any questions,
ask at the Reference Desk.
All electronic resources are available from workstations in all three University libraries.
To access electronic resources outside the libraries, an individual must have a
valid University at Albany identification card and be a registered University at Albany
Libraries borrower. To read about remote access, go to
Off-Campus Access to
Databases and Online Journals.
Before Starting Research
Literary research is most fruitful when some preliminary considerations
are kept in mind:
-
Literary research, like all research, takes time; it is important to
start as early as possible. With sufficient time, you will be able to access
more resources, insuring better and more thorough results.
-
Set up an Interlibrary Loan account(ILLiad) and get a Capital District
Library Council(CDLC)card.
-
ILLiad is a integrated interlibrary loan service through which
you can request materials from remote libraries. Once
the account is set up, borrowing is extremely easy. Many
requests can be handled electronically,
with articles delivered directly to your email account. Accounts can be set
up easily online through the Library’s homepage listed under “Library
Services” or
go directly to ILLiad.
.
-
CDLC cards allow you to go to local participating libraries and
borrow directly, which can greatly speed up the process of
getting important materials. To get a CDLC card, take your valid
identification card and go to the Circulation Desk. They
usually do them on the spot and it takes about 10 minutes.
-
Formulate a thesis statement before beginning your search. This is essential
for two reason:
-
A thesis statement provides you with a focused topic.
-
A thesis statement provides you with specific search terms.
NOTE: For an brief explanation of a thesis statement,look at the
Research Process or ask at the Reference Desk.
-
When you start searching, begin with this list,
in descending order, for the best resources in terms of quality and
scope of coverage:
-
Catalogs(OPACs): University at Albany Libraries' and others
-
Database Finder & Indexes
-
Electronic Journals (E-Journals or Online Journals)
-
Internet
Searching
[Note: When clicking links on this page, it is highly recommended that
you RIGHT CLICK and choose “Open in a New Window.” It guarantees that
this page will always be available for reference].
Catalogs(OPACS)
Two catalogs are recommended: one, Minerva, which is the University at Albany
Libraries' catalog and provides access to titles in the Libraries; and, two,
WorldCat, which is an extensive catalog-of-catalogs and provides access to important
titles not owned by the University Libraries, but easily obtained via interlibrary loan(ILL).
Note: the OPAC like many indexes and databases uses specific terms for subject headings
(referred to as controlled vocabulary). For assistance, check the Library of Congress
Subject Heading volumes located at the Reference Desk or ask a Reference Librarian.
-
Minerva
The Library’s OPAC is an excellent resource for finding literary criticism.
Following are some suggestions for using the catalog:
-
keyword search both subject and title. Frequently, both searches will
contain the same list of items, but sometimes an important title will appear
in one search but not the other.
-
keyword search "Subject" For example, if your topic is Emily Dickinson
search on:
-
Dickinson and criticism
-
Dickinson and feminism
-
search related works. When you display a record, open the full record
and examine the links listed under “Subjects- Lib. Cong.;” these will take you to
related works.
-
Browse search with “Subject heading begins with...” This allows you to search broader
topics. For example, if your topic is focused on James Joyce’s
Ulysses or Thomas Hardy's Jude the Obscure, search on:
-
Joyce, James
-
Hardy, Thomas
You can then find headings including terms like: criticism and interpretation,
bibliographies, specific characters, and much more.
-
WorldCat:
.
This is an extensive collection of resources that are available through
interlibrary loan. Use the same search strategies mentioned above. If you have an ILL
account set up, just click on the Illiad icon, enter your Illiad username and password,
and the request is complete. Remember to start early, because loan items
may take up to 2 weeks to arrive.
[Return to Top]
Database Finder & Indexes
There is a large variety of databases, e-texts, and indexes for literary research.
Indexes, such as the MLA International Bibliography, only contain citations; others
contain citations and abstracts. Databases may contain citations and abstracts,
and full-text. E-texts are always full-text.
The most important resources are listed here:
-
MLA International Bibliography:
. Premier database
for English and American Literature, but also focuses on Romance, Germanic,
Eastern European, Oriental and others. Coverage is from 1963-present.
-
Literature Resource Center:
. Extensive database,
mostly full-text, based on the four-part Gale Literature Criticism Series
covering 1400-present. The focus is primarily English and American
Literature, but the international coverage is expanding. Also central to
the database is the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
(For more details of these resources, see the print descriptions below).
-
Twayne’s Authors Series:
.
Criticism introducting over 600 prominent authors from three print series:
United States Authors, English Authors, and World Authors. United States and
English authors predominate the database, but well-know international authors
can be found.
-
to access additional Database Finder & Indexes
important for literary research select "English Studies" and
"Key Resources" after
clicking here.
[Return to Top]
Online Journal Collections
The library subscribes to numerous journals for literary research. Many are available
in full-text in the following two, online collections:
-
Project Muse:
. Over 400
scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics
from Johns Hopkins University. The journals are exact images of the print
version; but each title is limited to the most recent issues, usually no
longer than the last 4 years. The journals can be browsed by
title, subject, or collection and searched individually; or the entire
collection can be searched by doing the following:
-
select search
-
select advanced search
-
under "limit search/by journal" select "collection"
it will default to "All Collections"
-
JSTOR:
. Back files
of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and
mathematics, many with counterparts in Project Muse. Some titles date
back over 50 years. Journals are exact images of the print version. The
journals can be browsed either alphabetically or by discipline and searched
individually; or partial or entire disciplines can be searched by doing
the following:
-
select search
-
select discipline(s)/journal(s)
[Return to Top]
Internet Resources
Finally, there is the Internet. Resources found there can be of uneven quality. Unlike
the resources mentioned above, the responsibility for evaluating authority and value resides
with you. Before using the Internet for English Literary research, you should be aware of
how to use it wisely. It is strongly recommended that you spend some time reviewing the
following two sites:
-
Evaluating Internet Resources: An
excellent overview on evaluating Internet resources.
Again, a website can look "authoritative” but you have
to determine if it is.
-
Conducting Research on the Internet:
This is a detailed explanation on conducting Internet
research, but even a brief review of the process detailed
here will help you hone your use of the Internet.
The best way to search the Internet is to begin from reliable websites. The following,
from the University at Albany Libraries, are good places to start:
-
start browsing at the
English Internet Resources.
-
start at the subject directory
Academic & Professional Directories from the
Internet Subject Directories. Subject
directories differ significantly from search engines in
that the selection of links is generally done by skilled
human beings, frequently librarians.
-
start searching at the
Internet Search Engines.
Google is recommended for a start, but
remember not all search engines are the same, and searching
with various engines can return quite different results.
[Return to Top]
Selected Print Resources
[Return to Top]
There are, of course, numerous print resources for literary research. The University's
Libraries contain a wealth of these; the following is a short list:
Comprehensive
-
Harner, James L. Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources
In English Literary Studies. 5th edition. New York: Modern Language Association of
America, 2008. [REF & RBR PR 83 Z999 H376 2008]
-
This is the single most comprehensive guide to English literary studies. Recently updated, it contains 1059 annotated entries. It covers American, British, and other literatures in
English. Also contains indexes of names, titles, and subjects.
To begin, this is the best print resource.
General Works
-
American Literary Scholarship: An Annual. Durham, NC: Duke
University Press, 1963--.[Ref PS 3 A47]
-
Features selective, critical bibliographical essays on the various topics of American
literary study. Part I of each volume treats major authors, while Part II treats periods,
genres, and various topics. It contains author and subject indexes.
-
Dictionary of Literary Biography [DLB]. Detroit: Gale, 1978--.[Ref PS129 D53x]
-
Critical bio-bibliographies of English, American, and Commonwealth writers grouped by
period, genre, or movement. Following each article is a list of primary works and a
bibliography of scholarship and criticism. Yearbooks are published annually (1980--) and
contain updates of previously included authors. Use the index of the most recent yearbook
to find a particular author. Yearbook also includes the title list of all volumes.
Available electronically as part of
Literature Resource Center.
.
-
English Association. The Year’s Work in English Studies, vol. 1--.
London: Oxford University Press, 1919/20--.[Ref PE 58 E6]
-
Selective, critical survey of studies of English literature appearing in books and
periodicals published in Britain, Europe, and America, arranged by period. Commentary is
on the importance or nature of titles listed. It contains author and subject indexes.
-
Essay and General Literature Index. NY: HW Wilson, (1900-1933)--.
[Ref AI 3 E752]
-
Published semi-annually in June with an annual and a five-year cumulation. Author and
subject index to collections of essays and articles which are biographical and analytical
in nature, particularly unusual subjects not covered by whole books. Also contains
criticisms of individual titles.
Available electronically as
Essay and General Literature Index.
.
(coverage 1985--)
-
Hawkins-Dady, Mark, ed. Reader's Guide to Literature in English.
London, Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1996.[Ref PR 85 R33 1996]
-
Provides informal description and evaluation of critical writing in a range of topics
and writers in the British Isles, United States, and other major English-speaking traditions
of the world. Entries are indexed by a thematic list, booklist, and general index.
-
Humanities Index. NY: HW Wilson Co., 1974--.[Ref AI 3 H86x]
Continues the Social Sciences and Humanities Index, 1965-1973, which
continued the International Index to Periodicals, 1907-1965.
-
Literary Criticism Series (Gale)
-
The following four series all use a standard format. Biographical sketches of each
author and lists of principal works are followed by extensive excerpts from criticism
arranged chronologically. Each entry concludes with a bibliography. There are cumulative
author and nationality indexes in the back of each volume.
-
Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 [LC]. Detroit: Gale, 1984--.
[Ref PN86 L53]
-
Includes novelists, poets, playwrights, philosophers, and other creative writers.
Cumulative title index is in the back of each volume.
-
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism [NCLC]. Detroit: Gale
Research Company, 1981--.[Ref PN 761 N5]
-
Includes authors who died between 1800 and 1899. Includes several “Topics” volumes.
There is a separate cumulative title index.
-
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism [TCLC]. Detroit: Gale
Research Company, 1978--.[Ref PN 771 G27]
-
Covers authors who lived between 1900 and 1999. This series also contains “Topic”
volumes. There is a separate cumulative title index.
-
Contemporary Literary Criticism [CLC]. Detroit: Gale
Publishing Company, 1973--.[Ref PN 771 C58x]
-
Included are authors who are now living or who have died since December 31, 1999.
Volumes published from 1973 through 1999 include authors who died after December 31, 1959.
There is a separate cumulative title index.
-
Magill, Frank N., ed. Cyclopedia of World Authors: Revised Third Edition.
5 vol. Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1997. [Ref PN451 M36 1997].
-
This edition contains introductions to 2,057 authors from around the world and spans
from antiquity to the present. In addition to a biography, each entry contains a list
of the author’s principal works and a secondary bibliography. Volume 5 contains an
author and geographical index, and a time-line that gives the year of the authors’ births.
-
Modern Humanities Research Association. Annual Bibliography of English Language
and Literature [ABELL]. Cambridge: Bowes & Bowes, 1924--. [Ref PE 51 Z999 B53]
-
This is a comprehensive bibliography of international scholarship for literature in
English. There are multiple sections, including bibliography, scholarly methods, and
language & literature and the computer. The English Literature sections are arranged
chronologically. It contains indexes of authors, subjects, and scholars. This is a
complementary bibliography to the MLA and should be used to insure comprehensive coverage,
especially in British literature.
-
Modern Language Association of American. MLA International Bibliography of Books
and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures, 1921-25. NY: New York
University Press, 1921/25--. [Ref PB 1 Z999 M53]
-
From 1921-1962 limited to American scholarship. It now lists literary works by scholars
of all countries. Includes Romance, Germanic, Oriental, and Eastern European literatures.
Also available electronically as
MLA International Bibliography
.
(coverage 1963+)
-
Murray, Chris, ed. Encyclopedia of Literary Critics and Criticism. 2 vol.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1999. [Ref PN 75 E53 E53 1999]
-
Covers wide geographical and chronological areas in 374 entries, mainly Western but
also a substantial number of non-Western critics and theories. Includes a list of
categories organized by individuals, chronological surveys, theories and approaches, and
concepts.
-
Peck, David, ed. Identities and Issues in Literature. 3 vols.
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1997. [Ref PS 153 M56 I34 1997]
-
Concentrates on how great social change in North America can be traced in literature
by exploring authors’ works and subjects related to North America in world literature.
Contains 809 entries arranged alphabetically. Volume 3 contains a mediagraphy, bibliography,
category list, and general index.
[Top of Print Resources]
Black Literature
-
Draper, James P. Black Literature Criticism. 3 vol. Detroit:
Gale, 1992.[Ref PS153 N5 B556 1992]
-
A selection of criticism of works by major black writers of the past two hundred years.
Entries include a biographical and critical introduction, list of principal works, criticism
in chronological order, and a list of further readings. Includes author, nationality, and
title indexes.
-
Smith, Valerie, ed. African American Writers.
2nd ed. 2 vol. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001.[Ref PS 153 N5 A344 2001]
-
Critical anthology of biographical essays of 55 of the most influential African
American writers in literature and letters. Essays are arranged alphabetically and
include selective bibliographies of primary and secondary sources. An index of fiction and
non-fiction titles is included.
-
Valade, Robert M. The Essential Black Literature Guide.
Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1996.[Ref PN 841 Z999 V35 1995]
-
Consists of over 450 entries for authors covering a wide chronological and
geographical range. Alphabetically arranged, the entries include: biography, literary
work synopses, themes, topics, literary movements, terms, and genres. A selected
bibliography is included at the end.
[Top of Print Resources]
Fiction
-
Bruccoli, Matthew J. and Judith S. Baughman, eds. Facts on File Bibliography of
American Fiction : 1919-1988 New York: Facts on File, 1993.
[REF PS 371 Z999 B53X 1991]
-
Signed bibliographies about important writers in the United States whose first major work
appeared between 1919-1988.
Entries include headnotes, a list of works, critical studies, and more.
-
Cassis, A. F. The Twentieth-Century English Novel: An Annotated Bibliography of
General Criticism. New York: Garland, 1977.[RBR PR 881 Z999 C38X]
-
Spanning 1900-1972, this bibliography of over 2800 entries is divided into three sections:
bibliographies, criticism, and dissertations & theses. Entries are arranged alphabetically
by author and contains two indexes: novelists, and selected topics & themes.
-
Ljungquist, Kent P., ed. Facts on File Bibliography of
American Fiction Through 1865 New York: Facts on File, 1993.
[REF PS 371 Z999 F33X 1994]
-
Signed bibliographies about important writers in the United States whose first major work
appeared before 1865. Entries include headnotes, a list of works, critical studies, and more.
-
Nagel, James and Gwen L. Nagel, ed. Facts on File Bibliography of
American Fiction : 1866-1918 New York: Facts on File, 1993.
[REF PS 371 Z999 F333 1993]
-
Signed bibliographies about important writers in the United States whose first major work
appeared between 1866-1918. Entries include headnotes, a list of works, critical studies,
and more.
-
Critical Survey Series (Gale)
-
The following sets use a standard format. All but the last volume of each set
contain brief critical essays that examine the works and major themes of representative
authors. The last volume in each set contains overview essays and an index.
-
Magill, Frank N., ed. Critical Survey of Long Fiction: English Language Series. 8 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1983.[Ref PR 821 C7 1983]
-
Magill, Frank N., ed. Critical Survey of Long Fiction: Foreign Language Series. 5 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1984. [Ref PN 3463 C75x 1984]
[Top of Print Resources]
Gay & Lesbian
-
Grier, Barbara G. and Sharon Malinowski, eds. Gay & Lesbian Literature. 2 vol.
Detroit: St. James, 1994.[Ref PN 56 H57G36 1994]
-
The focus is international and includes influential writers of fiction, non-fiction,
drama, and poetry. Entries include biographies, criticism, and bibliographies.
-
Summers, Claude J., ed. The Gay and Lesbian Literary Heritage.
NY: H. Holt, 1995.[Ref PN 56 H57 G365 1995]
-
Provides overviews of gay and lesbian presence in a variety of literatures and
historical periods; in-depth critical essays on major gay and lesbian writers in world
literature; and touches more briefly on topics and figures important to gay and lesbian
traditions.
[Top of Print Resources]
Poetry
-
Cline, Gloria Stark and Jeffrey A. Baker, eds.
An Index to Criticism of British and American Poetry.
Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1973.[Ref PR 89 C5]
-
Index to collections of criticism of poems by British and American authors from the
earliest period to the present. In two parts: Part one is by poet and title of poem. Part
two is by critic's name. There is a separate index by title of poems.
-
Jason, Philip K., ed.
Critical Survey of Poetry, Second Revised Edition.
Pasadena, CA: Salem Press Inc., 2002.[Ref PN 1021 C7 2003 v.1]
-
Covering 697 poets, more than 30 of whom were born after 1950, this reference work offers each poet's biography, lists of principal poetry, achievements, other literary forms and other major works, and also includes an analysis of each poet's themes, techniques, style, and development.
-
Kuntz, Joseph M. and Nancy C. Martinez, eds.
Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretations Since 1925 of British and American
Poems Past and Present.
Boston, MA: G.K. Hall and Co., 1980.[PR 503.5 K8 1980]
-
Comprehensive index of poetry explications printed from 1925-1977. Limited to
explication of poems of less than 500 lines.
[Top of Print Resources]
Shakespeare
-
Champion, Larry S. The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography
of Major Modern Studies. Boston: G. K. Hall, 1986.
[RBR PR 2894 Z999 C43X 1986]
-
This selective bibliography focuses on important Shakesperarean scholarship
published between 1900 and 1984. It is organized by general studies, the poems and
sonnets, and the individual plays grouped in the categories of history, comedies,
tragedies, and romances. Contains a combined author/subject index.
-
Bergeron, David M. and Geraldo U. deSousa. Shakespeare: A Study and Research
Guide. 3rd edition. Kansas: University Press of Kansas, 1995.
[RBR PR 2894 B44 1995]
-
The book is organized in three sections: a general understanding of Shakespearean
criticism, an examination of resources, and a guide for writing a critical paper.
This selective bibliography focuses only on book-length studies. Contains an
author index.
-
Sajdak, Bruce T., ed. Shakespeare Index: An Annotated Bibliography of
Critical Articles on the Plays, 1959--1983. 2 vols.
Milwood: Kraus, 1992.[Ref PR 2894 Z999 S25 1992]
-
An extensive collection of English-language articles with concise annotations. Contains
character, scene, and subject indexes.
-
Shakespearean Criticism. Detroit: Gale, 1984--.[Ref PR 2965 S43 1984]
-
Provides overviews and critical interpretations of Shakespeare's plays and poems.
Beginning with volume 11, eyewitness reviews, retrospective evaluations of individual
productions, comparisons of major interpretations and discussions of staging issues are
included (both stage and film versions are considered). An annual volume includes
the most noteworthy essays published on Shakespeare during the previous year. Glossary and
cumulative artist, topic and critic indexes.
-
"World Shakespeare Bibliography [1949--]. Shakespeare Quarterly
1(1950)--. Annual. Title varies. [Per PR 2885 S63]
-
An international annual bibliography primarily of Shakespearean scholarship, but also
of significant works about Renaissance literature in general. It includes books, articles,
dissertations, and more. Over the years, the format and coverage evolved to include,
productions, reprints, films, and reviews of these.
An expanded version of the bibliographies is available electronically as
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online.
.
(coverage 1974--)
[Top of Print Resources]
Short Stories
-
Magill, Frank N., ed. Critical Survey of Short Fiction. 7 vols.
Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Salem Press, 1993.[Ref PN 3321 C7 1993]
-
The first two volumes contain essays that deal with short fiction historically and critically.
Volumes 3-6 contain critical treatments of 261 writers. Volume 7 contains 390 short
articles on contemporary short fiction writers, and the index to the set.
-
Short Story Criticism.[SSC] Detroit: Gale, 1988--.[Ref PN 3373 S386]
-
Presents significant passages from criticism of short story writers. Covers all nationalities
and periods. Cumulative indexes to authors, nationalities, and titles in the back of each
volume.
-
Walker, Warren S. comp. Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication: Interpretations,
1900-1975, of Short Fiction Since 1800. 3rd ed. Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1977.
[Ref PN 3373 Z999 W33x 1977]
-
Material in English as well as citations to criticism in other languages, published in
books and periodicals from 1900-1986, covering short fiction published since 1800. Arranged
alphabetically by author. Years of coverage in the supplements are:
-
Supplement 1. 1976-1979
-
Supplement 2. 1979-1981
-
Supplement 3. 1981-1984
-
Supplement 4. 1984-1986
-
Supplement 5. 1987-1988
-
Cumulative Index 1961-1991
-
Walker, Warren S. and Wendell M. Aycock, eds.
Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication, New Series. New Series.
Hamden, CT: Shoe String Press, 1993.[Ref PN 3373 Z999 W33x 1993]
-
A continuation of Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication. 3rd ed.
See previous entry. Years of coverage in the volumes are:
-
Volume 1. 1989-1990
-
Volume 2. 1991-1992
-
Volume 3. 1993-1994
-
Volume 4. 1995-1996
[Top of Print Resources]
Theory
-
Groden, Michael and Martin Kreiswirth, eds. The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary
Theory and Criticism. Baltimore: Johns Hopkins University Press, 1994.
[Ref PN 81 J554 J65X 2005]
-
236 signed articles on major critics, theorists, movements, and other aspects of
literary theory and criticism. Includes selective bibliographies of primary and secondary
works.
-
Makaryk, Irene R., ed. and comp. Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory
Toronto : University of Toronto Press, 1993.[REF PN 81 E43 1993]
-
Signed entries arranged in three sections: schools and approaches, scholars, and terms.
Generally, each entry is followed with additional readings.
-
Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory [1991--]
(Oxford: Blackwell for the English Assn., 1993--[PN 80 Y43x]
-
Selective essays focusing on literature, but also includes media and cultural studies.
Each volume is divided into two parts: one on critical theory, and the second on culture
and commuications. Indexed by individuals and subjects.
[Top of Print Resources]
Women's Literature
-
Magill, Frank N., ed. Masterpieces of Women’s Literature.
NY: Harpercollins, 1996.[Ref PS 147 M37 1996]
-
Contains 175 entries of which 76 are non-fiction. The scope covers a broad geographical
and chronological range and focuses on women’s literature by genre, race, nationality,
ethnicity, and more. Each signed essay is composed of four sections: form and content,
analysis, context, and sources for further study. Includes an author and title indexes.
-
Robinson, Lillian S., ed. Modern Women Writers. 4 vol.
NY: Continuum, 1996.[Ref PN 471 M62 1996]
-
This international collection presents criticism of 570 women writers from the
20th Century, and includes 19th Century writers published in the 20th Century.
[Top of Print Resources]
Multi-Disciplinary Approach
Current literary research covers a wide range of cultural interests, so you might want to
consider a multi-disciplinary approach. Follow the same process
described above, but choose another subject area related to your topic; for example,
if you are focusing on Kathy Acker and feminism, you would want to research under Women’s Studies;
or if your topic is John Milton and politics, you might find important resources searching
under History or Political Science.
[Return to Top]
This page is maintained by Gerald Burke
Comments to
gburke@uamail.albany.edu