Back to Philosophy Resources

University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Brief Guide to Research for Philosophy


Updated: 3 July 2007

[Introduction]
[Before Starting Research]
[Catalogs--OPACS]
[Database Finder & Indexes]
[Online Journal Collections]
[Journals: Print & Online]
[Internet Resources]
[Selected Print Resources]
[Multi-Disciplinary Approach]


Introduction

This guide is about initiating research in Philosophy. It does not attempt to be comprehensive; instead it is an introduction to the process. The intended audience is undergraduates, but anyone interested in doing Philosophy research will find this guide a useful starting point.

Many of the print sources will be located in the Main University Library. Call numbers will indicate the location of the resource. Most of the print titles will be found in the Reference section, located on the first floor of the Main Library. Additional titles may be shelved in Reserve in the Interactive Media Center (IMC), which is located on the lower level. Call numbers for reference books are preceded with "Ref" and Reserve books with "RBR," while no prefix on the call number indicates the book is shelved in the regular stacks on the second floor. If you have any questions, ask at the Reference Desk.

All electronic resources are available from workstations in all three University libraries. To access electronic resources from off campus, an individual must have a valid University at Albany identification card and be a registered University at Albany Libraries borrower. To read about remote access, go to Off-Campus Access to Databases and Online Journals.

Searching

[Note: When clicking links on this page, it is highly recommended that you RIGHT CLICK and choose "Open in a New Window." It guarantees that this page will always be available for reference]

.

Before Starting Research

Philosophy research is most fruitful when some preliminary considerations are kept in mind:

[Return to Top]


Catalogs(OPACS)

Two catalogs are recommended: one, Minerva, which is the University at Albany Libraries' catalog and provides access to titles in the Libraries; and, two, WorldCat, which is an extensive catalog-of-catalogs and provides access to important titles not owned by the University Libraries, but easily obtained via interlibrary loan(ILL).

Note: the OPAC, like many indexes and databases, uses specific terms for subject headings (referred to as controlled vocabulary). For assistance, check the Library of Congress Subject Headings volumes [REF Z 695 U4752x] or ask a Reference Librarian.

[Return to Top]


Database Finder & Indexes

There is a large variety of databases, e-texts, and indexes for Philosophy research. Some indexes only contain citations; others contain citations and abstracts. Databases may contain citations and abstracts, and full-text.

The most important resources are listed here:

[Return to Top]

Online Journal Collections

The library subscribes to numerous journals for Philosophy research. Many are available in full-text in the following two, online collections:

[Return to Top]

Journals: Print & Online

In addition to the online journal collections, the library subscribes to numerous journals for Philosophy research. Many of these are available full-text online.

To access journals either online or in print, you need the journal's title. In some cases you may know it, or you may find it in a citation while searching an index or database.

Next, go to the Libraries' catalog page Journals: Print & Online. Type in the exact title of the journal; the catalog record will indicate if the journal is available online (Note: remember to compare the date of your citation and the years of coverage of any online access; it varies for each journal). If it is not available online, open the Full Record to find the Libraries' holdings, including the location, i.e. the building, and the call number.

[Return to Top]


Internet Resources

Finally, there is the Internet. Resources found there can be of uneven quality. Unlike the resources mentioned above, the responsibility for evaluating authority and value resides with you. Before using the Internet for Philosophy research, you should be aware of how to use it wisely. It is strongly recommended that you spend some time reviewing the following two sites:

The best way to search the Internet is to begin from reliable websites. The following, from the University at Albany Libraries, are good places to start:

  1. start browsing at the Philosophy Internet Resources.
  2. Start at the subject directory Academic & Professional Directories from the Internet Subject Directories. Subject directories differ significantly from search engines in that the selection of links is generally done by skilled human beings, frequently librarians.

  3. Start searching at the Internet Search Engines. Google is recommended for a start, but remember not all search engines are the same, and searching with various engines can return quite different results.

[Return to Top]


Selected Print Resources for Philosophy Research

[General Works] [General Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks] [Specialized Reference Work: Philosophers] [Indexes & Reviews] [Directories and Biographical Sources]

[Return to Top]


There are, of course, numerous print resources for Philosophy research. The University's Libraries contain a wealth of these; the following is a selected list:


General Works