University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

SCIENCE

(multidisciplinary and technology)

A Brief Guide to Reference Resources

[Guides to the Literature] [Databases, Indexes and Abstracts] [Dictionaries and Encyclopedias]
[Almanac and Yearbook] [Biography] [History] [Handbooks] [Quotations]


updated:  May 10, 2007
This page is maintained by

Guides to the Literature

Guides to the Literature of Science and Technology.
From the Indiana University Chemistry Library this online publication covers sources in agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, engineering, geoscience, mathematics, physics, and toxicology.

Information Sources in Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 158.5 Z999 H87 1998]
Contains chapter listing information sources for science and technology. Earlier editions are available in the Science Library circulating book collection.

Reference Sources in Science, Engineering, Medicine, and Agriculture. [SCIENCE REF Q 158.5 Z999 M35 1994]
Contains chapters treating the important resources in science, engineering, medicine, and applied sciences.


Databases, Indexes and Abstracts

Aggregator Databases.
Citations to articles and often full-text articles can be accessed using the Libraries' aggregator database: EBSCO Academic Search Premier Accessible to University at Albany users only.  ScienceDirect Accessible to University at Albany users only is a publisher's aggregator database. It that contains a large collection of scholarly science and technology journals published by Elsevier.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts. Accessible to University at Albany users only [SCIENCE REF Index T 1 Z999 I53] 
A subject index to popular and scholarly periodicals in the applied sciences. The Science Library has 1917-2000 in paper format.

General Science Index. [SCIENCE REF Index Q 1 Z999 G45X]
A subject index to about 140 English language science journals and magazines. The Science Library has 1978-2001 in paper format.

Index to Scientific and Technical Proceedings. [SCIENCE REF Index Q 101 Z999 I53X]
An index to published proceedings to the individual paper level. Includes the full contents for each proceedings along with author and editor, sponsor, meeting location, corporate, and subject indexes. The Science Library has 1978+ in paper format.

Index to Scientific Reviews. [SCIENCE REF Index Q 1 Z999 I42X]
Lists all reviews in monographic review series and review journals, and selected reviews in journals. Indexed by author, research front specialty, corporate address, and permuterm subject. The Science Library has 1975+ in paper format.

Science Citation Index. [SCIENCE REF Index Q 1 Z999 S28]
Produced by the Institute for Scientific Information, it is an index to the core journals in the basic and applied sciences. Searchable by author, title keyword, author's address, or by cited reference which links current and past publications. The Science Library has 1964+ in paper format; also available in CD-ROM format (1980+).


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology. Accessible to University at Albany users only
From xreferplus, with over 130,000 entries, this is the largest scientific English-language dictionary.

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Science. [SCIENCE REF Q 123 H87X 1998]
A dictionary of over 7,000 terms ranging from a few lines to over a page in length. Concise and authoritative.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. [SCIENCE REF Q 123 M34 1994]
Provides brief definitions to over 105,000 terms. Entries include field of interest, acronyms, synonyms, abbreviations, and pronunciation.

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 121 M3 2002]
Contains authoritative articles for all disciplines in science and technology. The articles are signed and include a definition, overview, relationships to broader or specialized topics, and cross-references to other articles. 20 volumes include topical and analytical indexes. See also the McGraw Hill Concise Encyclopedia of Science & Technology [SCIENCE REF Q 121 M29 1998].


Almanac and Yearbook

McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 1 M13]
Updates the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology with coverage of recent events and research.


Biography

American Men and Women of Science. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 A47]
Contains biographical sketches on nearly 120,000 active U.S. and Canadian scientists in the physical, biological, mathematical, and computer sciences. The discipline index is useful for finding a scientist in a specific area of study.

Dictionary of Scientific Biography. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 D5]
This multi-volume resource has numerous essays on scientists from all periods of history. Published under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, each essay is signed by the contributor and includes a bibliography. 14 volumes plus indexes and supplements.

The Grolier Library of Science Biographies. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 G84 1997]
The entries in this 10-volume set contain basic biographical information: place of birth, date of birth, positions, primary scientific achievements, and the importance of these achievements. The index not only lists scientists who have entries, but also groups the scientists by discipline.

Notable Black American Scientists. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 N726 1995]
This resource contains vignettes on the careers of African American scientists, with reference to their personal and societal influences.

Notable Twentieth-Century Scientists. [SCIENCE REF Q 141 N73 1995]
A comprehensive source of biographical information on over 1,300 scientists active in the 20th century. This four-volume set includes field of specialization, gender, nationality/ethnicity, and subject indexes.

Notable Women Scientists. [Q 141 N736 1999]
Over four hundred biographical essays on women around the world, who have made significant contributions to the sciences, from antiquity to the present, are contained in this resource.


History

Chronology of Science. [SCIENCE REF Q 125 C482 2002]
Chronologies begin at 30,000 BC and list major discoveries and accomplishments in astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, ecology, mathematics, and physics for defined periods of time.

Readers Guide to the History of Science. [SCIENCE REF Q 125 R335 2000]
A good place to start research on any topic or person in the history of science. It contains short essays and annotated bibliographies.

Science and Its Times. [SCIENCE REF 175.48 S35 2001]
Each installment in this seven volume encylopedia contains substantive essays in "Exploration and Discovery," "Life Sciences," "Mathematics," "Medicine," "Physical Sciences" and "Technology and Innovation." Emphasizes the social significance of science.

The Timetables of Science. [SCIENCE REF Q 125 H557 1991]
The strength of this resource is that it provides a year-by-year, one page snapshot of major developments in all fields of science.


Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. [SCIENCE REF QD 65 H3]
This classic ready reference contains physical, chemical, and mathematical data. It is issued annually with revised information and new material. Previous editions are in the Science Library circulating collection.

Handbooks and Tables in Science and Technology. [SCIENCE REF Q 199 Z999 H35X 1994]
An index and guide to over 3,600 handbooks and tables in science, technology, and medicine. Designed to help users locate an appropriate handbook.


Quotations

Scientifically Speaking: A Dictionary of Quotations.. [Q 173 S428 2000]
Famous and topical quotations are arranged categorically, with cross-references and indexes.


For Web-based science resources
see the Science subject guide
available at <http://library.albany.edu/subject/science.htm>.