University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

Women's Studies Resources: A Thematic Guide

[Scope of Guide] [Tips for Locating Resources]

[Theory and Methodology]    [Bibliographies & Research Guides]
[Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks]   [Biography]

[Databases, E-Texts, Indexes & Abstracts]

[Feminism, Politics and Social Movements]   [Gender Studies]   [Global Focused Sources]   [History]   
[Literature and the Arts]   [Social Sciences]   [Statistics]  [Women and Science]

Internet Resources


Last Updated: July 2012
This page is maintained by D. LaFond

Scope of Guide

This guide, Women's Studies Resources: A Thematic Guide focuses on key themes in Women's Studies at the University at Albany and provides examples of sources for selected topics.The guide includes sources and collections that directly relate to women's studies or are cross-disciplinary in nature. The focus of the guide is on key print reference sources located in the reference and main stacks of the libraries) and key indexes and electronic databases for women's studies. These sources are annotated. Examples of monographs and other media have also been provided to exemplify a variety of formats and interdisciplinary themes in women's studies. These sources are primarily located at the University Libraries' uptown Main library. Relevant examples from the Science Library, and the Dewey Library are also included. One might also consult specific subject encyclopedias, indexes, and bibliographies for coverage under the terms women, gender, feminist issues in every subject discipline. To access other subject related guides and internet resources, use Research By Subject.

Return to Top

Tips for Locating Resources

Finding Books and Journal Titles in Minerva (ONLINE PUBLIC ACCESS CATALOG)

Resources owned by the University Libraries can be accessed through the Minerva online local catalog by using terminals on each floor of the library or through the Internet. Use Minerva to locate books by author, title, subject, keywords, etc. Subjects may be searched by using either the LIBRARY OF CONGRESS SUBJECT HEADINGS (the red books near the reference desk) or by keywords. Minerva lists books, journal titles, reports, media, websites, etc., for all three libraries: Dewey Library, the University Library and the Science Library.

The notation "DEWEY" indicates materials are in the Dewey Library, records listing University Library in the call number will be found in the University Library on the uptown campus. Resources marked "SCIENCE" will be found in the Science Library on the uptown campus. Minerva also notes whether an item is on order or on loan (and when it is due back). Select "All Items" from the full record to locate status of an item. If you need a book which is on loan, you may request it be returned for your use through the "recall" process. Select Request Forms on the University Libraries homepage to find out more about this or stop by the Circulation desks for assistance. The User Education department of the library provides several detailed instructional guides to assist you in the research process. Use the site index to find a listing of the many resources within this page. Please do not hesitate to ask for help or instructions at the reference desk (442-3553) when searching for information on your topics.

Finding Articles by topic

Please use Database Finder or Research By Subject to find a specific subject database to search for articles by topic. Minerva does not index journal articles by topic, but does index journal titles that may be referred through citations found in databases, indexes or bibliographies. For those journals that provide full-text articles, Minerva provides a direct link from the journal title to the particular database that provides the full-text article when available. If more than one database has full-text coverage of a particular journal, the linker will route you to a screen where a choice can be made. Please check the date of your particular article against the journal coverage dates on this page. Sometimes this does not work seamlessly, please contact a reference librarian in that case.

Interlibrary Loan Service

If you cannot locate a resource in the the University at Albany Minerva catalog, requests can be made to borrow a resource from another library. Use the ILLIAD system found on the Interlibrary Loan page to set up your account. The process of ordering from another library takes approximately 2-3 weeks (sometimes faster) so, please allow for this in planning your research.

Return to Top

Theory and Methodology

Encyclopedia of Feminist Theories. Code, Lorraine, ed. (London; New York: Routledge, 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 1190 E63 2000] Cross-disciplinary in scope, this volume concentrates on second-wave feminist theory as it has developed from the 1960’s primarily in the English-speaking world while providing some context for third-wave feminism (late 1980’s on). Mini-biographies of selected feminists are included. This work represents an impressive effort to address feminist theory from multicultural perspectives. French feminist theory receives minor coverage. This work attempts a critical filtering of often diverse and mutually contradictory theories. Editors share their awareness of how the “power to define” or classify can enact violence. They therefore attempt to construct a useful, yet sensitive, taxonomy which does not merely replicate the structure of the academy, but locates feminism within a framework of wider discussion.

The work integrates feminism’s theoretical project: the commitment to produce critical, constructive analyses of systemic power structures, theoretical presuppositions, social practices, and institutions that oppress and marginalize women – to effect social transformation. How feminist inquiry has effectively challenged basic assumptions within standard disciplines is addressed within the selections. This work, including its introduction will be very useful for all master’s level theory and methodology students. For another useful introductory source on feminist methodology, see also Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues listed under encyclopedia section.

A Glossary of Feminist Theory. Andermahr, Sonya. (New York: St. Martin's Press, 1997). [ULIB REF HQ 1190 A53 1997] Includes bibliography. Covers key words of feminist critical theories and provides a guide to their origins. Includes often extensive entries on black, post-colonial, Italian, and French feminisms, while covering a wide range of disciplines and philosophical perspectives.

The Dictionary of Feminist Theory. Humm, Maggie. (Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Press, 1995). [ULIB REF HQ 1115 H86 1995] Covers terminology as well as history of feminist theory. Concise definitions on a broad range of issues. Well indexed and includes bibliographic notes.

Thinking Feminist: Key Concepts in Women's Studies. Richardson, Diane, ed. (New York: Guilford Press, 1993). [ULIB HQ 1154 T475 1993]

Introducing Women's Studies: Feminist Theory and Practice. Robinson, Victoria and Diane Richardson, eds. (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire, England: Macmillan, 1993). [ULIB HQ 1190 I58X 1993] Includes bibliography and indexes.

Feminist Research Methods: An Annotated Bibliography. Miller, Connie.(New York: Greenwood Press, 1991). [ULIB HQ 1180 Z999 M55X 1991]

Feminist Locations: Global and Local, Theory and Practice. DeKoven, Marianne, ed. (New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 2001). [ULIB HQ 1190 F4534 2001]

Feminist Theory: The Intellectual Traditions of American Feminism. Donovan, Josephine. (New York: Continuum, 1985). [ULIB HQ 1154 D63 1985]

Feminist Theory from Margin to Center. hooks, bell. (Boston, MA: South End Press, 1984). [ULIB HQ 1426 H675 1984]

Queer Politics, Queer Theories.(Philadelphia, PA: Temple University Press, 1999). [ULIB HD 6285 L33 1999]

Dragon Ladies: Asian American Feminists Breathe Fire. Shah, Sonia, ed. (Boston, MA: South End Press, 1997). [ULIB HQ 1426 D845 1997]

Words of Fire: An Anthology of African-American Feminist Thought. Guy-Sheftall, Beverly, ed. (New York: New Press, 1995). [ULIB PS 508 N3 W67X 1995]

Black Feminist Thought: Knowledge, Consciousness, and the Politics of Empowerment. Collins, Patricia H. (Boston, MA: Unwin Hyman, 2000). [ULIB HQ 1426 C633 2000]

Chicana Feminist Thought: The Basic Historical Writings. Garcia, Alma M., ed. (NewYork: Routledge, 1997).  [ULIB HQ 1421 C52 1997]

The Costa Rican Women's Movement: A Reader. Leitinger, Ilse Abshagen, ed. and trans. (Pittsburgh, PA: University of Pittsburgh Press, 1997). [ULIB HQ 1473 C67 1997]

Contemporary Western European Feminism. Kaplan, Gisela T. (New York: New York University Press, 1992). [ULIB HQ 1587 K37 1992]

Feminist Thought in Aotearoa/New Zealand: Differences and Connections. Du Plessis, Rosemary and Lynne Alice, eds. (Auckland; New York: Oxford University Press, 1998). [ULIB HQ 1865.5 F45 1998]

Japanese Women: New Feminist Perspectives on the Past, Present, and Future. Fujimura-Fanselow, Kumiko, ed. (New York: Feminist Press at the City University of New York, 1995). [ULIB HQ 1762 J38 1995]

Return to Top

Bibliographies & Research Guides

Introduction to Library Research in Women's Studies. Searing, Susan E. (Westview Press, 1990) [ULIB HQ 1206 Z999 X43X 1990] Includes bibliography and media listings arranged by discipline and indexed by author, title, and subject.

Reader's Guide to Women's Studies. Amico, Eleanor B. (Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1998). [ULIB REF HQ 1180 Z999 R43 1998] Bibliographies identifying the major books in English on a wide range of subjects. Well indexed and includes useful topical essays.

The Women's Movement: References and Resources. Ryan, Barbara. (New York: G. K. Hall, 1996). [ULIB HQ 1236.5 U6 Z991 1996]

A Women's Thesaurus: An Index of Language Used to Describe and Locate Information By and About Women. (New York: Harper & Row, 1987). [ULIB REF HQ 1180 Z999 W66X 1987] More than 5,000 controlled vocabulary terms describing information about women.

Women in LC's Terms: A Thesaurus of Library of Congress Subject Headings Relating to Women. Dickstein, Ruth. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1988). [DEWEY REF Z 695.1 W65 D53 1988] Guide to Library of Congress subject headings (assigned terms) which relate to women.

Feminism and Women's Issues: an Annotated Bibliography and Research Guide. (2 Vol.) Watson, G. Llewellyn. (New York: Garland Pub., 1990). [ULIB HQ 1206 Z999 W38 1990 BldgOnly]

Women's Studies: A Guide to Information Sources. Carter, Sarah. (Mansell, 1990). [ULIB HQ 1206 Z999 C37 1990] A bibliography of international resources, including international government publications.

Women's Studies: A Recommended Bibliography. Krikos, Linda and Cindy Ingold. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Publishing, 2004). [ULIB REF HQ 1180 Z999 K75 2004] Expanded version of the Stineman and Loeb (volumes below) including annotated print and Web-based information sources on women and gender.

Women's Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography, 1980-1985. Loeb, Catherine, et al. (Littleton,CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1987). [ULIB REF HQ 1180 Z999 L64X 1987] Companion volume to earlier publication.

Women's Studies: A Recommended Core Bibliography. Stineman, Esther with Catherine Loeb. (Littleton, CO: Libraries Unlimited, 1979). [ULIB REF HQ 1180 Z999 S85X] [DEWEY HQ 1180 Z999 S85X] Broad coverage of Women's Studies topics. Over 1,500 annotated citations to books in English.

Women: A Bibliography of Bibliographies. Ballou, Patricia K. (Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1986). [ULIB REF HQ 1121 Z999 B34X 1986] Topic, name, title, and subject indexes.

Women and Science: An Annotated Bibliography. Ogilvie, Marilyn Bailey. (NY: Garland Pub., 1996). [SCIENCE Q 130 Z999 O35 1996]

United States Government Documents on Women, 1800-1900: A Comprehensive Bibliography. (2 Vol.) Huls, Mary Ellen. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993). [ULIB HQ 1410 Z999 H85 1993]

Return to Top

Dictionaries, Directories, Encyclopedias, & Handbooks

The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism. Gamble, Sarah, ed. (New York: Routledge, 2000).[ULIB REF HQ 1115 R68 2000] The editor attempts to show how feminism continues to be a dynamic and multifaceted movement. More than a simple dictionary, this source includes not only important definitions and terms placed in contexts, but also literature review essays of greater depth which could be of help in understanding the history of debates and schisms. The index is very detailed. Coverage is international in scope and the work spans historical periods between 1800 to the present.

Women in the Third World: An Encyclopedia of Contemporary Issues. Stromquist, Nelly P., and Karen Monkman, eds.(New York: Garland Pub., 1998). [ULIB REF HQ 1870.9 W6548 1998] Focus is on gender and development and the interplay of divergent and convergent beliefs within feminist work. Essays provide in-depth discussion and bibliographical references for key topics set within a feminist framework. Topics include education, politics, activism, worker's rights, health, law, environment, patriarchal ideologies, ecological deterioration, and war. An annotated bibliography of sources in section XI as well as appendices of key international conventions and declarations. A very useful introduction on feminist epistemology and research methods in third world studies.

Women's Studies Encyclopedia. (3 Vol.) Tierney, Helen, ed. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1989-1991). [ULIB REF HQ 1115 W645 1989] Vol.1: sciences; Vol. 2: literature, arts, learning; Vol. 3: history, philosophy and religion.

Women's Issues. (3 Vol.) McFadden, Margaret, Consulting ed. (Pasadena, CA: Salem Press, 1997). [ULIB REF HQ 1115 W6425 1997]  Includes valuable appendices, including "Significant Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Women".

Historical Dictionary of Feminism. Boles, Janet K. and Diane Long Hoeveler. (Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 1996). [ULIB REF HQ 1115 B65 1996] Includes chronology, acronyms, dictionary, and bibliographies by subject.  

Women's Information Directory: A Guide to Organizations, Agencies, Institutions, Programs, Publications, Services, and Other Resources Concerned with Women in the United States. Brennan, Shawn, ed. (Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1993). [ULIB REF HQ 1402 W85X 1ST] Lists of associations, government agencies, scholarships, newsletters, libraries and other resources dealing with women.

Directory of Women's Media. (Washington, DC: Women's Institute for Freedom of the Press, 1988- ).[ULIB REF P 94.5 W65 I53X 1994] International coverage of print and multimedia, for example: books and publishers, news services and radio.

W.I.S.H.: The International Handbook of Women's Studies. (New York; London: Harvester Wheatsheaf, 1993).[ULIB HQ 1180 W57X 1993]

Directory of Women's Studies Programs and Library Resources. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1990). [ULIB HQ 1181 U5 D57 1990]

Return to Top

Biography

Biography and Genealogy Master Index.

Humanities International Index. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1975+. Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews in over 1,000 literary, scholarly and creative journals published in the United States and Canada. All journals are indexed in their entirety, ranging from original creative works including poems and fiction, to photographs, paintings, and illustrations.

McNeil, Barbara, ed. (Detroit, MI: Gale Research Co., 1985) [ULIB Z 5305 U5 B56XA] [ULIB Z 5305 U5 B57X 1985] Index of names and their biographical sources, including biographical dictionaries, subject encyclopedias and literary criticism.

African American Women: An Annotated Bibliography. Thomas, Veronica G., Kisha Braithwaite, and Paula Mitchell. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2001). [ULIB E 185.86 Z999 T49 2001]

The Biographical Dictionary of British Feminists. ( 2 Vol.) Banks, Olive. (New York: New York University Press, 1985).   [ULIB REF HQ 1123 B36 1985] Short biographical sketches of British feminists from 1800 to 1945. Attempts to convey complexity of feminist movements. Includes a handful of entries for male supporters. Indexes by name and subject.

Black Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia. (2 Vol.) Hine, Darlene Clark et al., eds. (Bloomington: Indiana University Press, [1994], 1993). [ULIB REF E 185.86 B542 1993B] Alphabetically arranged entries on individuals and topics. Well indexed and includes bibliographies.

Encyclopedia of Women Social Reformers. (2 Vol.) Rappaport, Helen. (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2001) [ULIB REF HQ 1236 R29 2001] International in scope, this source profiles women from the eighteenth century on who have been influential in reform movements ranging from environmentalism to Third World human rights.

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World. Salisbury, Joyce E.(Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, Inc., 2001). [ULIB REF HQ 1127 S25 2001] Focuses on the "cradle" of Western civilization, but includes women from ancient Asia, India, and the Mediterranean. Contextual essays as well as 150 biographic sketches of varying lengths. Integrated name/subject index as well as brief category index.

Extraordinary Women of the Medieval and Renaissance World : A Biographical Dictionary. Levin, Carole, et al. (Westport, CT; London: Greenwood Press, 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 1143 E93 2000] Seventy short biographies, many with illustrations, of women who were exceptional in their transcendence of period conventions. Integrated index by name and subject. Includes bibliographies and useful appendices.

The Northeastern Dictionary of Women's Biography. Uglow, Jennifer, Frances Hinton and Maggie Hendry, eds. (Boston: Northeastern University Press, 1999.) [ULIB REF CT 3202 N67 1999] revised edition of the earlier Continuum Dictionary of Women's Biography. (Continuum: Macmillian, 1989). [ULIB EXT REF CT 3202 C66 1989] Biographical entries and sources for 1,500 prominent women including women in science. Coverage weighted towards North American and European societies.

World Who's Who of Women. (International Biographical Centre, 1973+). [ULIB CT 3202 W67X]

Return to Top

Databases, E-Texts, Indexes & Abstracts

Key databases and indexes in Women's Studies have been described below as well as general and cross-disciplinary databases also relevant for research in women's studies. Print indexes often have no on-line counterpart, or may have only partial or current on-line coverage. It is important not to disregard print sources as electronic coverage tends to include more recent years or may not be duplicated electronically. For entries in this section, coverage dates for electronic resources will be listed before the print source.

Most of the electronic resources included in this research guide can be accessed on-site, but off campus use is restricted to those who have a SUNY card issued by the University at Albany AND are currently affiliated with the university as faculty, staff or student.

Return to Top

Subject-Specific Women's Studies Databases and Indexes

The following on-line databases are taken from Key Resources in Women's Studies from the University at Albany Libraries' Home page.

African American Studies (No longer available.) CIS, Lexis-Nexis product. While not focused specifically on gender, this database includes primary and secondary source materials including key legislation on race and civil rights. Selective full-text articles, book chapters, photographs. See also, full microform set of The Papers of the NAACP [ULIB MIC / Film E 185.61 N23X 1982] where some selections for database originated. For more information see the description.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD. Click for instructions for off-campus access 19th century +. A combination of files from Africa, Europe and the USA for the study of Africa. The database is a gateway to a wide aray of important bibliographies, indexes and databases focusing on information to support The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more. Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings and much more.

Alt-Press Watch. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1988+. A full-text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Includes critical perspectives on local and international issues confronting contemporary society within a broad spectrum of subject areas. The database offers free text searching and complete indexing. It is a current and retrospective collection and it provides viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the coverage of the mainstream media. See also Alternative Press Index. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1991+. (print) [REF AI 3 Z999 A48] 1969- 1993. Indexes more independent and non-mainstream journals than what is covered in Alt-Press Watch.

America: History and Life. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1982+. (print) [ULIB E 11 Z999 A44 Periodicals Room Compact Shelving] 1989-1995. Abstracts of articles on U.S. and Canadian history. Indexes article citations to scholarly articles relevant to history and women's studies. Some direct links to JSTOR Click for instructions for off-campus access full-text articles are provided.

Contemporary Women's Issues. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1992+. Offers full-text coverage from mainstream periodicals, alternative press, hard to find newsletters and NGO research reports. Focuses on the critical issues and events that influence women including health, the workplace, parenting, human rights, reproductive rights and legal issues.

Dissertations and Theses. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1861+. Indexing dissertations; 1980+ Abstracting dissertations; 1988+ Abstracting Theses; 1997+ Full-text of first 24 pages and thesis. [ULIB Z 5055 U5 A53 BldgOnly] [DEWEY REF / Z 5055 U5 A53] International coverage of author submitted theses and dissertations accepted at accredited institutions. Collection of indexed and abstracted dissertations covers a complete range of academic subjects. Access to full-text dissertations can be obtained through Interlibrary Loan.

Ethnic NewsWatch. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1960+. Full-text coverage of selected U.S. ethnic newspapers.

GenderWatch. Click for instructions for off-campus access  Full-text database of publications focusing on gender, Gay, Lesbian studies, sociology, history, public policy and more. Coverage back to 1970's.

Historical Abstracts. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1982+. (print) [ULIB REF AI 3 Z999 A48] 1955-1995. Indexes citations of books and periodicals on history excluding the United States and Canada.

Peace Research Abstracts Journal 1996+. (print). [ULIB JX 1901 P38] 1967-2000. Also selectively indexed by EBSCO Academic Search Complete Click for instructions for off-campus access but not by topic or full-text of articles, only full-text abstracts. Summaries of significant worldwide literature on conflict and its resolution, sponsored and compiled by Peace Research Institute Dundas.

Race Relations Abstracts. (print) [ULIB REF GN 320 R23xa] 1968-1970, 1973-1974. Continued by Sage Race Relations Abstracts (1975)+. Also selectively Indexed in EBSCO Academic Search Complete Click for instructions for off-campus access but not by topic or full-text of articles, only full-text abstracts. Global coverage on race analysis. Published by the Institute of Race Relations. A quarterly guide to American and Foreign periodical articles on race relations. Indexes over 160 magazines and journals. Contains an author and cumulative subject index. Quarterly issues are cumulated annually with cross references.

Sociological Abstracts. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1974+. (print) [ULIB HM 1 S67 Bldg Only] 1952-1999. Sociology is a key area of research for Women's Studies analysis. One of the most important databases for gender studies. Includes indexing for studies and literature relating to sex, gender, ethnicity, race, and class. While this is not a full-text source, the journals indexed and abstracted here have a solid academic reputation.

Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1999+. (print) [ULIB REF HQ 1180 S78X]1983-2002. This index is interdisciplinary in scope and does provide international coverage on women's studies. Several major social science journals are indexed here and do overlap with coverage in other databases. Small press titles are not as well represented here,for theses see GenderWatch, Contemporary Women's Issues, Alt-Press Watch and Alt-Press Index.

Women and Social Movements: 1600-2000. Click for instructions for off-campus access collection of digitized documentary sources on women and social movements in the United States. includes published histories and records of women's reform organizations throughout the United States across the 19th and 20th centuries. The database features scanned original selections of books, pamphlets, and related materials from "One Hundred Years of the Women's Suffrage Movement," The History of Woman Suffrage (6 volumnes, 1881-1922); proceedings of the national conventions of female Anti-Slavery societies in the 1830's; proceedings of the women's rights conventions in the 1850's and 1860's; annual reports of the Woman's Christian Temperance Union; and local and national histories of the General Federation of Women's Clubs. Also included are a full-text author database Semantic Indexing and The Dictionary of Social Movements.

Women's Studies International (WSI). Click for instructions for off-campus access 1972+. Electronic index which includes bibliographic information for journals and books drawn from a variety of women's studies sources and essential databases from 1972 to the present. WSI provides electronic access to Women's Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Database, Women's Studies Librarian, Women of Color and Southern Women: A Bibliography of Social Science Research, and Women's Health and Development: An Annotated Bibliography.

Women Studies Abstracts. (print) [ULIB REF HQ 1101 W64x] 1972-2000. Women's Issues. Indexes scholarly and radical women's journals. Citations also available on Women's Studies International.

Women's Studies Index (print) [ULIB REF HQ 1101 W68x] 1989+. Print Index includes a wide range of women's publications, including both popular and scholarly titles. Not available electronically.

Return to Top

General Databases, Indexes and E-Texts

Article First. 1990+. Click for instructions for off-campus access Updated daily, therefore more recent articles appear here before other databases. An electronic index of items listed in the tables of contents of approximately 12,500 journals on a broad range of topics within science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Dialog Customized Search Service (CSS). The DIALOG service has a large range of databases and is a fee-based service which is partially absorbed by the Libraries for students. This search is especially useful to graduate students working on a literature review or when trying to determine if their area of research is unique. Faculty can utilize this service through departmental accounts. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) searches are very popular as are many others. Consider signing up for a DIALOG search by one of our expert searchers if you need to search a range of databases simultaneously or if you need to make sure you have covered the literature on your topic, particularly at the advanced stages of a literature review or thesis. Make a Computer Search Service (CSS) appointment at the University Library Reference Desk.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete. Click for instructions for off-campus access Scholarly, multidisciplinary, full text database covering 4,400+ social science, humanities, science and technology titles. 2,500+ titles are peer reviewed.

Essay and General Literature Index. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1985+. [ULIB REF AI 3 E752] 1900+. An author subject index to essays published in collections, with particular emphasis on materials in the humanities and social sciences. Entries cover philosophy, religion, social and political science, economics, law, education, linguistics, science, the various arts, literature and history.

JSTOR. Click for instructions for off-campus access Fully searchable full-text and page images from over 100 major academic and scholarly journals (doesn't include most recent years). Available to University at Albany students and faculty only.

Lexis-Nexis. Click for instructions for off-campus access Contains several collections but useful for government documents, legal literature, legislation, business, coverage dates vary depending on collection.Daily, world and foreign language news. Full-text law review articles. Law review articles are an important source for feminist research as analysis of legal cases and social issues are described and references provided. Often one can find leading feminist theorists who include feminist analysis in their legal arguments.

SCOPUS. now includes the print version of Social Sciences Citation Index. [REF H 1 Z999 S63] and Coverage: Dewey Library has 1974, 1978 to the present. The University Library has 1969,1973 to the present. Published three times per year by the Institute for Scientific Information in Philadelphia. SSCI provides comprehensive coverage of the literature of every discipline in the social sciences. Over 4500 journals (1400 fully indexed) and some monographic series are covered. This index can be searched by author, subject (keywords) or by tracing citations. Tri-annual with annual cumulations. (Volume I of each year contains instructions for searching the print version.) SSCI can also be searched electronically by contacting PAWS at the University Library.

Return to Top

Cross-Disciplinary Subject Databases Relevant to Women's Studies  

Examples of databases where women's studies themes could be addressed, please use Database Finder or Research by Subject to find a specific subject database to search for articles by topic or to find comprehensive lists of databases.

Africa-Wide: NiPAD. Click for instructions for off-campus access 19th century +. A combination of files from Africa, Europe and the USA for the study of Africa. The database is a gateway to a wide aray of important bibliographies, indexes and databases focusing on information to support The New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD). Topics include politics, history, economics, business, mining, natural sciences, environment, development, social issues, anthropology, literature, language, law, music, tourism and much more. Sources include book citations, periodicals and magazine articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, reports, theses, music recordings and much more.

Anthropological Literature. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1861+. (print) [ULIB REF GN 25 Z999 A57X] 1979-2000. Cultural studies including some gender focus. Late nineteenth century to present . Index to periodical articles and essays published in colloquia, festshcriften, symposia and collections received at the Tozzer Library, Harvard University.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO). Click for instructions for off-campus access 1991+. Acomprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts and course packs of background readings for history and political science classes.

EconLit. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1969+ Indexing. 1984+ Abstracting (selected). Indexes economics literature from the American Economic Association's Journal of Economic Literature and the index of economic articles in journals and collective volumes.Very useful for economic research on topics focusing on development and economic empowerment for women.

ERIC. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1966+. Complete database of educational materials from the Education Resources Information Center covering education literature from preschool to higher and adult education. The database is derived from the print publications Current Index to Journals in Education and Resources in Education.

Humanities Abstracts. 1984+ Indexing. 1994+ Abstracting. (print) Humanities Index 1974+ [REF AI 3 H86X] Subject fields indexed include archeology, classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology and related subjects.

Humanities International Index. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1975+. Provides citation information for articles, essays and reviews in over 1,000 literary, scholarly and creative journals published in the United States and Canada. All journals are indexed in their entirety, ranging from original creative works including poems and fiction, to photographs, paintings, and illustrations.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1951+. Bibliographic information includes international selection of publications from over 2600 publications. The database indexes both core and specialized journals and books in the social sciences. Core disciplines covered are anthropology, economics, political science and sociology, with additional coverage in other social science fields. The database is compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. Records come from more than 100 countries and 70 languages. Thirty percent of the records in the database are published in languages other than English. Most articles and books not in English are provided with an English title translation.

International Index to Black Periodicals. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1998+. Includes current and retrospective full-text, bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the U.S., Africa and the Caribbean and full-text coverage of 31 core Black Studies periodicals. Not a primary focus on women and gender but offers background information and coverage is international in scope and multidisciplinary spanning cultural, economic, historical, religious, social and political issues.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA). Click for instructions for off-campus access 1973+. [ULIB REF P 105 Z999 L58] 1985+. Covers international literature in all aspects of the study of language. Citations (not full-text) on gender and language will also be found here. However, there are several Web resources added in this collection on a broad range of topics useful for feminist studies.

POPLINE. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1970+. (with selected material back to 1886). Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment.

PsycINFO. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1887+. (print) Psychological Abstracts [REF BF 1 P65 Periodicals Room Compact Shelving] 1894+. Covers the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology and linguistics.

Public Affairs International Service (PAIS) . Click for instructions for off-campus access 1972+. (print) [ULIB REF H 1 Z999 P83] 1915+. Includes some books and government documents, as well as periodical articles. Covers all subjects that bear upon international (U.S. included), contemporary public issues and the making of public policy, irrespective of source or traditional disciplinary boundaries.

Social Sciences Abstracts. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1983+ Indexing. 1994+ Abstracting. (print) Social Sciences Index [ULIB REF AI 3 S63x] 1974+. Covers the fields of anthropology, area studies, community health and medical care, economics, family studies, geography, gerontology, international relations, law and criminology, planning and public administration, political science and corrections, policy studies, political science, psychiatry, psychology, social work and public welfare, sociology, and urban studies.

Social Work Abstracts. Click for instructions for off-campus access 1977+. Indexes topics related to gender in journals and dissertations in social work and related disciplines.

Return to Top

Feminism, Political and Social Movements

The Almanac of Women and Minorities in World Politics. Martin, Mart. (Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 1236 M347 2000] Arranged by country, each entry notes whether women have the right to vote and stand for office. This information is accompanied by short country specific profiles of politically influential women distinguished by their relationship to power. Includes some information about the status of minority groups in various countries. Indexed by name.

Women Go Global: The United Nations and the International Women's Movement, 1945-2000. [ULIB IMC / CMEDIA HQ 1154 W8825X 2000] An electronic resource documenting the history of the struggle for gender equality through the United Nations from its inception in 1945 to the year 2000.  

International Women's Tribune Centre Collection. Access to over 350 monographs on women and development by searching the Minerva catalog under this title in "series". This collection was donated by the International Women's Tribune Centre in New York City. Part of the collection of selected periodicals will be housed at the University Archives.

Women Transforming Politics: An Alternative Reader. Cohen, Cathy J., Kathleen B. Jones, and Joan C. Tronto, eds. (New York: New York University Press, 1997). [ULIB HQ 1236.5 U6 W668 1997]

Seeing Women Transnationally Video Series.
Access a collection of over 10 videos on global, feminist activism purchased for the library through a joint project with the University at Albany Initiatives for Women. These videos are located in the Interactive Media Center. To search, type Seeing Women Transnationally in the Minerva catalog under "series".
     Example: Poverty Outlaw, a video on the welfare rights movement in Philadelphia Pennsylvania. Yates, Pamela and Peter Kinoy in association with the KensingtonWelfare Rights Union. [ULIB IMC RBR / VidCas HV 4046 P5 P68X 1997]

Feminism and Antiracism: International Struggles for Justice. Twine, France Winddance and Kathleen M. Blee, eds. (New York: New York University Press, 2001). [ULIB HQ 1190 F4189 2001]

The Personal and the Political: Women's Activism in Response to the Breast Cancer and AIDS Epidemics
. Ulrike Boehmer. (Albany, NY: State University of New York Press, 2000).  [DEWEY RC 280 B8 B62 2000]      [ONLINE NETLIBRARY  RC 280 B8 B62 2000EB INTERNET]

Return to Top

Gender Studies

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures. Ember, Carol, R. and Melvin Ember, eds. (New York: Kluwer, 2004). [REF HQ 16 E53 2004 V.2] Encyclopedic coverage of specific cultural groups emphasizing the "cultural construction of gender", "cross-sex relationships" and "attitudes". Culture name index and subject index with references for each entry.

Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. (Vol. 2). Haggerty, George E., ed. (New York: Garland Pub., 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 75.13 G37 2000] International survey of gay history and culture. Short topical essays with accompanying bibliographies. Includes associations and organizations, language, literature, and theory.

The Gay Almanac. compiled by the National Museum & Archive of Lesbian and Gay History, a program of the Lesbian and Gay Community Services Center, New York. (New York: Berkley Books, 1996). [ULIB REF HQ 76.3 U5 G367 1996] Statistics, quotations, facts, and resources on the gay community in the U.S..

Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia. Zimmerman, Bonnie, ed. (New York: Garland Pub., 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 75.5 L4395 2000]  International survey of lesbian history and culture. Short topical essays with accompanying bibliographies. Includes associations and organizations, language, literature, and theory.

Reader's Guide to Lesbian and Gay Studies. Murphy, Timothy F., Editor. (Chicago; London: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 2000).  [ULIB REF HQ 75.15 R43 2000]

Representations of Gender From Prehistory to the Present.   Donald, Moira and Linda Hurcombe, eds. (Houndmills [England] : New York: Macmillan Press; St. Martin's Press, 2000).[ULIB HQ 1121 R45 2000]

Real and Imagined Women: Gender, Culture, and Postcolonialism .  Sunder Rajan, Rajeswari. (London; New York: Routledge, 1993.)  [ULIB HQ 1075.5 I4 S86 1993]

Machos, Mistresses, Madonnas: Contesting the Power of Latin American Gender Imagery. Melhuus, Marit and Kristi Anne Stølen, eds. (London; New York: Verso, 1996). [ULIB HQ 1075.5 L29 M33 1996]

The Invention of Women: Making an African Sense of Western Gender Discourses.  Oyewùmí, Oyèrónké. (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997).  [ULIB DT 515.45 Y67 O94 1997]

Women and Gender Studies in Tanzania: An Annotated Bibliography (1982-1994). Mukangara, Fenella. (Dar es Salaam: Dar es Salaam University Press, 1995).   [ULIB HQ 1240.5 T36 Z991 1995]

Rewriting Gender: Reading Contemporary Chinese Women. Thakur, Ravni. (London; Atlantic Highlands, NJ: Zed Books, 1997).  [ULIB HQ 1767 T43 1997]

Gay and Lesbian Library Service.
Gough, Cal and Ellen Greenblatt eds.; foreword by Sanford Berman. (Jefferson, NC: McFarland, 1990).[DEWEY Z 711.92 G37 G37 1990]

Female Desires: Same-sex Relations and Transgender Practices Across Cultures. Blackwood, Evelyn and Saskia E.Wieringa, eds. (New York: Columbia University Press, 1999). [ULIB HQ 75.5 F43 1999]

Return to Top

Global Focused Sources

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. (4 Vol.). Kramarae, Cheris and Dale Spender, eds. (New York: Routledge, 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 1115 R69 2000] Short critical essays on a broad range of women's issues from an international perspective. International contributors, but predominantly Western. Arranged alphabetically by topic with bibliographic notes and cross references.

Women in the Third World: A Reference Handbook. Kinnear, Karen L. (Santa Barbara,CA: ABC-CLIO, 1997). Includes bibliography. [ULIB HQ 1870.9 K58 1997]

Where Women Stand: An International Report on the Status of Women in Over 140 Countries, 1997-1998.
Neft, Naomi. (New York: Random House, 1997).[ULIB HQ 1154 N39 1997] Economic and social conditions, bibliography.

Women's Information Directory: A Guide to Organizations, Agencies, Institutions, Programs, Publications, Services, and Other Resources Concerned with Women in the United States.
Brennan, Shawn, ed. (Detroit, CO: Gale Research, 1993).  [ULIB REF HQ 1402 W85X 1ST] Source book for information on associations, government agencies, libraries, awards, scholarships, etc. concerning women in the United States.

The Jewish Woman, 1900-1985: A Bibliography. Cantor, Aviva. (Fresh Meadows, NY: Biblio Press, 1987). [ULIB HQ 1172 Z999 M37 1996]

Immigrant Women in the United States: A Selectively Annotated Multidisciplinary Bibliography. Gabaccia, Donna (New York: Greenwood Press, 1989). [ULIB JV 6346 W7 Z991 1989]

African Women: A General Bibliography, 1976-1985. Bullwinkle, Davis. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1989). [ULIB Z 3507 A45 N.S. NO.9]

Muslim Women Throughout the World: A Bibliography. Kimball, Michelle and Barbara R. von Schlegell. (Boulder, CO: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 1997). [ULIB HQ 1170 Z999 K56 1997]

Women in Japanese Society: An Annotated Bibliography of Selected English Language Materials. Huber, Kristina R. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1992). [ULIB HQ 1762 Z999 H83X 1992]

Korean and Japanese Women: An Analytic Bibliographical Guide. Koh, Hesung Chun. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1982). [ULIB HQ 1765.5 Z999 K65X]

The Asian American Woman: Social, Economic and Political Conditions: A Bibliography. Nordquist, Joan.(Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1997). [ULIB HN 17.5 Z999 C53X NO.48]

Women in China: A Selected and Annotated Bibliography. Wei, Karen T. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1984). [ULIB HQ 1767 Z999 W45X 1984]

Women in Ireland: An Annotated Bibliography. Brady, Anna. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1988). [ULIB HQ 1600.3 Z999 B7 1988]

Women in Russia and the Soviet Union: An Annotated Bibliography.
Ruthchild, Rochelle Goldberg.(New York: G.K. Hall, 1993). [ULIB HQ 1662 Z999 R9 1993]

Return to Top

History

A Global Encyclopedia of Historical Writing. (2 Vol.). Woolf, D.R.et al., eds.(New York: Garland Pub., 1998). [ULIB REF D 13 G47 1998] Alphabetically arranged entries of varying lengths on key historical concepts, schools of thought, methodology, and prominent historians. Impressively international in scope, and although one could wish for better inclusion of women historians, there is better representation than one is accustomed to.

American Women: A Library of Congress Guide for the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States. Harvey, Sheridan et al., eds. (Washington: Library of Congress, 2001). [ULIB HQ 1410 A47 2001] Organized topically by Library of Congress collections, each chapter provides a historical overview of a specific LC collection, highlights of materials it contains, and recommendations for conducting research in that area. Also included is an introductory essay on the development of women's history, as well as a section with essential information about using the collections at the Library of Congress. Although specific to the Library of Congress, this is a valuable resource for planning primary research in women's history at any institution.

The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America. Cullen-Dupont, Kathryn. (New York: Facts on File, 1996).  [ULIB REF HQ 1410 C85 1996] Title is somewhat misleading since volume covers only the United States-excluding Canada and Mexico. Sourcebook for quick access to introductory information on terms, U.S. legislation, events, organizations, biography and more. Includes selected documents, extensive bibliography, and integrated index.

Black Women in United States History. Hine, Darlene Clark, ed. (Brooklyn, NY: Carlson Pub., 1990). [E 185.86 B543 Library Use Only] This sixteen volume monographic series includes more than 10,000 entries on black women and their history. Many of the entries utilize primary resource material. There is a "comprehensive guide" at the end of each volume which divides the volumes by monograph titles such as "To Better Our World: Black Women in Organized Reform, 1890-1920.", "Daughters of Sorrow: Attitudes toward Black Women." Sometimes the contents of each monograph title are listed and sometimes one must actually look at the particular monograph to determine what the contents are. There is also an author and subject index at the back of each volume, indexing that specific volume. Included are historic illustrations, extensive notes and excellent bibliographies.

Black Women Oral History Project: From the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe College. Edmonds Hill, Ruth, ed. (Westport, CT: Meckler, 1991). [E185.86 B545 1991] Between 1976 and 1981, 72 African-American women from all over the United States were interviewed. These oral histories have been transcribed and collected into a 10 volume series. The "Guide to the Transcripts of the Black Women Oral History Project" lists the names of the women interviewed, the abstracts and the interview contents for all 10 volumes.

Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs, 1895-1992. Williams, Lillian Serece and Randolph Boehm, eds. (Bethesda, MD: University Publications of America, 1994). [ULIB MIC / Film E 185.86 R37X] Guide to the microfilm edition (26 rolls of microfilm) located in the Periodicals and Microform room of the Main Library.

What American Women Did, 1789-1920: A Year-by-Year Reference. Coppens, Linda Miles. ( Jefferson, NC: McFarland & Co., 2001). [ULIB REF HQ 1154 C665X 2001] Well organized overview with exceptional selection of illustrations and photographs.

Women in the Third World: A Historical Bibliography. Byrne, Pamela R. (Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO Information Services, 1986). [ULIB HQ 1870.9 Z999 B97X 1986]

The Routledge Historical Atlas of Women in America. Opdycke, Sandra. (New York; London: Routledge, 2000). [ULIB REF HQ 1410 P68 2000] Covers women in the United States only. Excludes Canada and Mexico. Selected data on women presented in mapped graphical format with accompanying essays for various periods in United States history.

Please also refer to the Biography section and History specific databases on this page.

Return to Top

Literature and the Arts

Dictionary of Women Artists. (2 Vol.) Gaze, Delia et al., eds. (London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997).  [ULIB REF N 8354 D53 1997] Includes extensive introductory essays along with indexed biographic sketches of 660 women artists from 1000 A. D. to women born in 1945.

Dictionary of Women Artists: An International Dictionary of Women Artists Born Before 1900. (10 Vol.) Petteys, Chris et al., eds. (Boston, MA: G.K. Hall, 1985).  [ULIB REF N 43 P47 1985] The lives and work of 21,000 women painters, printmakers, illustrators, and sculptors are covered. Includes bibliography of sources.

Encyclopedia of Feminist Literary Theory. Kowaleski-Wallace, Elizabeth, ed. (New York: Garland, 1997). [ULIB PN 98 W64 E53 1997]

The Pen is Ours: A Listing of Writings by and About African-American Women Before 1910 with Secondary Bibliography to the Present. Yellin, Jean Fagin and Cynthia D. Bond, comps. (New York: Oxford University Press, 1991).[ULIB PS 153 N5 Y44 1991] Bibliography of literature written by African-American women from 1773 to 1910 with additional bibliographic references to contemporary work on African-American women writers. Indexed by name.

Women Writers in Translation: An Annotated Bibliography, 1945-1982. Resnick, Margery and Issabelle de Courtivron. (New York: Garland, 1984).[ULIB PN 471 Z999 R48X 1984] Valuable, though uneven, tool for researching translations of work by women.

Writings on Black Women of the Diaspora: History, Language, and Identity. Bracks, Lean'tin L. (New York: Garland Pub., 1998). [ULIB PS 374 N4 B64 1998]

Writing African Women: Gender, Popular Culture, and Literature in West Africa. Newell, Stephanie, ed.(London; Atlantic Highlands, NJ: Zed Books, 1997).  [ULIB PR 9340.5 W74 1997]

New Essays in Ecofeminist Literary Criticism. Carr, Glynis, Ed. (Lewisburg: London ; Cranbury, NJ: Bucknell University Press; Associated University Presses, 2000). [ULIB PS 169 E25 N48X 2000]

International Encyclopedia of Women Composers. (2 vol.) Cohen, Aaron I. (New York: Books and Music, 1987). [ULIB ML 105 C7 1987 ] International in scope, includes biographical essays, criticism, bibliographies, and discography. Indexes include country, time period, and musical genre.

Women Philosophers: A Bio-Critical Source Book. Kersey, Ethel M. and Calvin O. Schrag, eds. (New York: Greenwood, 1989). [ULIB B 105 W6 K47 1989] Over 150 biographical sketches of women who have been influential in the field of philosophy. Broad coverage of Western traditions includes bibliographic references.

Return to Top

Social Sciences

Encyclopedia of Sociology. 2nd ed. (5 Vol.) Borgatta, Edgar F., ed.-in-chief. (New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 2000). [ULIB REF HM 17 E5 2000] [DEWEY REF HM 17 E5 200] Award winning resource with extensive essays, bibliographies and index. Coverage is broad and contemporary. A good first-stop for many topics.

Women in Sociology: A Bio-bibliographical Sourcebook. Deegan, Mary Jo. (New York: Greenwood Press, 1991). [ULIB HM 19 W59 1991] Extensive profiles of fifty-one notable nineteenth and twentieth-century women sociologists, their major themes, critiques and analysis of selected works.

The Blackwell Companion to Social Theory. Turner, Bryan S., ed. (Malden, MA: Blackwell Publishers, 2000). [ULIB H 61 B4773 2000] Thematic organization with contributions by internationally recognized sociologists on topics including globalization and political and social movements. Includes extensive bibliography of print and electronic resources.

The International Handbook of Sociology. Quah, Stella R. and Arnaud Sales, eds. (London; Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE, 2000). [ULIB HM 51 I57X 2000]

Women's Movements and Public Policy in Europe, Latin America, and the Caribbean. Nijeholt, Geertje Lycklama et al., eds. (New York: Garland Pub., 1998). [ULIB HQ 1236 W6523 1998]

Women and Work in Developing Countries: An Annotated Bibliography. Ghorayshi, Parvin. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1994). [ULIB HD 6223 Z999 G46 1994]

Women in Agriculture: A Guide to Research. Maman, Marie. (NY: Garland, 1996). [ULIB HD 6073 A292 Z991 1996]

Women and Aging: An Annotated Bibliography. Mori, Monica. (Vancouver, BC, Canada: Gerontology Research Centre, Simon Fraser University, 1991). [DEWEY REF HQ 1061 Z999 M67X 1991]

Female Psychology: An Annotated Psychoanalytic Bibliography. Schuker, Eleanor, ed. (Hillsdale, NJ: Analytic Press, 1991). [SCIENCE RC 451.4 W6 F45 1991]

Psychology of Women: A Handbook of Issues and Theories. Denmark, Florence L. and Michele A. Paludi, eds. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1993). [ULIB HQ 1206 P747 1993]( 6 parts)(1)research methodology (2)society's view of women (3)women-social and personality across the lifespan (4)reviews literature on women's mental and physical health (5) victimization of women including battering, rape, sexual harassment (6)achievement, motivation, career development, work and gender bias.

Models of Achievement: Reflections of Eminent Women in Psychology. O'Connell, Agnes N. and Nancy Felipe Russo. (New York: Columbia University Press; Hillsdale, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Pubs., 1983-2001).[ULIB BF 109 A1 M6 1983] One of the few sources focusing on the obstacles to and contributions of women in a variety of specialties within psychology.

The Women of Psychology. Stevens, Gwendolyn and and Sheldon Gardner. (Cambridge, MA: Schenkman Pub. Co., 1982). [ULIB BF 95 S73 1982] More than 130 women profiled, some were not psychologists by training mostly in the nineteenth and earlier twentieth century.

Violence Against Women--International Aspects: A Bibliography.
Nordquist, Joan.(Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1998). [ULIB HN 17.5 Z999 C53X NO.49]

Women and Mass Communications: An International Annotated Bibliography.
Lent, John A. (New York: Greenwood Pub. Group, 1991). [ULIB P 94.5 W65 Z991 1991]

Women and AIDS: A Bibliography.
Nordquist, Joan. (Santa Cruz, CA: Reference and Research Services, 1993). [ULIB HN 17.5 Z999 C53X NO.29]

Female Offenders: An Annotated Bibliography.
O'Shea, Kathleen A. (Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1997).  [DEWEY HV 6046 Z999 O75X 1997]

Women, Race, and Ethnicity: A Bibliography.
Schult, Linda et al., eds. (Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin System Women's Studies Librarian, 1991). [ULIB HQ 1161 W66X 1991

Feminist Legal Literature: A Selective Annotated Bibliography. DeCoste, F. C. (New York: Garland Pub., 1991). [ULIB K 644 A12 D43 1991]

 

Return to Top

Statistics

Statistical Record of Women Worldwide. (Detroit, MI: Gale Research, 1991). [ULIB REF HQ 1101 S73 1995] International statistics on women in economics, health, labor, public and private life, religion, education.

The European Women's Almanac. Snyder, Paula. (London: Scarlet Press, 1992). [ULIB REF HQ 1587 S69 1992] Statistics and commentary on the socio-economic position of European women. Indexed by country.

Statistical Handbook on Women in America. Taeuber, Cynthia M., ed. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1991). [ULIB REF HQ 1420 T34 1996] Demographic, health, employment, economic and social statistics.

Statistical Handbook on Poverty in the Developing World. Kaul, Chandrika and Valerie Tomaselli-Moschovitis, eds. (Phoenix, AZ: Oryx Press, 1999).[DEWEY REF HC 59.72 P6 S73 1999]

Statistical Abstract of the United States. prepared by the chief of the Bureau of Statistics,Treasury Department. [ULIB READY REF HA 202] First stop source for statistical information. Contains statistics on sex and gender correlated with social and economic conditions in the United States. Includes selected international data. Also provides information about statistics available from other Federal agencies, including the Census Bureau, and private sources. Topics in the index are listed with the entry number, not the page number.

Historical Statistics of Black America. (2 Vol.). Smith, Jessie Carney and Carrell Peterson Horton, eds. (New York: Gale Research Inc. 1995). [ULIB REF E 185 H543 1995] Arranged by subject.

International Index to Statistics (IIS) (Washington, DC: Congressional Information Service, 1983-) [ULIB REF HA 154 153X] This annual publication provides references to international sources containing statistical information on a wide variety of topics. Many of the referenced documents are available in either print and/or microfiche format in the University Libraries.

American Statistics Index (ASI) (Washington, DC: Congressional Information Service) [ULIB REF Z 7554 U5 A46] [DEWEY REF Z 7554 U5 A46] This annual publication provides references to U.S. government publications containing statistical information. Many of the referenced documents are available in either print and/or microfiche format in the University Libraries.

Return to Top

Women and Science

Few reference sources exist on this topic, however there are several mongraphs and articles in the library. For a useful annotated bibliography, see Women & Science: Issues & Resources (Weisbard, 1997)

Feminist Approaches to Science. Bleier, Ruth, ed. (New York: Pergamon Press, 1986). [SCIENCE Q 175.5 F46 1986] and Science and Gender: A Critique of Biology and its Theories on Women. (New York: Pergamon Press, 1984).[SCIENCE QP 34.5 B55 1984]

Hypatia's Heritage: A History of Women in Science from Antiquity to the Late Nineteenth Century. Alic, Margaret. (London: Women's Press, 1986). [SCIENCE Q 130 A48 1986]

Natural Eloquence: Women Reinscribe Science. Gates, Barbara T. and Ann B. Shteir. (Madison, WI: University of Wisconsin Press, 1997). [SCIENCE Q 130 N383X 1997]

The Politics of Women's Biology. Hubbard, Ruth. (New Brunswick, NJ: Rutgers University Press, 1990). [SCIENCE QP 81.5 H83 1990]

Women, the Environment and Sustainable Development: Towards a Theoretical Synthesis. Braidotti, Rosi, ed. (London; Atlantic Highlands, NJ: Zed Books in association with INSTRAW, 1994). [ULIB HQ 1240 W6627 1994]

Return to Top

This guide updates the lists of databases available in Women's Studies: Guide to Library Research,  where search strategy examples from a variety of disciplines are outlined using Library of Congress Subject Headings. Both guides could be used by researchers interested in the literature of women's studies.

Compiled by
Karen L. Starr, Reference Librarian
and
Deborah M. LaFond, Social Sciences Bibliographer
University at Albany, University Libraries
Created December 2002
Maintained by D. LaFond