University Libraries, University at Albany, SUNY Need Help? Search this Site Site Index
Home Catalog Database Finder Journals

 

Using EndNote


Using Databases

You can use EndNote to retrieve references directly from a remote database, import references from a text file, or use certain databases' Direct Export function to add citations to your library.

Connecting to a Remote Database

Note: Connection file downloads, except for the catalog of the University at Albany and the New York State Department of Health, are restricted to members of the University at Albany community. These files may not be shared with anyone unaffiliated with the University at Albany. Accessible to University at Albany users only

To retrieve records from a remote database, you need to use EndNote in conjunction with a Connection File. Many connection files are included with EndNote; commonly used ones are available on our Connection File Downloads page.

  • To find references in a remote database, go to Tools --> Connect --> Connect.
  • A list of Connection files will come up. Double click on a Connection File (a database in a remote location, often another library's catalog) to connect to it, or highlight it and click Connect.
  • When you have connected to a location, a search window will pop up.
  • Put your terms in the search boxes, pick which fields you want to search, check the right Boolean Connector and click Search.
  • If any references are found, it will tell you how many (it caps at 10,000 if you put in a very broad search) and lets you determine what range of the records you want to retrieve. Click OK to retrieve the records.
  • If you don't want to import all the references now, you can save the search and search the location again later and retrieve a different range of records.
  • When you close the search results window, it'll ask you if you want to discard the results. If you've copied over all the ones you want, click Discard.
  • The search window will switch from the remote host to your library. To search a remote connection file again, go back to the connection dialog and pick a connection file again.
  • What fields you can search varies by which connection file you choose; for example, Purdue University has a "Subject" option, but Cornell University just has "Keywords"

(top)

Adding Connection Files

Note: You may not be able to connect to all of the available connection files. Some may time out; some may have invalid connection data. The latter problem can be fixed in some cases by getting a new version of the connection file.

You may download connection files for commonly used databases from our Connection File Downloads page. To add them to EndNote, simply save them to your C:\Program Files\EndNote\Connections directory.

(top)


Importing References using Filters

You may also import references from a text file, using an Import Filter.

To import references, you must first have those references exported in a file readable by EndNote. The method of doing this varies from one database provider to another, but is usually done using the Save function of the database. After you have a text file with the appropriate records, you may import them. To do so:

  • In EndNote, go to File --> Import.
  • An Import dialog box will pop up. To select the references file which you have saved, click Choose File.... Select the file you exported from the database provider.
  • In the Import Option drop-down box, you may select which Filter you wish to use. If the filter you wish to use is not there, you may select the Other Filters... option. In that case, a list of all the filters installed on your machine will pop up. Select your desired filter and click Choose.
  • In handling duplicates you can choose to Import all Duplicates, Discard Duplicates, or Import Into a Duplicates Library.
  • Once you are done, you may click Import to have your references imported into your library.

(top)

Adding Import Filters

Import filters are included with the Endnote software. Updates and additions are available at the EndNote Web site. To add a filter to EndNote, save the file to C:\Program Files\EndNote\Filters and restart EndNote.

(top)

Direct Export

A few databases support the ability to Directly Export references into bibliographic software. Some support EndNote. If a database supports Direct Export, it will automatically attempt to save a file which is opened up by default in EndNote. After that file is opened, the records are imported into your library.

(top)