Criminal Justice Periodical Index is available from the University Libraries Web Site: http://library.albany.edu. Choose Database Finder and type in the name of the database. University at Albany affiliated users only.
ProQuest Information and Learning, www.proquest.com
This database covers the journal literature of criminal justice. Emphasis is on criminal justice and criminology generally, law enforcement, corrections, law and the courts. 230 journals are included with 75 titles offered fulltext. Although some journals are international, all journals are English language. Every issue of every journal is fully indexed.
Fields: Title, journal title, author, issue, document type, subject terms, abstract, etc.
Dates of Coverage: 1981+, with some records going back into the
1970's. Fulltext dates vary by title, with earliest fulltext articles from 1988.
This index maintains excellent currency.
Consult the online Search tips (on upper right side of screen) for details on particular aspects of searching.
Search Methods: Three different search methods are offered: basic, advanced, and publication. Those new to the database will find advanced and publication search to be especially useful. Advanced search is easy to use and allows the user to incorporate more sophisticaled features of the database such as field restrictions, boolean connectors, truncation, limits, etc. Publication search allows direct access to journals for browsing or to find articles for which the user already has a citation.
Field Searches: can be performed in Citation and Article Text or restricted to fields such as author, subject, title, etc. Article text searches title, abstract, and fulltext if available. (Note: Search of the fulltext of articles typically yields a larger number of irrelevant citations.)
Connectors: Boolean connectors such as and, or, not, w/n (where n=number of words), with, etc. can be used to communicate the relationship between terms. See Search tips for details.
Truncation/Wildcard: Use truncation to capture multiple endings, e.g. overcrowd* will retrieve overcrowd, overcrowded, overcrowding. Use wildcard to represent one character, either a letter inside the word (e.g. wom?n to retrieve woman or women) or at the end of the term.
Phrase Searching: Put quotation marks around phrases longer than two words.
The Thesaurus is located in the upper right of the screen. Terms in the Thesaurus are the vocabulary of the subject field. Terms can be transferred automatically when using Advanced search. The Thesaurus can be consulted for terms when using any kind of search method. For a much more complete thesaurus, consult National Criminal Justice Thesaurus (National Institute of Justice, 1998).
Limiting a search:
Date: To limit by date select Date range on search screen.
Scholarly journals: Scholarly journals will limit your search to articles in research type journals. (This is a very imprecise way of labeling articles. Useful material may be eliminated.)
Fulltext: Since only 50 out of 190 journals are fulltext (and
earlier material is not fulltext),
useful material may be eliminated if the search is limited to fulltext
only. Some of this material may be easily obtained in print or through
other electronic sources.
Displaying. Click Back to results to display search at any time. Click
on article title or icon to display article citation and text, text + graphics,
image file where available.
Marking. Put check marks next to items to be saved.
Results can be mailed, saved, printed by clicking on appropriate button at top of screen.
Using Export results can be saved in Endnotes, ProCite, RefWorks, or Reference Manager to formats for bibliographies.
SAMPLE RECORD FROM DATABASE:
Sex offenders emerging from long-term imprisonment
The British Journal of Criminology; London; Spring 2002; Roger Hood;Stephen Shute;Martina Feilzer;Aidan Wilcox;
Start Page: 371-
Page Count: 0
Document Type: Feature
Source Type: PERIODICAL
Geographic Names: United Kingdom, UK
UMI Article Re. No.: PBJC-2045-8
UMI Journal Code: PBJC
Hood et al challenge a number of preconceptions about the risks posed by sex offenders who have been sentenced to long determinate terms of imprisonment. The authors' study analyzes the extent to which members of the Parole Board in the UK correctly identified as "high risks" those who were subsequently reconvicted of a sexual or serious violent crime.
[If this were a fulltext article, the complete article text would follow.]
Mary Jane Brustman, Bibliographer for Social Welfare and Criminal Justice
University at Albany Libraries
8/02, rev. 8/07